79 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 1 2023, 03:12 PM)
read the excitement in the correct topic https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4745820
Thanks!
mamamia
post Jun 2 2023, 03:42 PM

6,430 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ May 22 2023, 05:10 PM)
I was told not necessary to open savings for fd tenure less than 12 months (I placed for 6 mths without savings account)
Is it u just bring banker cheque?

QUOTE(don123 @ May 23 2023, 01:14 PM)
Went to Bank Islam took the 4.5%. Opened a basic saving account with ATM card charged only one time RM12. Took one hour to finish all stuff.
U open in the branch?

QUOTE(Jwkhor @ May 23 2023, 02:09 PM)
Also did mine 4.5% @ 12m. No need to open savings account. Took about 30mins. Slightly longer cause 1st time with BI, so have to meet officer to confirm some details. Overall pretty friendly and efficient
I went to BI and was told can bring cheque without need to open SA, but need 3 working days for cheque clearance.

QUOTE(don123 @ May 23 2023, 02:09 PM)
you can opt not to have ATM card. But for me, i want the online banking then need to have ATM card
If without ATM card, is it need to use passbook to withdraw money OTC? N the ATM card got expiry date, wonder if renew need to pay again.. the BI staff told me to open al-awfar account if want to use it for FD.. n she ask me to do online acc opening n come to branch to do ATM card..

May I know anyone who open acc online, can I choose basic saving acc instead of al-awfar? Coz al-awfar need to pay annual fee it seem. N it is investment acc..

cute_boboi
post Jun 2 2023, 04:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jun 1 2023, 01:14 PM)
thumbsup.gif  got it!

So I went to BI just now and they said got another promo 5.9% 70:30 FD:SA deal. LOL coba nasib cabutan tuah win this & that. Effectively ~4.1x% + lottery ticket  doh.gif

BUT the thing that screw up my day is EPF "promo"  On the way to BI, saw EPF "roadshow" saying voluntary contributions increased to 100K  wef 1/6 today  mega_shok.gif  rclxub.gif

As a jobless warga mas, that is very tempting news. Because iinm, **div is calculated yearly but takes into consideration the dates of contributions and withdrawals... not simply the balance at the end of the year. What that means is that we earn div penuh for everyday the money is with kwsp. And we can treat it like a supercharged savings account, masuk keluar sesuka hati vs zero int for premature FD withdrawal. Of course, warga mas only lah

haha I think they are pretty concerned about the withdrawals - that's why raise to 100K from 60K. And I think also good news for FD rates becos now kwsp competing with the banks - surely the banks will respond with higher rates.

So what do u think?

PS:  **Hopefully I am not mistaken about how div is calculated cos that's a major factor to consider
OOT

It's hot discussion now in EPF - self contribution thread starting from this page.

I'm already moving my FD allocation funds to EPF for years wink.gif Coincidentally my BR FD is maturing mid June in coming 2 weeks. Just nice to max the remaining 40k into EPF for higher interest. Recent year FD max 4.5-4.8% while EPF easily 5.0-6.5%
If more than 1M, can withdraw the excess like savings account any time via online, just takes 2-3 working days.

icon_rolleyes.gif

don123
post Jun 2 2023, 04:38 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jun 2 2023, 03:42 PM)
U open in the branch?
I went to BI and was told can bring cheque without need to open SA, but need 3 working days for cheque clearance.
If without ATM card, is it need to use passbook to withdraw money OTC? N the ATM card got expiry date, wonder if renew need to pay again..  the BI staff told me to open al-awfar account if want to use it for FD.. n she ask me to do online acc opening n come to branch to do ATM card..

May I know anyone who open acc online, can I choose basic saving acc instead of al-awfar? Coz al-awfar need to pay annual fee it seem. N it is investment acc..
Yes, I choose basic saving acc to pay only one time ATM card fee.
woowoo1
post Jun 2 2023, 05:18 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jun 2 2023, 04:42 PM)
U open in the branch?
If without ATM card, is it need to use passbook to withdraw money OTC? N the ATM card got expiry date, wonder if renew need to pay again..  the BI staff told me to open al-awfar account if want to use it for FD.. n she ask me to do online acc opening n come to branch to do ATM card..

Yes if you open bi casa online, you can choose basic savings acct. That is what I did when I open online.
gooroojee
post Jun 2 2023, 08:24 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 2 2023, 04:21 PM)
OOT

It's hot discussion now in EPF - self contribution thread starting from this page.

I'm already moving my FD allocation funds to EPF for years wink.gif  Coincidentally my BR FD is maturing mid June in coming 2 weeks. Just nice to  max the remaining 40k into EPF for higher interest. Recent year FD max 4.5-4.8% while EPF easily 5.0-6.5%
If more than 1M, can withdraw the excess like savings account any time via online, just takes 2-3 working days.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Keep elsewhere and only deposit into EPF end month. Deposits only start earning interest for 1 day on the month you deposit, no matter when you deposit...

gamenoob
post Jun 2 2023, 09:52 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Jun 1 2023, 02:35 PM)
efd?
I believe otc
AVFAN
post Jun 3 2023, 09:13 AM

24,471 posts

are investors now expecting a cut in interest rates soon??

Imran suggested that the FBM KLCI may be underperforming due to the strong selling pressure on banking stocks, which weighs heavily on the benchmark index, but not on other indices.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...g-the-fbm-klci/

nexona88
post Jun 3 2023, 11:02 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

Better don't cut the rates....

Now after OPR hike, FD rates just so so only...

If cut rates... Confirmed FD rates drop ASAP.... This kind of thing banks very fast2 reduce....
cyclopcom
post Jun 4 2023, 08:26 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Jun 1 2023, 11:44 AM)
Btw, Maybank finally upgraded their FD system. Previously you will never know if they have special promotion or not when you try to place FD thru maybank2u, but now if they have FD promotion, you will be able to see and select from the drop down box before you choose how many months to place the FD.
i just checked maybank efd and found that under conventional fd(non campaign) 15 months, the rate shown 5.3%!!! is this true?

and i did not see any promotion rate as mentioned recently under islamic fd from the drop down box.
Garysydney
post Jun 4 2023, 09:14 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(cyclopcom @ Jun 4 2023, 08:26 AM)
i just checked maybank efd and found that under conventional fd(non campaign) 15 months, the rate shown 5.3%!!! is this true?

and i did not see any promotion rate as mentioned recently under islamic fd from the drop down box.
I can see it too.

Probably operator typed in wrongly - more likely to be 3.3%.
gooroojee
post Jun 4 2023, 09:37 AM

LowYee
2,193 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 4 2023, 09:14 AM)
I can see it too.

Probably operator typed in wrongly - more likely to be 3.3%.
Fast fast whack and make them honor it, if you have a confirmation slip.
nexona88
post Jun 4 2023, 09:42 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

Maybank?
5.3%

Yeah right....
They the one always give lowest rate in market....
Probably it's 4.3% or just 3.3% 😄
CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 4 2023, 11:51 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 4 2023, 09:42 AM)
Maybank?
5.3%

Yeah right....
They the one always give lowest rate in market....
Probably it's 4.3% or just 3.3% 😄
If Maybank gives real flat 5.3%, pigs can not only fly but go intergalatic warp travel already.
nexona88
post Jun 4 2023, 12:08 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 4 2023, 11:51 AM)
If Maybank gives real flat 5.3%, pigs can not only fly but go intergalatic warp travel already.
😂😃😆😛😅

More like some errors made on their side.....

joeblow
post Jun 4 2023, 12:33 PM

1,146 posts

Quick deposit and lock it down. Once locked in they have to honour...
nexona88
post Jun 4 2023, 01:54 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Jun 4 2023, 12:33 PM)
Quick deposit and lock it down. Once locked in they have to honour...
sure have T&C one...

if the rate is mistake or error...

the banks can reject / not honour the rate??? devil.gif
romuluz777
post Jun 4 2023, 02:03 PM

2,223 posts

The banks always win💰
immobile
post Jun 4 2023, 02:35 PM

660 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 4 2023, 01:54 PM)
sure have T&C one...

if the rate is mistake or error...

the banks can reject / not honour the rate??? devil.gif
that's very true brother. banks always win. they will find ways to twist their wordings/ T&C around...hardly can overpower them
nexona88
post Jun 4 2023, 02:44 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(immobile @ Jun 4 2023, 02:35 PM)
that's very true brother. banks always win. they will find ways to twist their wordings/ T&C around...hardly can overpower them
If the rate like 4.3%
Probably it's correct but 5.3% is wayyyy over & higher..... Than rest of the banks... They not doing charity 😁

Those did the placement....
Wish good luck on claiming the 5.3% 🤞

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jun 4 2023, 02:45 PM

1673 Pages « < 1364 1365 1366 1367 1368 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:26 PM