137 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

blackblackk
post Oct 20 2016, 12:02 AM

219 posts

Anyone experience Biwako Valley for skiing?
Whats the recommended way to reach Biwako Valley from Gion, Kyoto?
Nandeska
post Oct 20 2016, 01:13 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 19 2016, 05:08 PM)
I am actually planning to change my flight as I am not taking AA this time. Not sure how much I need to add on if change. hmm.gif

Just wondering, how long you all usually spend on Shinjuku and Shibuya if is only for sightseeing? hmm.gif Add in another 2 hours for shopping, 1 day trip to both place enough time? From 10.30am onwards. icon_question.gif
Shibuya maybe around 3-4 hours ? You can get some souvenir at The Loft in shibuya and there is quite a number of restaurants and cafe to visit. IMO, its better to visit shinjuku in the evening as there is more izakaya at that area. Beers and skewers for dinner.
domo_kun
post Oct 20 2016, 07:33 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Yenjo @ Oct 19 2016, 09:09 PM)
Buffa when are you going? I bought the yokoso sim as well. However I contacted the SG company instead since they offer the 91 day card. tongue.gif and shipping was 5 SGD
2 years ago when I went Japan, I rented a wifi through pupuru. Can return through any postbox in Japan (they include an envelope which has been paid already). Quite reasonable and good coverage too.

I just checked and it's around 400yen per day now. Maybe you can check and consider?
Good one, there! Thank you! About RM16 a day, I think. The least, I can still maintain my SIM in phone so I can still receive SMS and phone calls. Yokoso SIM can't receive calls and SMS; that may be a bit of a problem unless you're using the SIM on a dongle or a modem/router. Pupuru sounds good, especially when it has a 24 hours booth in airport, too! My previous trips, they only sent to hotel and there was once... they forgot to activate for me!
Belphegor
post Oct 20 2016, 09:07 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Oct 20 2016, 01:13 AM)
Shibuya maybe around 3-4 hours ? You can get some souvenir at The Loft in shibuya and there is quite a number of restaurants and cafe to visit. IMO, its better to visit shinjuku in the evening as there is more izakaya at that area. Beers and skewers for dinner.
I do not think my gf wants to go for beer and stuff. A normal Japanese dinner will do actually. I am planning to do this on the first day I arrive at Tokyo. My room is at Shinjuku, and I planning to spend some time on Shibuya first before going to Shinjuku for dinner and check in. My flight reaches around 7.30am in the morning. That is why I am not sure if I can go Shibuya and Shinjuku, meiji castle, yoyogi park, or anything that is in between the two district. hmm.gif
sacwoc
post Oct 20 2016, 09:12 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(juniorkeat @ Oct 19 2016, 06:55 PM)
Hi All,

I am planning to Odaiba.
I go through study, I found that there are no subway and no JR operating at the area... Odaiba area are operate by private railway..

May I know is that possible walk from toyosu station?
Of course you can walk, depending how fast you walk maybe an hour? You can also take the bus from Toyosu/Tokyo Station to Odaiba
Fyonne
post Oct 20 2016, 11:37 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(juniorkeat @ Oct 19 2016, 05:55 PM)
Hi All,

I am planning to Odaiba.
I go through study, I found that there are no subway and no JR operating at the area... Odaiba area are operate by private railway..

extra note tho,
if ur in Shinjuku, u can reached Odaiba without changing train via JR train, but halfway thru, it become private/other line to Tokyo Teleport. so be careful.

there are few also like that, including Tokyo Metro which change to other line which im not sure if Metro day pass will cover it. example iinm, to Yokohama, which the metro line change into other line.

so need pro clarification bout pass on those sudden change line without changing train. in those case, i use Suica.

but those are rare case.
Azuma-kun
post Oct 20 2016, 02:13 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

Bad rate is bad! Anyone flying tomorrow afternoon?
kcleong18
post Oct 20 2016, 02:13 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(juniorkeat @ Oct 19 2016, 05:55 PM)
Hi All,

I am planning to Odaiba.

Hi ,

this are my notes from my trip in 2014 ....
Option: Odaiba , Evening or night
To:
Ginza line - Mitsukoshimae >Shimbashi - 7 mins , 2.9km , 170yen or
Ginza line -Shibuya G01 >Shimbashi G08
Yurikamome line - Shimbashi > Daiba , 15mins 320yen
Back to Shibuya - reverse directions.
Direct (indirect) line -Shibuya (JR Saikyo line) >(Osaki transfer)> Tokyo Teleport
(Rinkai line) 17mins
*Aquacity*Fuji TV Bldg*Diver City*Rainbow Bridge*Palette Town
The Yurikamome crosses the Rainbow Bridge to get to Odaiba and offers spectacular views of the harbor and the Tokyo waterfront. Sit or stand at the very front of the train for the most impressive views.

I took the subway to Shimbashi and then change to the Yurikamone line for Daiba.

Kc
Yenjo
post Oct 20 2016, 02:14 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Oct 20 2016, 02:13 PM)

the currency right now is depressing sad.gif

months ago we managed to change at the rate of 35.6 for 1000 yen. and now its been staying at 40++ for so long omg.
kcleong18
post Oct 20 2016, 02:16 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Oct 20 2016, 02:13 PM)

I get even worse rate 4.06 ... leaving tomorrow evening for Sapporo.
Have a nice trip ... kc
yaniee
post Oct 20 2016, 03:04 PM

Weather forecast tonight rain shower at Sapporo biggrin.gif
PhakFuhZai
post Oct 20 2016, 03:30 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

what is the appropriate attire when going to Takayama and Shirakawago during autumn eg in mid Nov?

will normal jacket suffice to shield from low temperature?

lucaswjk
post Oct 20 2016, 03:46 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Oct 20 2016, 03:30 PM)
what is the appropriate attire when going to Takayama and Shirakawago during autumn eg in mid Nov?

will normal jacket suffice to shield from low temperature?
Mid Nov (15th)
Takayama = 14° /4°
Shirakawago = 15° /5°
mean => nope

and the worst part is... u only get ~10hrs daylight
mean => temp drop very fast
RegentCid
post Oct 20 2016, 04:02 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Malaysia ringgit depress , my salaries increase.
sacwoc
Now you also same, kaya already
sacwoc
post Oct 20 2016, 04:49 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 20 2016, 05:02 PM)
Malaysia ringgit depress , my salaries increase.
sacwoc
Now you also same, kaya already
If I move yen to RM then only kaya, but currently I am not. smile.gif
1st
post Oct 20 2016, 05:05 PM

184 posts

dear Sifu Sifu sekalian,

Im travelling to Japan April 2017. As its my first time going to Japan i have some questions on the electrical appliances that I am bring.

well first and foremost would be my phone charger. I heard from some friends that charging the phone is super sloooooow.

2. hair dryer, hair curlers etc would not be usable due to the voltage?
3. Alternatively, Im bringing a few power bank for the pocket wifi and phone but would charging the power bank itself take a long time as well?
4. I know what there are universal travel adapter available but would I still be unable to use the hair dryer i am bringing or even charge my phone at the normal pace?

I would appreciate a recommendation on a good travel adapter as well.
sacwoc
post Oct 20 2016, 05:19 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Oct 20 2016, 06:05 PM)
dear Sifu Sifu sekalian,

Im travelling to Japan April 2017. As its my first time going to Japan i have some questions on the electrical appliances that I am bring.

well first and foremost would be my phone charger. I heard from some friends that charging the phone is  super sloooooow.

3. Alternatively, Im bringing a few power bank for the pocket wifi and phone but would charging the power bank itself take a long time as well?
4. I know what there are universal travel adapter available but would I still be unable to use the hair dryer i am bringing or even charge my phone at the normal pace?

Handphones and power bank will not be an issue. I have powerbank and phone bought from Malaysia and so far the charging time is quite fast. I guess it depends on your phone or power bank.

As for hair dryer I dont think adapter will work with your hair dryer as its emitting heat. You need a transformer. My house have 2 powerful transformer as I move all my entertainment unit here. However things like rice cooker, washing machine, hair dryer I leave it at home.
lucaswjk
post Oct 20 2016, 05:22 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Oct 20 2016, 05:05 PM)
dear Sifu Sifu sekalian,

well first and foremost would be my phone charger. I heard from some friends that charging the phone is  super sloooooow.

- charging phone will be fast... as long as u hv 2A usb charger

- modern handphone/camera usb charger is internationally complaint... can use anywhere

- charging powerbank is around 6hrs for 10k mAh

- hair dryer, u need to check the voltage spec... 110V-240V
China, Japan, US -> 110V
The rest of the world -> 240V
some equipment support full range voltage... other only support their own region

- travel adapter cincai buy at hypermarket/electrical shop/7-11/airport... RM5 - RM20
-> if dont wan buy, sometime can borrow from hotel

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Oct 20 2016, 05:23 PM
buffa
post Oct 20 2016, 05:42 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(Yenjo @ Oct 19 2016, 09:09 PM)
Buffa when are you going? I bought the yokoso sim as well. However I contacted the SG company instead since they offer the 91 day card. tongue.gif and shipping was 5 SGD
9th Nov. 3 weeks more smile.gif Finished my itinerary, but now I scared the station is too complicated will get lost, especially tokyo station tongue.gif
lucaswjk
post Oct 20 2016, 05:47 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ Oct 20 2016, 05:42 PM)
9th Nov. 3 weeks more smile.gif Finished my itinerary, but now I scared the station is too complicated will get lost, especially tokyo station  tongue.gif
use google maps

wit it... u know ur exit direction + exit#

137 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.1387sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:25 PM