Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

TSmunkeyflo
post Sep 24 2016, 07:05 PM, updated 7y ago

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

To all newcomers on this thread, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do some research first. There are tons of info about traveling in Japan all at the tips of your fingers, just a google click away (and plenty of info listed on this post). There are many resident forumers here on this thread that are super friendly and helpful so please do not annoy them with questions like "What to see in Tokyo?", "Recommend me sightseeing places in Kyoto" or similar questions. Narrow down your questions and list down your expectations/requirements so that we can provide you with more accurate advices.

Version 1: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/545818
Version 2: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2419732
Version 3: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2849282
Version 4: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3092421
Version 5: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3280981
Version 6: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3475412
Version 7: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3607047
Version 8: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3792838
Version 9: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4042871

*in the process* tongue.gif

Japan Travel Info - Updated by moderators:

1. Transportations
- Useful Link for Train Schedules & Plannings: http://www.hyperdia.com/
- Japan Rail Network, maps & fare: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2019.html
- Cheap 5 days unlimited ride via "Seishun Juhaici kippu" ticket (But no Express/Bullet train) http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2362.html
- JR Passes: http://www.japanrailpass.net/en/
- Haneda Limousine Bus (Keihin Kyuko) for those reaching late night @Haneda - http://hnd-bus.com/route/nightmorningbus.html
- How to get to Tokyo after midnight: http://jprail.com/travel-informations/how-...town-tokyo.html (Others pls google)
- You can purchase JR Passes from JTB Malaysia: https://jtbmalaysia.com/japan-rail-pass/

2. Learn Simple Japanese
http://japanese-phrases.sakura.ne.jp/

3. General Sightseeing & Attractions
Majority of the information can be found on Japan-Guide.com http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e623a.html
However, please search thru the thread to find other forumers write-ups about their personal experiences.

4. Hotel Booking Websites (Please compare 1st)
- The usual Agoda.com, Booking.com, Asiarooms.com, Hotels.com.
- Also check out Airbnb listings. Plenty of them around Japan.
- Some recommendations that I've personally stayed in before are Toyoko Inn & APA Hotel which are usually located in convenient locations near train stations all around Japan.
https://www.toyoko-inn.com/eng/index.html
http://www.apahotel.com/en/

5. VISA Application
NO VISA REQUIRED FOR MALAYSIANS if your passport is compliance with ICAO standards.
http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/English/visit.html

6. Budget Food Options
- My favourite choices are Sukiya & Yoshinoya, always cheap and satisfying. There's also Matsuya, similar type of Gyudon (beef rice bowl) restaurants.
- Convenient Stores (Family Mart, Lawsons, 7 Elevens, Circle K, etc.) are found almost everywhere and food is plenty and affordable.
- Supermarkets usually sell cheap cheap prepared meals after a certain time.
- http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2028_food.html

Stimix's Guide to Kiamsiap Travellers in Tokyo:

7. Easy to find halal or pork free food in Japan?
QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Jan 8 2013, 03:01 PM)
'halal' ... because there's no certification. one thing about a traveling muslim is that, you spend time looking for 'halal' outlets, and when you get there, you see 'halal' inscriptions, some quranic verses on the walls, maybe a pic of mecca. and in many cases there's also a bar with beers and hard liquors. so you just have to trust these guys, right, because there's no way to confirm it. like this 'halal' restaurant in danang (vietnam) -- the counter has a pic of jesus on the cross, so i asked, are you a christian operating a halal restaurant? yes, he said, but all my stuff come from a halal supplier in saigon!

obsession with 'halal' foods can sometimes take the fun out of traveling. so take it easy lah. as for me, during my travels (esp. to odd places) as long as i see rice, bread, pasta, fish, eggs, vegies, i deem them all 'halal'. of course no need to check out the kitchen lah. take the journey from lhasa to everest base camp in tibet, say -- all stops are at decrepit, dark eating places, which only serve every known body part of a yak. so how? smile.gif
- http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2302.html
- http://www.jnto.org.sg/for_muslim_visitors.html
- http://www.halalmedia.jp/

8. Popular Travelling Dates
- Japan Golden Week (25th April - 8th May 2016)
- Bon Odori (11th August - 16th August 2016)
- China National Day Holiday (1st October - 8th October)

9. Traveling with Internet!
- Travel Sim https://t.iijmio.jp/en/index.html *can be purchased from JTB Malaysia before your trip*
- Pocket WIFI from various companies. Google search around or check the threads for good deals.
--- http://www.globaladvancedcomm.com/pocketwifi.html (contributed by estcin)

10. Tax Free Shopping
- http://tax-freeshop.jnto.go.jp/eng/index.php
- http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2450_how.html

--------------------------------------------------------

Sample trip itineraries to get you started

--> 14 days Kansai Trip Itinerary (Credit to RecentCid)

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Mar 24 2017, 05:11 AM
lucaswjk
post Sep 24 2016, 07:17 PM

~im coming~
3,764 posts

im in
continue to support
kambahteh
deodorant
post Sep 25 2016, 12:46 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Anyone going Hokkaido in the next 2-3 weeks? Autumn leaf viewing time!!! #throwback some of my favorite pics from my trip last year. Won't be as nice as all the other 'sifu' in the last few threads but will try my best anyway!!!

Cape Kamui (the path to the lighthouse was closed due to strong winds/rain)

On the roads towards Furano

Farm Tomita @ Furano. You can see that the mountain ranges in the background already got snow.

Biei

Sounkyou onsen - ropeway

Hoheikyo Dam

Noboribetsu Bear Park

Jigokudani

Itinerary / full write-up and pics on blog if you're interested: http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2015/11/ho...rket-ramen.html

This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 25 2016, 12:46 AM
outsider
post Sep 25 2016, 01:23 AM

~ get out ~
1,270 posts

my trip is coming ~~~ nov.... until now still havent plan my ittenary yet

was thinking whether is it good to buy 7 day JR Pass or not cause the price around RM1200 like quite expensive..

headache ~~ need to read more tip in here

TSmunkeyflo
post Sep 25 2016, 06:42 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Sep 25 2016, 01:23 AM)
my trip is coming ~~~ nov.... until now still havent plan my ittenary yet

was thinking whether is it good to buy 7 day JR Pass or not cause the price around RM1200 like quite expensive..
headache ~~ need to read more tip in here
Where are you flying into and how many days?
Depends where you wanna go.
dennis008
post Sep 25 2016, 08:46 AM

499 posts

thank you for re opening this thread~~ my trips is 2 more weeks to go~~
excited
deodorant
post Sep 25 2016, 10:48 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Sep 25 2016, 01:23 AM)
headache

General guide for newbies: if you are taking a return Shinkansen trip to/from Tokyo/Kansai (Osaka, Kyoto area) then the JR pass is worth it, otherwise it's not.
HMMaster
post Sep 25 2016, 11:03 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

Is advisable to go to Arashiyama in the morning and continue to Kinkakuji in the afternoon/evening?
look416
post Sep 25 2016, 12:15 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Sep 25 2016, 11:03 AM)
Is advisable to go to Arashiyama in the morning and continue to Kinkakuji in the afternoon/evening?
Yes, a lot of people did that, it much make sense if your stay is in kyoto.
HMMaster
post Sep 25 2016, 12:17 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Sep 25 2016, 12:15 PM)
Yes, a lot of people did that, it much make sense if your stay is in kyoto.
Or should I reverse it? Morning kinkakuji, afternoon arashiyama?

*Yea, will be staying in kyoto.
CtrlAltDelicious
post Sep 25 2016, 02:05 PM

178 posts

will new TS compile back tips of the month?
Fyonne
post Sep 25 2016, 05:58 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Sep 25 2016, 12:17 PM)

im planning tat too.
go Ryoanji as early as possible (open at 8am according to google.) b4 heading Kinkakuji (open 9am according to google). then head to arashiyama after that
look416
post Sep 25 2016, 06:09 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Sep 25 2016, 12:17 PM)

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Sep 25 2016, 05:58 PM)
im planning tat too.
go Ryoanji as early as possible (open at 8am according to google.) b4 heading Kinkakuji (open 9am according to google). then head to arashiyama after that
Go to arashiyama as early as possible, best around 8am, only joggers there. Because after 10am, tourists will start flocking into asrashiyama, so you wont be able to take nice pictures. As for Kinkakuji and Ryoanji, I am not sure that it will be as many people as arashiyama in the afternoon.

QUOTE(CtrlAltDelicious @ Sep 25 2016, 02:05 PM)
Yeah, I'm hoping tips are coming back as well biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by look416: Sep 25 2016, 06:11 PM
Fyonne
post Sep 25 2016, 08:16 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Sep 25 2016, 06:09 PM)
Go to arashiyama as early as possible, best around 8am, only joggers there. Because after 10am, tourists will start flocking into asrashiyama, so you wont be able to take nice pictures. As for Kinkakuji and Ryoanji, I am not sure that it will be as many people as arashiyama in the afternoon.
Yeah, I'm hoping tips are coming back as well  biggrin.gif
ppl recommend me go Kinkakuji early or else unable to take nice pic. so how?

edit: if can wake up really early i might go arashiyama n reach Ryoanji by 8am b4 hearding Kinkakuji by 9am. Ryoanji arent priority, but Kinkakuji by 9 is but Ryoanji is on the path to Kinkakuji.

This post has been edited by Fyonne: Sep 25 2016, 08:21 PM
look416
post Sep 25 2016, 08:25 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Sep 25 2016, 08:16 PM)
ppl recommend me go Kinkakuji early or else unable to take nice pic. so how?

edit: if can wake up really early i might go arashiyama n reach Ryoanji by 8am b4 hearding Kinkakuji by 9am. Ryoanji arent priority, but Kinkakuji by 9 is but Ryoanji is on the path to Kinkakuji.
laugh.gif Both are the famous tourist spot, so i think same applies for both place. Unless you are more into philosophy thingy, arashiyama is better in that sense, since you can capture being surrounded by bamboos, not humans, or photobombs
zangief
post Sep 25 2016, 08:39 PM

115 posts

Just came back from Tokyo after a week's stay. It rained half the time when I was there. It wasn't heavy downpour and we were still able to go on with our plans, even with my 3 year old kid on stroller. We went to the usual tourist spots such as Meiji Shrine, Yoyogi, Takeshita St, Sensoji, Shibuya, Akihabara, Skytree, Ryogoku Kokugikan and Ginza. We also went to Odaiba, cup noodle museum in Yokohama as well as Disneyland. Myself attended 2 nights of BABYMETAL concert at Tokyo Dome. Overall, we had a fantastic time there. What an experience!

This post has been edited by zangief: Sep 25 2016, 10:03 PM
TSmunkeyflo
post Sep 26 2016, 04:35 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

QUOTE(CtrlAltDelicious @ Sep 25 2016, 02:05 PM)
QUOTE(look416 @ Sep 25 2016, 06:09 PM)
Yeah, I'm hoping tips are coming back as well  biggrin.gif
I'm no recentcid. So there won't be any tips of the month of any sort. You guys can search the previous threads or PM him for help as he mentioned in his last post.
amidamaru
post Sep 26 2016, 09:47 AM

192 posts

Anyone know where to buy JR Tokyo wide pass outside Japan? My flight will arrive in Haneda at 10.30pm and I read the sale counter open up from 0745 to 1830 only. I am going to shinjuku that night.

This post has been edited by amidamaru: Sep 26 2016, 09:48 AM
SnoopyDevil
post Sep 26 2016, 09:51 AM

382 posts

I am! but early November on my first self-driving trip rclxms.gif I think i won't be seeing much of Autumns but will start enjoying some early winter scenes cool2.gif

Any recommendation for not-too-costly hairly/king crab meals?

This post has been edited by SnoopyDevil: Sep 26 2016, 09:51 AM
deodorant
post Sep 26 2016, 09:59 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Sep 26 2016, 09:51 AM)
Any recommendation for not-too-costly hairly/king crab meals?

"not too costly" is quite vague hmm.gif the two places that come to mind are:

1. In Hakodate morning market there are plenty of places where you can buy a live king crab and get the shop to grill or boil it for you to eat there and then. But I didn't Teh so I don't know prices.

2. In Sapporo the 'touristy' thing to do is go to Kani Honke and eat a crab set lunch / dinner. My full write up on blog if you're interested: http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2015/10/ho...kes-superb.html ... the set I chose was ¥16000 for two pax, but there certainly were cheaper (and more expensive) options available.

user posted image user posted image

137 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:09 AM