370 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

Buydirect
post Sep 14 2016, 12:21 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 11 2016, 06:58 PM)
I have two questions here :
1. Let say on Mudah.my the car dealer posted the price of the car to be MYR40000, how much is the total price should I expect considering any other fees? And the extra charges and fees would be paid cash or will be included into the loan?

Basically for used car, you need to pay for the insurance and processing fees (for road tax, Puspakom inspection, ownership transfer JPJ fee, bank chargers , GST etc).  For a RM40,000 car, the insurance should be around RM1400 ++ . Processing fees on the hand , will vary from RM1XXX to RM2XXX.

2. In what condition nowadays getting personal loan to buy used car be more worth than getting used car loan?

Interest rates for personal loan is very high and will never be lower than the rate offered for used car loan.

zenix
post Sep 14 2016, 12:37 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Sep 9 2016, 10:55 PM)
Is Nissan Teana a good car? kind of like the 2011-2013 of this car
Achilles' heel = overheating CVT gearbox

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 11 2016, 01:52 PM)
Please suggest:
1. Brand. - Any as long as it is easily purchased in Malaysia
2. Budget. - Below RM150k
3. New/Used/Unreg. - New
4. Specs. - Smaller than Kancil or Viva. Must be low fuel consumption.
5. Transmission. - Prefer MT. AT is ok too.
6. NA or FI ? - Any
7. Type. (Sedan, 2 Seater, Convertible, and etc) - Any
Mini/Smart are the kinds of cars you'd want.

QUOTE(lowya @ Sep 11 2016, 02:05 PM)

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 11 2016, 06:58 PM)
1. Depends on how gullible you are, it might inflate to 50k doh.gif
2. Car dealers won't help you with this because the bank officer that will give them undertable if car loan is approve is only doing car loans. Other types of loans no kick back.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Sep 12 2016, 06:56 AM)
everything new so don't expect cheap legacy parts brows.gif

lsm1991
post Sep 14 2016, 12:46 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 14 2016, 12:21 PM)
Haha....you got poisoned by my suggestions of the Kizashi's haven't you?  brows.gif

It is a compact D-segment like most 3-series and Euro Accord, not full barge D-segments like Camry and Teana.

few people complain the rear....

looks like this....

maybe that's why it couldn't sell well, this is chinese uncle talk, but i find the car superb looking has that european-asian luxo look like the Infinity's, Lexus, Acura's, etc.

kizashi.. err yeah i think it was you.... dont really like the look of the more recent japanese d segments other than that and the mazda 6

aiyoh whylah compare to keranda....its so curvy, so sporty!!

the one i really really like is the older gen mark X with the 2jz and the euro accord... probably cause the 2jz hype and all that.

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Sep 14 2016, 12:58 PM
zenix
post Sep 14 2016, 01:19 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jboy813 @ Sep 12 2016, 12:34 PM)
Elantra?

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 12 2016, 12:41 PM)
That is a good price range and within the kind of budget for Audi TT.
Can't really recommend any dealers, you've gotta find one nearby you which isn't an a-hole then you can consider to buy laugh.gif

QUOTE(xkaix @ Sep 12 2016, 07:51 PM)
Hi, I'm planning to buy a 2011 waja cps. What is the maximum loan period I can get for the 2011 year car?
2011 year car can go maximum 9 years. rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(SinKaWong @ Sep 12 2016, 11:12 PM)
Latio (read the old stories) laugh.gif

QUOTE(borneoman1 @ Sep 13 2016, 02:48 PM)
1997 Toyota Camry 2.2GX - look no further for a comfortable and budget barge to drive. Although it can be cheap to run but don't think it is going to be cheap like a Kancil, it is a D-segment afterall so cheapest would be a RM150 normal service bill. Cars back then aren't as fuel efficient as cars now so don't expect this 2200cc to be as frugal as a 2500cc nowadays, but for this price range you can't expect much if you go for the lower cc cars it the safety levels are even more ancient and c-segments of the time like Civic EK and Corolla SEG are famous for being modified.

g9000z
post Sep 14 2016, 02:43 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 14 2016, 01:21 PM)
Bluebird U13 aka Altima isn't a cheap project car.
Properly restored it is quite a beast especially the manual one as it has an SR20 heart, which can accept a turbo "pacemaker" anytime there are lotsa bolt-ons readily available in the market or you can keep it stock it is pretty much still very fast but don't expect the kind of power and fuel economy of newer cars. I remember my dad had to sell it when bushings were quoted to at RM4000, so it isn't cheap.

If your friend does any modifications on the Myvi then don't bother cause it really isn't that much cheaper than the cheapest used car on the market. The cheapest for that kind of mileage is 15.5k so friend discount is only 500 bucks?

Getting a good condition Wira for 5k isn't easy but if you just need a cheap runabout then this is the car to buy.
Yeah, I'm restoring the U13 with halfcuts stuffs so lower costs at least.

Myvi is a total stock, no modification at all, and yeah price wise is just a normal market price, that's a drawback. (see if i can lobby him for a Rm12K price tongue.gif tongue.gif )
Wira, I will get to borrow it for few weeks when I send the U13 for respray, not sure I can decide whether it is a good car only driving it for few weeks.
Plan to bring the wira to few of other friends and mechanics that I know and ask them for opinion.
Or anyone can give me some advise, I'm all ears
lsm1991
post Sep 14 2016, 03:18 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ Sep 14 2016, 02:43 PM)
Yeah, I'm restoring the U13 with halfcuts stuffs so lower costs at least.

Myvi is a total stock, no modification at all, and yeah price wise is just a normal market price, that's a drawback. (see if i can lobby him for a Rm12K price tongue.gif tongue.gif )
Wira, I will get to borrow it for few weeks when I send the U13 for respray, not sure I can decide whether it is a good car only driving it for few weeks.
Plan to bring the wira to few of other friends and mechanics that I know and ask them for opinion.
Or anyone can give me some advise, I'm all ears
if you are really interested in his myvi, find out how much a shop is willing to pay for your friends car then make a offer which is slightly better, sort of win win scenario
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Sep 14 2016, 05:27 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Sep 13 2016, 11:40 PM)
Serious 10k for vios? Mind to share further details, please??
mazda3 hatchback about 50k-70k, which year one?
WVPolo bout 50k-70k? which year one?
I dint ask further.

They onsite company ad give out 7.5 k, the saleman up his own commission, and currently own a 2nd gen vios. so, 10k rebate.

Details or any fishy T and C I don't know because I don't want to have same thing all over again, just the different shell.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Sep 14 2016, 05:31 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 14 2016, 12:37 PM)
Achilles' heel = overheating CVT gearbox
Mini/Smart are the kinds of cars you'd want.
1. Depends on how gullible you are, it might inflate to 50k  doh.gif
2. Car dealers won't help you with this because the bank officer that will give them undertable if car loan is approve is only doing car loans. Other types of loans no kick back.
everything new so don't expect cheap legacy parts  brows.gif

why so round one....
cenkudu
post Sep 15 2016, 08:59 PM

1,206 posts

1. Brand: Any Japanese car
2. Budget: 80k
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: any
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI ? any
7. Type: Sedan...D or C segment

eric84cool
post Sep 16 2016, 06:57 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

searched peugeot 3008 throughout the topic but couldn't find one.....the 2nd hand values for this unit (yr 2012~2014) is really match to my budget.

One thing is unsure of Peugeot's reliability, maintenance costs and on top of that, how much is premium coverage for the windscreen & panaroof ..I believe it costs lot.
lustman
post Sep 17 2016, 07:05 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(tampinmy @ Sep 14 2016, 11:37 AM)
Just went to few dealers. OTR price inc gst, reg, ins n bla bla
Vios J - 75888
Vios E- 80500
Vios G - 88000

Additional free gifts depending on dealers, but price about that.
New vios coming out next month, outlook the same, but new engine, gb an interior. Expect price starting from 80k

Intend to change wife's myvi to Vios J or City S+
G and E model all out of stock, a few J model left, this is due to toyota giving high cash rebate and free accessories that were optional previously, overall total around 10K, I called a few outlets today (Selangor area only) and sadly all sold out except 2 units E model silver color and some J model with I'm not keen even some salemen give 9-10K cash rebate.

I've test driven Honda City twice and also considering it, I prefer the E model but Toyota is giving huge rebate and gifts which almost match the G model, but now maybe have to revert back to Honda
passmaster14
post Sep 17 2016, 10:40 PM

195 posts

Hi all, rarely visit this subforum but would like some opinion on this.

Am looking to replace my 2003 Waja with something that has better fuel consumption, but at the same time not sacrificing cabin space. I spend anywhere between RM200-RM250 a month on petrol as I travel in town quite a bit for meetings, and would like to take that figure down lol.

Was offered a 2013 Civic Hybrid with 31k mileage for ~70k, and wondering if it's better value compared to the City E series? Heard some contrasting comments about maintenance for the civic hybrid: some say it should be cheap since they use same civic parts, but that a lot of mechanics don't want to service it cos of the complex electronics.

Am seriously considering the hybrid since it ticks the important criteria (low FC and large space), but am a bit worried about maintenance. It's also considerably cheaper than a new city. Hoping you guys can shed some light on this, thank you! smile.gif
Drian
post Sep 18 2016, 11:10 AM

4,999 posts

Is there anyway to transfer a used car without having the owner being present? My sister has migrated overseas, i want to trade in her car but obviously i cant ask her to come back here just for car ownership transfer. Is there anyway that she can do it overseas without her coming back ?
Drian
post Sep 18 2016, 11:13 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(passmaster14 @ Sep 17 2016, 10:40 PM)

Am looking to replace my 2003 Waja with something that has better fuel consumption, but at the same time not sacrificing cabin space. I spend anywhere between RM200-RM250 a month on petrol as I travel in town quite a bit for meetings, and would like to take that figure down lol.

Was offered a 2013 Civic Hybrid with 31k mileage for ~70k, and wondering if it's better value compared to the City E series? Heard some contrasting comments about maintenance for the civic hybrid: some say it should be cheap since they use same civic parts, but that a lot of mechanics don't want to service it cos of the complex electronics.

Am seriously considering the hybrid since it ticks the important criteria (low FC and large space), but am a bit worried about maintenance. It's also considerably cheaper than a new city. Hoping you guys can shed some light on this, thank you! smile.gif
You might as well get a prius 2013, battery warranty is 8 years and thats a real hybrid that gives you real 10-11 cents/km.

eric84cool
post Sep 18 2016, 12:19 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

if the civic hybrid offered to u is CBU, then it's very worthy but u need to consider the boot space. are u okay with the boot space as the battery occupying 30% of spaces.
lsm1991
post Sep 18 2016, 12:20 PM

309 posts

new city vs used civic hybrid..... pretty much comparing a new car with warranty vs an older higher end car which has more expensive parts + wear and tear.... its really a pro, con thing...

about the civic, you should firstly know that while it does share parts with the civic, its parts are more expensive than the city. Secondly if you intend to keep it long term, there is the hybrid 'factor' to consider... how long would it last and when it does need to be fixed, who can deal with it? (so far, from what i gather, it is fairly reliable and the replacement battery isn't that expensive) Mechanics outside should have no issue dealing with the car so long as they dont have to mess with the hybrid system...

*i suggest you join the owners club and ask them more about it first before deciding + read up on honda's ima... its frankly not as 'clever' as toyota's take on hybrid designs

**lol just a personal opinion... civics were meant to be sportier machines.... this hybrid is a lie!!! mad.gif (jkjk)

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Sep 18 2016, 12:21 PM
tekplyrX
post Sep 18 2016, 03:54 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 18 2016, 11:10 AM)
Is there anyway to transfer a used car without having the owner being present? My sister has migrated overseas, i want to trade in her car but obviously i cant ask her to come back here just for car ownership transfer. Is there anyway that she can do it overseas without her coming back ?
Saw this a few days ago, I do not know if it's legit or not.. no harm in calling them up https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4050000
tekplyrX
post Sep 18 2016, 04:25 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 14 2016, 12:37 PM)
This is hands down the ugliest car I've seen in recent times from toyota.. Their designs have been getting worse over the years but this... goodness me. They better send their designers to mazda or steal mazda's designers.

Drian
post Sep 19 2016, 10:29 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Sep 18 2016, 03:54 PM)
Saw this a few days ago, I do not know if it's legit or not.. no harm in calling them up https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4050000

BTW if anyone is interested to know, the owner still needs to be present unless they bought the car using passport number.

zenix
post Sep 19 2016, 11:55 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ Sep 14 2016, 02:43 PM)
well wira isn't so bad especially the 1.5 one the engine and gearbox is relatively bullet proof.
however, the only gremlim you should be cautious of is rust.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Sep 14 2016, 05:31 PM)
why so round one....
because not square? sweat.gif

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Sep 15 2016, 08:59 PM)
any other requirement or usage info?

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Sep 16 2016, 06:57 PM)
Checking online the insurance premium for a 2012 3008 with 55% NCB and premium windscreen cover is going to be RM1700++
However, you should check to ensure that also covers the panaroof, as it usually doesn't.
Also another thing to note it doesn't cover panaroof leaking just breaking from stone chips, etc.

Peugeot's are really for people that love their cars.
They're expensive to upkeep and reliability is not their strong point.
If you're just choosing it because it is in your budget range, then even if you get a decent one without issues you'll still feel you bought a lemon.

Hybrid's are pretty much still new stuff in Malaysia.
Malaysian mindset usually is less complicated and old tech is cheaper to maintain.
Which is usually true, there is much maintenance that needs to be done for the Hybrid in terms of it's IMA (hybrid) system since everything is electrical.
However, when it fails I don't think they're up to the task and would recommend you'd go back to Honda 3S to fix it.
Usually at this point you'll get really frustrated with the 3S people as they'll either give you two answers:

1. I dunno how to fix the problem, this kind of problem never happen before, also you never service here (implying the workshop outside did something wrong and honda won't be responsible for it).

2. This is the problem, this is the solution, this is the price. We cannot guarantee it will fix the issue because you never service here.

I think you can go for a Nissan Latio or Nissan X-Gear, as both these cars already suffer heavy depreciation and would fit your requirements.

370 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:57 PM