161 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Bottom

OCBC 360 Savings Account - Up to 3.25% Interest !, Get higher interest on your savings acct

DragonReine
post Mar 30 2021, 10:49 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Mar 30 2021, 08:37 AM)
Hmm.. I don see any double verification.. r u referring to the “hidden” code that need us to tap to view n type again as “approval”?
OCBC transactions need "One Token" which requires you to have registered phone device on hand to get token. It's not tied to phone number so it's not easy to get as TAC.
SUSxander83
post Mar 30 2021, 10:54 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Mar 30 2021, 10:49 AM)
Yes, One Token is to get ur OTP or challenge code right?

The hidden code is the useless feature to me.. tap n view, what is the security measure here?

I feel all bank the secure token that replace OTP is the same.. n I don think replacement of OTP is a good security measure.. bank just want to save SMS cost, that’s y use the so called security token..

sometime I feel OTP is safer if u have different mobile number that tied with the bank.. as in different device to receive the OTP..
Secure token is safer because it is direct from bank to app compared to OTP which are in central server which are exposed to outside hacking especially on telco side

SMS these days has no charges to the bank because it is fixed agreement via Bank Association Malaysia to the provider of OTP

OTP psychologically to you safe but technically flawed to the core hence a lot of scammers are trying to spoof it without major success yet but soon will happen anytime
mamamia
post Mar 30 2021, 10:58 AM

6,429 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 30 2021, 10:49 AM)
OCBC transactions need "One Token" which requires you to have registered phone device on hand to get token. It's not tied to phone number so it's not easy to get as TAC.
Yeah, I know.. but if I used the registered device to perform txn, I don need the One Token.. it is just tap to view the hidden code..

N I think even HSBC & PBB also has the tiny token (like mini calculator) for u to get the PIN to perform txn.. without the token, u can’t do any transfer unless u use ur registered phone device..
DragonReine
post Mar 30 2021, 11:08 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Mar 30 2021, 10:58 AM)
Yeah, I know.. but if I used the registered device to perform txn, I don need the One Token.. it is just tap to view the hidden code..

N I think even HSBC & PBB also has the tiny token (like mini calculator) for u to get the PIN to perform txn..  without the token, u can’t do any transfer unless u use ur registered phone device..
The point is that if someone who uses unregistered device or website (someone with access to your password n username) tries to use your account using ur password n username, without your registered phone they cannot get one token.

PBB still need OTP via SMS if use website, dunno about HSBC.

it's a small but strong added layer of security equivalent to needing a physical key laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Mar 30 2021, 11:10 AM
mamamia
post Mar 30 2021, 11:20 AM

6,429 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 30 2021, 11:08 AM)
The point is that if someone who uses unregistered device or website (someone with access to your password n username) tries to use your account using ur password n username, without your registered phone they cannot get one token.

PBB still need OTP via SMS if use website, dunno about HSBC.

it's a small but strong added layer of security equivalent to needing a physical key laugh.gif
I think without TAC still cannot perform the txn right? Maybe like u said, easier to get TAC than One Token only if they manage to hack ur mobile line?

PBB u can request for token if u want.. bcoz if u transfer above 10k, u will surely need token..

But, need to bring extra thing out..
DragonReine
post Mar 30 2021, 11:28 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Mar 30 2021, 11:20 AM)
I think without TAC still cannot perform the txn right? Maybe like u said, easier to get TAC than One Token only if they manage to hack ur mobile line?

PBB u can request for token if u want.. bcoz if u transfer above 10k, u will surely need token..

But, need to bring extra thing out..
yea that's the risk laugh.gif which in practice not quite as successful (which is why scammers still need to trick ppl into revealing TAC), it's possible
mamamia
post Mar 30 2021, 09:19 PM

6,429 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 30 2021, 11:28 AM)
yea that's the risk laugh.gif which in practice not quite as successful (which is why scammers still need to trick ppl into revealing TAC), it's possible
If the owner can give out TAC to stranger, he/she can also give out the OTP from the token..

So, all this is really depend on the user awareness..
SUSxander83
post Mar 30 2021, 09:53 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Mar 30 2021, 09:19 PM)
If the owner can give out TAC to stranger, he/she can also give out the OTP from the token..

So, all this is really depend on the user awareness..
Token will verify and authenticate the device or the app hence even giving out the code it will be able track activity hence added security unless the person is stupid enough to give every personal details then already in trouble with the person itself

Token by far proven for the last 20yrs since internet banking started but the downfall of it thanks to TAC will is so easy to trick and steal compared to token as it will track the activity itself rather than TAC is only to verify
avinlim
post Apr 2 2021, 02:58 PM

Captain Malaysia
2,965 posts

This month I got only 2x from the 0.7% interest. for both 360 and 360i.

Anyone? Been doing exact same things monthly.
CPURanger
post Apr 2 2021, 03:26 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(avinlim @ Apr 2 2021, 02:58 PM)

OK, so I am not the only one. I received 2 out of 3, the 360 bonus interest. I call up OCBC this morning, the lady said from system shows my bill payments not fulfill criteria. However after checking, my bill payments turn out to be OK.

She said she will check with the people in charge and call back by today. So far until now, no phone call yet.

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Apr 2 2021, 03:28 PM
rocketm
post Apr 2 2021, 03:31 PM

1,628 posts

QUOTE(avinlim @ Apr 2 2021, 03:58 PM)

Save with me. Curious where is the another bonus profit while I fulfill all requirements.

Are they giving out April fool surprise? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
DragonReine
post Apr 2 2021, 03:36 PM

2,610 posts

I guess I'm lucky one, my bonus still x3 😅😅

CPURanger
post Apr 2 2021, 04:23 PM

889 posts

An update : I just received phone call from OCBC. They discover some system error, so some bonus interest are not credit into account. So they will manually credit bonus interest to qualify customers. All within 14 working days of this month. Apparently there are other customers call up having the same issue.
SUSxander83
post Apr 2 2021, 04:26 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Apr 2 2021, 04:23 PM)
An update : I just received phone call from OCBC. They discover some system error, so some bonus interest are not credit into account. So they will manually credit bonus interest to qualify customers. All within 14 working days of this month. Apparently there are other customers call up having the same issue.
Yes they are having issue with month end reconciliation due to Feb to Mar adjustment hence it will be slow to credit interest

Most by Monday should be appeared the interest in your statement
netken
post Apr 2 2021, 04:34 PM

1,298 posts

both my 360 and 360i is okay ...
4eyeco
post Apr 2 2021, 04:53 PM

184 posts

i still receive all 3 bonuses
smartfreak
post Apr 2 2021, 05:59 PM

1,509 posts

Yes, missing one bonus profit from OCBC-360i
datolee32
post Apr 2 2021, 06:38 PM

654 posts

Hi, may I know if split house loan payment into 3 different transactions, will entitle 0.7% under pay catergory?
DragonReine
post Apr 2 2021, 06:45 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Apr 2 2021, 06:38 PM)
Hi, may I know if split house loan payment into 3 different transactions,  will entitle 0.7% under pay catergory?
No, won't be eligible. Because it's same loan account it'll be counted as one bill payment even though you send money multiple times.

They're quite specific about needing 3 different bills. Your idea is even listed as an example of "will be deemed as one Bill Payment" laugh.gif

Multiple payments within the calendar month to the same merchant/payee/account/billing organization shall be deemed as one Bill Payment. For example:
(a) multiple payments to the same home loan facility account; or
(b) multiple payments to the same participating billing organisation, unless each payment is uniquely identified to a different
account; or
© multiple payments to the same account with any bank or financing institution.

You can read the TnC properly in the attached PDF lol

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Apr 2 2021, 06:48 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  360_Account_TnC_ENG.pdf ( 264.69k ) Number of downloads: 6
datolee32
post Apr 2 2021, 06:51 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 2 2021, 06:45 PM)
No, won't be eligible. Because it's same loan account it'll be counted as one bill payment even though you send money multiple times.

They're quite specific about needing 3 different bills. Your idea is even listed as an example of "will be deemed as one Bill Payment" laugh.gif

Multiple payments within the calendar month to the same merchant/payee/account/billing organization shall be deemed as one Bill Payment. For example:
(a) multiple payments to the same home loan facility account; or
(b) multiple payments to the same participating billing organisation, unless each payment is uniquely identified to a different
account; or
© multiple payments to the same account with any bank or financing institution.

You can read the TnC properly in the attached PDF lol
Thank you sifu!!! biggrin.gif

161 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:20 AM