895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Apr 9 2016, 06:54 AM)
BR is convenient to me in term of logistics
yup, for 0.02% difference, effort not worth it if smaller amount. wink.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 9 2016, 09:33 AM

6,614 posts

I have nearly forgotten about this BR's feature.

You can recommend people to BR and get 0.1% commission of their first deposit. BUT they only get board rates. So the only good time to recommend them is when there is no FD promo in BR. Then you can split the 0.1% with them.

Also BR no PIDM. Only for those with no issue on no PIDM protection. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 9 2016, 09:36 AM
Human Nature
post Apr 9 2016, 10:53 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

Some questions on BR:

1. If there is an existing joint FD with BR, can I make a placement for another joint cert without the presence of the joint cert holder?

2. How long it takes to register the xclusive membership and will they be able to issue the membership card on the spot?

3. I am not an xclusive member yet. Do you think I can skip the queue if I directly meet the AM and tell him that I want to register for it with the amount that I am going to deposit?

4. The 300k can be a combination of FD and CASA, right? The terms is abit unclear:
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/rakyat-xclusive

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Apr 9 2016, 11:03 AM
bbgoat
post Apr 9 2016, 11:10 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 9 2016, 10:53 AM)
Some questions on BR:

1. If there is an existing joint FD with BR, can I make a placement for another joint cert without the presence of the joint cert holder?

2. How long it takes to register the xclusive membership and will they be able to issue the membership card on the spot?

3. I am not an xclusive member yet. Do you think I can skip the queue if I directly meet the AM and tell him that I want to register for it with the amount that I am going to deposit?

4. The 300k can be a combination of FD and CASA, right? The terms is abit confusing:

http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/rakyat-xclusive
1. Yes.

2. Last time they did it by selection and sent out the card. Now, not sure. I think becoming Xclusive member is not critical in getting nego rate (for first placement).

3. You can definitely do that. They are quite flexible in their dealings. So with your deposit can ask to see ABM or even BM directly.

4. That one is not mentioned, combination of FD and CASA. But why put high amount in CASA for those that seek high FD return ?
Human Nature
post Apr 9 2016, 11:16 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 9 2016, 11:10 AM)
1. Yes.

2. Last time they did it by selection and sent out the card. Now, not sure. I think becoming Xclusive member is not critical in getting nego rate (for first placement).

3. You can definitely do that. They are quite flexible in their dealings. So with your deposit can ask to see ABM or even BM directly.

4. That one is not mentioned, combination of FD and CASA. But why put high amount in CASA for those that seek high FD return ?
Thanks for the reply.

The card is important to cut queue and get parking, the main reason for joining...esp since BR certs are handled by my mom.

Yeah, it's weird they didn't state explicitly that they can be combined. Let me contact their CS for clarification. Not high of an amount, but if they do consider CASA then I can move just the minimum amount to BR.
bbgoat
post Apr 9 2016, 11:22 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 9 2016, 11:16 AM)
Thanks for the reply.

The card is important to cut queue and get parking, the main reason for joining...esp since BR certs are handled by my mom.

Yeah, it's weird they didn't state explicitly that they can be combined. Let me contact their CS for clarification. Not high of an amount, but if they do consider CASA then I can move just the minimum amount to BR.
Haha, in Penang, not much benefits like carpet for the Xclusive member queue. At least not in the branch that I am using. Cut queue yes as they already knows me (the guard even helps me to get the queue number). tongue.gif

Better call them. I would think should be OK wit the FD/CASA combination. biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 9 2016, 11:29 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 9 2016, 11:22 AM)
Haha, in Penang, not much benefits like carpet for the Xclusive member queue. At least not in the branch that I am using. Cut queue yes as they already knows me (the guard even helps me to get the queue number).  tongue.gif

Better call them. I would think should be OK wit the FD/CASA combination.  biggrin.gif
Yes, logically should be possible.

The parking is good because for my branch, need to park the car at a distance and cross a four lane road (with traffic light of course). No need red carpet as long as cut queue because the crowd at BR never cease. From my observation, most of them are for matters like mortgage so each person can consume a longer than average time.
tonytyk
post Apr 9 2016, 05:46 PM

1,962 posts

If FD maturity date falls on Sunday 17th April 2016, interest payable on Sunday for Alliance bank?
gsc
post Apr 10 2016, 11:27 AM

1,624 posts

HL bank 3 months 4.2%. Not bad for those need short term FD. valid till end of April. They have current promotion bundle with, I think unit trust 3 months FD for 6.98%
wil-i-am
post Apr 10 2016, 12:55 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Apr 9 2016, 05:46 PM)
If FD maturity date falls on Sunday 17th April 2016, interest payable on Sunday for Alliance bank?
How much interest u will forego in 1 day?
nexona88
post Apr 10 2016, 01:00 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,431 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 9 2016, 09:33 AM)
I have nearly forgotten about this BR's feature.

You can recommend people to BR and get 0.1% commission of their first deposit. BUT they only get board rates. So the only good time to recommend them is when there is no FD promo in BR. Then you can split the 0.1% with them.

Also BR no PIDM. Only for those with no issue on no PIDM protection.  biggrin.gif
thanks for the info.

gonna tell my friend about it cool2.gif
tonytyk
post Apr 10 2016, 01:33 PM

1,962 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Apr 10 2016, 12:55 PM)
How much interest u will forego in 1 day?
This is a question to a question?
yygo
post Apr 10 2016, 01:58 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 10 2016, 01:00 PM)
thanks for the info.

gonna tell my friend about it  cool2.gif
thank to unker goat oso. 6 figure (haha, anyone against 6 figure?)100,000 will get RM100.
bbgoat
post Apr 10 2016, 07:01 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(jernih @ Apr 8 2016, 08:44 PM)
Yup, I went to the branch you suggested. Thanks!

As for the gifts, when I was in the Asst Branch manager's room waiting for the certs to be prepared, the manager came in with two full bags as a gift. I was thinking. "Wah! Two bags of gold coins!" Haha!  grin.gif However, when I went home and opened them, these were what was inside - a nice, big box inside each bag which contained a towel each, two Parker pens and an Xclusive thermal mug. What an anticlimax!  sad.gif
Hahaha, I am still waiting for the gold coins. Initially my eyes popped when I saw the "two full bags as a gift". drool.gif drool.gif Wow so u got 4 Parker pens ! rclxms.gif Going to ask about the gold coins next few days. biggrin.gif

Other than the usual gifts like Cross pen, Parker pens, laptop bag, back pack, towels, mug, I found the stainless steel manicure set to be useful. Next time, BR FD depositors can ask for it and see if they still have it:

One smaller nail clipper missing inside there. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 10 2016, 07:01 PM
galaxynote259
post Apr 10 2016, 11:50 PM

412 posts

i understand that if OPR increases, FD rate will increase. If bank negara increases OPR, does FD rate increases immediately? or it is up to the bank to decide whether to increase FD rate?

and this FD rate increase will only affect new placement? or existing placement as well?
SUSsniperz
post Apr 11 2016, 12:11 AM

2,464 posts

What's the main difference between a Hong Leong Bank's Pay & Save Account and Fixed Deposit?

How do I upgrade from that particular savings account to that particular? Thanks! Still quite fresh in this but a long-term savings account user at PBe , CIMB , UOB and Maybank.

This post has been edited by sniperz: Apr 11 2016, 12:12 AM
galaxynote259
post Apr 11 2016, 12:20 AM

412 posts

HLB pay & save is a savings account, not an FD account

nitehawk
post Apr 11 2016, 12:22 AM

699 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Apr 11 2016, 12:11 AM)
What's the main difference between a Hong Leong Bank's Pay & Save Account and Fixed Deposit?

How do I upgrade from that particular savings account to that particular? Thanks! Still quite fresh in this but a long-term savings account user at PBe , CIMB , UOB and Maybank.
Hong Leong Pay & Save Account is a current account and it offers additional interest rate if you comply to the requirements.

You can't upgrade existing saving account to this Pay & Save account.
SUSsniperz
post Apr 11 2016, 07:12 AM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Apr 11 2016, 12:22 AM)
Hong Leong Pay & Save Account is a current account and it offers additional interest rate if you comply to the requirements.

You can't upgrade existing saving account to this Pay & Save account.
Actually, I have the Pay & Save but it's as good as Fixed Deposite right? As far as I'm concerned, the more you buy the more benefit you get in terms of those p.a interest rate?
bbgoat
post Apr 11 2016, 08:42 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Apr 10 2016, 11:50 PM)
i understand that if OPR increases, FD rate will increase. If bank negara increases OPR, does FD rate increases immediately? or it is up to the bank to decide whether to increase FD rate?

and this FD rate increase will only affect new placement? or existing placement as well?
All up to the banks. They would take their time to assess the situation & to adj their board rates.

Existing placement will not be affected (only if goes down, then step-up rate may be affected depending on banks). We lose out ! biggrin.gif

127 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:12 PM