Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

galaxynote259
post Feb 29 2016, 08:05 PM

412 posts

just deposited for HLB 4.5% for 6 months FD, they just give me a paper after i deposited, can i withdraw the money at any branch after maturity?

the counter girl told me it will be renewed automatically? therefore i must withdraw on maturity date? if not it will be renewed and i cannt withdraw?

the interest payment method i choose add on to principal, but on the FD paper the selling price = my principal * 0.045 * 6 / 12, it does nt seem to increase the interest i can earn??

galaxynote259
post Mar 4 2016, 03:44 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 4 2016, 02:53 PM)
Anyone heard of HLB Every Gain FD? Minimum 3 years tenure no minimum amount at 8.xx%?
wow thats high.. appreciate if anyone can share more info
galaxynote259
post Mar 10 2016, 04:44 PM

412 posts

What is opr is layman term?
galaxynote259
post Mar 19 2016, 06:20 PM

412 posts

Do we really earn more interest by Choosing to add interest to principal instead of payout to savings account?

I chose add to principal but the amount printed on the FD slip is the same as principal * interest per annum / tenure

galaxynote259
post Mar 22 2016, 09:37 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 21 2016, 03:48 PM)
Nice nice. My next FD to mature end of March is in UOB!  ranting.gif Hope to see higher rates in other banks.

Guys, need to confirm one thing on FD vs home loan.

Short story, I have an ongoing full-flexi home loan with linked current account. If dump into the current account, the amount will offset the home loan interest. At the moment, my home loan interest is BLR - 2.45% = 4.15%.

So, I think I am not wrong to say that I should continue putting into FDs that have higher rates than 4.15% rather than dumping into the flexi-loan right? Settling the loan is not an issue as I can settle it anytime but rather need the liquidity for other purposes (the monthly fee of RM10 is also minimal and is not a big issue).
under what condition the monthly fee will be charged?

galaxynote259
post Mar 22 2016, 12:51 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 22 2016, 11:39 AM)
Most home loan current account charges rm10 every month. It is automatic.
Nice. I never tried BR before. Maybe next time go see see....
Ic.. Home loan noobie here. So what's d advantage u get by creating a current account that links to your home loan ?
galaxynote259
post Mar 30 2016, 11:56 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(babienn @ Mar 29 2016, 03:59 PM)
I've just deposited with Maybank GIA-i.

Just wondering, since that they calculate the profit by daily basis (and profit is given monthly), no penalty for early withdrawal, then what's the purpose of the tenure? I mean I can just set 60 months and then withdraw at any time right?
i have the same question too..
galaxynote259
post Apr 4 2016, 06:15 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 4 2016, 02:51 PM)
Call or give them a visit to confirm.

Fresh fund. Fresh fund which means money must not come from RHB usually minimum rm10k. Say I want to put FD for the whatever promo rates you have. If you know the rates, even better. Make their work easier (if they are running >1 FD promo). Ignore any offers for UT/insurance (bank workers love selling products - you might get those offer if your FD value is large)

In the event need to open SA. Ask for BSA. Is FOC. Need only minimum rm20 inside. No need to pay anything. (usually banks will not give you BSA as they need to reach target for their other SA and they cannot earn anything from that BSA). This applies to all banks (free BSA). If they refuse to let you open BSA, threaten you will complain to BNM and they will give you a BSA.

Usually they will auto-renew back to board rates (3.x%) unless you specify that you want the money moved to your RHB SA. So if you don't remove the FD, you will be getting only 3.x% while maybe they/other banks are running a new promo giving 4.x for the same duration. Letting it auto-renew makes you lose out ~1% to banks.

Hope this answer some of the questions. smile.gif For other question wait for other forum members.
thanks for the info, went to place FD in hong leong and they opened pay&save savings account which charged me RM12 for ATM card and must have min RM200 in account otherwise charge RM 5 semi annually, gonna be careful if i were to open SA next time in other banks..
galaxynote259
post Apr 4 2016, 06:22 PM

412 posts

Dear all Sifu, very new to managing my finances,

I now place all my funds into FD / maybank GIA-i

what was the next investment you did after FD?
galaxynote259
post Apr 4 2016, 06:25 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 4 2016, 06:23 PM)
Since you have a pay&save savings account, maximise it to earn>4.5% when banks are not giving 4.5%FD anymore.
http://ringgitstretch.blogspot.com/2016/03...e-interest.html
I read it, frankly I dont understand the pay & save part..

since I opened the account in Feb and I had some funds inside ady.. rclxub.gif

Anyway this is a nice blog for FD info thumbup.gif

galaxynote259
post Apr 5 2016, 08:11 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 5 2016, 08:38 AM)
Let us know once they replied you. Whether they give u what u have asked for, the 4.5%.  hmm.gif

Today again received MBB's GIA-i interest, exactly 4% again !  thumbup.gif  However this is the 6th month, so looking forward to next mth for 4.5% interest.  rclxms.gif Even later 6% !  drool.gif
How do you know the interest of GIA? only when we withdraw?
galaxynote259
post Apr 10 2016, 11:50 PM

412 posts

i understand that if OPR increases, FD rate will increase. If bank negara increases OPR, does FD rate increases immediately? or it is up to the bank to decide whether to increase FD rate?

and this FD rate increase will only affect new placement? or existing placement as well?
galaxynote259
post Apr 11 2016, 12:20 AM

412 posts

HLB pay & save is a savings account, not an FD account

galaxynote259
post Apr 11 2016, 11:15 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 11 2016, 08:42 AM)
All up to the banks. They would take their time to assess the situation &  to adj their board rates.

Existing placement will not be affected (only if goes down, then step-up rate may be affected depending on banks). We lose out !  biggrin.gif
I see, I do have maybank efd that is step up.

I see that the latest figures for loan applied, loan approved, loan disbursed from bnm decreased significantly,it is hard to think that opr will increase..
galaxynote259
post Apr 14 2016, 01:40 PM

412 posts

Maybank GIA-i seems like a great alternative to savings account, 4% interest and can withdraw as we llike, can be done online too.

This post has been edited by galaxynote259: Apr 14 2016, 01:40 PM
galaxynote259
post Apr 14 2016, 01:54 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 14 2016, 01:47 PM)
I'm trying this too after reading on the "benefit". Is the benefit a bug or feature of MBB GIA-i ?
yeap no penalty for early withdrawal. just set 60 months tenure but you are free to withdraw any day.

galaxynote259
post Apr 14 2016, 06:11 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Apr 14 2016, 05:34 PM)
other than UOB, any banks offer online FD with more than 4% interests?
what is UOB online FD rate?
galaxynote259
post Apr 15 2016, 10:33 PM

412 posts

why so low ah now.. before april we are still getting 4.5% p.a. min 10k, sad.gif
galaxynote259
post Apr 16 2016, 04:02 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 16 2016, 03:53 PM)
We need to spread money in few banks, so it will be "fresh" funds when the FD matures. That's why I only will see 6 months promo FDs, easier for me to swap over.
Economy won't be anytime better, at least for the next few years. So FD rate will remain higher than normal.
FD rate is high??
galaxynote259
post Apr 16 2016, 04:03 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Apr 16 2016, 10:50 AM)
Is the Maybank eFD promotion not many sign up? Looks like not too much mention on it.
i do have some funds in maybank efd

0.0770sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:18 PM