137 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Health gaining weight corner, share ur tips to gain weight!

malaysianPotato
post Oct 20 2006, 04:55 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(wah5 @ Oct 20 2006, 01:53 PM)
Those you jus mentioned above I jus stated in my post before you, some more drinking 500ml of water when you jus awake in the morning, this would give a great burden to your heart. shakehead.gif 

Ideal amount of water should be in between 225 to 300ml (roughly 8 glasses a day). Drinking water in the morning not only wash out your stomach to give better digestion for the day, but also get to stabilize blood pressure.  thumbup.gif
First, define "jus awake in the morning"? 10 minutes after waking up? 20? 30? Also would the 500ml of water have to be taken in 1 shot or could it be taken over a few minutes for it to be a "burden to your heart"?

Here's a tip, when posting a "tip" like the one quoted, provide a link to a documented medical journal or article so we know you're actually posting fact not BS.

The ideal amount of water is determined by the amount of water lost, it varies from person to person. A person who exercises daily and sweats alot will need to drink more than a person who doesnt.
wah5
post Oct 20 2006, 05:13 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Oct 20 2006, 04:55 PM)
First, define "jus awake in the morning"? 10 minutes after waking up? 20? 30? Also would the 500ml of water have to be taken in 1 shot or could it be taken over a few minutes for it to be a "burden to your heart"?

Here's a tip, when posting a "tip" like the one quoted, provide a link to a documented medical journal or article so we know you're actually posting fact not BS.

The ideal amount of water is determined by the amount of water lost, it varies from person to person. A person who exercises daily and sweats alot will need to drink more than a person who doesnt.
Drinking 500ml in one shot is impossible if you jus awake in the morning, of cos we can't get off the bed instantly n directly go to take a glass of water to drink, we should take a 5 mins seat on the bed then only get off, i tot this is common sense, don't u no?

Drinking 8 glasses of water is for a normal ppl without doing any hypertension exercises, this must also see the water needed by the ppl himself or herself (individually see, so i put a range 225 to 300ml). In contrary, if u are a athlete who do a lot of exercises of cos you need to drink a lot of water. laugh.gif
willkhor
post Oct 20 2006, 05:42 PM

116 posts

Thanks guys.. for correcting me..

I stated 500ml because now a days the weather and the haze really terrible.. we need more water to clean our body ..tongue.gif

some more i work in office that for sure i need more..

Anywa guys.. i learnt alot from you guys..

Lets bring up health concern to everyone..
iDk
post Oct 20 2006, 10:27 PM

♂
1,124 posts

ermmm... i everyday wake up in the morning, the first thing is go toilet to pee and after that i drink 500ml of warm water. Why is it impossible to drink 500 ml of water? I can even drink down 1L of water if i want to. My cup is a big 500ml cup. After breakfast another 500~1000ml of water will be down my stomach. If it is my workout day, my water consumption will be around 3~5L per day. No problem at all, just need to go toilet often. Plus some more these days the air quality so bad, my body need to drink more water or else my lips will crack open up. Not to mention that the amount above is without the consumption of whey protein, if the whey protein comes in, my need to drink much more water. This is just me.

This post has been edited by iDk: Oct 20 2006, 10:29 PM
Joey-kun
post Oct 21 2006, 02:25 AM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(wah5 @ Oct 20 2006, 05:13 PM)
Drinking 500ml in one shot is impossible if you jus awake in the morning, of cos we can't get off the bed instantly n directly go to take a glass of water to drink, we should take a 5 mins seat on the bed then only get off, i tot this is common sense, don't u no?

Drinking 8 glasses of water is for a normal ppl without doing any hypertension exercises, this must also see the water needed by the ppl himself or herself (individually see, so i put a range 225 to 300ml). In contrary, if u are a athlete who do a lot of exercises of cos you need to drink a lot of water.  laugh.gif
common sense or common myth? any articles to support your theory? or any reasoning at all? The japanese drink water right after they wake up, and a programme that helps cancer patients also recommends drinking water after waking up.

and what is hypertension exercise? some new exercise that causes high blood pressure?
malaysianPotato
post Oct 21 2006, 02:26 AM

2,816 posts

You wouldnt want to bet on that one biggrin.gif

Personally, I can get off the bed instantly, go take a glass of water, drink it down, refill the glass and chug it down. I don't see a need to take 5 mins to sit in bed before getting up, by that time I'm usually already warming up for my morning runs.

So, no I don't think it's common sense to have to sit in bed for 5 minutes.
darklight79
post Oct 21 2006, 02:40 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Drinking 8 glasses of water is for a normal ppl without doing any hypertension exercises, this must also see the water needed by the ppl himself or herself (individually see, so i put a range 225 to 300ml). In contrary, if u are a athlete who do a lot of exercises of cos you need to drink a lot of water.  laugh.gif
What are you talking about? Squats, deadlift, bench press, all result in a momentary increase in BP. Define exercises which don't increase BP.

And as for your take in not taking in water the moment we get off bed? I wake up and i head straight to the kitchen for my morning shake of milk, oats, whey and fish oil. And the milk is 500ml.

And 8 glasses of water a day is normal under normal conditions. If you work in an air conditioned environment, you need more water to stave of dehydration. What about manual labor jobs?

Are you trying to tell me they should limit themselves to 8 glasses a day? Unless they're sufferring from a critical phase of congestive cardiac failure, i don't think your posts holds much validity.

However if you're talking in extremes, for a normal person, 30 glasses of water a day is too much, but i don't see what's wrong with a normal person consuming 10-12 glasses a day. I do, and that's not counting in my milk, which is also liquid.

This post has been edited by darklight79: Oct 21 2006, 02:43 AM
tan_pang
post Oct 21 2006, 08:22 AM

3,110 posts

if i drink 200ml of water
and then follow up my 300ml of milk

is it same effect as drink 500ml of water??
Joey-kun
post Oct 22 2006, 11:13 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Oct 21 2006, 08:22 AM)
if i drink 200ml of water
and then follow up my 300ml of milk

is it same effect as drink 500ml of water??
no. milk is milk, water is water.
darklight79
post Oct 22 2006, 11:46 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Oct 22 2006, 11:13 PM)
no. milk is milk, water is water.
They're both still liquids.
Joey-kun
post Oct 22 2006, 11:48 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 22 2006, 11:46 PM)
uhh okay...kinda got confused with another theory
bonzaimy
post Oct 23 2006, 10:12 PM

1,009 posts

lol...both are water
bidfordun
post Oct 24 2006, 12:52 AM

2,234 posts

so syok, i want to slim down nia.
tan_pang
post Oct 24 2006, 08:46 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 22 2006, 11:46 PM)
becoz milk will become solid when in stomach
therefore, i wonder is it have the same effect
or have the negative effect...
snorlax
post Oct 24 2006, 09:50 PM

Sleeper
1,308 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Oct 24 2006, 08:46 AM)
becoz milk will become solid when in stomach
therefore, i wonder is it have the same effect
or have the negative effect...
How does milk become a solid in your stomach? blink.gif
Joey-kun
post Oct 24 2006, 10:07 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(snorlax @ Oct 24 2006, 09:50 PM)
How does milk become a solid in your stomach?  blink.gif
actually when consumed milk dosent have the same purifying effect as water on the organs. Which is why we're never told to drink 8 glasses of liquids, but water.
alexchew_2020
post Oct 24 2006, 10:14 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

eat-sleep, eat-sleep, eat-sleep, eat-sleep everday x2
tan_pang
post Oct 24 2006, 11:31 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(snorlax @ Oct 24 2006, 09:50 PM)
How does milk become a solid in your stomach?  blink.gif
doh.gif
i tot all of the people in here know it...
when protein get into stomach
the enzyme in stomach will turn milk from liquid to solid (i aledi forget is pepsin or pepsinogen)
thats why we are easily full after drink milk
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Oct 24 2006, 10:07 PM)
actually when consumed milk dosent have the same purifying effect as water on the organs. Which is why we're never told to drink 8 glasses of liquids, but water.
liquid... sweat.gif
if we're told to drink 8 glasses of liquid in a day
then sure every children will drink 8 glassese of Coca-cola a day
sure will gain weight sweat.gif
QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Oct 24 2006, 10:14 PM)
i really hope mod or staff can warn this kind of people not to spam in here shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Oct 24 2006, 11:33 PM
darklight79
post Oct 24 2006, 11:58 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

If you're trying to be a wise ass, sorry, here at Health & Fitness, we don't like trolls.
malaysianPotato
post Oct 25 2006, 03:06 AM

2,816 posts

Go troll another section and keep your spam away from this one.

137 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:55 AM