Proper Pre and Post Workout Nutrition, Very Important!!
Awakened_Angel
Feb 13 2012, 04:43 PM
yeah, but the qty is not sufficient
I took like 4 eggs in morning, noon milk, chicken rice with chic breast, night, chic breast, 4-5eggs + burger meat (grilled)
P/S i went to food court, ordered a 6 eggs half boiled, the auntie shouted.. what?6 ?? I have been selling drinks for 20 years, first time see people eat 6 half boiled eggs at one time......... =_=||| I should ask her to go to the gym more
Kyoyagami
Feb 14 2012, 12:27 PM
KyoYagami-myed
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Feb 13 2012, 04:43 PM) yeah, but the qty is not sufficient I took like 4 eggs in morning, noon milk, chicken rice with chic breast, night, chic breast, 4-5eggs + burger meat (grilled) P/S i went to food court, ordered a 6 eggs half boiled, the auntie shouted.. what?6 ?? I have been selling drinks for 20 years, first time see people eat 6 half boiled eggs at one time......... =_=||| I should ask her to go to the gym more Done that at a mamak stall, the guy just wanted to reconfirm my order. my friend who came back from US and ordered Milo Ais in US slang, and the mamak shouted.  I'd go with more milk I guess. But that's just me. Its possible to make ur own shake from whole foods, but that depends if you can handle taking it, tastewise.
4Rings
Feb 16 2012, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Feb 13 2012, 02:28 PM) any substitutes for whey? my wife banned me from taking whey protein, took a lot till it increase my cholesterol level-maybe took too much mass gainer whey You should ban your wife from banning you taking whey. Mother's milk is best substitute for whey.
adrianteo
Feb 16 2012, 10:16 AM

HI guys, i'm quite a newbie so this may sound stupid.
Erm, i'm an overweight person, i recently joined gym and started losing my weight due to consistent work out.
But i was pretty slow and slightly come to stagnant at -5kgs. So i signed up a PT sessions for 18 sessions.
I started the first yesterday and it was really hectic. My body was sore but not today maybe because i did work out for the past few months so the effect wasn't that painful.
Anyway, i was told by the trainer that is better i take some protein with less fat to help me recover fast after the session.
Is there something like that? He did offer me and trying to get me buy from him. But is there any recommendation here that i can get before i decide?
Thanks a million!
4Rings
Feb 16 2012, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(adrianteo @ Feb 16 2012, 10:16 AM) HI guys, i'm quite a newbie so this may sound stupid. Erm, i'm an overweight person, i recently joined gym and started losing my weight due to consistent work out. But i was pretty slow and slightly come to stagnant at -5kgs. So i signed up a PT sessions for 18 sessions. I started the first yesterday and it was really hectic. My body was sore but not today maybe because i did work out for the past few months so the effect wasn't that painful. Anyway, i was told by the trainer that is better i take some protein with less fat to help me recover fast after the session. Is there something like that? He did offer me and trying to get me buy from him. But is there any recommendation here that i can get before i decide? Thanks a million! You cannot rely on workout alone to help you to lose body fats. Your diet is important. Eat a low carb diet. Google for more info as this has been discussed for more than a zillion times. Supplements play an important role in recovery. Vitamins, minerals, essential fatty acids are as important as protein supplements.
Awakened_Angel
Feb 16 2012, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(4Rings @ Feb 16 2012, 10:10 AM) You should ban your wife from banning you taking whey. Mother's milk is best substitute for whey.  ahaha........... anyhow, she allow this soya bean whey about 33g of protein per 100g content.......... any difference compared to horley, nitrotech etc?
4Rings
Feb 17 2012, 07:06 AM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Feb 16 2012, 03:55 PM) ahaha........... anyhow, she allow this soya bean whey about 33g of protein per 100g content.......... any difference compared to horley, nitrotech etc? Most whey proteins contain 70-90% protein whereas your soy whey has only 33%. So why waste your money on soy whey?
Awakened_Angel
Feb 17 2012, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(4Rings @ Feb 17 2012, 08:06 AM) Most whey proteins contain 70-90% protein whereas your soy whey has only 33%. So why waste your money on soy whey? aiyoo, boss, not as rich as you mah
myeggwhite
Feb 18 2012, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Feb 17 2012, 08:04 PM) aiyoo, boss, not as rich as you mah dont forget it is maximum 70% bio available
Awakened_Angel
Feb 18 2012, 08:45 AM
which mean e.g. I took a 30g protein(100g content), how many percent will it absorbed by my body?
4Rings
Feb 18 2012, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Feb 17 2012, 08:04 PM) aiyoo, boss, not as rich as you mah Aiyoo, if you had calculated gram to gram of protein cost, your soy whey is even more expensive. How much of protein your body can absorb is depending entirely on individual. You have to send your dump to a lab to test the nitrogen balance.
Awakened_Angel
Feb 18 2012, 10:47 AM
yaa.... but it is approved by my HM
4Rings
Feb 18 2012, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Feb 18 2012, 10:47 AM) yaa.... but it is approved by my HM 
ILECHZ
Feb 24 2012, 07:43 PM
This is my Diet.
Breakfast -Noodles/Meat Porridge
Tea Break-3-4 pcs biscuit/2-3 pcs Bread
Lunch- A bowl of Rice W/ Few piece Chick/Vege /Egg
Tea Break- None
Dinner -Same With Lunch.
Im Currently 178/88kg.
i wan to loss weight any pros here help me adjust my diet plan? or i should change my meal for breakfast?
ballsytennis
Mar 6 2012, 11:29 AM
Hi, I need some advise from experience & long timers here. Basically, tennis training & jogging is my regular exercise and sports to stay fit and healthy. Born in 1983 and standing 6ft weight 80Kg.
My diet is eat whatever that contribute to my sports and exercise. A lot of red meat, fish, chicken, sushi, eggs, vegetables & etc also drink a lot of drink. To cut short, should I consider of consuming processed supplement as an additional bonus for my muscle & tissue recovery and energy? I never take any multi-vitamin just the GNC TriFlex for my joint well being. Only 3 meals a day. Heavy meals. Thank you
-Dan
Mar 6 2012, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(ballsytennis @ Mar 6 2012, 11:29 AM) Hi, I need some advise from experience & long timers here. Basically, tennis training & jogging is my regular exercise and sports to stay fit and healthy. Born in 1983 and standing 6ft weight 80Kg. My diet is eat whatever that contribute to my sports and exercise. A lot of red meat, fish, chicken, sushi, eggs, vegetables & etc also drink a lot of drink. To cut short, should I consider of consuming processed supplement as an additional bonus for my muscle & tissue recovery and energy? I never take any multi-vitamin just the GNC TriFlex for my joint well being. Only 3 meals a day. Heavy meals. Thank you A multivitamin to start out with would be good. And if you want something for recovery, you can consider BCAAs.
ballsytennis
Mar 7 2012, 09:00 AM
Ok thanks
enix2000
Mar 28 2012, 06:21 PM
read through all of it but what i really want to know is about supplement intake.
should i take my protein shake pre or post workout? how about creatine intake?
i recently finish my Nitrotech protein and im looking for other brands (which is more economical). which should i take?
4Rings
Mar 29 2012, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(enix2000 @ Mar 28 2012, 06:21 PM) read through all of it but what i really want to know is about supplement intake. should i take my protein shake pre or post workout? how about creatine intake? i recently finish my Nitrotech protein and im looking for other brands (which is more economical). which should i take? As for protein shake, I prefer once 2 hours before workout and once after workout. If you do creatine loading, take it after workout. Otherwise take it before workout.
KingArthurVI
Apr 5 2012, 11:00 PM
Breakfast: 1. 3 half-boiled eggs 2. 2 slices of toast, usually with peanut butter/2 slices of toast'em with butter 3. 1 scoop of whey protein shake
Lunch: Home: Brown rice with vege and 2 meat side-dish, soup OR (eat out): Aim for fist-sized chicken/fish with veges and some carbs
Post-workout: Creatine + 1 scoop protein shake
1 hour post-workout (dinner): Same as lunch
My snacks between meals are kinda irregular so apart from that, am I missing anything important?
This post has been edited by KingArthurVI: Apr 5 2012, 11:00 PM