Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
HenDa
Dec 22 2014, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(babykon101 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:29 PM) Thanks! Btw, can advise which is a good area to stay? I think my budget for room is 650 the most ady. Been searching on ibilik.sg and easyroomates, but can't really tell which place is decent. I don't like dodgy places.  anywhere near to office
TSdeodorant
Dec 22 2014, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(babykon101 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:29 PM) I don't like dodgy places. SG is "Sterilized Asia." The only place that qualifies as 'dodgy' is probably only Geylang. Other than that, your choices are between Mature estates (with older, pricier accommodation and a lot of facilities like eateries, malls, town centers, etc), and new estates (newer, cheaper accommodation but sacrifice on convenience).
babykon101
Dec 22 2014, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(HenDa @ Dec 22 2014, 02:33 PM) anywhere near to office  Was thinking that until I saw that apparently shenton way is equivalent to the the KLCC area? If stay walking distance to work, sure exp to the max.
kevin613
Dec 22 2014, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(Frank3 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:09 PM) Wa, that is many...  get promotion? nope, that was without promotion.. i got a 20% increment when i got promoted to a senior, then the year after i receive 14%, and followed by 10%. dunno what its gonna be like for this year.
babykon101
Dec 22 2014, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 22 2014, 02:34 PM) SG is "Sterilized Asia." The only place that qualifies as 'dodgy' is probably only Geylang. Other than that, your choices are between Mature estates (with older, pricier accommodation and a lot of facilities like eateries, malls, town centers, etc), and new estates (newer, cheaper accommodation but sacrifice on convenience). Wow. thanks for this advice. While saying dodgy, I have places like Bukit bintang cheap flats and those in Jelatek which has Myanmar Expats screaming down the block etc. I know these are some of my friends working Pet but still can stay there. Can you be so kind to name me 3 good areas which are like SS2, PJ or wangsa maju area? Real clean, close to MRT and convenient This post has been edited by babykon101: Dec 22 2014, 02:40 PM
avengers88
Dec 22 2014, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(babykon101 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:24 PM) Hey all. I am thinking on an offer to work in SG from Feb next year onward. Company is MNC and I think career progression should be good, will never know for real until I start there. For those working in SG, do you think 4 - 4.5k enough for a 24 yrs old, single and not the type to really splurge, as I want to save some money to bring back Malaysia. Plus, will be working in Shenton Way, where to stay ya? Thank you! 4-4.5k is good enough already. If you dun splurge I think U will definitely save more than 1k. Which company in Shenton Way? I will be working around there too. Still finding place to stay while waiting for EP to be approved.
babykon101
Dec 22 2014, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(avengers88 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:46 PM) 4-4.5k is good enough already. If you dun splurge I think U will definitely save more than 1k. Which company in Shenton Way? I will be working around there too. Still finding place to stay while waiting for EP to be approved. UGPM
ThanatosSwiftfire
Dec 22 2014, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(babykon101 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:40 PM) Wow. thanks for this advice. While saying dodgy, I have places like Bukit bintang cheap flats and those in Jelatek which has Myanmar Expats screaming down the block etc. I know these are some of my friends working Pet but still can stay there. Can you be so kind to name me 3 good areas which are like SS2, PJ or wangsa maju area? Real clean, close to MRT and convenient  QUOTE(avengers88 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:46 PM) 4-4.5k is good enough already. If you dun splurge I think U will definitely save more than 1k. Which company in Shenton Way? I will be working around there too. Still finding place to stay while waiting for EP to be approved. toa payoh, tiong bahru, commonwealth, queenstown are decent places.
babykon101
Dec 22 2014, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Dec 22 2014, 03:13 PM) toa payoh, tiong bahru, commonwealth, queenstown are decent places.  Got it! Now I know what to filter out on ibilik.sg. Thanks2
rcr
Dec 22 2014, 03:26 PM
Anyone faces this dilemma before?
If converted to Singaporean, can we still withdraw money from our EPF account in Malaysia?
ukimaro
Dec 22 2014, 05:40 PM
hi guys i would like to seek advice on when is the best time to apply jobs in singapore ? I have graduated in october as an electrical and electronics engineer in kuching. I have gone 3 months internship in kuching as well. I have applied 25-30 jobs so far but so far no reply  . is it the wrong time to apply ? I have applied engineering jobs in jobstreet and jobstreet. Any tips and advice that you guys can give ? I would like to start my career in singapore.
sheng291
Dec 22 2014, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(ukimaro @ Dec 22 2014, 05:40 PM) hi guys i would like to seek advice on when is the best time to apply jobs in singapore ? I have graduated in october as an electrical and electronics engineer in kuching. I have gone 3 months internship in kuching as well. I have applied 25-30 jobs so far but so far no reply  . is it the wrong time to apply ? I have applied engineering jobs in jobstreet and jobstreet. Any tips and advice that you guys can give ? I would like to start my career in singapore. If you willing to take SME companies, I see no problem.. They like overseas, especially Msia people if you can speak chinese+ a bit hokkien for MNC...you can try your luck..my friend with 2nd lower cls just secured a position in Baker..while another got in M1..all pay more than 3k..consider good as freshie..
kevin613
Dec 22 2014, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(ukimaro @ Dec 22 2014, 05:40 PM) hi guys i would like to seek advice on when is the best time to apply jobs in singapore ? I have graduated in october as an electrical and electronics engineer in kuching. I have gone 3 months internship in kuching as well. I have applied 25-30 jobs so far but so far no reply  . is it the wrong time to apply ? I have applied engineering jobs in jobstreet and jobstreet. Any tips and advice that you guys can give ? I would like to start my career in singapore. i believe most employer would prefer someone who are present in SG and readily available for interview, and adding a local(SG) contact number to your resume would improve your chance. and when you come to SG, please bring along all your certs (including your birth cert), so you can submit them for permit application without have to go back and forth. This post has been edited by kevin613: Dec 22 2014, 06:28 PM
sheng291
Dec 22 2014, 06:31 PM
Btw, any1 work in management consulting field in SG? started to explore it and feel interested with it, but intend to know more about it.
ukimaro
Dec 22 2014, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 22 2014, 06:24 PM) If you willing to take SME companies, I see no problem.. They like overseas, especially Msia people if you can speak chinese+ a bit hokkien for MNC...you can try your luck..my friend with 2nd lower cls just secured a position in Baker..while another got in M1..all pay more than 3k..consider good as freshie.. Sadly i only have a 3rd class honors. But this kind of qualification still can apply MNC company ? Hopefully got reply soon. Well im going to sg next week for 2 weeks. for friends wedding and just hunt for jobs. Im quite worried i cant get a job in sg. QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 22 2014, 06:27 PM) i believe most employer would prefer someone who are present in SG and readily available for interview, and adding a local(SG) contact number to your resume would improve your chance. and when you come to SG, please bring along all your certs (including your birth cert), so you can submit them for permit application without have to go back and forth. Ill be there next week for 2 weeks. Yeap ive put the sg number as secondary number on my resume. Thanks for the info ! I just need some luck.
sheng291
Dec 22 2014, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(ukimaro @ Dec 22 2014, 07:10 PM) Sadly i only have a 3rd class honors. But this kind of qualification still can apply MNC company ? Hopefully got reply soon. Well im going to sg next week for 2 weeks. for friends wedding and just hunt for jobs. Im quite worried i cant get a job in sg. Ill be there next week for 2 weeks. Yeap ive put the sg number as secondary number on my resume. Thanks for the info ! I just need some luck. 3rd class? hmm.i myself 2nd upper with good extra-curricular experiences can't get good response in sg as well.. u still can try la.if u willing to work Saturday/OT/work at not so nice environment..sure got opportunities
V-Zero
Dec 22 2014, 09:07 PM
Just got a job offer for BI Developer role with an European Bank. Around $5k @ 25 years old is not too bad I guess.  The office is at Maple Business City near Labrador Park, any 1st hand recommendation on where to stay?
tik tok tik tok
Dec 22 2014, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(V-Zero @ Dec 22 2014, 09:07 PM) Just got a job offer for BI Developer role with an European Bank. Around $5k @ 25 years old is not too bad I guess.  The office is at Maple Business City near Labrador Park, any 1st hand recommendation on where to stay?  Same age, just graduate, but my salary is so much lower...
V-Zero
Dec 22 2014, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(tik tok tik tok @ Dec 22 2014, 09:09 PM) Same age, just graduate, but my salary is so much lower...  Graduated from Msia gov uni with about 3 years of working exp.
tik tok tik tok
Dec 22 2014, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(V-Zero @ Dec 22 2014, 09:17 PM) Graduated from Msia gov uni with about 3 years of working exp.  WOW. PTS + matric?