maxis on paper terms do not allow subscribers above 5th floor (if you're on 5th floor its still okay)
Note, that depends on the location, but on paper, no.
Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !
Sep 24 2007, 04:04 AM
1,964 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sabah, Malaysia. |
maxis on paper terms do not allow subscribers above 5th floor (if you're on 5th floor its still okay)
Note, that depends on the location, but on paper, no. |
Sep 24 2007, 04:15 AM
6 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Basically i am Penang user of Maxis broadband.
I would said maxis broadband user should know what i am saying. When first subscribe, it reach 120kbps - 200 ++ . Damn fast. Later, it gradually reduce .. ( really don know what is the intention of it.....) Maybe user increase? or just let you happy at first and let you suffer 17 months later? hm..... Connection Speed : 384 package user (RM68) speed terrbily slow download : 70 Kbps . upload = around 20 kbps Location : Air itam . House : Single Storrey House. Maxis broandband = signal dependant and location depedent. ( Think twice if you live in condo / flat,you signal is damn sucks!) Remember to see terms and condition. Building height did matters!? hm... bittorent user don't use it! yeah , it did limit bittorent for better connection. Yeah damn right. Maxis you are damn true.. but yet the connection still sucks without BITTORENT. WHAT IS THE IDEA OF IDLE? So you can auto Disconnect user for better CONNECTION AGAIN? Then how you explain the following thing : Modem hardly connected to internet? ( so true, ask la maxis bb user, when they connect using that stupid menu 192.168.0.1 ) User did not idle, still browsing , yet DC? MSN IM user hardly connect? Yahoo Messenger hardly connect? basically it like most of the thing hardly connect? BROADBAND connection is means always connected and 256 kbit/s (0.256 Mbit/s) or more is considered broadband Internet. Not means Disconnect user when they idle and your maxis bb speed is reducing so much nowadays. I am nearly dial up speed already. hahahaha!! Maxis don call yourself broadband! better said Maxis Mobile internet( Ranging from GPRS to HSPDA) . Pls change your name. It make your customer confused!! i feel so cheated! I am so regret to subcribe it. Customer service : very sucks. another kind of services that really make me mad! Just like tmnut This post has been edited by bluesea: Sep 24 2007, 04:42 AM |
Sep 24 2007, 08:59 AM
4,688 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://127.0.0.1 |
iianm bluesea, the usage of maxis wbb has not been capped when u 1st registered at that time.slowly, they're upgrading their system, and introducing a new type of plan (starter,advance, power), hence they cap the speed.
it's true that when i 1st subscribed, i got the speed up to 200kBps.but now the max speed is 80kBps provided that u have a good server connection and average speed is 40kBps.im okay with it as long as the speed did not deteriorate.seems like im getting a stable 40-ish kBps for now. and they introduced the disconnection method to preserve the connection.wireless and wired are 2 different things, althought it's still broadband.u can always ping 24 hours to any server to avoid disconnection This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Sep 24 2007, 09:02 AM |
Sep 24 2007, 11:12 AM
When it comes to building heights, the topography comes in.
Let's say you stay in a hilly area. And the base station is based on a ground. The issue here is that while you may be staying below the 5th floor, the fact is that the range and the conditions of the topography may be in such an awkward position such as where you're equivalent to a 20th floor. Not getting the idea? Okay, just imagine the base station is on 1m above sea level. You're in penang, and some of the condos are high up on the hills. let's say you stay on ground level 5. True, but when you look around from the building, you easily surpass even any other lvl 20 building. That becomes an issue, unless you live near a node, and have a very clear L.O.S (Line of Sight), then you're within the "prescribed nominal" conditions. Then again, check your modem if it has downgraded to EDGE connection. EDGE, being a 2.75G, can still best UTMS speed given proper conditions, but then again its subject to the traffic at GSM. 3G runs on a different infrastructure. With the new Super Saver plan from Maxis, I'm not surprised that their GSM network is congested to near full capacity. One of the ways is to check your gateway access, and go to your self portal (and check if you're on UTMS / HSDPA / EDGE / GPRS. Upload is always 25-35% of the download speed. Judging from yours, your upload is nominal compared to the downloads you're getting (as per on the spot) |
Sep 24 2007, 03:45 PM
1,485 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Sep 24 2007, 03:52 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Well I am getting 600Kbps++ (the max it can go is like 1.4Mbps). I am quite happy with it to tell you the truth. Like hyperyouth_firepower said , topography kicks in.
They don't really disconnect you. Its just that they kick you to UMTS/EDGE/GPRS whenever you are Idle (No data sent/recieved for a certain period of time). It goes same for my mobile phone as well. Whenever I'm Idle , it automatically jumps from HSDPA to UMTS. But once there is any sort of activity , it quickly gets back to HSDPA. Its a very ingenious way to prevent 'Idlers' from occupying the 'slots'. There aren't many 'slots' in HSDPA. Imagine if idlers suck all the slots in HSDPA , this does not allow 'authentic' users to enjoy the speed. Maxis knows how to manage their bandwidth (Thumbs up). But then they have major problems with their International Link. They should really work on that Oh radio waves travel in the form of longitudinal waves. As you know waves can be reflected , diffracted , deflected , and absorbed. So there are many factors why you can't get 100% of your subscribed speed (apart from network congestion). This is why I did not blame JARING for my slow speeds lately because of the uber-develompent in the Setapak Area (soo many high-rise condos). It absorbs signal , making it 'weaker'... |
Sep 24 2007, 04:10 PM
2,967 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(bluesea @ Sep 24 2007, 04:15 AM) Basically i am Penang user of Maxis broadband. I would said maxis broadband user should know what i am saying. When first subscribe, it reach 120kbps - 200 ++ . Damn fast. Later, it gradually reduce .. ( really don know what is the intention of it.....) Maybe user increase? or just let you happy at first and let you suffer 17 months later? hm..... Connection Speed : 384 package user (RM68) speed terrbily slow download : 70 Kbps . upload = around 20 kbps Location : Air itam . House : Single Storrey House. Maxis broandband = signal dependant and location depedent. ( Think twice if you live in condo / flat,you signal is damn sucks!) Remember to see terms and condition. Building height did matters!? hm... bittorent user don't use it! yeah , it did limit bittorent for better connection. Yeah damn right. Maxis you are damn true.. but yet the connection still sucks without BITTORENT. WHAT IS THE IDEA OF IDLE? So you can auto Disconnect user for better CONNECTION AGAIN? Then how you explain the following thing : Modem hardly connected to internet? ( so true, ask la maxis bb user, when they connect using that stupid menu 192.168.0.1 ) User did not idle, still browsing , yet DC? MSN IM user hardly connect? Yahoo Messenger hardly connect? basically it like most of the thing hardly connect? BROADBAND connection is means always connected and 256 kbit/s (0.256 Mbit/s) or more is considered broadband Internet. Not means Disconnect user when they idle and your maxis bb speed is reducing so much nowadays. I am nearly dial up speed already. hahahaha!! Maxis don call yourself broadband! better said Maxis Mobile internet( Ranging from GPRS to HSPDA) . Pls change your name. It make your customer confused!! i feel so cheated! I am so regret to subcribe it. Customer service : very sucks. another kind of services that really make me mad! Just like tmnut QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Sep 24 2007, 08:59 AM) iianm bluesea, the usage of maxis wbb has not been capped when u 1st registered at that time.slowly, they're upgrading their system, and introducing a new type of plan (starter,advance, power), hence they cap the speed. it's true that when i 1st subscribed, i got the speed up to 200kBps.but now the max speed is 80kBps provided that u have a good server connection and average speed is 40kBps.im okay with it as long as the speed did not deteriorate.seems like im getting a stable 40-ish kBps for now. and they introduced the disconnection method to preserve the connection.wireless and wired are 2 different things, althought it's still broadband.u can always ping 24 hours to any server to avoid disconnection QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Sep 24 2007, 11:12 AM) When it comes to building heights, the topography comes in. Let's say you stay in a hilly area. And the base station is based on a ground. The issue here is that while you may be staying below the 5th floor, the fact is that the range and the conditions of the topography may be in such an awkward position such as where you're equivalent to a 20th floor. Not getting the idea? Okay, just imagine the base station is on 1m above sea level. You're in penang, and some of the condos are high up on the hills. let's say you stay on ground level 5. True, but when you look around from the building, you easily surpass even any other lvl 20 building. That becomes an issue, unless you live near a node, and have a very clear L.O.S (Line of Sight), then you're within the "prescribed nominal" conditions. Then again, check your modem if it has downgraded to EDGE connection. EDGE, being a 2.75G, can still best UTMS speed given proper conditions, but then again its subject to the traffic at GSM. 3G runs on a different infrastructure. With the new Super Saver plan from Maxis, I'm not surprised that their GSM network is congested to near full capacity. One of the ways is to check your gateway access, and go to your self portal (and check if you're on UTMS / HSDPA / EDGE / GPRS. Upload is always 25-35% of the download speed. Judging from yours, your upload is nominal compared to the downloads you're getting (as per on the spot) QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 24 2007, 03:52 PM) Well I am getting 600Kbps++ (the max it can go is like 1.4Mbps). I am quite happy with it to tell you the truth. Like hyperyouth_firepower said , topography kicks in. dudesThey don't really disconnect you. Its just that they kick you to UMTS/EDGE/GPRS whenever you are Idle (No data sent/recieved for a certain period of time). It goes same for my mobile phone as well. Whenever I'm Idle , it automatically jumps from HSDPA to UMTS. But once there is any sort of activity , it quickly gets back to HSDPA. Its a very ingenious way to prevent 'Idlers' from occupying the 'slots'. There aren't many 'slots' in HSDPA. Imagine if idlers suck all the slots in HSDPA , this does not allow 'authentic' users to enjoy the speed. Maxis knows how to manage their bandwidth (Thumbs up). But then they have major problems with their International Link. They should really work on that Oh radio waves travel in the form of longitudinal waves. As you know waves can be reflected , diffracted , deflected , and absorbed. So there are many factors why you can't get 100% of your subscribed speed (apart from network congestion). This is why I did not blame JARING for my slow speeds lately because of the uber-develompent in the Setapak Area (soo many high-rise condos). It absorbs signal , making it 'weaker'... u guys are f*****g lucky to even reach 70kbps download rate and above i never reached that ever since first time registered u know whats the max i can get? this is in gombak btw, kuala lumpur not kuala lipis hutan the max is 17kbps the lowest and at most times 700bytes per second to 3kbps imagine that dude bukak friendster ultra lembab forum lowyat je ok others, like pc reviews and all that, tunggu sampai my mum balik haji on february oso wont open what should i do then? first bill dah sampai Added on September 24, 2007, 4:10 pmoh and btw, i subscribed to 768 package This post has been edited by gtoforce: Sep 24 2007, 04:10 PM |
Sep 24 2007, 04:11 PM
4,667 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: UniVeRSiTy Of MaLaYa |
weh, i went to my friend's house yesterday. he using strimik pekej 512kb.. can play BF2142 online.. ping around ~35ms like that.. with this maxis wbb, i only can get ping around ~85ms huhuuuhu
Sep 24 2007, 04:57 PM
194 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(bluesea @ Sep 24 2007, 04:15 AM) Basically i am Penang user of Maxis broadband. Agreed.I would said maxis broadband user should know what i am saying. When first subscribe, it reach 120kbps - 200 ++ . Damn fast. Later, it gradually reduce .. ( really don know what is the intention of it.....) Maybe user increase? or just let you happy at first and let you suffer 17 months later? hm..... Connection Speed : 384 package user (RM68) speed terrbily slow download : 70 Kbps . upload = around 20 kbps Location : Air itam . House : Single Storrey House. Maxis broandband = signal dependant and location depedent. ( Think twice if you live in condo / flat,you signal is damn sucks!) Remember to see terms and condition. Building height did matters!? hm... bittorent user don't use it! yeah , it did limit bittorent for better connection. Yeah damn right. Maxis you are damn true.. but yet the connection still sucks without BITTORENT. WHAT IS THE IDEA OF IDLE? So you can auto Disconnect user for better CONNECTION AGAIN? Then how you explain the following thing : Modem hardly connected to internet? ( so true, ask la maxis bb user, when they connect using that stupid menu 192.168.0.1 ) User did not idle, still browsing , yet DC? MSN IM user hardly connect? Yahoo Messenger hardly connect? basically it like most of the thing hardly connect? BROADBAND connection is means always connected and 256 kbit/s (0.256 Mbit/s) or more is considered broadband Internet. Not means Disconnect user when they idle and your maxis bb speed is reducing so much nowadays. I am nearly dial up speed already. hahahaha!! Maxis don call yourself broadband! better said Maxis Mobile internet( Ranging from GPRS to HSPDA) . Pls change your name. It make your customer confused!! i feel so cheated! I am so regret to subcribe it. Customer service : very sucks. another kind of services that really make me mad! Just like tmnut I used it to play WOW and the latency is very low for first 2 month and i have to say bye bye to WOW after that(HIGH LATENCY, DC) Even for surfing, it was at least 10x time slower than screamyx to load a photo. I dont know wat is Maxis definition of HIGH SPEED? If HIGH SPEED = HIGH BANDWIDTH, then they are failed! If HIGH SPEED = LOW LATENCY, then they are failed too! Maybe for Maxis HIGH SPEED = PEAK SPEED (which u may get it around 5am) Sign up screamyx --> Regret for 12months Sign up maxis wbb --> Regret for 18 months + regret for switching from screamyx(at least screamyx less DC) |
Sep 24 2007, 04:58 PM
1,262 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Mars |
QUOTE(wedjohn57 @ Sep 24 2007, 05:14 AM) i going to move to new place~~so now are decide to use which ISP. think to use maxis 3.6mbps-RM98 isnt ok? really got 3gb limitation such thing? i staying in 13th floor. QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Sep 24 2007, 05:45 PM) Hey guys, i heard the only way to solve the "ABOVE 5th FLOOR" problem is to use this little modem (looks like hwawei E220 Any Ideas?? please advice This post has been edited by cscheat: Sep 24 2007, 05:11 PM |
Sep 24 2007, 05:18 PM
194 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Sep 24 2007, 05:28 PM
A : Can't...You still need to get a standard modem. That one is nice for travelling only
Sep 24 2007, 05:42 PM
216 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Sep 23 2007, 09:25 PM) May I know, as a freelance agent, which Maxis retailer gave you such a joke? True that there are many jokers around, but this is definitely one of the extreme ones I've not heard in quite some time. Hey dude, u r working in maxis ah?? how u know that u can get better coverage in menara maxis 1?? hahahaahhahahEven if one subscribes and uses it in Maxis tower (the one near KLCC) the technicians CANNOT guarentee a 768kbps minimum. On best effort basis, Maxis aims to give minimum efficiency of 70-80% (unspoken, not written at least), although yes, that is based on BEST EFFORT BASIS. In terms of signal strength, are you very far from your nearest node? How high is the elevation? Is there a clear sight of the station? what is the altitude difference between your modem and the station? All of these comes into factors when one really wants to know what's wrong with the speed. As freelance agents, given all criterias are set, the lowest one would achieve is 650-670kbps, and the highest is 1.5Mbps (again like i stressed, given all criterias are set) For the Maxis mailbox, go to www.maxis.com.my and register your mailbox over there. Its a new feature that has just been launched. I think the 1st thing of maxis wbb is the network cant support all the customer since they are increase gradually after the wbb........ i think the most important thing is whether u can hook up to the HSDPA because normallly only 10 users can be assigned to this HSDPA per node...... if u r lucky enough thn ok lo.... if not u r jus normal 3g user which is not fast.......... if edge is lagi slow la........ the network is sharing with the cs, so since u all under ps all under best effort la...... |
Sep 24 2007, 05:47 PM
@ GTO:
which reseller sold you? As far as I know, Gombak is not even in the list yet. Only near future we'll cover with 3.5G. I'll have to check my list. For others who wants to subscribe, I'll suggest that you go to www.maxis.com.my/bb and check the area coverage for wireless by key-ing in the street address number. If you're not in the list, you can ask me, and i'll double check (since i do keep a copy of the list, the up to date one) Then again, if you're not in the list, then for sure your area is not covered YET. |
Sep 24 2007, 07:35 PM
Do you have any idea where to get the complete coverage list ?
Sep 24 2007, 08:19 PM
2,967 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Sep 24 2007, 05:47 PM) @ GTO: im not surewhich reseller sold you? As far as I know, Gombak is not even in the list yet. Only near future we'll cover with 3.5G. I'll have to check my list. For others who wants to subscribe, I'll suggest that you go to www.maxis.com.my/bb and check the area coverage for wireless by key-ing in the street address number. If you're not in the list, you can ask me, and i'll double check (since i do keep a copy of the list, the up to date one) Then again, if you're not in the list, then for sure your area is not covered YET. sumtimes can be fast but depends la only once my dl speed really stick to 150kbps once that is in gombak in keramat, where its in the list slow gile jugak i tried at open air dl speed still 5kbps vtw, i registered at pc fair the girl called catherine or wat not the boss of the operations siap borak wif me tah la kinda sedih cuz my dad's paying for this and my streamyx at home is still better now with dl speeds at 100-200kbps |
Sep 24 2007, 09:40 PM
251 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Hi, something to share with all existing and future maxis WBB....
BACKGROUND: I've got my Maxis WBB on a cash and carry terms (RM100) at the Curve 15 days ago. I'm staying in Desa ParkCity (Kepong) condo sitting at the 19th floor. THE TEST: My expectation was low as I did not plan to do any BT and i consider myself as a "light" BB user, but as soon as i got it back to my apartment i went crazy surfing for software, MP3 and most of all... BT!!!! I've yet to Discon since Day 1 and the Torrenting has not stop ever.... THE RESULTS: SpeedTest.Net indicates an average of d/l@90kb/s and u/l@35kb/s during daytime & average of d/l@150kb/s and u/l@39kb/s during 1am till 6am period. However, BT is really stable sitting at average of 45kB/s daytime and an amazing 80kB/s at night (Bear in mind that these torrents are low peers torrent). Max BT speed is at 155kB/s (constant for 4 hours, still cannot determine the real contributor to max-out at all times). (Note: The key factor for high-rise condo users is that you need to enhance the anttenna for the ZTEMF600 using this link: http://www.freeantennas.com/projects/template/index.html Helps to reduce Ec/Io factor by 3-5 dB) PROBLEM: I've just found out abt the new RM138 pm Maxis USB connection package.... and 3.5Mbps is really attractive together with the sexy pocket size modem (comparing to ZTEMF600:sucks!), therefore i know i needed a plan to CHANGE.... SOLUTION: I went to Maxis KLCC at 4pm today and I told them my 50true/50untrue story: I told them that the sales team at the Curve promise me a free upgrade from the existing package and that i can use the ZTE while waiting for the new USB, i also told them that i've only found out about the 18 months tied-up yesterday thru the hotline operator. I pinpointed that as this is cash & carry, Maxis CANNOT NOT ENFORCE FIX CONTRACT unlike ASTRO where you request installation. I was making a scene at the new USB WBB counter and the Manager finally shows up and apologized for the confusion. He claims that because Maxis sub out the sales to agents and they should be the one responsible for the misunderstanding. But i told them that the "agents" were wearing Maxis T-shirts and Maxis Banner all over the place. The crowd there (potential Maxis WBB user) agrees with me. The manager gave in and ask me to return the old modem tomorrow morning in exchange for the USB type. Wish me luck tomorrow. CONCLUSION: If you pay, you are the consumer. If not happy, Consumer can make noise. If make noise, Noise must be heard by EVERYBODY. Therefore, go to Maxis KLCC at peak hour (2pm till 5pm) if you wanna be heard. must be heard.... |
Sep 24 2007, 09:56 PM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
guys,
i dun mean to disturb this thread if you guys are having slow connection wif maxis bb why not test/try celcom 3G @ rm68/mth......no tieup wat so ever, meaning u can terminate it next mth if you are not satisfy wif it............ i am into the second mth and am happy abt it |
Sep 24 2007, 10:18 PM
1,485 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 24 2007, 09:56 PM) guys, no more digi edge? i dun mean to disturb this thread if you guys are having slow connection wif maxis bb why not test/try celcom 3G @ rm68/mth......no tieup wat so ever, meaning u can terminate it next mth if you are not satisfy wif it............ i am into the second mth and am happy abt it i am using both maxis wireless & digi's edge now.........not yet try this celcom....but no problem for me to try since i got the 3g datacard.........but the contract for both still one more year + to go |
Sep 24 2007, 11:43 PM
346 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Sep 24 2007, 09:40 PM) Hi, something to share with all existing and future maxis WBB.... Are you sure you can BT during daytime? I also using the Power Package of Maxis Wireless Broadband. BT is 100% not moving during daytime except after 1am then it moves with crazy speed. Btw, wish you luck tomolo if you able to change your modem. =)BACKGROUND: I've got my Maxis WBB on a cash and carry terms (RM100) at the Curve 15 days ago. I'm staying in Desa ParkCity (Kepong) condo sitting at the 19th floor. THE TEST: My expectation was low as I did not plan to do any BT and i consider myself as a "light" BB user, but as soon as i got it back to my apartment i went crazy surfing for software, MP3 and most of all... BT!!!! I've yet to Discon since Day 1 and the Torrenting has not stop ever.... THE RESULTS: SpeedTest.Net indicates an average of d/l@90kb/s and u/l@35kb/s during daytime & average of d/l@150kb/s and u/l@39kb/s during 1am till 6am period. However, BT is really stable sitting at average of 45kB/s daytime and an amazing 80kB/s at night (Bear in mind that these torrents are low peers torrent). Max BT speed is at 155kB/s (constant for 4 hours, still cannot determine the real contributor to max-out at all times). (Note: The key factor for high-rise condo users is that you need to enhance the anttenna for the ZTEMF600 using this link: http://www.freeantennas.com/projects/template/index.html Helps to reduce Ec/Io factor by 3-5 dB) PROBLEM: I've just found out abt the new RM138 pm Maxis USB connection package.... and 3.5Mbps is really attractive together with the sexy pocket size modem (comparing to ZTEMF600:sucks!), therefore i know i needed a plan to CHANGE.... SOLUTION: I went to Maxis KLCC at 4pm today and I told them my 50true/50untrue story: I told them that the sales team at the Curve promise me a free upgrade from the existing package and that i can use the ZTE while waiting for the new USB, i also told them that i've only found out about the 18 months tied-up yesterday thru the hotline operator. I pinpointed that as this is cash & carry, Maxis CANNOT NOT ENFORCE FIX CONTRACT unlike ASTRO where you request installation. I was making a scene at the new USB WBB counter and the Manager finally shows up and apologized for the confusion. He claims that because Maxis sub out the sales to agents and they should be the one responsible for the misunderstanding. But i told them that the "agents" were wearing Maxis T-shirts and Maxis Banner all over the place. The crowd there (potential Maxis WBB user) agrees with me. The manager gave in and ask me to return the old modem tomorrow morning in exchange for the USB type. Wish me luck tomorrow. CONCLUSION: If you pay, you are the consumer. If not happy, Consumer can make noise. If make noise, Noise must be heard by EVERYBODY. Therefore, go to Maxis KLCC at peak hour (2pm till 5pm) if you wanna be heard. must be heard.... |
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:22 AM |