5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !

asiatrader98
post Nov 18 2006, 11:53 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 15 2006, 02:22 PM)
celcom new package:
RM999 for 6 months 3g, inclusive 3gcard. further subscription is rm99 per month

so say the card is worth rm600, so works out to be
rm66 per month for the 3G.

fine print: only for existing stimyx user only. sommore the stimyx must be unlimited ones (rm66 and above)

hannaboy, when u say p2p is not good, how bad is that? whats ur download speed?

what abt digi's? any cap on p2p? I tried the speed is around 100kbps indoors at subang parade.
Please do not double post in future - hardyboyz888
hi, confirm or not after 6 months the further subscription is rm99 per month
I saw the price from their wedsite which is RM120 blink.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 18 2006, 11:56 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(jojoe @ Oct 30 2006, 06:13 PM)
the 3g modem from maxis is zte mf600 HSPDA terminal with a battery. there is a ON/OFF/Standby switch at the back of modem.
you not able to find this modem information on the internet. this modem required a 3g sim card from maxis to enable it to working.

this modem interface with pc thru rj45 interface using cross cable (supplied). this only allow 1 pc to surf internet at a time but you may share your internet connectivity thru software that come with the windows xp.
otherwise you can buy a router to connect to the modem. this will required a straight cable instate if cross cable.

i use a linksys wrt54gs connect to zte mf600 using straight cable connect the rj45 from the modem and broadband input on the wrt54gs. the modem not required any configuration at all cause it already pre-configured or the 3g sim card already have the setting (i not sure about this). the modem will provide a ip address to your router. on the wrt54gs, just set your wireless setting and select dhcp ip from ISP.

this modem is working in 3.5g, 3g and also edge. you can check your signal or mode the current modem receive by go to the web based modem configuration by enter 192.168.0.1 to your web browser. there is also the 3g setting/internet setting page where you can modified.

the speed is rated at 300 - 330kbps at my area (kepong) and downlaod speed is stable at 40-45kbps using download manager. the upload speed is suck! if not mistake is 64kbps only.

you can use the sim card on your 3g phone but it lock for HSPDA. so you may not able to make a call on certain model of phone (i can call using se t68i but not se k800i). however, you can use dail to 3g/wap thru bluetooth. tested on nokia n70. so you may able to conect to internet using your 3g phone instate of the bulky modem. however you can receive call. the number is maxis 017.

there is a package for you to use the modem as you home phone also but have to pay certain amount of fee.... however, i not subcribe to the phone service but i can make call and receive call! i dont know how they charge me..... or give me a free phone.......
remember read the terms and condition when you apply for the service........
good luck.
Hi, jojoe, do u mean the maxis 3g wireless is avaliable at kepong area ? shakehead.gif

asiatrader98
post Nov 20 2006, 10:51 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(jojoe @ Nov 19 2006, 01:32 PM)
u can use it any where if you want. my area got 3G signal ... then i can get @ 3xxkbps.
if your area no 3G... then the speed should be 1xxkbps (edge)

my friend use it at kota bharu connected to edge.... since there is no 3g signal

the modem support

HSPDA, 3.5G, 3G, Edge and GPRS
TQ...
i think maxis has provided 2 types of 3g service...
1. is the one u have mentioned , i.e. RM68 with modern, 3g wireless broadband..
& the other is purely 3g , something like digi the edge or the celcom 3g , RM120 per month..

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Nov 20 2006, 10:52 AM
asiatrader98
post Nov 20 2006, 11:17 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Nov 20 2006, 10:59 AM)
the other one that u mentioned. i have checked with them, also RM99 per month
oh, if this is the case, RM99 per month now for digi the edge, celcom 3g as well as maxis 3g.......but nore sure can we get one edge/3g card support for all the services have mentioned? drool.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Nov 20 2006, 11:18 AM
asiatrader98
post Nov 20 2006, 11:24 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(jojoe @ Nov 19 2006, 01:32 PM)
u can use it any where if you want. my area got 3G signal ... then i can get @ 3xxkbps.
if your area no 3G... then the speed should be 1xxkbps (edge)

my friend use it at kota bharu connected to edge.... since there is no 3g signal

the modem support

HSPDA, 3.5G, 3G, Edge and GPRS
can u confirm ? if the area got 3g signal then get 3xxkbp otherwise shift to edge around 1xxkbps, just like the digi edge/Gprs ? rclxub.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 20 2006, 04:21 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Nov 20 2006, 01:16 PM)
I just called.....now they say is RM120. RM99 no more liao  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

They said that u need to have a 3G phone and you can make your handphone as modem and connect to ur PC with bluetooth
QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 20 2006, 02:17 PM)
u called the wrong person. check out their latest promo for data only.
celcom call center is the lamest of all!

http://www.tm.net.my/mobilebroadband/#
I think wufei is referring to maxis 3g..am i right?

As for the celcom, the latest promo will save u RM720 & u will own the 3g data card after 6 months.........but can this 3g card use for maxis's 3g or digi's edge ?

btw, according to my friens, celcom's offer is great but u need to set/adjust the channel everytime when u move one lacation to another? Any celcom user here to confirm this ? rclxub.gif

asiatrader98
post Nov 22 2006, 09:52 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(totox7 @ Nov 22 2006, 08:18 PM)
So the pure 3g service also got 3GB cap limit?
Yesterday i went to lowyat asked they said iz RM126 per month
Plan to subscribe it next month... (maybe tongue.gif )
RM120 plus 5% service tax i think
my area only got the edge not 3g vmad.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 23 2006, 11:21 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(xcess @ Nov 22 2006, 10:03 PM)
will they allow us to subscribe maxis broadband if our area did not have 3G coverage?
No, I call them yesterday to confirm the 3G coverage, then they told me now they only accept for those who have high speed 3G coverage area for new application vmad.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 23 2006, 03:01 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(xcess @ Nov 23 2006, 02:39 PM)
i now trying to find a edge router or at least edge modem that can be plugged into a router...so no need to turn on my computer 24h per day in order to share the connection with other pc...

maxis 3g got the modem, so i just plug it into a router and then to the switch and can share the connection with other pc in my house...

so, if i can find the modem, sure i'll stick with digi edge as i can get full bar for their coverage... smile.gif smile.gif
confuse? do u mean u already digi edge subscriber ? good or not? the line stable or not?
call them to confirm lah, different maxis customer service officers different view of point rclxub.gif

asiatrader98
post Nov 23 2006, 03:32 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(xcess @ Nov 23 2006, 03:08 PM)
now i'm a digi edge subscriber and the line is stable smile.gif smile.gif

what i mean now, i trying to decide wheter to take maxis 3g broadband cause the modem supplied by them can be connected to router and i can share the connection using a router...

right now, using digi edge i need to plug the card into my pc and the use Internet Connection Sharing to share my internet connection.., so i was thinking maybe a modem or router that can be used with digi edge available out there in malaysia so i can share my internet connection without need to turn on my pc... smile.gif smile.gif
rclxub.gif
r u sure the edge can use that modern to connect?

asiatrader98
post Nov 23 2006, 06:28 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(xcess @ Nov 23 2006, 03:37 PM)
i think that modem is locked to maxis only...

so, i trying to find other modem...that have same functionality as maxis 3g modem - have RJ45 port that can connect to a router and not USB or PCMCIA card smile.gif smile.gif

if i can't find that kind of modem, maybe i'll consider to take maxis 3g broadband..
OH flex.gif ...need ur advise, digi the edge RM99 vs maxis 3g RM120....which one has the better coverage ? rclxub.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 23 2006, 09:46 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Nov 23 2006, 07:02 PM)
EDGE supplementary RM 33 only
yeah, unless share with someone, maybe half-half for the bill....then it is cheap & value of money but how to handle the bill with other is another issue rclxub.gif
unless 2 of them know each other very well thumbup.gif
anyone here want to share? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(xcess @ Nov 23 2006, 07:11 PM)
maxis has wider coverage than digi but not all of the maxis coverage are 3G network...

it depends where you're now.. if you area got maxis and digi coverage, and maxis 3G network not available there, just get digi - it's more cheaper smile.gif smile.gif

in case maxis did not have 3G coverage at certain place, usually they have EDGE coverage there...but using digi edge still cheaper because you still need to pay rm120 if you use maxis even there are no 3G coverage at that place sad.gif sad.gif
i think both areas (home - kepong & work-damasara heigh) got good maxis & digi coverage......except celcom which do not have the coverage in damansara heigh

if keen for the speed then maxis shall be the best but RM120 drool.gif
otherwise, digi is cheaper RM20+/- per month & i think the datacard also cheaper
unless share with someone (then RM66+/- only), then digi is value of money, no need to re-consider.... rclxm9.gif

anywhere...thank for ur info rclxms.gif

btw, r u using the datacard or hp to connect to the laptop? any recomandation? rolleyes.gif

asiatrader98
post Nov 25 2006, 09:53 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(david6055my @ Nov 24 2006, 02:08 PM)
My maxis installer did that. HE came can plug in the cable and sim card then test for yahoo then go off. lol
All in less then 10 min.
Talk about express install. lol
david6055, may i know where u stay...kepong which part............?
coverage is high speed 3G or 3G?
i stay at kepong baru where btw segambut(sri sinah)& kepong area
do not can get the better speed or not? rclxub.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 25 2006, 06:13 PM

1,485 posts

Dear all, i have summited the form for applying the maxis wireless broadband,
now wait for approval of maxis whether to accept my application or not (not a high speed 3G coverage area) . rclxub.gif

1 thing most of them here did not mentioned about the RM15 monthly access fee for the 017 home voice, YOU CAN NOT CANCEL THIS 017 HOME VOICE with ur wireless broadband .......u only save RM90 since maxis waive 6 months of access fees & offer only valid until end of this year cry.gif is this a good offer? rclxub.gif

so, in total, u shall add RM15 to 384 kbps package + RM50 + RM18 (modem rental) = RM83 per month & RM15 + 768 kbps package + RM80 +RM18 (modem rental) = RM113. so, value of money or not ? rclxub.gif

as for the 3GB limitation, maxis will issue the warning letter to u once u exceed this 3GB limitation, & take action either limit the broadband speed of ur account & so & so, but no addtional charge to ur account currently.... vmad.gif how about later?

as long as the service can used for unlimited online, i do not mind the lower broadband speed (since my work area did not have high speed 3G) but it shall be faster than the normal dial-up, & i will not use this for downloading purpose, so nothing to worry about this issue blush.gif

some of the maxis center ppl told me u may be liable for some charges (maybe RM188 one time charge + 1 month access fee) in case u do not want to commit later after 30 day no risk guarantee..... rclxub.gif but when I call to maxis broadband center 1800-82-2000, they told me no charge at all after u have tried the service less than 30 days .........so, what is the right answer? How come i always get the different answer from different ppl ? sweat.gif doh.gif

anything else? drool.gif

Hope the above info can help for those who are keen with this wireless broadband serve...... cool.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Nov 25 2006, 06:19 PM
asiatrader98
post Nov 25 2006, 06:24 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Nov 24 2006, 02:26 PM)
alright , may i know is it compulsory to subscribe voice package?
yes, it is compulsory to subscribe voice package RM15 per month & maxis have offered
1. standard home plan, RM0.15~0.30 per call for local area & outstation
2. home plan 38, no monthly access fee, 250 free minutes for local, STD & mobile calls, subsequent charges after 250 minutes (maxis to maxis RM0.15/min, other operators RM0.20/min)

which one better ? flex.gif

asiatrader98
post Nov 25 2006, 06:52 PM

1,485 posts

as for the modem, u better take the modem rental package (RM18 per month until u cancel) rather than buy at upfront fee of RM299...why?

as long as u still maintain the wireless broadband service with maxis, they warranty the modem until u cancel the service, while as for own the modem by cash u only get one year warrantly rclxub.gif which is is good?

btw, this is 18 months contract with maxis wireless broadband cry.gif

i hope i am right for the above statement since maxis ppl always provide me different answer as i mentioned before mad.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 26 2006, 09:30 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(paulmassang @ Nov 25 2006, 07:19 PM)
not worth it if compulsory have to pay RM15 for the 017 phone line. The whole purpose of getting wireless is that we can disconnect our Telekom house phone and save RM25 line rental per month.

The 3 GB limit is worrying. Now, they say its not an issue but eventually, they reserve the right to penalise.
the last call, maxis guy told me....they will lower ur speed of broadband after u exceed 3GB limit blush.gif

QUOTE(xcess @ Nov 25 2006, 07:25 PM)
do you mean that the RM15 is compulsory? they should not make it compulsory...
QUOTE(paulmassang @ Nov 25 2006, 10:17 PM)
yes it is compulsary. But why would one want a another 017 landline which charges 30 sen peak and 15 sen non peak to handphones and 03 landlines when nearly everybody got handphones?

I rather keep my Telekom line which charges 4 sen to 03-xxxxxxxx numbers.
yes, paulmassang is right.......& they charge 0.15~0.30 per call but one nation one rate, it maybe good for those who want it.......but the problem is ..u need to use the sim card with used for wireless modem to make call blink.gif

QUOTE(xcess @ Nov 25 2006, 10:56 PM)
they just want to add more profit... means after 6 month..., it is rm50 + rm18 + rm15..

so, basically, the broadband cost for rm83... almost same as streamyx 1mb..
yes, shall be RM83, for the very basic but save ur cost of equipment (the moderm is cheap) compare with other 3G /Edge packages (at least RM700~1k +++ for the 3g phone /datacard)

QUOTE(paulmassang @ Nov 25 2006, 11:46 PM)
Not only RM83, but you only get 384k speed.

At least, Streamyx (RM66 + RM25 Telekom Line Rental) = RM91 but you get 512k and also no 3 GB limit like Maxis.

Also, got proper phone line that you can fix your fax machine to.

Eventually, Maxis also will bar p2p. So, what for want to pay RM100 + RM80 connection fee?
but maxis is wireless ...this is the reason I keen with it vmad.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Nov 26 2006, 09:32 AM
asiatrader98
post Nov 26 2006, 09:44 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(shamnemesis @ Nov 26 2006, 02:13 AM)
thanks for quick reply ..and i dont think i have an option here since digi is connection is quite slow and celcom 3gcard is quite expansive
yes, shamnemesis is right, but eventually, the end user/consumer did not enjoy the benefit even the new product such as maxis wireless appear, u still have to stick with ur streamyx for the p2p (even no worth it ) & pay to maxis for the mobility vmad.gif

so , u pay & pay more because of the new product (we hope for replacement of other, but....), shocking.gif no..because of our need moneyflies.gif rclxub.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 27 2006, 12:00 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 27 2006, 09:56 AM)
i just signed up digi! still waiting for activation.
if the edge is up to my standard i will keep it smile.gif
then the supplementary is up for adoption smile.gif
contact me...i am interested ...just now maxis ppl call me ..they may not accept the building above 5th flr to register vmad.gif ...have to wait 1~2 more days to see whether they can offer the maxis wireless for me or not mad.gif
asiatrader98
post Nov 28 2006, 08:04 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Nov 27 2006, 10:58 PM)
Supposingly no. The sim card they provide you is for data service only.
yes, the sim card also used for 017 home voice (they give u the phone set free) which can not be cancelled later after 6 months fee, u have to pay RM15 every month
have confirmed with maxis center, pls make a few call to them for confirmation, because different Customer Service Officers always give the different answer to me vmad.gif & i did not see any written document for this issue yet cry.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Nov 28 2006, 08:06 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:01 PM