241 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!

SUSTham
post May 5 2015, 04:48 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ May 3 2015, 01:56 AM)
Since you have identified the probable area of the leak, why not try to shape that part of the rubber strip to have firmer contact with the door and see there is any improvement, say by glueing some lining, or by using a bit of heat and bending it out ... maybe you can improvise something ... The purpose is to experiment, prior to the alternative of replacing the strip or seals...

I tried swiping some of that red gasket sealant (meant for cylinder heads, etc)
along the inner metal part of the door, as well as on the rubber strip itself,
but didn't really seem to work.

I had thought that the stickiness (takes ages to dry) and smoothness of
that gasket seal would improve the water tightness when the door closed.

The inner part was still wet after rain.

I guess when a rubber ages, you just have to replace it, no matter what
you do. I even tried reconditioning it with the grey silicon fluid meant for
wipers and belts, hoping it would regain a bit of the ''bounciness'' of new rubber.

SUSTham
post May 5 2015, 04:56 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ May 5 2015, 03:26 AM)
UPDATE

I did some water test again, and also meddle with the weather strip.

1) The strip can be made to slide within its groove. It should be removable this way but I did not try.

2) Changing the position by sliding forwards or backwards can alter the sealing characteristics; at certain positions water does leak through to the door seal. Not sure why, maybe the seating curves changed and affected the characteristics.
Thanks, I will replace that seal later.

It doesn't cost that much.

This website's parts are already way overpriced above market value.

http://www.ecsenang.com/goods.php?id=1003

SUSTham
post May 5 2015, 05:15 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ May 3 2015, 02:20 PM)
Lubrication oil is leaking past the valve stem seals and mixing with the air-fuel charge and splashing on the plugs. How old are your valve stem seals?
It may also be your piston rings, and the valve stems/guides themselves
may also have worn.

How much is the mileage on your odometer ?

Anyway, replace the valve seals first, for economy.

You can buy the NOK green Viton seals at :

Universal Auto Parts
26 Jln Sungei Besi, KL

RM60 for a pack of 12.

Or you may buy the generic Vitons at any parts shops, such as Meng Pew above.

Note that the brown-colored NOK seals are polyacrylate, lower temperature
resistance than Vitons.

Buy a new rubber seal for the engine cover as well, around RM 10-12.

Take them to Ah Keong, mechanic at Hup Seng Car Cooler
in Taman Cheras (Yulek).

https://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&gb...+kaskas+2&cid=0

He used to replace them for RM90 two years ago if you bring your own seals.

If you let him supply the seals and rubber, may cost you about RM200 in all.

He has a special tool, where he can pull out the seals without having
to take out the cylinder head.

He first pumps compressed air to fill each cylinder, via the spark plug holes,
so that the valves are pushed upwards.

A two hour job.

northernhero
post May 7 2015, 07:02 PM

174 posts

anyone can tell me roughly how much to change some proper gear oil / clutch oil including labor
i think mine have been unchanged for years lol
zedyll
post May 7 2015, 07:16 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ May 5 2015, 05:15 PM)
It may also be your piston rings, and the valve stems/guides themselves
may also have worn.

How much is the mileage on your odometer ?

Anyway, replace the valve seals first, for economy.

You can buy the NOK green Viton seals at :

Universal Auto Parts
26 Jln Sungei Besi, KL

RM60 for a pack of 12.
Or you may buy the generic Vitons at any parts shops, such as Meng Pew above.

Note that the brown-colored NOK seals are polyacrylate, lower temperature
resistance than Vitons.

Buy a new rubber seal for the engine cover as well, around RM 10-12.
Take them to Ah Keong, mechanic at Hup Seng Car Cooler
in Taman Cheras (Yulek).

https://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&gb...+kaskas+2&cid=0
He used to replace them for RM90 two years ago if you bring your own seals.

If you let him supply the seals and rubber, may cost you about RM200 in all.
He has a special tool, where he can pull out the seals without having
to take out the cylinder head.

He first pumps compressed air to fill each cylinder, via the spark plug holes,
so that the valves are pushed upwards.

A two hour job.
Thanks bro for the detailed advise! I'm not sure what's the mileage. I guess probably....a LOT.....maybe already more than 200,000 km.... i'm 4th owner currently. sweat.gif Already changed rubber seals for engine cover last month due to small leakage. thumbup.gif

But for valve seals I didn't do it yet... I'm in Kedah/Penang area.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by zedyll: May 7 2015, 07:20 PM
zedyll
post May 7 2015, 07:18 PM

193 posts

I regapped my spark plugs from 1.1mm to 0.8mm-0.9mm. No more dieselling occurs! Note that guys! thumbup.gif
jedi_master
post May 7 2015, 10:27 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(zedyll @ May 7 2015, 07:18 PM)
I regapped my spark plugs from 1.1mm to 0.8mm-0.9mm. No more dieselling occurs! Note that guys! thumbup.gif
what heat range are you using?
zedyll
post May 7 2015, 10:37 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(jedi_master @ May 7 2015, 10:27 PM)
what heat range are you using?
the mechanic throw in bp6es-11 plugs when i got the car...he said the old plugs are fully oily black and my engine needs top overhaul. Fukk that, my new plugs no more black after carb tuning. But just recently got half wet due to valve seal leak. cry.gif

Fukk, Kedah area all mechanics wanna rip off their customers. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by zedyll: May 8 2015, 01:25 AM
Kbbteoh
post May 8 2015, 12:22 AM

Hello,
I have a question here. The light bulb behind the meter of iswara LMST 2007, the center proton logo light is sharing with the rpm and speed meter or independent ?

Thank you.
Very appreciate for replying
TSQuazacolt
post May 8 2015, 03:28 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ May 8 2015, 12:22 AM)
Hello,
I have a question here. The light bulb behind the meter of iswara LMST 2007, the center proton logo light is sharing with the rpm and speed meter or independent ?

Thank you.
Very appreciate for replying
can't remember for LMST, but for the older 3 cluster meter, it's all independent.
kryptonite2009
post May 8 2015, 08:19 PM

FOR LMST - You will need to change whole meter set, as the LED Lights comes with a set.
limap5
post May 10 2015, 04:58 AM

Hello there, my 2000 carb Iswara has a problem when starting the engine coldly. The RPM shoots to 2-3k for approx. 5 minutes and then return to normal at 1k baseline. After Googling for a while it appears that prolly my autochoke is faulty. Where can I get this solved and how much it cost? My old timer mechanic in town doesn't have a clue about this thing. Thank you! smile.gif

Albert B
post May 10 2015, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(limap5 @ May 10 2015, 04:58 AM)
Hello there, my 2000 carb Iswara has a problem when starting the engine coldly. The RPM shoots to 2-3k for approx. 5 minutes and then return to normal at 1k baseline. After Googling for a while it appears that prolly my autochoke is faulty. Where can I get this solved and how much it cost? My old timer mechanic in town doesn't have a clue about this thing. Thank you! smile.gif
Before replacing the autochoke, maybe you can consider adjusting the setting screw:
see examples of discussions:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=72044989
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=72203556

Autochoke repair kit:
http://www.ecsenang.com/goods.php?id=1343
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=56384094
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=72069321

UPDATE:
From what I can make out from the carburettor manual (in Russian)
I think the higher rpm may be a normal thing during the rich mixture
cold engine stage, need to confirm this info ...

Furthermore if you google "cold start high idle speed rpm" you can read about this thing, and your carb seems to be working fine.

This post has been edited by Albert B: May 10 2015, 10:10 PM

Axell
post May 10 2015, 03:48 PM

Looking for FL
920 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Apr 30 2015, 12:26 AM)
Guys just want to ask...
Today i bought Castrol magnetic 10w40 for my iswara at tesco for only Rm75
Is that ok?
Bro, this one for 4L ah? Current checked out Manjalara Tesco is rm137 sad.gif
ca2n
post May 11 2015, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(limap5 @ May 10 2015, 04:58 AM)
I second that your autochoke is working fine. Probably needs just a bit of adjustment. I wish the autochoke on my 2000 Iswara was back to working like that.. cry.gif
jedi_master
post May 13 2015, 08:45 AM

165 posts

Hi guys, does anyone know of aftermarket big brake kits for our iswara. Or at least something which can fit without major modification.
davidke20
post May 13 2015, 07:58 PM

QUOTE(jedi_master @ May 13 2015, 08:45 AM)
Hi guys, does anyone know of aftermarket big brake kits for our iswara. Or at least something which can fit without major modification.
Ini boley ka?

http://kahchai1985.blogspot.com/2009/02/rv...ke-upgrade.html
megadisc
post May 13 2015, 08:27 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 13 2015, 07:58 PM)
need advise sifus ..

i havent started my car in a while already ??

any advise on how to go about ??? just jumper and good to go ???

jedi_master
post May 13 2015, 08:50 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 13 2015, 07:58 PM)
A bit hard to find leh that one. Seems like halfcut rear discs a lot easier to get than a nice front set.

But apart from halfcut, there are so many brand new aftermarket 4/6 pot for satria neo, perdana, etc. Wonder how much mods it would take to fit.

davidke20
post May 13 2015, 09:25 PM

QUOTE(jedi_master @ May 13 2015, 08:50 PM)
A bit hard to find leh that one. Seems like halfcut rear discs a lot easier to get than a nice front set.

But apart from halfcut, there are so many brand new aftermarket 4/6 pot for satria neo, perdana, etc. Wonder how much mods it would take to fit.
Perdana set basically berak&pray. The only thing needed is custom fabricate the mounting extension plate for the berak kaliper.

241 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:58 AM