My car steering feels hard to turn when stationary. (LMSS with PS)
Steering pump Kong? No sign of leakage
This post has been edited by feralee: May 22 2015, 10:00 PM
LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!
May 22 2015, 09:59 PM
4,897 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Guys,
My car steering feels hard to turn when stationary. (LMSS with PS) Steering pump Kong? No sign of leakage This post has been edited by feralee: May 22 2015, 10:00 PM |
May 23 2015, 02:48 PM
270 posts Joined: May 2011 |
izzit ok use radiator flush to remove all the rust and debris inside the radiator?
May 24 2015, 01:12 PM
1,576 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(cyanboy @ May 18 2015, 03:49 PM) Hmm I guess I need to get this as few webs does suggest "Blue RTV sealant": I think applying the sealant helps to coat the piping there, at leasthttp://www.permatex.com/products-2/product...et-maker-detail Anyways the connections seems leaking (same before removing), will retighten as per other website/forums and see whether overflow tank has increase in tank level. Then will consider to get the sealant if things gone wrong. on the exterior, with a certain amount of rustproof coating. You will note that without the sealant, the radiator's outlet/inlet piping connector tends to turn a rusty brown, along with the interior, of course. Most mechanics use the grey silicone sealant. The popular Permatex brand is a bit expensive. Hardex, the local brand, makes a similar one, RS 625, costing about $ 12. They also have a blue silicone if you scroll down. I had first bought the red one from Universal Parts for about $9, but it is very slow drying. http://www.hardexworld.com/products/gasket-maker.aspx I think it is an American brand made under license in Kuantan. https://www.facebook.com/HardexUSA I bought a tube from AME Auto Parts in Jln 21/11A, PJ, some time ago. http://panpages.my/listings/my298158-ame-a...arts-pj-sdn-bhd Universal Parts in Jln Sungei Besi, Pudu, should also have their products. https://plus.google.com/1140782795540360658...out?gl=my&hl=en This post has been edited by Tham: May 24 2015, 01:21 PM |
May 26 2015, 08:27 AM
174 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
My lmst'04 manual is getting old already and I'm changing a new job which requires me to drive abt 60km everyday. Any suggestion what should I check or fix?
some background abt my car, since few years ago my car never sent to service, only my dad doing the maintenance (changing engine oil once in a while and I think changing air filter too). My fuel consumption is very bad(rm80 hardly reach 300km), but i have no idea what should i check to fix it. For nw my plan is changing engine mounting (previously mechanic told me worn off already), replacing all fluid (gear oil brake fluid etc.), or maybe getting a new pair of tyres too. Can anyone give me some suggestion too? or should I just directly send to overhaul? |
May 26 2015, 02:27 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(langatian @ May 23 2015, 02:48 PM) if your radiator is fairly new, go ahead.if it is really old (say maybe over 3/5 years), consider just using plain water to let it flow/flush then after it's no longer working efficiently/leak/puncture/rust etc just replace a new one and maintain it properly from there (eg: only distilled water mix with coolant/coolant premixes etc). the chemicals in *some* flushes may accelerate degradation/rust and may create a leak if the condition is already bad. QUOTE(northernhero @ May 26 2015, 08:27 AM) My lmst'04 manual is getting old already and I'm changing a new job which requires me to drive abt 60km everyday. Any suggestion what should I check or fix? do regular service/maintenance intervals, look up previous posts on what specific item/part runs on what interval, and fix whatever is broken accordingly.some background abt my car, since few years ago my car never sent to service, only my dad doing the maintenance (changing engine oil once in a while and I think changing air filter too). My fuel consumption is very bad(rm80 hardly reach 300km), but i have no idea what should i check to fix it. For nw my plan is changing engine mounting (previously mechanic told me worn off already), replacing all fluid (gear oil brake fluid etc.), or maybe getting a new pair of tyres too. Can anyone give me some suggestion too? or should I just directly send to overhaul? again for FC, please use android apps like carango (can have car service/maintenance interval reminders), or fuelly.com. using rm80/x km is a horrible way to gauge fc. for tires, please consider proper tire rotations, and replace all 4 at once once they are all fully worn down. top/full overhaul should not be needed unless there are major engine worn/damage, such as head gasket or piston rings valve seals so on so forth. do observe your exhaust/emissions (different type of smoke, if any) and your coolant level and whether your car is experiencing heat issues. |
May 27 2015, 12:41 AM
2 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Nice piece of advice by sifu [Quazacolt]
May 27 2015, 01:20 AM
May 31 2015, 08:59 PM
3,187 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
is it expensive to fix the excessive engine vibration problem ? my car 'makan black oil ' already , i can feel the car lacks power compared to the same 1.3l car . the idling engine rpm is low , not reach 1k .
This post has been edited by delsoo: May 31 2015, 09:02 PM |
May 31 2015, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(delsoo @ May 31 2015, 08:59 PM) is it expensive to fix the excessive engine vibration problem ? my car 'makan black oil ' already , i can feel the car lacks power compared to the same 1.3l car . the idling engine rpm is low , not reach 1k . depends on what is the problem.idle rpm should be 800 manual 900 auto. not 1k |
Jun 1 2015, 11:27 AM
3,187 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
Jun 1 2015, 12:09 PM
Jun 2 2015, 01:56 AM
193 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Suq Madiq |
Hi guys, my exhaust already leaking..... i went surveying straight flow at shops, and found an oval body straight flow, RM180 with installation. Is it worth it? Looks good, but never heard the brand.
Jun 3 2015, 07:32 AM
193 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Suq Madiq |
Jun 3 2015, 12:39 PM
165 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soul Society |
good stuff bro. i'm tempted to get a straight flow myself as i want to reduce noise. anyone here know of places with good selection of jdm original branded mufflers? dont want used items.
Jun 3 2015, 12:40 PM
4,349 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Johor Bahru, Malaysia |
Jun 3 2015, 10:58 PM
Jun 3 2015, 11:31 PM
12 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Subang Jaya |
Salam everyone
Jun 4 2015, 01:44 AM
Jun 4 2015, 12:50 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(feralee @ May 22 2015, 09:59 PM) Guys, My car steering feels hard to turn when stationary. (LMSS with PS) Steering pump Kong? No sign of leakage QUOTE(feralee @ Jun 3 2015, 10:58 PM) Not sure if I understand correctly, is it that :- the crank pulley comes in 2 pieces and bonded by that inner rubber (example in pics below), - in your case the rubber has deteriorated, so the outer and inner parts are 'separated' so v-belts are all not driven by the crankshaft, - this pulley is original factory fitted? Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 4 2015, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(Albert B @ Jun 4 2015, 12:50 PM) Not sure if I understand correctly, is it that : that is correct. - the crank pulley comes in 2 pieces and bonded by that inner rubber (example in pics below), - in your case the rubber has deteriorated, so the outer and inner parts are 'separated' so v-belts are all not driven by the crankshaft, - this pulley is original factory fitted? Yup original factory fitted. |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:55 PM |