AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread, discuss our setup/overclocking issues

CV6149
post Mar 1 2007, 05:39 AM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 28 2007, 11:01 AM)
have u updated to the latest bios?

unupdated am2 mobo often had 270mhz-280mhz HTT limitations.
i have this same issue too.its not stable past that value.I did go for abit new bios 18..wahlau teruk kaw2........prob worst with cold boot,unstable above 2.6ghz....

waiting for new bios or maybe modded bios from tictac brows.gif

me have to wait for am2 bracket to oc more..cant tahan the 66c full load temp... smile.gif
8tvt
post Mar 1 2007, 10:53 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(penapis @ Feb 28 2007, 11:00 PM)
for bios..i dont do much..coz running on automatic OC..

but when using the T-Utility OC...i set 1.5 only...

between biostar and fatality,

if u think u wanna "hantam" ur mobo like im trying to do, then ok la...coz cheaper..
i bought for only RM680 maa.....so not "terasa sgt" la...if this mobo condemn... biggrin.gif
but if wanna use for long time and got extra money, go for fatality...

i'm a fan of ABIT since K7...really like to OC it..but quite expensive for fatality...

so choosing to use biostar la...

performance wise.....donno coz didn't try fatality..

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 28 2007, 11:38 PM)
fatality = overpriced

Added on February 28, 2007, 11:38 pmfatality = overpriced
actually fatality's price quoted as the same price as biostar.. that's why asking for good one..
as everybody said biostar is good... but i found fatality layout more nicer.. but the pci only 1... maybe blocked if using sli... it's hard to decide.. rclxub.gif

biostar nf590
1) 4 sata
2) good oc
3) 2 pci
4) 1 ide
5) simple active cooler
6) blue pcb

abit fatality
1) 6 sata
2) quite ok oc
3) 1 pci
4) 1 ide
5) heatpipe
6) red pcb

TSsoulfly
post Mar 1 2007, 11:35 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(penapis @ Mar 1 2007, 03:11 AM)
lucky u...when i run either superPI or orthos...the temp hike up to 65..
really2 worrying me...coz dont want to OCooked the mobo yet...

can i change the hyperTX punya fan?? any suggestion??

did u use the pre-applied thermal paste or AS5?
penapis
post Mar 1 2007, 01:11 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 1 2007, 11:35 AM)
did u use the pre-applied thermal paste or AS5?
i use the pre-applied one....

2.0 got 27c only..
2.3 got 37c...
2.6 got 65c...

how gonna get 3.0...??

my option is going for dry ice + methanol... icon_rolleyes.gif

8tvt
post Mar 1 2007, 01:28 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

try AS5 or CM premium la.. or maybe some polishing..
treason
post Mar 1 2007, 02:29 PM

190 posts

hey guys

im at 255 fsb now with my x2 3600+...problem is my ram divider is at 400....if i go higher it wont even go to the bios, and there will b 1 long beep and 2 short beeps...i tried to set my multiplier lower and fsb higher, also cannot..y ar? not enough vdim? its at 1.95v (board max)

thanks!!
mr_habuk
post Mar 1 2007, 02:52 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(treason @ Mar 1 2007, 02:29 PM)
hey guys

im at 255 fsb now with my x2 3600+...problem is my ram divider is at 400....if i go higher it wont even go to the bios, and there will b 1 long beep and 2 short beeps...i tried to set my multiplier lower and fsb higher, also cannot..y ar? not enough vdim? its at 1.95v (board max)

thanks!!
if ram problem it's will constantly beeping.....
if 1 long beep followed by 2 short beep..that GC error..
check ur pci-e..it's should be set at 100..

(if i'm not mistaken la...been reading manual coz my problem still didn't solved) blush.gif
-pWs-
post Mar 1 2007, 04:05 PM

8,545 posts

hey guys

thanks!!
Do you pump some vcore?? smile.gif

-pWs-

Added on March 1, 2007, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(penapis @ Mar 1 2007, 01:11 PM)
i use the pre-applied one....

2.0 got 27c only..
2.3 got 37c...
2.6 got 65c...

how gonna get 3.0...??

my option is going for dry ice + methanol... icon_rolleyes.gif

So big difference?? Yours 2.6GHz at what vcore??

Mine 2.5GHz at around 52c... smile.gif

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Mar 1 2007, 04:07 PM
jackal1950
post Mar 1 2007, 04:15 PM

572 posts

I planning to get AMD AM2 3800+ 2.0GHz pair with either

1. MSI Nforce 550
2. Biostar Nforce 550

Which is better oc motherboard? Not planning to oc high cuz I getting normal kingston value ram. Hopefully I can oc till 2.8GHz. But to reach that do I need a better heatsink and performance ram, motherboard? Or it is easily within reach of any matching hardware.
-pWs-
post Mar 1 2007, 04:20 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(jackal1950 @ Mar 1 2007, 04:15 PM)

1. MSI Nforce 550
2. Biostar Nforce 550

Which is better oc motherboard? Not planning to oc high cuz I getting normal kingston value ram. Hopefully I can oc till 2.8GHz. But to reach that do I need a better heatsink and performance ram, motherboard? Or it is easily within reach of any matching hardware.
I will choose Biostar Nforce 550.

2.8Ghz from 2.0Ghz already very high. smile.gif

-pWs-
8tvt
post Mar 1 2007, 04:20 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

hey guys

thanks!!
what ur htt mul? try to set 3x if more than 250fsb..
and maybe vdimm not enough.. that's the only thing limiting the rock stable M2N-E...

1. MSI Nforce 550
2. Biostar Nforce 550

don't buy MSI.. go for biostar instead.. make sure it's tforce.. if suit ur budget..
duarnt
post Mar 1 2007, 05:10 PM

Sux!
961 posts

hey guys

thanks!!
Loosen the ram timing maybe? My previous m2n-e is use divider 667 able to stable around 820 with 1.9~1.95 but timing quite loose.

This post has been edited by duarnt: Mar 1 2007, 05:12 PM
treason
post Mar 1 2007, 07:19 PM

190 posts

thanks for the reply guys!

Mr habuk,
Set at 100 adi....only when i adjust the ram divider or timing the beep will come out..

pws
I can super-pi as long as my ram divider is at 400...if change ram configuration only cannot...means vcore should b enough rite?

8tvt,
my multiplier is at x4...ok will try x3 instead, thanks!

duarnt,
ermmm how loose is loose? im using corsair xms2 pc5400....at 5-5-5-15 2t adi..hahhaa

normally 2.6Ghz need around how much vcore r? 1.5 like that?

I very tempted to sell my m2n-e for a biostar tforce 570 nowlar..hahaha around rm310 now at low yat yesterday...550 is 290...

goldfries
post Mar 2 2007, 07:09 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

anyone of you have the details / configuration for Biostar's Tforce 550's Automated Overclocking V12-Tech Engine? smile.gif

i tried manual OC, didn't get it to run properly. so i tried out the Automated OCing and surprisingly my X2 3600+ hit 2.5ghz.

so it would be great if someone could give me more info on the V12 TE configuration so i can tweak it further.
TSsoulfly
post Mar 2 2007, 11:03 AM

15,903 posts

the last time i used the automated overclocking on my 550+3000+ ...the result weren't as good as i expected shakehead.gif

manual setting rulez... especially when you know how to deal with the memory configurations. it's heaven.
duarnt
post Mar 2 2007, 11:34 AM

Sux!
961 posts

QUOTE(treason @ Mar 1 2007, 07:19 PM)
thanks for the reply guys!

Mr habuk,
Set at 100 adi....only when i adjust the ram divider or timing the beep will come out..

pws
I can super-pi as long as my ram divider is at 400...if change ram configuration only cannot...means vcore should b enough rite?

8tvt,
my multiplier is at x4...ok will try x3 instead, thanks!

duarnt,
ermmm how loose is loose? im using corsair xms2 pc5400....at 5-5-5-15 2t adi..hahhaa

normally 2.6Ghz need around how much vcore r? 1.5 like that?

I very tempted to sell my m2n-e for a biostar tforce 570 nowlar..hahaha around rm310 now at low yat yesterday...550 is 290...
Ill post a bit about my previous setup later tonight or u can try searching this thread. Somebody already posted about the timings, i just forgot which pages tongue.gif
coolblade
post Mar 2 2007, 12:15 PM

298 posts

1. MSI Nforce 550
2. Biostar Nforce 550

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Mar 1 2007, 04:20 PM)
I will choose Biostar Nforce 550.

2.8Ghz from 2.0Ghz already very high. smile.gif
-pWs-
Agreed. Biostar T-Force 550 is quite good investment.

But my CPU that is made in china is sux. It's default FID is 1.40v. I can't OC higher. Might to research deeply before buying a really good batch of CPU. I should check the stepping code..

So, is AM2 CPU that made in malaysia get better FID? I mean that around 1.2 - 1.3 volt?

This post has been edited by coolblade: Mar 2 2007, 12:17 PM
zamree7
post Mar 2 2007, 03:28 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 2 2007, 07:09 AM)
anyone of you have the details / configuration for Biostar's Tforce 550's Automated Overclocking V12-Tech Engine? smile.gif

i tried manual OC, didn't get it to run properly. so i tried out the Automated OCing and surprisingly my X2 3600+ hit 2.5ghz.

so it would be great if someone could give me more info on the V12 TE configuration so i can tweak it further.
i'm using Biostar Tforce 570U..also got its automatic overlocking Engine.. same happen to me if im using the V12 Tech-Engine that mobo will overclock my proc till 2.5Ghz but with vcore 1.55V shakehead.gif which is quite high..
so rite now using manual overclock setting and currently manage to run my proc at 2.5Ghz@1.275v thumbup.gif

QUOTE(coolblade @ Mar 2 2007, 12:15 PM)
Agreed. Biostar T-Force 550 is quite good investment.

But my CPU that is made in china is sux. It's default FID is 1.40v. I can't OC higher. Might to research deeply before buying a really good batch of CPU. I should check the stepping code..

So, is AM2 CPU that made in malaysia get better FID? I mean that around 1.2 - 1.3 volt?
New AM2 got 2 version 89W and 65W.. the 89W version will have stock vcore around 1.3-1.4v while the 65W will have stock vcore around 1.2-1.3v if im not mistaken ler.. hmm.gif
Coz mine is the 65W version with stock vcore 1.2v laugh.gif
goldfries
post Mar 2 2007, 03:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 2 2007, 11:03 AM)
the last time i used the automated overclocking on my 550+3000+ ...the result weren't as good as i expected shakehead.gif

manual setting rulez... especially when you know how to deal with the memory configurations. it's heaven.
yeah i know. that's why i wanted to do Manual.

all the while i'm using Manual OCing, however this time around the Manual OCing didn't work as well as the Automated OCing tongue.gif

so i'd like to know what did that Automated OCing did for me. biggrin.gif

instant 2.5ghz from X2 3600+ is just great!! at least to me it is.

EDITED : attached is my overclocked info. kindly update 1st post. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 2 2007, 03:39 PM

TSsoulfly
post Mar 2 2007, 04:01 PM

15,903 posts

how much V did that auto setting feed your cpu?

the last time i did one i got only 2.3ghz with 1.6V! shakehead.gif

156 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:40 PM