Working in Singapore V15

getalong6165
post Mar 6 2014, 06:15 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(yuan415 @ Mar 5 2014, 04:26 PM)
just done a phone interview with a sg company, Arvato Digital Services. salary range 2000-2200 since i only have 1 year+ experience after grad. hmm.gif anyone heard of this company?
just got a call from a recruitment company as well stating that the company which is interested in me is arvato as well. but working as data processing those kinda stuff. salary same as ur stated around there. googled it and it seems like an international company ? the ceo is ang moh i think.
rawrkun
post Mar 6 2014, 08:12 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(junky_89 @ Mar 6 2014, 06:05 PM)
Is there any photo Booth at the ica building there?
There's one at the same level itself. Welcome to Singapore thumbup.gif
peterG
post Mar 6 2014, 10:22 PM

303 posts

Got an offer from construction / property company, position as IT Executive, pay range around S$2K.

With this salary range, can i survive in SG and save more than i earn in Msia now? Currently im working in a MNC bank IT role, income below RM3k.

Appreciate for any advices. notworthy.gif
deodorant
post Mar 6 2014, 11:25 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Mar 6 2014, 10:22 PM)
With this salary range, can i survive in SG and save more than i earn in Msia now? Currently im working in a MNC bank IT role, income below RM3k.

Depends if you're currently also paying for all your own expenses i.e. your own room/house, your own transport, your own food, etc.
peterG
post Mar 6 2014, 11:50 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 6 2014, 11:25 PM)
Depends if you're currently also paying for all your own expenses i.e. your own room/house, your own transport, your own food, etc.
Hi there!

Nope, I'm just a freshgrad with 6 months working exp in bank biggrin.gif

so currently no commitments yet, except insurance and PTPTN.
deodorant
post Mar 7 2014, 12:36 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Mar 6 2014, 11:50 PM)
Hi there!
Nope, I'm just a freshgrad with 6 months working exp in bank biggrin.gif
so currently no commitments yet, except insurance and PTPTN.

So in other words, right now your parents are paying for your housing, some/many meals, and provide you with a car (I guess).

When you move to SG you have to pay everything yourself.

Based on that alone even without looking at any figures, what do you think?
poor_engineer
post Mar 7 2014, 07:53 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Mar 6 2014, 10:22 PM)
Got an offer from construction / property company, position as IT Executive, pay range around S$2K.

Appreciate for any advices.  notworthy.gif
Around 2k hardly save anything consider rental, food, transport, insurance, personal expenses, etc
peterG
post Mar 7 2014, 10:35 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 7 2014, 12:36 AM)
So in other words, right now your parents are paying for your housing, some/many meals, and provide you with a car (I guess).

When you move to SG you have to pay everything yourself.

Based on that alone even without looking at any figures, what do you think?
QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Mar 7 2014, 07:53 AM)
Around 2k hardly save anything consider rental, food, transport, insurance, personal expenses, etc
Nope, im paying rental, food all by myself in KL, and giving some allowance to parents. Dont have car at the moment as not really need it here.

Considering the currency exchange rate, hopefully im able to save much better compare to Msia so I can afford for my first house..

If I dabao daily in SG, lets say 3 meals per day, can it goes below S$400? And how bout the monthly MRT pass?
deodorant
post Mar 7 2014, 10:39 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Mar 7 2014, 10:35 AM)
If I dabao daily in SG, lets say 3 meals per day, can it goes below S$400? And how bout the monthly MRT pass?

First page first post got basic expenses breakdown
crazy25kid
post Mar 7 2014, 10:40 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

Nope, im paying rental, food all by myself in KL, and giving some allowance to parents. Dont have car at the moment as not really need it here.

Considering the currency exchange rate, hopefully im able to save much better compare to Msia so I can afford for my first house..

If you are already living alone now, you should be fine.
I find food relatively cheaper in general (economy rice and noodles)...if you prefer higher class food, that depends.
Transport, if you stay closer to your office, you may save on transport too.
peterG
post Mar 7 2014, 11:13 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 7 2014, 10:39 AM)
First page first post got basic expenses breakdown
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 7 2014, 10:40 AM)
If you are already living alone now, you should be fine.
I find food relatively cheaper in general (economy rice and noodles)...if you prefer higher class food, that depends.
Transport, if you stay closer to your office, you may save on transport too.
Yeah, no need highclass food, as long as can survive and able to chew with ok taste biggrin.gif

Ok got my answers, thanks guy!
Fiona Chin
post Mar 7 2014, 11:25 AM

1,172 posts

Chap fan is around 3 to 3.50, chap noodles around 2 to 2.50. Go do your maths. With 2k you will have a hard time in SG, but still can save depending on your lifestyle. Don't come if you don't see your salary will raise substantially in few years time. You won't be so lucky to be free of commitment for long. SG gets expensive the older you grow.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Mar 7 2014, 11:25 AM
mDinie
post Mar 7 2014, 12:01 PM

136 posts

I am planning to start over in Sgpore soon. I will start applying jobs in the coming months. Only have Diploma in IT but have several experience and am currently working in an IT company. Any advice for people like me?
Mackiddo
post Mar 7 2014, 12:40 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

just avoid the chap fan stalls that use gutter oil and you will be fine.
xtylish
post Mar 7 2014, 01:50 PM

593 posts

since ppl were sharing about their rent.

my previous rent was $530, small single room at the back and everything is included @ toapayoh.

my rent now is $350, the same small single room at the back with no furniture. nothing. just water heater. no washing machine as well.

but i save a lot and my office is just across the street. so i saved transport too. still at toa payoh. smile.gif
hitsugaya2010
post Mar 7 2014, 03:11 PM

946 posts

Depends on your usage.. I use around 900-1.2k depending on my expenses that month.

Food is cheap at those market stalls only, food court at supermarket will cost more. Overall, i think 2k you can survive and save some, provided you have a simple life in singapore..
ndragon
post Mar 7 2014, 03:21 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 7 2014, 01:50 PM)
since ppl were sharing about their rent.

my previous rent was $530, small single room at the back and everything is included @ toapayoh.

my rent now is $350, the same small single room at the back with no furniture. nothing. just water heater. no washing machine as well.

but i save a lot and my office is just across the street. so i saved transport too. still at toa payoh. smile.gif
wow.. i also stay in toa payoh... my rental is $800.. everything included.. so much higher than urs.. =[
John6
post Mar 7 2014, 03:40 PM

94 posts

Mine $600 at pioneer, my heart pain every month when i pay rent sad.gif
peterG
post Mar 7 2014, 03:50 PM

303 posts

Any suggestion for accommodation? My future office is in Bukit Batok area biggrin.gif
momijigari
post Mar 7 2014, 03:58 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Mar 7 2014, 03:50 PM)
Any suggestion for accommodation? My future office is in Bukit Batok area biggrin.gif
Rental in Bukit Batok is not cheap.
Where's your office? Bukit Batok Industrial Park?

125 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:34 PM