good thread for those who are working in singapore! haha...=)
Working in Singapore V15
Oct 24 2013, 08:52 AM
946 posts Joined: May 2010 |
good thread for those who are working in singapore! haha...=)
Oct 28 2013, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Oct 27 2013, 08:08 PM) base on the reasons given for leaving your homeland and reside in a new place, are those reasons a non existence in where you are staying and working now ? You are not treated as foreigners ? You get the same pay amount as their own citizens with the same amount of opportunities in careers ? Leaving Malaysia to work in Singapore is just like working in an A company to a B company. Due to career prospect and also better salary. I believe this is the two things that come into every Malaysian mind when they start working in Singapore. We do not really felt we are foreigners here, because we are just working, and the citizens are very much alike with our homeland. The food, the culture and the buildings are kinda similar. You really felt that your are a foreigners here, when you have kids, and start to have a family here. For instance, you can't buy those govt house and also enjoy their privileges here. Other than that, if you are just working here, you can make a decent career progress here. To answer your questions, I get offered the same salary as I did at Malaysia. Dollar to dollar. Most companies here do not care what nationality you are, as long as you can work and have good attitude here, they will promote you and give you many opportunities. It's just like a Penang guy coming to KL to work. We can always travel back to our homeland once a while. |
Oct 28 2013, 03:53 PM
Oct 30 2013, 01:22 PM
These days saw a lot of police recruitment advertisement, hahaha.. my childhood ambition.. lol... but i think only PR and singaporean can apply.. lol..
Nov 1 2013, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 1 2013, 01:52 PM) Good Day everyone, I am working offshore, but not in marine products. and I am a service engineer as well. for 2 years I think it's around that price. I think the range is 3.5k to 4k. Besides that, I think we still have allowance in the end. So mainly we are earning more with that. I am an instrumentation and electrical engineer that have 2 years mining design&site experience. Just a bit curious, anyone here by any chance work as a service engineer for marine and offshore? Since this is a new working field to me (compared to my previous experience in mining), can someone share their experience with me, please? Currently a company offered me SG 3.5k as a service engineer, is that salary alright in that field? (company is P&C, please do not ask) Thank you. Working condition might be harsh and travelling will be very often. Might not be able to plan your holidays and other stuffs. Less time to spend with your loved ones. That's all I can say. Working wise, maybe someone in the company or same field can share more with you. =) |
Nov 1 2013, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 1 2013, 02:39 PM) Thank you for sharing your experience Yea something like geologist, but we are service, so won't be that long out the sea, maybe 2 weeks, the thing is, if business very good, it will be consequently. I am guessing my life would be like my dad. My dad use to work at rigs as a geologist. 7 day week, no family life. Teach his son how to read well logs at age 9 so he can get more people to help him. The stress normally comes from travelling and also the job scope. They might send you to service eventhou you do not have much experience. More to site learning I would say, hopefully they provide training to you. =) Wah! your dad really passionate about his job.. haha..! We only work 7 days a week offshore. But in the office we are quite free and work 5 days a week. So there is some balance there. haha.. |
Nov 4 2013, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(be_happy @ Nov 4 2013, 01:36 AM) Previously, I was in bank industry for 1year and 9months. My salary was RM3000 excluded commission. dun think it's worth it... try to find somewhere with better salary...I got an offer of SGD $2400 now, do u all think is not worth to downgrade? (bt i got EP Q1 and I tot only salary above $3k can get EP) What do you all think? Separately, I am looking for room nearby Aljunied or Potong Pasir. Currently I am staying with my bro at Clementi, sleep in living room and need to pay $300. Is expensive and far from my work place. (although is in the same MRT line) if difference 100 or 200 still ok... |
Nov 11 2013, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(lzhaojie @ Nov 10 2013, 05:16 PM) I saw many Singaporean employers and headhunters are looking for engineers with diploma/Nitec only. And not many engineering positions, mostly technicians. Anyone knows the reason behind? Cause they are willing to work more, and they have lower entry pay than engineers with degree.They need more technicians cause mostly those technical work like wiring, wielding, and etc , technicians are better.. and again, pay is lower. Consider a fresh grad engineer and technician, they will go for technicians. With the entry salary of a fresh grad with degree they can hire a 2-3 experience technicians. That's why now companies are trying to cut down on engineers. They also do not mind to hire someone with a diploma with many years of experience with the title engineer. In engineering, experience is far more important than the paper. That's why sometimes you can see diploma holders getting an engineer post. |
Nov 12 2013, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 12 2013, 10:42 AM) Sorry the late reply, was packing up to go to SG. We do get some balance, but it really fully depends on your boss management capability and also the work load... Sometimes we do not get to come back for months.. haha..Yeah, you got it right on the spot. He used to be a Geologist for ExxonMobil for 40 years. Now enjoying his retirement, but he still reads about geology stuff and national geographic (true passion indeed I had an interview with the company, they told me there is a lot of travel required in the job. Even to work in rigs/vessel for months. But I will be trained before going offshore, training will be given for a period of 1 year then i need to repay the service for 1-2 years thereafter. But like all 'training", it is basically throwing me into the lake of fire and see if i can swim. So, that is pretty much expected from my previous job at the mines. Wah, you get a balance between office and site. That is pretty sweet. But I had discovered I love site work more than office. I did try office work, it is fun and good engineering design learning but nothing beats the actual joy of seeing the work being executed at site Yep, I prefer site job too, office job is just too boring for me.. haha.. |
Dec 22 2013, 12:01 PM
Mar 7 2014, 03:11 PM
Depends on your usage.. I use around 900-1.2k depending on my expenses that month.
Food is cheap at those market stalls only, food court at supermarket will cost more. Overall, i think 2k you can survive and save some, provided you have a simple life in singapore.. |
Apr 1 2014, 04:31 PM
Hi guys,
Anyone knows normally when they going to start opening new dates for PR appointment? Appointment date full until September ady... So hot eh...! |
Apr 9 2014, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(adolph @ Apr 9 2014, 06:33 AM) Ask a GENERAL question > The most General answer will be...how much AVERAGE income in SGD you can SAVE after deduct LIABILITIES , Assuming NO CAR and PROPERTY in SNGAPORE > AVERAGE income - X (varies with your qualification) AVERAGE liabilities - Y (varies with your lifestyle) X-Y = Z Z is the AVERAGE income you can save. Assuming NO CAR and PROPERTY in Singapore for roughly how much you need for AVERAGE LIABILITIES (Y), Google around or you can read back the post here. How much you can get for an AVERAGE INCOME (X), you can state your qualification here, and maybe someone will give the range of your INCOME. If you want a very GENERAL GENERAL answer. Go google, the debt to GDP ratio of Singapore. Then you can get the overall idea. Then, if you want to ASK for QUESTIONS, do it nicely and clearly so people can help you better. In case you do not know, when you are asking for a question, it means you need someone to answer. Which concludes you need 'HELP'. Because no one here is obligated to answer your question. Thanks and hope it helps. This post has been edited by hitsugaya2010: Apr 9 2014, 01:38 PM |
Apr 16 2014, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(quintesson @ Apr 15 2014, 08:57 PM) I've posted in Let's talk about salary thread but no answer perhaps it's more appropriate to post it here: Salary for Singaporeans and Malaysians is different depending on the company. Fresh grads from Malaysia tends to earn lower than fresh grads from Singapore. This is for a post with few years experience. Hope someone can enlighten this. Thanks few years experience, from what I know if you are earning let's say 5k in malaysia, in singapore you might get around 3.5k-4k. Again, this depends on your negotiation skill in the interview and how much you are qualified for the job. This is what I did last time, I asked for a one to one dollar salary. Somehow they accepted it. lucky me. but if they can't offer one to one dollar, then you might need to lower down your expectation. |
Apr 16 2014, 05:14 PM
Apr 16 2014, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ Apr 16 2014, 05:22 PM) which area ? og,ele,auto?? I am in ong but not the end user..how eng paid in sg compare to other sg job? from what i heard is not tat good rite, banking pay batter ?? I am not sure. maybe yes maybe no. but I know is that banking sector, you definitely can earn a lot of money, but in return, you will have no life.... well, i guess that applies to all the sectors.. hahaha.. |
| Change to: | 0.1040sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:02 AM |