126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Fitness The Runners Thread V5, RUNINSPIRED !!!

90Boyz
post Sep 4 2012, 05:34 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(Maxram @ Sep 4 2012, 05:05 PM)
my knee got old injury, not due to running but car accident. Since start running recently, I really need to be careful about it, wearing knee support and go slow (good excuse for slow runner  tongue.gif  ) do prevent injury.  And my running pace is much slower than you all.

Also going to Taiping for HM. So far, very little info about it, still not yet sort out how to collect my BIB  rclxub.gif  , on website start 14-15 but on print out form only 15th Sep. Anyone have clue?

Year end, I also going to PBIM - FM. I am worry about it too. As said, I only start running last few month, completed 1 HM, Taiping will be next, then Oct will join Rock to Rock (10.3km only). I really lack of running experience beyond HM.

My Question :How to train for FM, do I need to run 42.195km in LSD  rclxub.gif ?

Now, my LSD max is 21km, which already took 2.5 hours, not sure how I can find time allocation to do full distant(estimate 5 + hours). All feedback is appreciate.
21Km for 2.5Hours is a good result ... no doubt if you do more LSD like 25KM/30KM then Full Marathon should bnot be any issue for you ..
dude1218
post Sep 4 2012, 05:44 PM

1,170 posts

my knee got old injury, not due to running but car accident. Since start running recently, I really need to be careful about it, wearing knee support and go slow (good excuse for slow runner  tongue.gif  ) do prevent injury.  And my running pace is much slower than you all.

Also going to Taiping for HM. So far, very little info about it, still not yet sort out how to collect my BIB  rclxub.gif  , on website start 14-15 but on print out form only 15th Sep. Anyone have clue?

Year end, I also going to PBIM - FM. I am worry about it too. As said, I only start running last few month, completed 1 HM, Taiping will be next, then Oct will join Rock to Rock (10.3km only). I really lack of running experience beyond HM.

My Question :How to train for FM, do I need to run 42.195km in LSD  rclxub.gif ?

Now, my LSD max is 21km, which already took 2.5 hours, not sure how I can find time allocation to do full distant(estimate 5 + hours). All feedback is appreciate.
just run 30km in 3:20-3:30, no need run a 42.195km.
how to allocation time??, this teach by old uncle. HM time x 2 + 10% = +-5%time, quite accurate too if u dint had any cramp tongue.gif
fastreader
post Sep 4 2012, 06:48 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Sep 4 2012, 10:02 AM)
I'm very sure everyone's got their own bikes. I for one, would never compete on borrowed/rented bikes. I understand that U might have problem transporting bikes to the event venue. There are several workarounds:
1. Buy a bike carrier (not rack)
2. Transport Ur bike using express bus. Me & several of my teammates have done this before, so it can be done.
3. Find friends with cars + bike racks & go with them
4. Join a club.
5. Ride to the race venue
6. Find races close enuff so that U dun have to do any of the above. Once U have driving license, hv Ur own car + rack, then U can fulfill Ur dream.

Unless I can find a bike with similar make/size/brand with my own, I would think many2 times before competing on a borrowed/rented bike. Not saying it can't be done though. Triathletes/duathletes would've to train before they compete rite, so naturally they will have to have their own bikes.

Good luck.
nod.gif nod.gif good advice there. alrite. noted.

Will take note of that. I'm fr East Malaysia and very unfortunately we dun have any triathlon here. cry.gif

so was tinking to try out the decathlon (Powerman) in Perak. But the issue of bike bugs me. if the event is available locally, the the rack would b great. smile.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
eeki
post Sep 4 2012, 08:51 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Sep 4 2012, 02:15 PM)
currently using sport tracker, i do use endomodo be4, but use to sport tracker so continue use, if i open both sport tracker n endomondo, i found out both km is the same, like sport tracker show me 10k, endomondo only 9k, so i choose sport tracker, hahahahha
try to use separately on same route/distance.
it work well for me before.
Osben
post Sep 5 2012, 08:26 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(266K @ Sep 4 2012, 09:22 AM)
Going Taiping, but will run normal LSD pace, still recovering from ankle injury, lesson learnt for me, don't push myself too hard to get faster timing.

U worry about finishing FM or ur timing. FM do more LSD, time do interval, it helps.
Worrying for finishing. Evey weekend LSD 30km@3hrs gives my legs damn pain & going to be cramped.
The pain starts from 20km onwards and some more do not know how to tahan until 42km..
dude1218
post Sep 5 2012, 08:57 AM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Sep 4 2012, 06:48 PM)
nod.gif  nod.gif good advice there. alrite. noted.

Will take note of that. I'm fr East Malaysia and very unfortunately we dun have any triathlon here. cry.gif

so was tinking to try out the decathlon  (Powerman) in Perak. But the issue of bike bugs me. if the event is available locally, the the rack would b great. smile.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
this year powerman at putrajaya, and left normal price. Early bird has close
TStenno
post Sep 5 2012, 11:04 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

so was tinking to try out the decathlon  (Powerman) in Perak. But the issue of bike bugs me. if the event is available locally, the the rack would b great. smile.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
Powerman is not decathlon, it's duathlon. Decathlon is an athletics discipline with 10 events. No bike required. tongue.gif Just run, jump & throw.

If Ur from East Malaysia then bike bag is the thing for U (provided that U do have a bike already la). But it can cost quite a lot. A cheaper alternative would be the normal box from Ur bike shop, but it offers little protection. National team riders used to do it all the time, transporting their bikes in bike boxes to races all over the world.

This post has been edited by tenno: Sep 5 2012, 11:06 AM
zzzhhhzzz
post Sep 5 2012, 12:06 PM

1,671 posts

Hei im in the same boat as you ! FMV in PBIM ... currently no HM experience tongue.gif but doing PJ HM and Putrajaya HM.. LSD oso reach 20 km ++ oni .. haha do share your experience... was wondering how i am going to complete my PBIM as well :S
Sky.Live
post Sep 5 2012, 02:10 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 4 2012, 05:34 PM)
21Km for 2.5Hours is a good result ... no doubt if you do more LSD like 25KM/30KM then Full Marathon should bnot be any issue for you ..
haha why i feel so worthless run 21k @ 2.5hrs T_T every seems to do sub 2 nowadays

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:12 pm

icon_rolleyes.gif
There are triathlon races in east Malaysia

http://www.sarawaktriathlon.com/
https://www.facebook.com/sarawak.triathlon

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Sep 5 2012, 02:12 PM
90Boyz
post Sep 5 2012, 02:31 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 5 2012, 02:10 PM)
haha why i feel so worthless run 21k @ 2.5hrs T_T every seems to do sub 2 nowadays

haha .. join us more often @ Ammah hill or BA surely can sayur HM with sub2 result .. like that day at Petronas Sri Hartmas back to BA you were quite good with the speed .. it took me sometime to catch up .. sweat.gif
Sky.Live
post Sep 5 2012, 02:34 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 5 2012, 02:31 PM)
haha .. join us more often @ Ammah hill or BA surely can sayur HM with sub2 result .. like that day at Petronas Sri Hartmas back to BA you were quite good with the speed .. it took me sometime to catch up ..  sweat.gif
Lol.. that was the first time in my life running that kind of pace.. i been doing easy most of the time lol
ahmmmuzo
post Sep 5 2012, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(johny2k @ Sep 2 2012, 02:00 PM)
Wah, bro. Why so late to tell? please mention U want 10k or 16.8k?
Hope its not tooooo late. Any chance to participate in Adidas KOTR this weekend under Mens Open? Prefer 10k but 16k also ok. Already PM u also. Can sms/call me at 019-3848351 (Aizul) to discuss this. TQ
Maxram
post Sep 5 2012, 04:15 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(266K @ Sep 4 2012, 05:23 PM)
Taiping, think my fren going collect on 15th, a day before race.

If u google it, u can see Marathon training doesn't require u to run any FM distance during ur training but weekly mileage shud be preferable > 50km if possible. some training even just required 3 day run per week.
Just confirmed with the organizer, Taiping IM can collect on 14 September 2012 1.00PM-7.00PM
15 September 2012 10.00AM-9.00PM. I'm going to collect on 14 Sep.

Thanks for the tips, after Taiping, will prepare for FM.

Added on September 5, 2012, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 4 2012, 05:34 PM)
Ok, thanks for the advice. Will try LSD to 30km

Added on September 5, 2012, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(dude1218 @ Sep 4 2012, 05:44 PM)
just run 30km in 3:20-3:30, no need run a 42.195km.
how to allocation time??, this teach by old uncle. HM time x 2 + 10% = +-5%time, quite accurate too if u dint had any cramp  tongue.gif
ok, Thanks.

Added on September 5, 2012, 4:21 pmOsben and zzzhhhzzz, I guess we all are in same situation. All the best in your training and run.

This post has been edited by Maxram: Sep 5 2012, 04:21 PM
90Boyz
post Sep 5 2012, 05:37 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(Maxram @ Sep 5 2012, 04:15 PM)

Ok, thanks for the advice. Will try LSD to 30km

Distance is important , as long you completed the mileage then later only look into improving the timing ..
like me i train LSD once a week, distance may different like 15, 21, 30 .. like 15k i took 2hour to complete, 21k is 2:23, and 30k is 3:30 but all means is Long Slow Distance so i just take it easy .. tongue.gif
SheeKenSays
post Sep 5 2012, 05:47 PM

207 posts

Looks like this will be the the design of the Nike Run Tee for this year.

Any comments on it?? Personally, I think it's ok...hopefully there's still some design/pattern on the back.

TStenno
post Sep 5 2012, 05:50 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Sep 5 2012, 05:47 PM)

Looks like this will be the the design of the Nike Run Tee for this year.

Any comments on it?? Personally, I think it's ok...hopefully there's still some design/pattern on the back.
IINM Nike introduced a new apparel line called the Volt in the US. Maybe this is part of the line .. they can't call it Bolt for obvious reasons I guess... tongue.gif
fastreader
post Sep 5 2012, 07:02 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Sep 5 2012, 11:04 AM)
Powerman is not decathlon, it's duathlon. Decathlon is an athletics discipline with 10 events. No bike required.  tongue.gif Just run, jump & throw.

If Ur from East Malaysia then bike bag is the thing for U (provided that U do have a bike already la). But it can cost quite a lot. A cheaper alternative would be the normal box from Ur bike shop, but it offers little protection. National team riders used to do it all the time, transporting their bikes in bike boxes to races all over the world.
yeap..sorry..its duathlon.. tongue.gif must b too much Olympic influence here.. tongue.gif

oic..bike bag or the box from the shop..seems like a viable option. will look into that should i be travelling for triathlon event. smile.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
ChipZ
post Sep 5 2012, 11:27 PM

1,330 posts

For Nike Run, I have 2 questions:

1) Is this run open for runners below 18 years old; and
2) For 1+1 Buddy registration, must they be of the same gender?

Thank you.
deadmau5
post Sep 6 2012, 12:25 AM

353 posts

Is there anyone looking to sell/give away their adidas kotr 16.8km bibs? Pls PM meeeeee! rclxms.gif
TStenno
post Sep 6 2012, 08:50 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Sep 5 2012, 11:27 PM)
For Nike Run, I have 2 questions:

1) Is this run open for runners below 18 years old; and
2) For 1+1 Buddy registration, must they be of the same gender?

Thank you.
Ask Nike & U'll get a concrete answer... ask here & U'll get all kinds of answers.. based on experience lh, my friend told me lh, my uncle said lh... questions like this is best answered by the organizer...

126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:53 AM