126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Full P3-21A Specs and Info!

dares
post Feb 16 2012, 11:49 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:08 AM)
same

proton CFE uses vvt only ... inlet only .. exhaust valve tada variable timing .

all is continuous .. at different RPM , different load , the valve advance/retard by certain degree depends on condition.
VVTi and DVVT is continuous meh?
ultramaman
post Feb 16 2012, 11:51 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(jw_92 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:36 AM)
the original Campro wasn't really that strong to sustain powerful mods, so we'll see if the new CFE is improved in that department
the engine might be improved for powerful mods. but the cvt gearbox that it came with is not. if want to do modification. need to change the gearbox as well.
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 12:02 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 16 2012, 11:43 AM)
just help vw assemble car la, settle.
proton can export their vw golf gti to asean country, and later on, asian country, more business.

and proton engineer get to involve in the project of designing next generation golf gti, looks good for their resume.

the production worker get a chance to assemble golf gti, world class product.

you get to drive golf gti at local proton price, tabao corner at speed you never dream before.

win-win-win-win-win condition

thumbup.gif
then it would just be totally pointless and worthless, starting over again from 30 years ago. whats the point of designing this p3-21a, campros, satria neos then?

on a side note: I personally think the golf's strong points are the turbocharged and supercharged engine and the DSG gearbox, nothing else. a fiesta's handling beats the golf anytime

stargate8
post Feb 16 2012, 12:41 PM

Live Long and Prosper
1,224 posts

wow, 1.6 turbo = 2L performance?
for the premium model, will it comes with leather seats? or did i missed it from the 1st post.

so proton interior is European style, so the signal lever is always on the left side of steering wheel?
turbocharged
post Feb 16 2012, 01:02 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(jw_92 @ Feb 16 2012, 12:02 PM)
then it would just be totally pointless and worthless, starting over again from 30 years ago. whats the point of designing this p3-21a, campros, satria neos then?

on a side note: I personally think the golf's strong points are the turbocharged and supercharged engine and the DSG gearbox, nothing else. a fiesta's handling beats the golf anytime
Fiesta beats golf. Maybe.

1.4 golf or golf gti. No. Lol

So far never seen a fast fiesta so i dunno.
ckk125
post Feb 16 2012, 01:03 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Feb 16 2012, 11:04 AM)
proton ones - basic vvt

toyota version - dynamic vvt / vvt intelligent
cvvt - Continuous vvt

sweat.gif
proton got variable valve timing, on intake and exhaust cams btw..

4b10 and 4b11, of course. tongue.gif

it is equivalent to toyota dual vvti
MeToo
post Feb 16 2012, 01:04 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(jw_92 @ Feb 16 2012, 12:02 PM)

I personally think golf's strong point is suddenly a big group of fanboys jumping on the bandwagon... its a butt ugly car tongue.gif
turbocharged
post Feb 16 2012, 01:05 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 16 2012, 01:04 PM)
I personally think golf's strong point is suddenly a big group of fanboys jumping on the bandwagon... its a butt ugly car tongue.gif
Must thank topgear and fifth gear lo.....
MeToo
post Feb 16 2012, 01:07 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 16 2012, 01:05 PM)
Must thank topgear and fifth gear lo.....
Dont blame them.. to them its a cheap entry level car.. liek our Myvi cheap and decent power.

To us here.. it suddenly become a mid level luxury marque... doh.gif
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 01:07 PM

30 posts

well i'll call it conventional and a utilitarian design..
translation: ugly and boring

@turbocharged: ever heard of Monsieur Ken Block? hahaha..
K3nnYkl82
post Feb 16 2012, 01:13 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 16 2012, 11:49 AM)
VVTi and DVVT is continuous meh?
continuous is just a TERM they use ..

wat ever VVT .. all function the same geh ..

at different LOAD , different RPM ... the ECU will read the VVT (or wat ever map) .. and advance/retard the timing according to the situation ..
if u ask me in terms of logic .. it is consider CONTINUOUS as well .. as ur RPM is not STUCK in the same position and ur LOAD is not the same when u are driving ma... so the valve vary depends on situation and continously till u OFF ur engine lo
turbocharged
post Feb 16 2012, 01:36 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(jw_92 @ Feb 16 2012, 01:07 PM)
well i'll call it conventional and a utilitarian design..
translation: ugly and boring

@turbocharged: ever heard of Monsieur Ken Block? hahaha..
tongue.gif

he is not driving a fiesta.

he is driving a monster fiesta lol.
ben_panced
post Feb 16 2012, 01:55 PM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Feb 16 2012, 11:04 AM)
proton ones - basic vvt

toyota version - dynamic vvt / vvt intelligent
cvvt - Continuous vvt

sweat.gif
nope proton's vvt in cfe is CVVT
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 02:00 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 16 2012, 01:13 PM)
continuous is just a TERM they use ..

wat ever VVT .. all function the same geh ..

at different LOAD , different RPM ... the ECU will read the VVT (or wat ever map) .. and advance/retard the timing according to the situation ..
if u ask me in terms of logic .. it is consider CONTINUOUS as well .. as ur RPM is not STUCK in the same position and ur LOAD is not the same when u are driving ma... so the valve vary depends on situation and continously till u OFF ur engine lo
Thanks for the info.

Isn't there are another kind of VVT or VVL systems that are not continuous? Such as the VTEC, the older MIVEC and Proton's CPS that swap cams on preset RPMs. Hence the term "continuous" to differentiate between these systems and the continuous ones.

Toyota's VVTi, CFE's VVT and Daihatsu's DVVT are continuous, though, AFAIK.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 16 2012, 02:01 PM
sonyman
post Feb 16 2012, 02:01 PM

1,043 posts

Seat Material – Water repelent fabric. Seat boleh fold 60:40

so we not getting leather seat?
MR_alien
post Feb 16 2012, 02:10 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(jw_92 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:36 AM)
the original Campro wasn't really that strong to sustain powerful mods, so we'll see if the new CFE is improved in that department
i think they already improved it..its just not seen only
as far as i know..all along campro the least only can use 10w-40
manual also recommend 10w-40
and many said 10w-30 is not good and too light for campro
but since FLX, i dn't know what they did, but campro is recommended to use 10w-30 since

Added on February 16, 2012, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(stargate8 @ Feb 16 2012, 12:41 PM)
wow, 1.6 turbo = 2L performance?
for the premium model, will it comes with leather seats? or did i missed it from the 1st post.

so proton interior is European style, so the signal lever is always on the left side of steering wheel?
their interior is always follow european style
signal lever is always on the left side all along

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Feb 16 2012, 02:10 PM
K3nnYkl82
post Feb 16 2012, 02:11 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 16 2012, 02:00 PM)
Thanks for the info.

Isn't there are another kind of VVT or VVL systems that are not continuous? Such as the VTEC, the older MIVEC and Proton's CPS that swap cams on preset RPMs. Hence the term "continuous" to differentiate between these systems and the continuous ones.

VVTi and DVVT are continuous, though, AFAIK.
those are not call VVT ..
vvt stands for variable valve timing ... it actually advance the valve open or retard the valve open ..

VTEC, MIVEC (The older days MIVEC, not the current Lancer one) .. CPS ..
those are call LIFT ... the technology is totally different.. it has a 2ndary cam loop .. when it engage.. the valve will open base on the 2ndary loop. its like changing cam instantly .. normally these cam (2nd cam) have higher loops .. means the valve open DEEPER .. allow more air to go in .. it does not have the capability to change the timing instantly .. but it will base on the timing on the 2nd cam ..

if u know about HIGH cams.... bad for idling .. got for high end power ... VTEC, OLD MIVEC, CPS .. is like the engine will switch instantly to the 2ndary HIGH Cam at certain RPM .. tahts why u hear ppl says VTEC KICK IN ..

summarize .. VVT --> more to fuel saving
LIFT --> more to powar ...
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 02:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 16 2012, 02:11 PM)
those are not call VVT ..
vvt stands for variable valve timing ... it actually advance the valve open or retard the valve open ..

VTEC, MIVEC (The older days MIVEC, not the current Lancer one) .. CPS ..
those are call LIFT  ... the technology is totally different.. it has a 2ndary cam loop .. when it engage.. the valve will open base on the 2ndary loop. its like changing cam instantly .. normally these cam (2nd cam) have higher loops .. means the valve open DEEPER .. allow more air to go in .. it does not have the capability to change the timing instantly .. but it will base on the timing on the 2nd cam ..

if u know about HIGH cams.... bad for idling .. got for high end power ... VTEC, OLD MIVEC, CPS .. is like the engine will switch instantly to the 2ndary HIGH Cam at certain RPM .. tahts why u hear ppl says VTEC KICK IN ..

summarize .. VVT --> more to fuel saving
LIFT --> more to powar ...
Emm sorry I'll have to call you out on that. smile.gif

VTEC and MIVEC are both variable valve timing systems, not valve lift.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIVEC

The first paragraph of each article pretty much sums it all up.

You're are right about CPS is variable valve lift.

Added on February 16, 2012, 2:20 pmAnyway, from my research:

Early VVT systems are cam-switching systems, which means the engine will switch to different cams with different cam lobes based on a preset RPM.

New VVT are continuous, either through cam-phasing or adjusting the cam belt tension or some other obscured method. The point is it will continuously adjust the valve timing instead of switching cams are preset RPMs.

Just sharing, correct me if I am wrong

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 16 2012, 02:20 PM
K3nnYkl82
post Feb 16 2012, 02:24 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 16 2012, 02:16 PM)
Emm sorry I'll have to call you out on that.  smile.gif

VTEC and MIVEC are both variable valve timing systems, not valve lift.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIVEC

The first paragraph of each article pretty much sums it all up.

You're are right about CPS is variable valve lift.

Added on February 16, 2012, 2:20 pmAnyway, from my research:

Early VVT systems are cam-switching systems, which means the engine will switch to different cams with different cam lobes based on a preset RPM.

New VVT are continuous, either through cam-phasing or adjusting the cam belt tension or some other obscured method. The point is it will continuously adjust the valve timing instead of switching cams are preset RPMs.

"MIVEC was first introduced in 1992 in their 4G92 powerplant, a 1,597 cc naturally aspirated DOHC 16 valve straight-4.[2] At the time, the first generation of the system was named Mitsubishi Innovative Valve timing and lift Electronic Control"

again .. its a jargon only ... the naming ...
wat i trying to says is why VTEC and MIVEC older days are amazing .. is becoz of the LIFT ..

Added on February 16, 2012, 2:26 pmThe newer days Mivec is ... Valve timing only ..

yes .. never vtec comes with both .. timing and lift ...
basically all vvt works continous ... the LIFT will only comes kicking on certain range .. (if the engine comes with the lift)

This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: Feb 16 2012, 02:26 PM
turbocharged
post Feb 16 2012, 02:26 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 16 2012, 02:16 PM)

Pls press ctrl+f to find the word "Lift" in the wiki vtec.

vtec involves lift.

1 paragraph is not enough to explain the whole technology.
=================================

old mivec

MIVEC system provides both of these benefits by controlling valve timing and lift.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 16 2012, 02:28 PM

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:32 AM