post Feb 14 2012, 11:57 PM

834 posts

The dash looks nicer from this angle.
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 01:56 AM

834 posts

Now that we got the specs and price out of the way, we shall began to scrutinize the achilles heel of Proton - QC.

Will the dash rattle? will the breaks squeal? with something fall of after 3 months? only time will tell hmm.gif hmm.gif
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 09:08 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Feb 15 2012, 08:47 AM)
typing error in any presentation is normal. sometimes boss want a presentation ASAP. maybe that just a small group presentation/discussion.  smile.gif
Probably was a briefing/presentation to sales agents by Proton.

QUOTE(craxors @ Feb 15 2012, 08:47 AM)
wonder...got seat belt reminder or not?
Exora, even the Saga also got blink.gif

QUOTE(torres09 @ Feb 15 2012, 08:54 AM)
not bad.. ppl say first batch more glitch, but from my experience, first batch should be better since QC more tight and VEC parts havent come in. dunno which theory apply to proton?
First few batches may have design flaws, for example the first batch FLX had problems with overheating CVTs and engine jerking due to design flaws. These were minor though, which were later rectified in the production line and later batches. But the early adopters will have to bear the risk.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 15 2012, 09:12 AM
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 09:18 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 15 2012, 09:15 AM)
Need meh? hmm.gif the car aint that hard to park also..
Need. Remember I told you got ppl install reverse camera on the FLX also doh.gif
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 09:29 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Feb 15 2012, 09:27 AM)
exora also <100k what...  smile.gif
i think its important to have....
It's not THAT large a car, why would anyone need a reverse camera. The only reason I would think of is just to match the Forte, otherwise it's just fluff and one more potential thing to break.
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 10:57 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Jazz6218 @ Feb 15 2012, 10:50 AM)
but persona 50k-60k range,tis car 65k-75k range,the gap still quite big(for me tongue.gif )

i think p321a shuld sell more than inspira,simply becoz 100% ori,n have nothing for others to critic for thumbup.gif
You mean like how they pimped the Inspira as Waja replacement despite the 30k gap? doh.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 15 2012, 10:58 AM
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 11:54 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(hexer_xavier @ Feb 15 2012, 11:51 AM)
the FLX one,

Pressure Your Peer, right?

that was lame.
That was FLX SE...

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 15 2012, 11:51 AM)
THE Best slogan for local car, just like honda the power of dreams.

lagi power, lagi best  rclxms.gif
When the FLX was first launched it came up with a more tarded version of "Lagi Best"..... "It's Even Better."

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 15 2012, 11:54 AM
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 12:08 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Feb 15 2012, 12:05 PM)
how much is the first maintenance?  tongue.gif

btw, if sales pwning car, i think kancil and viva should be the winner!

about commercial, can't say la, lol, later maybe they make a commercial about the car being very fast chasing by a ufo? lol, they got ridiculous idea, look at savvy's  doh.gif
Just make a commercial of the car pwning Vios and City lookalikes rclxms.gif
dares
post Feb 15 2012, 05:08 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Feb 15 2012, 04:58 PM)
i really do hope they can plug this engine into the SAGA, it'll be awesome if the price remains at around 50k max, P2 will really eat dust
drool.gif drool.gif

dares
post Feb 15 2012, 11:07 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ Feb 15 2012, 11:04 PM)
Haiz, not even CPS. Malaysians had to endure another round of being cheated and shortchanged by Proton
I believe that's because IAFM+ was developed for CVT. CPS, nope.
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 01:26 AM

834 posts

I think I asked this in another thread: Will this be the last Proton model to use the Campro engine block? or is the Proton family-Y engine (suppose to come in 1.2l, 1.5l and 1.8l) still a long way from delivery?
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 01:32 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 16 2012, 01:28 AM)
do u mean is this model will be the last using campro engine?
That is what I am asking blush.gif
With CFE, don't you think Proton has gone as far as they could with the Campro engine?
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 01:41 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(MrssV @ Feb 16 2012, 01:36 AM)
But last I heard(March 2010), phoenix is an improve Campro, coupled with CVT or 6-speed Getrag gearbox(no sure what happen to this though). CFE is the result of that phoenix project.
Yep CFE is the result of the Phoenix project, what you mentioned was implemented in the Exora Bold. The questions is what's next? Is Proton gonna hang on to Campro IAFM+ & CFE for another 10 years? or will the Family Y engine replace it after P321A.

Linky-link on the Family Y engine rumours....

http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com/201...ona-r-mac-2012/

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 16 2012, 01:44 AM
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 11:49 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:08 AM)
same

proton CFE uses vvt only ... inlet only .. exhaust valve tada variable timing .

all is continuous .. at different RPM , different load , the valve advance/retard by certain degree depends on condition.
VVTi and DVVT is continuous meh?
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 02:00 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 16 2012, 01:13 PM)
continuous is just a TERM they use ..

wat ever VVT .. all function the same geh ..

at different LOAD , different RPM ... the ECU will read the VVT (or wat ever map) .. and advance/retard the timing according to the situation ..
if u ask me in terms of logic .. it is consider CONTINUOUS as well .. as ur RPM is not STUCK in the same position and ur LOAD is not the same when u are driving ma... so the valve vary depends on situation and continously till u OFF ur engine lo
Thanks for the info.

Isn't there are another kind of VVT or VVL systems that are not continuous? Such as the VTEC, the older MIVEC and Proton's CPS that swap cams on preset RPMs. Hence the term "continuous" to differentiate between these systems and the continuous ones.

Toyota's VVTi, CFE's VVT and Daihatsu's DVVT are continuous, though, AFAIK.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 16 2012, 02:01 PM
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 02:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 16 2012, 02:11 PM)
those are not call VVT ..
vvt stands for variable valve timing ... it actually advance the valve open or retard the valve open ..

VTEC, MIVEC (The older days MIVEC, not the current Lancer one) .. CPS ..
those are call LIFT  ... the technology is totally different.. it has a 2ndary cam loop .. when it engage.. the valve will open base on the 2ndary loop. its like changing cam instantly .. normally these cam (2nd cam) have higher loops .. means the valve open DEEPER .. allow more air to go in .. it does not have the capability to change the timing instantly .. but it will base on the timing on the 2nd cam ..

if u know about HIGH cams.... bad for idling .. got for high end power ... VTEC, OLD MIVEC, CPS .. is like the engine will switch instantly to the 2ndary HIGH Cam at certain RPM .. tahts why u hear ppl says VTEC KICK IN ..

summarize .. VVT --> more to fuel saving
LIFT --> more to powar ...
Emm sorry I'll have to call you out on that. smile.gif

VTEC and MIVEC are both variable valve timing systems, not valve lift.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIVEC

The first paragraph of each article pretty much sums it all up.

You're are right about CPS is variable valve lift.

Added on February 16, 2012, 2:20 pmAnyway, from my research:

Early VVT systems are cam-switching systems, which means the engine will switch to different cams with different cam lobes based on a preset RPM.

New VVT are continuous, either through cam-phasing or adjusting the cam belt tension or some other obscured method. The point is it will continuously adjust the valve timing instead of switching cams are preset RPMs.

Just sharing, correct me if I am wrong

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 16 2012, 02:20 PM
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 02:28 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 16 2012, 02:24 PM)
"MIVEC was first introduced in 1992 in their 4G92 powerplant, a 1,597 cc naturally aspirated DOHC 16 valve straight-4.[2] At the time, the first generation of the system was named Mitsubishi Innovative Valve timing and lift Electronic Control"

again .. its a jargon only ... the naming ...
wat i trying to says is why VTEC and MIVEC older days are amazing .. is becoz of the LIFT ..

Added on February 16, 2012, 2:26 pmThe newer days Mivec is ... Valve timing only ..

yes .. never vtec comes with both .. timing and lift ...
basically all vvt works continous ... the LIFT will only comes kicking on certain range .. (if the engine comes with the lift)
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 16 2012, 02:26 PM)
Pls press ctrl+f to find the word "Lift" in the wiki vtec.

vtec involves lift.

1 paragraph is not enough to explain the whole technology.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

OK, I was under the impression that both valve timing and lifting only engage at certain RPMs.

Sorry for any misinformation.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 16 2012, 02:30 PM
dares
post Feb 16 2012, 08:13 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(tonitoni @ Feb 16 2012, 07:40 PM)
most manufacture start to downsizing now, where have u been before?just came out from cave whistling.gif
look around bro, 1.4TSI and BMW 1.6T prince engine used in wide range of car segment..towards greener environment notworthy.gif
He's just here to bash Proton la. Notice he said any car put the Proton badge will also become ugly? shakehead.gif
dares
post Feb 17 2012, 06:16 PM

834 posts

Still on the topic of the concept car vs the production car ka?

I guess if some aftermarket bodykit fabricators are smart, they will start manufacturing bodykits/lamps/bumpers that look like the concept car after the P321A is launched. Sure sell like hotcakes rclxms.gif

dares
post Feb 20 2012, 12:44 AM

834 posts

Proton Waja.

Well that was random.....

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:12 PM