Full P3-21A Specs and Info!

jw_92
post Feb 15 2012, 03:33 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(uexpress @ Feb 15 2012, 03:26 PM)
4 AIRBAG – Airbag penumpang hadapan boleh di ON/OFF, untuk keselematan jika Bayi diletak kan di tempat duduk.

Are you kidding me....... what are potong thinking!!!!!!!!!
Hahahaha.. Blind bashers..
Airbags in front are a hazard when babies are sitting in the front passenger seat
they have to be turned off
Plenty of other cars have this function as well as a safety feature.
jw_92
post Feb 15 2012, 04:02 PM

30 posts

0-100 in 9.6s.. quite respectable.. especially if a pimped-out satria neo lotus only does it in 9.2s.

Anyone can provide 0-100 numbers of other cars? i only know vios about 11-12s..
jw_92
post Feb 15 2012, 04:14 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 15 2012, 04:09 PM)
1.6 turbo of cos more power than 2.0 la....otherwise why turbo? turbo is not cheap you know.

bmw/peugeot 1.6 turbo = torque is equal to 2.4 liter and bhp is equal to 2.0liter car.

this is power.
well i guess it sorta helps when you have bmw and peugeot working on it together right? with proton and its budget sweat.gif
i think from the lotus article it said that they developed the torque to be within the limits of the Punch CVT gearbox and to be more reliable..
otherwise why stop at 138 hp??
jw_92
post Feb 15 2012, 04:30 PM

30 posts

well CVT will kill the 0-100 times..
a manual+CFE engine would have been perfect..
i wonder wat r3 can do to the car.. add a high pressure turbo or increase bar perhaps? tasty...
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 12:47 AM

30 posts

I for one think that proton should make different engine capacities and different turbo setups fast.
the 1.6l Campro has been around for too long and used in too many cars.
if drb-hicom can get VW to partner Proton in making new batch of TSI,GTI,turbodiesel engines with GDI.. and license them to use the DSG, then thats where proton really becomes international
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 01:52 AM

30 posts

there's still the p3-22 hatchback using this CFE too i guess..
if it wasn't for the exora (too heavy for NA Campro, even after using the CPS engine), the phoenix project wouldn't exist.

2015 is abit late for the new Family Y engines i reckon.. Should've started designing new engines long long time ago. they should start another bolt on turbo project for the campro in the meantime while waiting for the Y engines. And turbodiesels are long long overdue in malaysian cars.. why bother with hybrids
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 11:36 AM

30 posts

the original Campro wasn't really that strong to sustain powerful mods, so we'll see if the new CFE is improved in that department
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 12:02 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 16 2012, 11:43 AM)
just help vw assemble car la, settle.
proton can export their vw golf gti to asean country, and later on, asian country, more business.

and proton engineer get to involve in the project of designing next generation golf gti, looks good for their resume.

the production worker get a chance to assemble golf gti, world class product.

you get to drive golf gti at local proton price, tabao corner at speed you never dream before.

win-win-win-win-win condition

thumbup.gif
then it would just be totally pointless and worthless, starting over again from 30 years ago. whats the point of designing this p3-21a, campros, satria neos then?

on a side note: I personally think the golf's strong points are the turbocharged and supercharged engine and the DSG gearbox, nothing else. a fiesta's handling beats the golf anytime

jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 01:07 PM

30 posts

well i'll call it conventional and a utilitarian design..
translation: ugly and boring

@turbocharged: ever heard of Monsieur Ken Block? hahaha..
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 08:09 PM

30 posts

1.6 i believe was used because of the road tax structure in malaysia
although i agree a 1.2 or 1.4 should be looked into too.. the 1.3 has alot of potential i think..

Proton: keep the CFE paired to the CVT if 205nm is because of the limitations of the gearbox, but give us more from the turbo+manual gearbox
jw_92
post Feb 16 2012, 10:52 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 16 2012, 09:24 PM)
they did buy a few units of supercharger to test
no news abt it until now
last time said gonna use in satria neo
well...maybe? it fail?...no one knows
twin charge...the engine can tahan or not oh?..not any engine can be supercharge
the fact that european engine uses twin charger...well...their engine are known to be not as reliable as japanese engine
but they're famous for POWER
superchargers are a whole new story compared to bolt on turbos. my guess would be that the campro can not withstand the supercharging. or that the reliability of the engine is drastically reduced with the supercharger..
id rather take power and drivability over reliability and 2ndhand value though.. which sadly is what the majority malaysian car buyers are
jw_92
post Feb 17 2012, 04:41 PM

30 posts

Back to the p3-21A.. it is a shame that they didn't go with the concept design for mass production.
when it came out i thought proton finally did something amazing ala korean cars nowadays. but they had to go and tone it down and make it all weird.. doh.gif
jw_92
post Feb 17 2012, 05:42 PM

30 posts

no one uses their concept car if its too radical and impossible to be made (except for that crazily awesome BMW i8)
but plenty of cars start out as concepts..
i don't really think the changes made to the p3-21a have much to do with cost safety or regulations. they are trying to make it boring so that more people would buy them
jw_92
post Feb 17 2012, 09:19 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Feb 17 2012, 08:15 PM)
And who again said Tuah is the concept of P3-21A? Proton never said that, except media.

If you look at the Tuah concept spec, it uses 1.8L engine.  This can indicate that Tuah concept car might be using the 'family y' force induction engine, which have 1.8l in their list.

That is why i suggested that P3-21A is not a Tuah derivative.  Tuah might be the successor of P3-21A.
if you insist then..hahaha
then it would be like showing the flx to the media with 1.6l iafm+ and cvt, and then releasing the BLM with 1.3 and 4 speed auto.
jw_92
post Feb 17 2012, 10:55 PM

30 posts

the vios is a boring boring car that was produced from 2005 until now.. i cant believe its still moving so many units a month.. malaysian buyers.. sigh
jw_92
post Feb 25 2012, 12:00 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Feb 25 2012, 11:51 AM)
Stupiak proton design  shakehead.gif

Wonder why exora bold front look can be so good but they can't do it on this car.

[attachmentid=2703101]

hmm.gif
exora bold (facelift) looks > exora original
tuah=facelift version??
jw_92
post Mar 5 2012, 11:13 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Mar 5 2012, 11:03 AM)
Killer question brows.gif
Of course he cant tell you that, he'll have to summon himself to his own office for lecturing brows.gif
jw_92
post Mar 9 2012, 10:26 PM

30 posts

wow.. auto climate control..
and the wing mirrors fold nicely..

0.0246sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:51 PM