Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

ntick
post Feb 14 2012, 12:12 AM

348 posts

Hi all, guys...

please share your experience when 1st time onboard t singapore.
You will purchase prepare card 1st or straight away go apply postpaid?

I only know need purchase ezlink card
deodorant
post Feb 14 2012, 01:35 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

@ntick what on earth does ezlink card have to do with prepaid/postpaid cards? hmm.gif

For me i bought a starhub green prepaid to use for the 1st month in SG before applying for a singtel postpaid iPhone contract. Do note that unlike in Malaysia, SG prepaid cannot keep number when moving to postpaid, you have to get a new number.
Mackiddo
post Feb 14 2012, 08:07 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 13 2012, 10:00 PM)
So any plans for tomolo V-day?
Which restaurant u guys picked?
Anyone single here too?
V day will be super pack ! haha. anyway had our meal already. For this, we choosed 'Wild Honey' drool.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 14 2012, 08:11 AM
yhoong12
post Feb 14 2012, 09:19 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 14 2012, 01:35 AM)
@ntick what on earth does ezlink card have to do with prepaid/postpaid cards? hmm.gif

For me i bought a starhub green prepaid to use for the 1st month in SG before applying for a singtel postpaid iPhone contract. Do note that unlike in Malaysia, SG prepaid cannot keep number when moving to postpaid, you have to get a new number.
I think what ntick mean is ezlink card is a must buy item,then now he thinking of buy prepaid or postpaid, use prepaid at the beginning is better.

Btw, i wonder why most of my Malaysian frenz using singtel postpaid instead of starhub n M1? izit really better? what if i call bac to malaysia quite frequently?which is the best?
Charizard
post Feb 14 2012, 10:23 AM

373 posts

Just get a prepaid first, after used for 2 or 3 months when you know approx how much you use per month, then only go for postpaid. To me all operators are the same, very depending on your location. Some places, singtel suck, some places M1..
crazy25kid
post Feb 14 2012, 10:27 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

1. u dun need data...stick to prepaid. it is cheaper.
2. if u need data, wait till u settle down and stable then only go postpaid.
3. if u dun wan data, but wanna sign up postpaid just to sell the phone, follow step 2. laugh.gif laugh.gif
seantang
post Feb 14 2012, 11:18 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

If you're staying in SG for >2 years, contract for the $38/month entry level voice+data iPhone plan for 2 years. 12gb of data plus the average voice package. Buy a nice phone at a deeply discounted price. You don't save much by going for a voice only plan to save a few bucks but then probably spend more later on by getting a separate broadband line or buying your dream phone at full price.

If you're staying in SG for <2 years, then it gets complicated. But I still think the $38/mth basic iPhone plan is hard to beat.

And if your company participates in the Corp Individual Scheme, the corp discount applied to the $38 can be very deep.
MPIK
post Feb 14 2012, 01:23 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 14 2012, 11:18 AM)
If you're staying in SG for >2 years, contract for the $38/month entry level voice+data iPhone plan for 2 years. 12gb of data plus the average voice package. Buy a nice phone at a deeply discounted price. You don't save much by going for a voice only plan to save a few bucks but then probably spend more later on by getting a separate broadband line or buying your dream phone at full price.

If you're staying in SG for <2 years, then it gets complicated. But I still think the $38/mth basic iPhone plan is hard to beat.

And if your company participates in the Corp Individual Scheme, the corp discount applied to the $38 can be very deep.
How much is the phone price like?

Maxis cheapest plan at RM100 per mth need to top-up RM1,450 for the iphone 4S 16GB.

Bear in mind that, you can sign-up for 1 year plan too (if you are EP holder) but the monthly fees is higher.

This post has been edited by MPIK: Feb 14 2012, 01:25 PM
seantang
post Feb 14 2012, 01:39 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 14 2012, 01:23 PM)
How much is the phone price like?
It varies. Need to check telco website. But generally -50% at least.
XinLing
post Feb 14 2012, 01:45 PM

Hi all, I have a few questions to ask regarding working in singapore. I'm a S Pass holder, working in Mediacorp, staying in hougang.

1) Which bank should i use? which it will be convenient for me to transfer money monthly bank to msia and it doesnt charge me much (I'm thinking of OCBC)
2) Which transport is the best to travel to KL? (or maybe which transport company with reasonable price)
3) to change SGD to RM, do you guys change in SG or Msia?

thank you very much for helping me with these! =)
4) any good food or good place to go in hougang?
Zephyr_Mage
post Feb 14 2012, 01:48 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Hi guys, I am an Electronic Engineer with 2 years experience.
How hard/easy is it for me to get a job in Singapore while working in Malaysia?
I have friends who have connections in a couple of companies but that's about it.
PepsiCo
post Feb 14 2012, 01:51 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 01:45 PM)
Hi all, I have a few questions to ask regarding working in singapore. I'm a S Pass holder, working in Mediacorp, staying in hougang.

1) Which bank should i use? which it will be convenient for me to transfer money monthly bank to msia and it doesnt charge me much (I'm thinking of OCBC)
2) Which transport is the best to travel to KL? (or maybe which transport company with reasonable price)
3) to change SGD to RM, do you guys change in SG or Msia?

thank you very much for helping me with these! =)
4) any good food or good place to go in hougang?
cool, can we be like best friend whistling.gif ?

anyway ;

1. can consider Maybank but very few atm
2. Grassland / NICE / ZUCO ?
3. Singapore for me
XinLing
post Feb 14 2012, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 14 2012, 01:51 PM)
cool, can we be like best friend  whistling.gif ?

anyway ;

1. can consider Maybank but very few atm
2. Grassland / NICE / ZUCO ?
3. Singapore for me
you working in mediacorp too?
I was thinking about maybank too but there're really few atm only.
that's why i go for OCBC.
but i would like get for suggestion and recommendation from you guys too =)
PepsiCo
post Feb 14 2012, 02:00 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 01:54 PM)
you working in mediacorp too?
I was thinking about maybank too but there're really few atm only.
that's why i go for OCBC.
but i would like get for suggestion and recommendation from you guys too =)
nah. I'm working for the 'red & blue' company. Just think mediacorp is a cool company tongue.gif .
You will lose quite an amount on transfer rates (& levy charges?) if you transfer using bank. Normally I'll just change and go JB bank in.
extremepower
post Feb 14 2012, 02:03 PM

545 posts

Can jalan2 and ask the banks lor.
Can also use transnasional website if you want. Cheapest I think.
Typically DBS lah. No harm getting 2 banks.
Raffles place money exchange on 2nd floor seems to give good rates. Do in bulk easier.
Food typical popular stuff for women is fish soup. wink.gif
XinLing
post Feb 14 2012, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 14 2012, 02:00 PM)
nah. I'm working for the 'red & blue' company. Just think mediacorp is a cool company  tongue.gif  .
You will lose quite an amount on transfer rates (& levy charges?) if you transfer using bank. Normally I'll just change and go JB bank in.
I will be quite busy for my work. just afraid that i do have time to purposely go jb and bank in money.
any other good way to transfer money to Msia montly?
yhoong12
post Feb 14 2012, 02:15 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 02:06 PM)
I will be quite busy for my work. just afraid that i do have time to purposely go jb and bank in money.
You use bank xchange rate to transfer,sure rugi one, but is the good way without going to JB if you dun mind rugi to the bank.
ky_khor
post Feb 14 2012, 02:22 PM

No.22
894 posts

Hi XinLing, I believe you can access to Maybank at all ATM5 ATM (ABN AMBO, Citibank, HSBC, Maybank, and Standard Chartered).

If you do read financial news, you should know that my company has just being put up for sale. If the acquisition completed, it'll be de-listed from the board. We're told not to panic. But who knows, I may be packing my bag in few months time. LOL

Certis Cisco acquired my ex-company in M'sia last time, booting all top management personnel. My last company acquired 2 small firms, whereby I was sent to study and take over their technical operation.

And now all my customers will become my cousins.
L7Awesome
post Feb 14 2012, 02:25 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 02:06 PM)
Well, if you are traveling back to KL often, bring back lor...

You can also consider FirstCoach as well. Resonable price.
extremepower
post Feb 14 2012, 02:56 PM

545 posts

Once a month shd be ok ma... good food in JB. wink.gif Hougang dun have. Yishun have. NP B2 briyani indian good.

124 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:40 AM