Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

jett991
post Feb 14 2012, 05:34 PM

25 posts

Added on February 14, 2012, 5:25 pm

best if put Sg address and leave a SG mobile number

[/quote]

hi,SG address i dun have right now..as i am planning to get a job first and start looking for my accommodation there.
for SG phone number,i will try to get 1,but would it confuse them that I am Singapore PR by doing all this??
thank you so much for ur reply~~
yhoong12
post Feb 14 2012, 05:35 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:16 PM)
hi,yhoong,nice to meet you..
I am from Johor..and the distance between SG and my hometown not really far.it takes about 1 and half hour to SG...sadly,I dun even receive even 1 interviewing call for the time being....
is there any alternative for me to reach these interviews as u think fit??thanks^^

Added on February 14, 2012, 5:19 pmor is it true that they demand experienced worker nowadays?
Hi, nice to meet you. Actually depend on the company you apply for, not necessary they demand for experienced worker. the best way is just keep sending resumes, no other option unless you want to do thing that once mentioned in this thread, go to the recruitment firm in Sg one by one and apply it on the spot. Duno this worked onot. i never try before.
jett991
post Feb 14 2012, 05:39 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:35 PM)
Hi, nice to meet you. Actually depend on the company you apply for, not necessary they demand for experienced worker. the best way is just keep sending resumes, no other option unless you want to do thing that once mentioned in this thread, go to the recruitment firm in Sg one by one and apply it on the spot. Duno this worked onot. i never try before.
i see...thank you for the solution..i am going to take this and try to work it out..by the way,do u know how to get the info of the recruitment firms,for example:the address..
crazy25kid
post Feb 14 2012, 05:40 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 14 2012, 05:24 PM)
turn back for what ? i'm not turning back.

your peers can be happy but there's no way i'm gonna let my kid(s) go thru the Msia education system.
i agree with you...but i dun wan my kids to come out not that street smart like us. laugh.gif laugh.gif
there are things that can only be learnt back in m'sia.

QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:34 PM)
hi,SG address i dun have right now..as i am planning to get a job first and start looking for my accommodation there.
for SG phone number,i will try to get 1,but would it confuse them that I am Singapore PR by doing all this??
thank you so much for ur reply~~

why bother if they get confused.
if they ASSume, not ur fault.
u got ur chance, n if they want u and it was a mistake, they will find a way to get u.

jett991
post Feb 14 2012, 05:44 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 14 2012, 05:40 PM)
i agree with you...but i dun wan my kids to come out not that street smart like us.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
there are things that can only be learnt back in m'sia.
why bother if they get confused.
if they ASSume, not ur fault.
u got ur chance, n if they want u and it was a mistake, they will find a way to get u.
actually,what i am worried is i leave a bad impression and image for them..they dun wan to hire foreigner,as hiring non-singaporean is slightly costly as compared to before...this is wat i know all that,correct me if i am wrong...
vincentwmh
post Feb 14 2012, 05:47 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Feb 14 2012, 03:29 PM)
I'm having a skip level meeting tomolo with my GM, any idea what are the question he goin to ask?first time attend this meeting..
senyii, i dun think you will be questioned!! most likely, its.. senyii, let's share your VISION towards....bla..bla..

extremepower
post Feb 14 2012, 05:47 PM

545 posts

For job applicants, you can 'proactively' call them if can. If you don't hear from them after 1 month, it means, balik kampung. wink.gif Try with another company.

Most people are here for money, safety and cleaner environment. Anything else is the same. It is your life. So, it is up to you to keep yourself entertained. Go play badminton la... I wait for you here... come come... wink.gif
crazy25kid
post Feb 14 2012, 06:03 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:44 PM)
actually,what i am worried is i leave a bad impression and image for them..they dun wan to hire foreigner,as hiring non-singaporean is slightly costly as compared to before...this is wat i know all that,correct me if i am wrong...
well, u did not lie or misled them (them not asking is not misleading), so there is no bad impression.
in fact, with a Sg number, it gives a better impression in my opinion as you "invested" in Sg. laugh.gif laugh.gif
it shows that you are more keen to work here than the rest who does not have a Sg number.
PepsiCo
post Feb 14 2012, 06:49 PM

337 posts

so active here, aren't you guys going for Valentine's Day dinner whistling.gif ?
reign226
post Feb 14 2012, 09:41 PM

804 posts

I just got back from work

Added on February 14, 2012, 9:58 pmAny bros here staying in Gelang Patah around Nusa Perintis area? How is the place? Recently I saw many properties for sale around Nusa Perintis I in the same area, getting tempting since the monthly payment would be about the same as rental I am paying now.

This post has been edited by reign226: Feb 14 2012, 09:58 PM
jett991
post Feb 14 2012, 10:10 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 14 2012, 06:03 PM)
well, u did not lie or misled them (them not asking is not misleading), so there is no bad impression.
in fact, with a Sg number, it gives a better impression in my opinion as you "invested" in Sg.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
it shows that you are more keen to work here than the rest who does not have a Sg number.
yeah...no pain no gain...tomorrow i will go get myself a sg number!
jasonkwk
post Feb 14 2012, 10:18 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

I actually got my singapore job with malaysia HP number and malaysia address.
maybe the job is low class,so they don't mind dialling international number.
katejing
post Feb 14 2012, 10:19 PM

208 posts

May I ask whether is it hard for Malaysian to get banking job in Singapore? =)
TSLester1987
post Feb 14 2012, 10:39 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 14 2012, 10:18 PM)
I actually got  my singapore job with malaysia HP number and malaysia address.
i agree with u, with the field i am in now, getting a job is never a problem. i got a friend call me just now say his friend is jobless also.
went for 5 interview and didn't get any reply. looks like it really depends on the industry you are working in.

my field has never been and issue to get a job, but it won't bring you to a good career or good pay.
jett991
post Feb 14 2012, 10:59 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 14 2012, 10:18 PM)
I actually got  my singapore job with malaysia HP number and malaysia address.
contact number is seen important in getting a job from singapore~~hehe
katejing
post Feb 14 2012, 11:05 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 11:59 PM)
contact number is seen important in getting a job from singapore~~hehe
I guess result is the crucial part..haha..

SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 14 2012, 11:06 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Feb 14 2012, 02:25 PM)
Well, if you are traveling back to KL often, bring back lor...
You can also consider FirstCoach as well.  Resonable price.
if the location is right for you, first coach is the best... in terms of pricing and comfort... my 1st choice for now
QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:10 PM)
hi everyone,does anyone know roughly how long an accounting fresh grad can get a job from Singapore..i need a time frame...
I have been waiting for job interview for 1 month plus d...receive no reply until now...TT
it depends on individual...
QUOTE(katejing @ Feb 14 2012, 10:19 PM)
May I ask whether is it hard for Malaysian to get banking job in Singapore? =)
it depends on individual... but if you're talking bout nationality... then no, it is very easy...
katejing
post Feb 14 2012, 11:15 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 15 2012, 12:06 AM)
if the location is right for you, first coach is the best... in terms of pricing and comfort... my 1st choice for now

it depends on individual...

it depends on individual... but if you're talking bout nationality... then no, it is very easy...
Because my frens say there investment bank seldom recruit malaysian..got any job hunting website can recommend?

seantang
post Feb 14 2012, 11:15 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:10 PM)
hi everyone,does anyone know roughly how long an accounting fresh grad can get a job from Singapore..i need a time frame...
I have been waiting for job interview for 1 month plus d...receive no reply until now...TT
No such thing as "time frame".

If I like what I see in a candidate's resume, I'll get HR to call him/her the next day, interviewed, offered and once accepted, get everything done from their employment pass to opening a new bank account to bank in their sign-on bonus to temporary serviced apartment booked for their arrival - all within a week or two.

If I don't like what I see, it goes into the waste basket.

It depends entirely on the candidate.

Added on February 14, 2012, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(katejing @ Feb 14 2012, 11:15 PM)
Because my frens say there investment bank seldom recruit malaysian..got any job hunting website can recommend?
efinancialcareers.sg is a pretty good site for banking and financial services jobs.

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 14 2012, 11:18 PM
acgerlok7
post Feb 14 2012, 11:32 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 14 2012, 03:15 PM)
any chance this is you ?  rolleyes.gif
blink.gif drool.gif isnt dat christine tong?????? wow....her acting in petaling street warriors got evry guy screaming in the cinema lol.

124 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:29 PM