Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting
deodorant
Feb 14 2012, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 01:45 PM) Hi all, I have a few questions to ask regarding working in singapore. I'm a S Pass holder, working in Mediacorp, staying in hougang. Happy Valentine's Day! If you're interested, the Singapore thread where we talk about more nonsense stuff is in serious kopitiam: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2220419Then the gathering thread is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1889740Then we got a FaceBook page, that one is our JBKing daikor Lester handle one, PM him to add you to the FB group: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Msg&CODE=04&MID=94648
PepsiCo
Feb 14 2012, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 02:06 PM) I will be quite busy for my work. just afraid that i do have time to purposely go jb and bank in money. any other good way to transfer money to Msia montly? there is actually no other way. Probably what you could do is bank in a 'substantial' amount at 1 go and get a Msia cheque book. Then if you need to pay something in Msia just send the cheque. At least can cut down your trip.
ivanswk
Feb 14 2012, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 01:45 PM) Hi all, I have a few questions to ask regarding working in singapore. I'm a S Pass holder, working in Mediacorp, staying in hougang. any chance this is you ?
XinLing
Feb 14 2012, 03:22 PM
ivanswk : you have good imagination but definitely not me =)
Guys, thanks for the suggestion. I will take my time to ask a few banks first before opening an acc. =)
senyii
Feb 14 2012, 03:29 PM
I'm having a skip level meeting tomolo with my GM, any idea what are the question he goin to ask?first time attend this meeting..
ivanswk
Feb 14 2012, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(ky_khor @ Feb 14 2012, 02:22 PM) Hi XinLing, I believe you can access to Maybank at all ATM5 ATM (ABN AMBO, Citibank, HSBC, Maybank, and Standard Chartered). If you do read financial news, you should know that my company has just being put up for sale. If the acquisition completed, it'll be de-listed from the board. We're told not to panic. But who knows, I may be packing my bag in few months time. LOL start to panic http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atm%E2%81%B5ANZ and State Bank of India, no more ABN, currently on both HSBC and Maybank, happy with ATM5 like maybank, no crowd Added on February 14, 2012, 3:32 pmQUOTE(senyii @ Feb 14 2012, 03:29 PM) I'm having a skip level meeting tomolo with my GM, any idea what are the question he goin to ask?first time attend this meeting.. eh... the future direction of the company he will ask you, senyii, if u are the GM how r u going to run this CO This post has been edited by ivanswk: Feb 14 2012, 03:32 PM
Jet23sky
Feb 14 2012, 03:32 PM
Does any work in Singtel right now? I saw there is a project called Project Lion. has anyone involved this project before?
PepsiCo
Feb 14 2012, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 14 2012, 03:30 PM) eh... the future direction of the company he will ask you, senyii, if u are the GM how r u going to run this CO  nah. no GM gonna ask that. Probably will just ask what you think of the last Man U Vs Liverpool game. Well, at least one of my manager did This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Feb 14 2012, 03:40 PM
MPIK
Feb 14 2012, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 14 2012, 01:39 PM) It varies. Need to check telco website. But generally -50% at least. I wonder why there are no such great offers in Malaysia? Even if the phone comes with a plan, the phone will only be subsidized 20%-30%.
senyii
Feb 14 2012, 03:56 PM
Haiyo I nd serious advise lerr...still unsure whether to move to Sg..
yhoong12
Feb 14 2012, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(senyii @ Feb 14 2012, 03:56 PM) Haiyo I nd serious advise lerr...still unsure whether to move to Sg.. Then you shud ask urself. do you enjoy in Malaysia?Coz most ppl come Sg is to earn money, some even complain boring life in Sg. So do you enjoy ur time in Malaysia?
ivanswk
Feb 14 2012, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(senyii @ Feb 14 2012, 03:56 PM) Haiyo I nd serious advise lerr...still unsure whether to move to Sg.. meet a client yesterday, he want his children to get out of singapore, dun want them to follow his footstep and work as hard as him, no day no nite kind of life and us, malaysian want to get in  so back to your question, what is that u unsure ?
PepsiCo
Feb 14 2012, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Feb 14 2012, 04:04 PM) Then you shud ask urself. do you enjoy in Malaysia?Coz most ppl come Sg is to earn money, some even complain boring life in Sg. So do you enjoy ur time in Malaysia? I came to enjoy the standard of living, better educations, better securities, better infrastructure, better $, fewer red tapes compare to Msia, etc etc ... I don't found it boring in Sg, not at all when compares to Msia.
senyii
Feb 14 2012, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 14 2012, 04:06 PM) meet a client yesterday, he want his children to get out of singapore, dun want them to follow his footstep and work as hard as him, no day no nite kind of life and us, malaysian want to get in  so back to your question, what is that u unsure ? Sacrifice life to earn more money in Sg..is it worth..but nOw I can't make decision as they haven provide me the offer but boss keep asking ne to transfer over
ivanswk
Feb 14 2012, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(senyii @ Feb 14 2012, 04:08 PM) Sacrifice life to earn more money in Sg..is it worth..but nOw I can't make decision as they haven provide me the offer but boss keep asking ne to transfer over ignorance is bliss, just like in the matrix the red pill and blue pill http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_pill_and_blue_pill once u feel "standard of living, better educations, better securities, better infrastructure, better $, fewer red tapes compare to Msia" hard to turn back... some of my peers, remain in small town and settle down wif kid and i think earning 1/10th of some of the lowyat sg elite here, also happy what  , so what make u happy
yhoong12
Feb 14 2012, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 14 2012, 04:07 PM) I came to enjoy the standard of living, better educations, better securities, better infrastructure, better $, fewer red tapes compare to Msia, etc etc ... I don't found it boring in Sg, not at all when compares to Msia. Ya. i feel the same as well, at least i noneed to worry of my safety if i back home late. Still ppl will complain, like cannot drive feel like no freedom, food not nice. So far is what i heard from other friends.
jett991
Feb 14 2012, 05:10 PM
hi everyone,does anyone know roughly how long an accounting fresh grad can get a job from Singapore..i need a time frame... I have been waiting for job interview for 1 month plus d...receive no reply until now...TT
yhoong12
Feb 14 2012, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:10 PM) hi everyone,does anyone know roughly how long an accounting fresh grad can get a job from Singapore..i need a time frame... I have been waiting for job interview for 1 month plus d...receive no reply until now...TT Where are you from? because my friends having the same problem, one from penang and one from ipoh,they never get a call from Sg and lastly they work at their hometown. We suspect that when Sg companies view ur CV, they will check your current address, if too far, they wont call you for interview. that is what we think, correct me if i m wrong
jett991
Feb 14 2012, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:13 PM) Where are you from? because my friends having the same problem, one from penang and one from ipoh,they never get a call from Sg and lastly they work at their hometown. We suspect that when Sg companies view ur CV, they will check your current address, if too far, they wont call you for interview. that is what we think, correct me if i m wrong hi,yhoong,nice to meet you.. I am from Johor..and the distance between SG and my hometown not really far.it takes about 1 and half hour to SG...sadly,I dun even receive even 1 interviewing call for the time being.... is there any alternative for me to reach these interviews as u think fit??thanks^^ Added on February 14, 2012, 5:19 pmor is it true that they demand experienced worker nowadays? This post has been edited by jett991: Feb 14 2012, 05:19 PM
PepsiCo
Feb 14 2012, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 14 2012, 04:50 PM) once u feel "standard of living, better educations, better securities, better infrastructure, better $, fewer red tapes compare to Msia" hard to turn back... some of my peers, remain in small town and settle down wif kid and i think earning 1/10th of some of the lowyat sg elite here, also happy what  , so what make u happy turn back for what ? i'm not turning back. your peers can be happy but there's no way i'm gonna let my kid(s) go thru the Msia education system. Added on February 14, 2012, 5:25 pmQUOTE(yhoong12 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:13 PM) Where are you from? because my friends having the same problem, one from penang and one from ipoh,they never get a call from Sg and lastly they work at their hometown. We suspect that when Sg companies view ur CV, they will check your current address, if too far, they wont call you for interview. that is what we think, correct me if i m wrong best if put Sg address and leave a SG mobile number This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Feb 14 2012, 05:25 PM