127 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

jhcj
post Jan 4 2012, 02:48 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

can read more here: http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/investments...ous_metals.html

basically i opened an acc to buy gold (paper though, not physical). gold is a hedge against inflation, so just plan on injection some of my savings there each month.

jasonkwk
post Jan 4 2012, 03:06 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 4 2012, 02:48 PM)
can read more here: http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/investments...ous_metals.html

basically i opened an acc to buy gold (paper though, not physical). gold is a hedge against inflation, so just plan on injection some of my savings there each month.
spread rate is too high to hedge for inflation, how about SG REIT?

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jan 4 2012, 02:20 PM)
OK, i passed the Level 4 JTPL about 5 years ago.

Now wanted to catch-up again on Japanese.

I noob in hearing, speaking but still remember how to read and write hiragana and katakana.
hiragana and katakana is simple ,try to remember 2000 kanji's kunyomi and onyomi

try buy japanese newspaper or read japanese news website to improve your grammar and vocabulary

for hearing, rent or buy japanese drama, listen to the conversation without looking at the monitor

for speaking, make new japanese friend? blush.gif
ky_khor
post Jan 4 2012, 03:32 PM

No.22
894 posts

Just asking for opinion on fixed/time deposit. If you got 5K SGD to set aside, would you rather save it in Singapore bank time deposit with 0.2-0.5% interest, or convert them into RM then saved in fixed deposit with >3% interest rate?

RM higher interest rate, risk of currency depreciation. SGD vice versa. Let's exclude other investment options.
henry_cjt
post Jan 4 2012, 03:40 PM

Anyone here work as marine engineer in SG? Wanna ask how's the working environment in marine industry?
Tigerr
post Jan 4 2012, 03:53 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(henry_cjt @ Jan 4 2012, 03:40 PM)
Anyone here work as marine engineer in SG? Wanna ask how's the working environment in marine industry?
tough but rewards is good. biggrin.gif
elvenchou1987
post Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 4 2012, 02:14 PM)
3 kaki for futsal d. Need more lol
I'm in for basketball / futsal / badminton / paintball!! haha..am liviing at yew tee mrt area..
Tigerr

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 4 2012, 03:32 PM)
Just asking for opinion on fixed/time deposit. If you got 5K SGD to set aside, would you rather save it in Singapore bank time deposit with 0.2-0.5% interest, or convert them into RM then saved in fixed deposit with >3% interest rate?

RM higher interest rate, risk of currency depreciation. SGD vice versa. Let's exclude other investment options.
SGD also got risk for depreciation. I heard the rates has dropped to 2.41? I changed at 2.432 two weeks ago...

seantang

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

If it's the only 5K you have, put it in a SGD FD as you need to protect your capital in SGD... assuming your spending is in SGD. If your spending is in MYR, then bring it back home and put it into a MYR FD.

If it's one of the many 5Ks you have... buy exactly 2 lots of M1. Averaging 7% dividends at current price, blue chip and stands up well in a weak market as telcos are considered to be safe havens (as far as safe havens in the stock market go).

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 4 2012, 03:57 PM
Tigerr
post Jan 4 2012, 03:58 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM)
If it's the only 5K you have, put it in a SGD FD as you need to protect your capital in SGD... assuming your spending is in SGD. If your spending is in MYR, then bring it back home and put it into a MYR FD.

If it's one of the many 5Ks you have... buy exactly 2 lots of M1. Averaging 7% dividends at current price, blue chip and stands up well in a weak market as telcos are considered to be safe havens (as fars as safe havens in the stock market goes).
You are advising him to pick up stock gambling.... tongue.gif

Later he see good money there and keep investing and later become "goreng" and earn fast money...... biggrin.gif
seantang
post Jan 4 2012, 03:59 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 4 2012, 02:48 PM)

Thanks. Appreciate it. Fees don't look too high (0.25%) and buy/sell spread is minimal .20 on 66.6.

MPIK
post Jan 4 2012, 04:35 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM)

If it's one of the many 5Ks you have... buy exactly 2 lots of M1. Averaging 7% dividends at current price, blue chip and stands up well in a weak market as telcos are considered to be safe havens (as far as safe havens in the stock market go).
Ok u fancy telcos counters.

For me, i would park my funds at SG banks like UOB or DBS.
SG banks considered to be good investments too, SG banks' administration and management is quite well known and at least 5 times better than of Maybank or RHB in Malaysia.
Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 04:46 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 4 2012, 02:15 PM)
lol...wont de la...lose maybe but not that much...haha, so hougang which area got philipinos playing coz i found tat pilipinos is the most active in basketball in singapore??
hougang i only saw some local kids (with a head taller than me) playing.
Pinoys i saw in bedok south road (my old place), inside Bedok View primary school, near to Tanah Merah st.

Added on January 4, 2012, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 4 2012, 02:17 PM)
haha, r we at the same hougang?? why i cant see many ppl playing during evening??XD tongue.gif
U can check out Paya Lebar Kovan Community Club (Map: http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...el_site_84322/)

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 4 2012, 04:50 PM
Tigerr
post Jan 4 2012, 04:52 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 4 2012, 04:46 PM)
Pinoys i saw in bedok south road (my old place), inside Bedok View primary school, near to Tanah Merah st.

Added on January 4, 2012, 4:50 pm

U can check out Paya Lebar Kovan Community Club  (Map: http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...el_site_84322/)
i always saw 2 groups of youngster play at Feng Shan cc when i go play badminton. But after 8.30pm, the basketball court will be occupied by a group of uncle and aunty to play tai chi.....haha
Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 04:53 PM

484 posts

The will be risk to whether SGD/RM will go up or down, and we will never know with certainty.
Then the next thing to consider is where you will use the SGD5,000 in the future.
If u will use in Msia, then put in RM and vice versa.

Added on January 4, 2012, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(MPIK @ Jan 4 2012, 04:35 PM)

SG banks considered to be good investments too, SG banks' administration and management is quite well known and at least 5 times better than of Maybank or RHB in Malaysia.
The prob is with SGD5k u can't buy any bank stocks.
Here u can only invest in multiple of 1,000 units, with prices above SGD10/unit.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 4 2012, 04:56 PM
yhoong12
post Jan 4 2012, 05:03 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

[quote=Aloong,Jan 4 2012, 04:46 PM]

ya lo, Pinoys active at tampines, bedok area...not north region... but i dun mind, as long as i can enjoy my basketball, who ever also can.
seantang
post Jan 4 2012, 05:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jan 4 2012, 04:35 PM)

I used to have PBB in Bursa, OCBC in SG and HSBC in HKSE. But since Lehman Bros, bank stocks are no longer considered defensive. Now I've only got HSC left as a China play, but still in the red.

I've moved on to mainly telcos and SPH as defensive plays. In Malaysia, Digi and Maxis... plus my long time (since I started investing my ang pow money as a teen) the evergreen piew tou yum chui (sex gamble drink smoke) like Guinness, Carlberg, BToto, BAT, Genting etc. I also like the Wawasan 2020 bonds... steady 6-7%.
wseng
post Jan 4 2012, 06:37 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(henry_cjt @ Jan 4 2012, 03:40 PM)
Erm .. I'm a service engineer here...
working environment very tough .. and hours spent very long ..
and eventually you will need to sell your time to exchange for money .
Depends.. some company will have exposure heavy travelling regionally and worldwide.

heavenhell
post Jan 4 2012, 08:33 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM)
I'm in for basketball / futsal / badminton / paintball!! haha..am liviing at yew tee mrt area..
ok 1 more kaki d for football , more pls smile.gif

This post has been edited by heavenhell: Jan 4 2012, 08:33 PM
Sky_Q
post Jan 4 2012, 08:57 PM

243 posts

hey i got 2 person here including myself interested in paintball/football/futsal... i'm not tat pro thou....hehe

Added on January 4, 2012, 8:59 pmbadminton oso ok....but not basketball...i'm too short for a basketball...lols...how bout this saturday??

This post has been edited by Sky_Q: Jan 4 2012, 08:59 PM
Mackiddo
post Jan 4 2012, 09:03 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 4 2012, 08:33 PM)
ok 1 more kaki d for football , more pls smile.gif
football ??? cry.gif

127 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:46 AM