Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

yhoong12
post Jan 3 2012, 03:17 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Hi, i just worked in singapore for 1 month...i stay at hougang st 91, i just wondering if anyone can suggest me any basketball court where got alot of ppl playing basketball coz i found tat nearby basketball court do not have alot of ppl playing,if got, also just kids...
yhoong12
post Jan 3 2012, 04:08 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Thank paranoid. if i not playing basketball, i guess i would be bore to dead..haha
yhoong12
post Jan 3 2012, 05:53 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

If anyone have basketball game or pick up game at north region, pm me...
btw, if required travel, not too far, i m ok with that.
hopefully i can extend my passion for basketball at Singapore even though i just a normal lvl player...hehe
yhoong12
post Jan 3 2012, 10:37 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 3 2012, 08:00 PM)
@yhoong
I stay at hougang st91 too. wonder are we refering to the same basketball court smile.gif

Usually I won't be around during weekend. But I'm open for weekday night sports session.
which basketball court u playing at? the one in the middle of HDB(forget the block number)? i heard tat hougang point there got basketball court, got philipino ppl play there, thinking of go ther to play, weekday night session seem fine to me if got ppl play.
yhoong12
post Jan 3 2012, 10:41 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Jan 3 2012, 07:52 PM)
I'm staying at fernvale...
Got plan to play ball with aloong
Also from hougang...we shall organize a ball session...
But I noob
o? so ur area ther got basketball court? got alot of ppl play ma?aloong from hougang? he noe hougang which area got alot ppl play? really hard to find ppl to play basketball in hougang...haha
yhoong12
post Jan 3 2012, 11:42 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 3 2012, 11:38 PM)
i got 2 ppl here who play.
but like i said...only 2  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
i stay in woodlands.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
haha...then woodland ther got alot ppl playing?from hougang go woodland still ok for me...
yhoong12
post Jan 4 2012, 08:54 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Jan 4 2012, 12:02 AM)
Dear all, I popped by to ask a question on how transferable my skills are should I want to work Singapore.

Currently working in a Big 4 in the tax department. Doing half compliance, half consulting work. Only 1 year experience so far. Doing my CPA as well, planning to take the Singapore Tax paper (one of the reasons why I chose CPA, actually tongue.gif)

I'm quite worried whether I can find work in Singapore in the future considering that my work is limited to Malaysian taxes. Should I try to go over early (in the next year or two) to minimise the pay drop (assuming that all my experience will be disregarded due to not being relevant) or try in 4-5 years time when I have more experience and higher ranking? I would like to hear your opinions smile.gif
heard that the employment rate is kinda low in 2012. not sure is true onot. u can have a try, do not resign 1st, get a offer 1st. best of luck!!

Added on January 4, 2012, 10:31 am
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 3 2012, 11:53 PM)
Got...but I think they play competitive for the court near my block (hidden between the HDB)
My skills are definitely not up to their standard
my fren, skill maybe up to their standard on his day, stamina...definitely no.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
A lot of courts near my place...1 just nearby my block...walk to the main road, got 3 more.
However, it is the number of ppl who plays that is the problem  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 11:56 pmi dun mind playing a bit further if there is ppl.
need to exercise more, a lot more, as the tummy coming out d. sad.gif sad.gif
if i can find the cycling path there...even better.
cycle as warm up. laugh.gif laugh.gif
wow,sometime play in competitive game will fire ur passion, i can do both...look like i need to have a trip to there already..haha
i just hoping that i can cont play basketball bcoz basketball is my life..XD
haha, i also scare my tummy come out lo...

Added on January 4, 2012, 10:32 am
QUOTE(washabushi @ Jan 3 2012, 11:48 PM)
Nearby Anchovale community centre lo...got 3 courts...
But shooting 3 points make sure no airball or it might end up in McD

Drop me a SMS
oo... if got ppl playing ther wish can make up to 4 on 4 pickup game, i can go there.
but i gonna try on hougang point on this weekend see i can play any pickup game onot, if i going to anchovale will drop u a sms..

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jan 4 2012, 10:32 AM
yhoong12
post Jan 4 2012, 02:15 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 4 2012, 01:22 PM)
I oso more than 10yrs never play. On top of that i have extra 10kgs since then, leg spring rusty, reduce in speed and no increase in height. 
Looks like kykhor, washabushi, deodarant, yhoong and myself (got 5ppl) against 5 philipinos. I betting we will loose with 100 points gap.hahaha...
lol...wont de la...lose maybe but not that much...haha, so hougang which area got philipinos playing coz i found tat pilipinos is the most active in basketball in singapore??
yhoong12
post Jan 4 2012, 02:17 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 4 2012, 01:28 PM)
yeah, kovan here got a couple of courts. one is a CC. I'm not sure how to book.
Got another court, those beside HDB type, dunno nid to book or not. I think it's free for all type. If go during evening (peak hours) sure got ppl play one.  Lets join in and be trashed!! If dun wan to get thrashed, better go during non-peak time.
haha, r we at the same hougang?? why i cant see many ppl playing during evening??XD tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Jan 4 2012, 05:03 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

[quote=Aloong,Jan 4 2012, 04:46 PM]
hougang i only saw some local kids (with a head taller than me) playing.
Pinoys i saw in bedok south road (my old place), inside Bedok View primary school, near to Tanah Merah st.

ya lo, Pinoys active at tampines, bedok area...not north region... but i dun mind, as long as i can enjoy my basketball, who ever also can.
yhoong12
post Jan 9 2012, 09:43 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 7 2012, 09:22 PM)
Visa debit card only given to me . Can be used as atm card also .
Oh just realised at the back got the NETS logo as well , but ytd I tried using the card to top up ez card in the mrt ticket machine , but cant =.=
Need to top up or register  the nets card first is it ? sorry abit confuse with this nets card thing
try to use it on axs station. i think it works..but i never try it b4, axs station available in most mrt station or shopping mall

Added on January 9, 2012, 9:50 amSorry for been noob, PRC stand for Permenant Residence from China?
if yes i agree they r pretty...encounter one yesterday. she is pretty n easy to flirt, plus one thing shocked is her slang totally changed, u hardly can hear if she from china..

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jan 9 2012, 09:50 AM
yhoong12
post Jan 9 2012, 10:11 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

thank for the correction crazy25kid, din thought bout People' Republic of China, first thing i think when i saw PR directly think of Permanent Residence..thanks man
yhoong12
post Jan 9 2012, 03:49 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 9 2012, 03:05 PM)
Hmm, you're the first person I know who doesn't know what "PRC" is. My non forum going friends also refer to them as PRC.
I'd only consider going back if MYR strengthens to 1:1 tongue.gif
Bcoz i just worked here, seldom in touch with this kind of term, when i see PR, i onli think of permanent resident, tat why i say i m noob..haha
yhoong12
post Jan 17 2012, 09:01 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 17 2012, 02:15 AM)
sg girls are the worst..dunno why people here like sg galz..I prefer malaysian chinese or indonesian chinese
LOL...how bout PRC?
yhoong12
post Jan 19 2012, 08:40 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Heard some rumor saying that 2012 the employment rate dropped, is tat true?
yhoong12
post Jan 19 2012, 10:14 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 19 2012, 08:41 AM)
...damn jealous, all leaving so early

Added on January 19, 2012, 8:43 am
how do you know 2012 employment rate dropped when the year 2012 not over yet?
that why i said, is a rumor, plus the economic is not good this year, company firing more than hiring, i just want to know if is true.
yhoong12
post Jan 19 2012, 10:40 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jan 19 2012, 10:20 AM)
You will know it by 31st Dec 2012.  biggrin.gif

Economy no good? COE has risen again...i heard some companies bonus is 9 months....but many said till now still not get their bonus yet.

There are good and bad out there. Bankers and O&G people still enjoying their fat bonuses and now may be still holidaying overseas....while some companies is struggling to keep in the business. So, if you happen to join the right company, you will be safe. If given the opportunities to join those elite jobs, even starting pay is low, you should keep it as long term gain is there and no need to be worry about recession this and finacial crisis that.  biggrin.gif
haha, coz most thing i heard from other only, you know how they say, company not hiring la, why i cant get the job, bla bla bla..it makes me wonder why they know employment rate drop....haha
yhoong12
post Jan 20 2012, 02:37 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 12:17 PM)
Dang, you are easy to sway.

Bro, I've been in Sg for 20 years lah. Kids also growing up. You think the kids or me will have more opportunities in Malaysia? I am working with more than $10Ksgd income here. Which freaking company in Malaysia will hire me? I am even paid better than Jibby. lol. BTW, there's a loop hole in HDB where if your employer is good enuf to lower the salary less than $10K, you will be eligible for HDB-BTO. 12K below is for EC and DBSS.

What is your thought like? How many years you have been working in Sg? Can you share your concerns? It is good for readers to judge for themselves to see which country is greener for them. wink.gif

For those looking for job in Sg, please be patient coz you are also competing with the locals AND Indians, Indonesian Chinese, Pinoys and Chinese from China. So, it is very competitive. You have to move in very low and then move up from there. Can't afford to be picky. Hope this helps.
wah...$10K for a new comer like me is heaven..haha...btw wat field are u in? you also move in very low when you 1st come SG?
yhoong12
post Feb 2 2012, 08:57 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Feb 1 2012, 06:41 PM)
Just to share my experience with Malaysia High Commision at Jervois Road.

I renewed my Malaysian passport 2 weeks ago and it was a breeze! I must say they are quite efficient, comparing to their counterparts back in Malaysia.

I arrived at 1120AM and collected my passport within the same day at 2PM. When I collect my passport, I found out that there are approximately 70 people in front of me in the queue line. But the queue moves very fast and I got my passport within 10 mins. So I would guess they need to process like 100 passports everyday? And they did it in 2 hours time!  rclxms.gif

Renewal fee is SGD 124. You can take ID photo there as well for SGD 6. ID photo taken in SG (Usually in white background) is not acceptable.

Make sure you arrive before their lunch break (12PM) to submit your application form or else your passport will be ready only on the next day.

Let me know if you need more details!
that mean SGD124 for 5 years? seem cheaper than renew fee for five years in MY... Correct me if i m wrong
yhoong12
post Feb 2 2012, 10:07 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Feb 2 2012, 09:07 AM)
Its almost the same at the rate of 2.4 its RM297...renew fee in MY immigration offices its RM300
yaya, then seem like if renew in SG will be much more faster than in MY, can consider renew my passport in SG..hehe

0.0563sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:29 AM