Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

ky_khor
post Nov 18 2011, 05:17 PM

No.22
894 posts

I always take sleeping couch when travelling in train - at night (KL-SG, KL-PG) Never take intercity train in the broad day light before. Have not taken KL-SG train since the closure of Tanjung Pagar.
ky_khor
post Nov 22 2011, 10:37 PM

No.22
894 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Nov 22 2011, 10:32 PM)
Wow v9 ad.  Addition with the title of "How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?" @'@
I saw that too, and wishing silently, patiently for the answer. sweat.gif
ky_khor
post Nov 23 2011, 05:10 PM

No.22
894 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 22 2011, 10:50 PM)
Waiting patiently is not the answer. All you have to do is save 2800 a month in the bank and at the end of 3 years, you will have 100800. The answer is work harder, work smarter and earn enough to save 2800 a month. Waiting patiently for the answer to fall onto your lap is...  blink.gif
Since this is a Singapore thread, I was expecting a more "Singapore oriented" insights. I just arrived in Singapore 2 months ago. Able to save SGD 2800 a month excluding bonus. Single and non-PR -- HDB is still a dream sweat.gif Other than working hard and making sure I won't be sent back Malaysia "prematurely", I'm currently exploring Singapore investment options.
ky_khor
post Dec 6 2011, 08:58 PM

No.22
894 posts

Imo SGD1.2K will cover all basic needs here. Any expenses more than that is luxury - which can be converted into additional savings if one tries hard enough.
ky_khor
post Dec 6 2011, 09:55 PM

No.22
894 posts

I don't know anyone here in person. Can I join the Christmas gathering?

*Is there a Singapore Malaysian group or sort in FB/LinkedIn you guys're joining?
ky_khor
post Dec 12 2011, 04:08 PM

No.22
894 posts

Traffic congestion issue is getting worse in Sg. Why are we moving to Sg, just to hope that Sg can be more JB, KL like?

Car park space is one of the worst enemy for city development, according to articles I've read in the past.
ky_khor
post Dec 13 2011, 04:11 PM

No.22
894 posts

Just arrived 2 months+ ago. My current expenses incurred in SGD:

Accommodation: 700
Transportation: 200+
Phone bill: 50-90
Food: 300+
Others: 100+-
ky_khor
post Dec 13 2011, 04:26 PM

No.22
894 posts

^ depends on your job nature, and lifestyle. If it's just transit back and forth workplace for 5 days a week, it can be as little as SGD80 a month.

Single common room fully furnished and utilities included, no cooking allowed -- I don't cook anyway.
I was looking for place with no pets, no smoker few months back: I was having a hard time as a single guy back then lol. Most of the place prefered female or couple.

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Dec 13 2011, 04:26 PM
ky_khor
post Dec 13 2011, 06:21 PM

No.22
894 posts

Can't do anything about rental: Fine with it so far as it includes utilities bill, all furniture (inc. room wall mounted LCD tv), aircond and internet.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=101...39&l=259604894b
Old snapshot of the room. The wooden wardrobe was excluded in the pic.

Thanks for the Skype idea. Just check on the rate and it's very cheap even for land+mobile subscription.

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Dec 13 2011, 06:22 PM
ky_khor
post Dec 14 2011, 02:08 AM

No.22
894 posts

3) I don't see any problem.
4) My rule of thumb, don't ask for amount less than what you earn in MYR. But it doesn't mean you shouldn't accept it if they offer less.

ky_khor
post Dec 19 2011, 11:50 AM

No.22
894 posts

If similar break down occurs in Malaysia:

1. Minister will say the service break down is "normal" compare to some-ghetto-country, or country side mobile circus roller coaster track.

2. Minister will tell citizen to appreciate what government had done - such as building the LRT in the first place, with your tax money.

3. Further investigation won't be carried out because no one has died from the service disruption, yet.

For me it's OK for Singaporean to complain. But Malaysian, who had lived through Malaysia-Boleh standard, by right, should be able to contain impulsive outburst.

tongue.gif

Anyone has experienced this: The KL-SG coach I've taking left 2 foreign tourist(and not sure how many others) at Woodlands checkpoint, although I intervened him saying that they're suppose to alight at Beach Road(I've chat with them on the bus). The driver waited no more than 20 minutes at Woodlands.

Couldn't imagine what I'ma gonna do if the UK-Italy TransEurope coach left me at France checkpoint....
ky_khor
post Dec 22 2011, 01:50 PM

No.22
894 posts

Actually I find no reason to get a car yet. MRT/Bus + claimable taxi fare is sufficient even for my job that requires a lot of travelling.
ky_khor
post Dec 23 2011, 11:03 AM

No.22
894 posts

^Kuli has life too. Sort of.

This is the first "always me"'s post that counts? :/
ky_khor
post Jan 3 2012, 07:50 PM

No.22
894 posts

Offering SG->KL transportation for CNY:

Date: 20th Jan (Friday)
Time: 10pm (flexible depends on custom/causeway congestion)
Venue: JB Central
Seats available: 2 more
Note: Light luggage only (2 doors Proton)

*You're on your own for KL->SG.
*Will drop by Subang, then Setapak.

Seat occupied:
1. Yonathan (me)
2. Kay Vin (non-forumer but joined the previous HRC gathering)
3. Available
4. Available

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Jan 3 2012, 07:52 PM
ky_khor
post Jan 3 2012, 08:00 PM

No.22
894 posts

@yhoong
I stay at hougang st91 too. wonder are we refering to the same basketball court smile.gif

Usually I won't be around during weekend. But I'm open for weekday night sports session.
ky_khor
post Jan 4 2012, 03:32 PM

No.22
894 posts

Just asking for opinion on fixed/time deposit. If you got 5K SGD to set aside, would you rather save it in Singapore bank time deposit with 0.2-0.5% interest, or convert them into RM then saved in fixed deposit with >3% interest rate?

RM higher interest rate, risk of currency depreciation. SGD vice versa. Let's exclude other investment options.
ky_khor
post Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM

No.22
894 posts

"Buy 5 properties for 30 yrs installment" can be positive cashflow or negative cashflow depends on how much downpayment and how much you rent out.
ky_khor
post Jan 6 2012, 09:55 AM

No.22
894 posts

If Estella is a guy "he" might as well ask:
"Will I get to molest girls on train if I work in Singapore? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif "
ky_khor
post Jan 16 2012, 04:12 PM

No.22
894 posts

Hiring a non-degree/non-certified personnel poses risk to hiring manager. Its like putting his head on the chopping board and pray that you're capable of what you were saying/lying(lol). Project tenders nowadays, demand qualified personnel to be involved as well.

Most people(including me) choose to play safe under such circumstances.
ky_khor
post Jan 17 2012, 12:46 PM

No.22
894 posts

@paranoid,

My car still got two seat from JB Sentral to KL on Fri 20th night (2 guy currently)
1 seat from KL to Pg (Seberang Perai) on Sat 21st noon (1 guy + 2 girls currently)

Let me know if he/she's interested in the detail.

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Jan 17 2012, 12:47 PM

0.0476sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:57 PM