Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

Aloong
post Dec 16 2011, 10:49 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 16 2011, 09:26 AM)
I was at Ang Mo Kio.
No issues going Woodlands/Jurong direction yesterday.
Train was completely empty.
There was announcement that no train service from Braddell to Marina.
Later last night saw the news, train fault between Bishan and Bradell.
Passengers had to walk thru the tunnel to "evacuate". sweat.gif sweat.gif
Walking thru the tunnel. I only saw those in movies, mostlty action movies. wat if another train coming???

Added on December 16, 2011, 10:50 am
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 16 2011, 10:14 AM)
Got stuck in Toa Payoh for two hours yesterday on the way from Orchard.  It's really chaotic and this is the first time I see people are trying to get into the bus ala Pudu Raya way.  New experience.
Looks like SG transport is not as awesome as we had expected.

Added on December 16, 2011, 10:51 am
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 16 2011, 10:14 AM)
Got stuck in Toa Payoh for two hours yesterday on the way from Orchard.  It's really chaotic and this is the first time I see people are trying to get into the bus ala Pudu Raya way.  New experience.
Looks like SG transport is not as awesome as we had expected.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 16 2011, 10:51 AM
Aloong
post Dec 16 2011, 11:03 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 16 2011, 10:56 AM)
I dun think they can have another mechanical fault right after that where power suddenly comes back on and the train start moving.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
if it really does happen, i have no comment.
That would be awesome news!!!
ANyway, this news only got a small section on mypaper. Looks like gomen has good control.

Aloong
post Dec 27 2011, 12:02 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Dec 27 2011, 09:59 AM)
Talking about LinkedIn,
anybody wanna do some career connections?
but professionally la, not to laugh2 wan
I'm in. But wat is career connection?

Added on December 27, 2011, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(iStevei @ Dec 27 2011, 10:48 AM)
Currently, earning RM3k+ in Msia. Plan to go SG but if being offer $2.5k or less, is it consider normal or below avg? Seem like fresh graduate salary

Pls advise
A VERY ROUGH guide, if it's within 30% paycut it's reasonbale to take it, provided immediate money is not ur only objective. U can think of future money (i.e. career prospect), family reason, and many other personal reasons.

Added on December 27, 2011, 12:11 pm
QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 27 2011, 11:41 AM)
Just want to know. Is it possible to request for a higher salary if you are not entitled for CPF? The reason why i ask this is because there is no chance of me getting a PR anymore since I denouced my PR because i did not want to do national service. I just want to know since this is the case, is it possible for me to request my employer for a higher salary since i know that for singaporeans the CPF that is given is normally 16%
Couple of years ago, I heard that's pretty common (in the accounting firms) whre employer pay you the 16% in cash.
But recently this has been quite rare. In short to your answer, yes it can happen, but low chances.
Then again, im assuming ur not an expat with a welcome red carpet roll to ur legs.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 27 2011, 12:11 PM
Aloong
post Dec 27 2011, 12:16 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 27 2011, 11:54 AM)
i'm just curious on how LinkedIn works, how is it beneficial to us ?
Good for networking purposes. Well that's what Linkedin was mainly for.
Networking for job opportunities as well as business opporutnities.
It works the best if you're connected to ppl similar to ur line of business/career + headhunters.

Added on December 27, 2011, 12:21 pm
QUOTE(sching @ Dec 27 2011, 11:56 AM)
Lets say I am an ACCA member (3 years plus working exp). Currently working in Deloitte (1 year audit line and 2 years plus tax line). Planning to go into investment banking/corp finance. What will be the standard pay in Spore?
Malaysia IB probably RM3+ to 4.5k. But in SG ur chance is dam low. U'll just take watever pay they give, that is if u get an IB job.
Best choice is to go SG Big4 first as a stepping stone, probably CF/Advisory side (if u can get lar). Otherwise do audit lor.
2nd option is to do IB in Msia first, but to chances to go SG is higher thru option 1 above..cos option 2 may not necessary guarantee u get job in SG.
U got to ask ur self, which one more important, getting into IB or getting into SG?
Getting into IB go for otpion 2.
Getting into SG, go for option 1

wow, a lot of typos...the problem of not having an office room..

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 27 2011, 12:25 PM
Aloong
post Dec 27 2011, 02:00 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(sching @ Dec 27 2011, 12:35 PM)
Thanks for the advice! Actually the main intention is to go into IB. I am from Penang. Penang do not have IB...haha...So I have two choices: KL or Spore. If I were to choose, i would prefer Spore thn KL.

Btw, may I know which are the top IB in Spore? I do not see much ads abt IB in jobstreet.
Not sure which is the top one, probably those that u can't get in (at least not now). But a personal advise dun go for US or EURO IB, for obvious reason, at least for now..Its very painful if u get chop jx after couple of months there.

IB structure in SG and Msia quite diff. Unlike in Msia the IB's name got the word "Investment Bank". Cos they need to differentiate between the different subsidiairy. But in SG they dun use the work "Investment Bank", and IB is normally one of the department within the full fledge bank. Furthermore, wat u see in Jobstreet.sg are normally headhunters, as banks doesn't want ppl flooding their HR with resumes.

As mentioned, seriously, dun think u have the luxury to choose btwn SG or KL. If ur so lucky to get one, jx take it..anyway, with one yr in audit + 2 yr tax, u may not really know what IB/CF does, to be frank. From I see u wana join IB/CF bcos it may sound glamorous and money is good kinda story. No worry, most ppl join bcose of that, nothing wrong.

Also FYI, money in Msia IB may not be inferior to SG IB. My view is that dollar to dollar Msia IB pays better than SG IB for average performer. SO think twice if u insist on joining IB in SG

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 27 2011, 02:09 PM
Aloong
post Dec 28 2011, 01:43 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 28 2011, 09:23 AM)
The landlord only want 1 year lease so only can take 1 year lo. Frm that guideline means 1 year lease 1 month agent fees but my agent say each individual pay to their agent, meaning landlord pay 1 month to his agent and i pay 1 month to my agent ar? Rich d lo agent like this lol
I suggest u contact other agent and check it out. I rented 1 yr in Oct 2010 for half month commission only. Then in Oct 2011 I rented 2 year for one month commission.
But if u signa dn pay already, too bad lor.
If havent u can just try check around for other places, and fake fake ask them about commission policy lor

Added on December 28, 2011, 1:45 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 28 2011, 10:05 AM)
Eh what agency is your agent from? Regardless one year or two year lease also pay 1month agent fee from both tenant and landlord side is like cheating, must let us know so that we can avoid agents from those agencies next time biggrin.gif
Correct, tell us which agent, which company??
Maybe the agent is not license one.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 28 2011, 01:45 PM
Aloong
post Dec 29 2011, 02:16 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 29 2011, 12:59 AM)
then next move, is it better to go with PMP or MBA? I'm currently doing my CIMA.
If u do business development, MBA definitely better than CIMA or PMP.
CIMA and PMP is more towards practical/technical kinda skills, whereas MBA teaches u "how to bullshit" to be blunt. ALso MBA it's a networking opportunity within ur MBA tenure. Im guessing BD means u nid to look for new business area (similar to marketing). Hence CIMA or PMP would bring u as much benefits as MBA.

Added on December 29, 2011, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 29 2011, 10:54 AM)
What bank account should i open?
First time working n work in sg. The hr told me any bank also can as long as open in sg.
Pls advise, thanks guys
DBS/POSB (same company) = long que but more atm
UOB/OCBC= less atm but shorter que.

I suggest UOB/OCBC

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 29 2011, 02:21 PM
Aloong
post Dec 29 2011, 08:47 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 29 2011, 03:05 PM)
If less atm but u cant withdraw at other bank atm?
Need to pay xtra fees?
I was told nid to pay extra, not sure how much.But not all banks can. meaning it depends whether there are partnership between the bank or not. for e.g. UOB card cannot withdraw from DBS atm. It is not as convinient as in Malaysia, where with meps u can withdraw any atm.

Added on December 29, 2011, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 29 2011, 04:15 PM)
If open Dbs acc need minimum 1k ar?

Edit :went to ask uob, no ep card cannot open acc, i only got the in principal approval letter.
I opened my UOB savings with AIP letter. Use my Malaysia IC number.
Oh ya with employer letter confirming my employment as well.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 29 2011, 08:54 PM
Aloong
post Dec 30 2011, 01:13 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Dec 30 2011, 12:46 PM)
Does anyone know where to change money in Singapore? Heard they got good rates in Chinatown, but donno where.
Raffles Arcade (next to the Raffles place) a lot of money changer. There's a lot at the second floor.
Aloong
post Dec 30 2011, 09:35 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Dec 30 2011, 01:40 PM)
anymore know why the SGD-MYR exchange rate is going down these few months from 2.45 to 2.43? any economic degree or expert care to share their insight here?
Among reasons I can think of:
1. Rm is still peg to usd, within a range, and usd is goin up hence rm goes up
2. Sg is known for using currency to manage growth vs inflation, instead of int rate. Now the worry is low growth. Estimated only 1% for 2012. Hence sg Gomen lower its currency to boost export and growth.
3. Sg is highly vulnerable among Asia countries to global economy. Negative global outlook will affect sg's outlook which also lead to same path as item 2 above

Other micro reason is also because higher demand for rm for msian workers to exchange money for holidays n cny back home. This will lower sgdmyr rate. Also the spread will widen also as demand rise

Added on December 30, 2011, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(Estella @ Dec 30 2011, 08:51 PM)
pardon me. sorry for that lol. I meant why you want to say such harsh words? 

Btw I got interview in Singapore nx mth. Can any sifu give tips?
Assuming ur really a female.
1st step check who is the interviewer.
If male, wear lesser and improve "where" u can. i can provide quality control check on this for free brows.gif
If female, put on an ugly betty look -> very hardworking and does everything ppl told

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 30 2011, 09:51 PM
Aloong
post Jan 1 2012, 02:33 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Dec 30 2011, 09:53 PM)
Sorry, that's totally wrong. It has not been pegged for some time, since it was 3.8.
Actually it is, within a range, not at 3.8 like last time. Just like HKD.
Probably benchmarking may be more accurate word than pegging
But RM and HKD moves in tandem with USD.
Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 01:22 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 3 2012, 10:37 PM)
which basketball court u playing at? the one in the middle of HDB(forget the block number)? i heard tat hougang point there got basketball court, got philipino ppl play there, thinking of go ther to play, weekday night session seem fine to me if got ppl play.
I oso more than 10yrs never play. On top of that i have extra 10kgs since then, leg spring rusty, reduce in speed and no increase in height.
Looks like kykhor, washabushi, deodarant, yhoong and myself (got 5ppl) against 5 philipinos. I betting we will loose with 100 points gap.hahaha...

Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 01:28 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 3 2012, 10:41 PM)
o? so ur area ther got basketball court? got alot of ppl play ma?aloong from hougang? he noe hougang which area got alot ppl play? really hard to find ppl to play basketball in hougang...haha
yeah, kovan here got a couple of courts. one is a CC. I'm not sure how to book.
Got another court, those beside HDB type, dunno nid to book or not. I think it's free for all type. If go during evening (peak hours) sure got ppl play one. Lets join in and be trashed!! If dun wan to get thrashed, better go during non-peak time.

Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 01:29 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Jan 4 2012, 12:02 AM)
Dear all, I popped by to ask a question on how transferable my skills are should I want to work Singapore.

Currently working in a Big 4 in the tax department. Doing half compliance, half consulting work. Only 1 year experience so far. Doing my CPA as well, planning to take the Singapore Tax paper (one of the reasons why I chose CPA, actually tongue.gif)

I'm quite worried whether I can find work in Singapore in the future considering that my work is limited to Malaysian taxes. Should I try to go over early (in the next year or two) to minimise the pay drop (assuming that all my experience will be disregarded due to not being relevant) or try in 4-5 years time when I have more experience and higher ranking? I would like to hear your opinions smile.gif
If u plan to go SG and it's a confirm plan, its always better to go erlier.
Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 01:33 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 4 2012, 01:29 PM)
bro, scrap the basketball lar. Gather army we go Power Satay smile.gif
If i go power satay, dun talk about basketball. Brisk walking oso will have problem.
I not like u, got another 15days to sexercise.
Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 04:46 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 4 2012, 02:15 PM)
lol...wont de la...lose maybe but not that much...haha, so hougang which area got philipinos playing coz i found tat pilipinos is the most active in basketball in singapore??
hougang i only saw some local kids (with a head taller than me) playing.
Pinoys i saw in bedok south road (my old place), inside Bedok View primary school, near to Tanah Merah st.

Added on January 4, 2012, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 4 2012, 02:17 PM)
haha, r we at the same hougang?? why i cant see many ppl playing during evening??XD tongue.gif
U can check out Paya Lebar Kovan Community Club (Map: http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...el_site_84322/)

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 4 2012, 04:50 PM
Aloong
post Jan 4 2012, 04:53 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 4 2012, 03:32 PM)
Just asking for opinion on fixed/time deposit. If you got 5K SGD to set aside, would you rather save it in Singapore bank time deposit with 0.2-0.5% interest, or convert them into RM then saved in fixed deposit with >3% interest rate?

RM higher interest rate, risk of currency depreciation. SGD vice versa. Let's exclude other investment options.
The will be risk to whether SGD/RM will go up or down, and we will never know with certainty.
Then the next thing to consider is where you will use the SGD5,000 in the future.
If u will use in Msia, then put in RM and vice versa.

Added on January 4, 2012, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(MPIK @ Jan 4 2012, 04:35 PM)
Ok u fancy telcos counters.

For me, i would park my funds at SG banks like UOB or DBS.
SG banks considered to be good investments too, SG banks' administration and management is quite well known and at least 5 times better than of Maybank or RHB in Malaysia.
The prob is with SGD5k u can't buy any bank stocks.
Here u can only invest in multiple of 1,000 units, with prices above SGD10/unit.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 4 2012, 04:56 PM
Aloong
post Jan 5 2012, 10:07 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 4 2012, 05:46 PM)
I used to have PBB in Bursa, OCBC in SG and HSBC in HKSE. But since Lehman Bros, bank stocks are no longer considered defensive. Now I've only got HSC left as a China play, but still in the red.

I've moved on to mainly telcos and SPH as defensive plays. In Malaysia, Digi and Maxis... plus my long time (since I started investing my ang pow money as a teen) the evergreen piew tou yum chui (sex gamble drink smoke) like Guinness, Carlberg, BToto, BAT, Genting etc. I also like the Wawasan 2020 bonds... steady 6-7%.
There's definitely more investment choices in Msia (excludign the effect of exchanging money between SGD and RM), due to govt support in general, hence a pretty steady market. But you've mentioned about Msian investment, espeically Wawasan 2020, it reminded me somebody (a Msian working in SG as well) mentioned to me (bluntly) Malaysia will bankrupt in the next 5 years. Then I was thinking if this happen, this will definitely affect our investments (in any kind) in Malaysia.

I know this is rumour, and anybody deserve the right not to respond to rumours.
But for others wat do you think of the probability?

My thoughts: Tho probability will be low at 20%, but it is not impossible given the the gomen has been 'supporting the market' (ahem...inflated) with inflated infrastructure project value. Besides cronies, listed corporates will also gain for inflated project values. Fund managers, especially the 1Msia, Wawasan, Amanah, etc etc will gain directly from their investment into the listed co. But this may bring to the downfall of Msia economy wen this 'project bubble' burst.

Wats ur thoughts?

Why this question is in this thread? Cos it will determine where we, Msian working in SG, should park our assets.

Added on January 5, 2012, 10:10 am
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 5 2012, 10:04 AM)
Investment banks must shrink or die

http://business.asiaone.com/Business/News/...105-319947.html

So, while few banks will kill off their wholesale arms, this may be the year they decide to starve them to death.  rclxms.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 5 2012, 10:10 AM
Aloong
post Jan 5 2012, 02:32 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 5 2012, 01:02 PM)
didn't know working in Sg is a big deal.
Depends on luck oso lar. I have a fren working in a large MNC O&G company.
Supporting 3 child and wife not working. I think he easily earning SGD20k a month. No nid to report to work everyday.
ANd he's only 28 years old!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
U jelly or not??
Aloong
post Jan 6 2012, 09:35 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(Estella @ Jan 5 2012, 03:19 PM)
anybody working in bank? can share your experience?

Is MRT safe or not in singapore? I got some bad experince taking LRT in KL....many times got molested.
If u look like ur avatar, let me know which mrt u take and i'll protect u.

Added on January 6, 2012, 9:38 am
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jan 5 2012, 04:44 PM)
More terror in Japan, they can gang up and molest the girl in the train.... tongue.gif
u see too much jav lar

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 6 2012, 09:38 AM

0.0424sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:54 AM