125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

Andy214
post Oct 11 2011, 02:54 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Oct 11 2011, 02:35 PM)
I agree  notworthy.gif Never ever end lol doh.gif
Will it still be natural?
Nothing special, just that he prefers the tone from the 5D.
No what I meant was he was happy with the D90, then he wanted to upgrade, so he choosed the 5D instead of the D700 because of the tone it gives out. And he's a good photographer IMO, doesn't care much about his gear. Most of the top photographers here uses 5DMKII doh.gif
As said, gear doesn't matter, why bother. Both are great camera.

Tone, Colour, etc has been discussed before many times, and it shows the person's understanding towards it.
razuryza
post Oct 11 2011, 03:03 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(umiseaz @ Oct 11 2011, 02:39 PM)
can i know the sb700 price around KL ? any shop recommend ?
900-1000
gnome
post Oct 11 2011, 03:29 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 09:54 AM)

Ambient lighting, you know I'm always lazy to bring out my flash. Plus there's too many people around, no walls to bounce, ceiling too high and also no voice activated lightstand... ._. I was just changing my position (its hard... everyone's crowding there -.-) until I get this position and lighting biggrin.gif
I hate MV convention centre, ceiling too high and lighting like crap doh.gif laugh.gif
celciuz
post Oct 11 2011, 04:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Oct 11 2011, 12:59 PM)
lol.. i never off my cam to change the lens.. where got time to think bout off the cam while in events?  doh.gif
If your lens have VR, then becareful. Or maybe that's why your 1635 has decentering problem? blink.gif

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Oct 11 2011, 01:55 PM)
I asked a photographer here. How's the D700? He said the colour was normal, no big difference compared to the D90. Only thing was it's full frame. He used a D90 + 70-200 VR1 before, then he swapped to 5D Mark II + 135 f2. He's happy till now coz he said the 5DMKII gives a nice tone to the picture hmm.gif
Power la that 'photographer'

I agree  notworthy.gif Never ever end lol doh.gif
Will it still be natural?
Nothing special, just that he prefers the tone from the 5D.
No what I meant was he was happy with the D90, then he wanted to upgrade, so he choosed the 5D instead of the D700 because of the tone it gives out. And he's a good photographer IMO, doesn't care much about his gear. Most of the top photographers here uses 5DMKII doh.gif
Its subjective... to me color is usually not an issue la.. it depends on the photog after all.

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 11 2011, 03:29 PM)
I hate MV convention centre, ceiling too high and lighting like crap doh.gif  laugh.gif
KLCC more geng sweat.gif
vearn27
post Oct 11 2011, 04:53 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Is there any sophisticated different between Nikon's pro grade lens, those golden rings vs Canon's pro grade lens, those red rings? unsure.gif

How about Sony? For Sony is Zeiss?
celciuz
post Oct 11 2011, 06:10 PM

14,037 posts

Why bother comparing? If you are using a Nikon, you should be using f-mount lenses... and not Canon mount or Sony mount etc.
jchue73
post Oct 11 2011, 06:31 PM

2,496 posts

I asked a photographer here. How's the D700? He said the colour was normal, no big difference compared to the D90. Only thing was it's full frame. He used a D90 + 70-200 VR1 before, then he swapped to 5D Mark II + 135 f2. He's happy till now coz he said the 5DMKII gives a nice tone to the picture hmm.gif
Many a time, people are very tempted to bump up saturation and use Vivid profile. While this may work on some shoots, it works horrible on skintones. When you shoot with flash or at high ISO, the skintone looks overcooked.

Stick to Standard or Neutral picture style.

That's the most ignorant statement ever made. Where is here? Here as in Malaysia or here as in LYN forum?
celciuz
post Oct 11 2011, 06:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 11 2011, 06:31 PM)
Many a time, people are very tempted to bump up saturation and use Vivid profile. While this may work on some shoots, it works horrible on skintones. When you shoot with flash or at high ISO, the skintone looks overcooked.

Stick to Standard or Neutral picture style.
That's the most ignorant statement ever made. Where is here? Here as in Malaysia or here as in LYN forum?
I like Vivid wub.gif even for my portraits laugh.gif
geekster129
post Oct 11 2011, 06:39 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 06:37 PM)
I like Vivid  wub.gif even for my portraits  laugh.gif
So do I!
vearn27
post Oct 11 2011, 06:47 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 06:10 PM)
Why bother comparing? If you are using a Nikon, you should be using f-mount lenses... and not Canon mount or Sony mount etc.
I wanted to know the differences for technical knowledge, but not trying to compare as for what you thought of. For example some of Nikon's pro grades have Nano-coat, do Canon or Sony have anything equivalent to Nano-coat performance?

Something similar like Honda, Toyota and Mitsubishi have VTEC, VVTI and MIVEC technology respectively.

Therefore, anyone care to share the knowledge for lens comparison?
gnome
post Oct 11 2011, 06:48 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Bloody hell have you guys watch that video posted in lolyat frontpage about unblurry tool from adobe? freaking impressive stuff! I WANT ONE cry.gif
geekster129
post Oct 11 2011, 06:49 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 11 2011, 06:47 PM)
I wanted to know the differences for technical knowledge, but not trying to compare as for what you thought of. For example some of Nikon's pro grades have Nano-coat, do Canon or Sony have anything equivalent to Nano-coat performance?

Something similar like Honda, Toyota and Mitsubishi have VTEC, VVTI and MIVEC technology respectively.

I think the Nanocoat is purely marketing strategies, I believe there are so much more features to look into (newer) pro grade lenses, e.g. amount of glass elements, etc. These lenses no doubt will give extraordinary color renditions, bokeh rendition, sharpness, etc when used correctly. So called "premium" image quality of what you have paid for to give you the satisfaction in the outcome.

DISCLAIMER: This doesn't mean cheaper glass sucks. Just more satisfaction from more expensive glasses.

Does Nikon pro grade lenses have weather resistance?

This post has been edited by geekster129: Oct 11 2011, 06:52 PM
celciuz
post Oct 11 2011, 06:50 PM

14,037 posts

Google is your friend.

I know Canon has some fluoride and UD coating thingy. Zeiss has some T* coating.
chiahau
post Oct 11 2011, 07:25 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 06:10 PM)
I know one dude's who's using D3x and he's mounting a 35mm Zeiss MF lens, rather than a Nikkor for that range.

So, why bother? If you like Nikon, there are others who like something else on their cameras too smile.gif
TS0168257061
post Oct 11 2011, 07:30 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

canon using infamous super spectra coating , there are no naming on the lens whereas nikon label it as N.

UD = Canon, ED = Nikon

Fluorite = Canon, Super ED = Nikon

err what else... laugh.gif
FaezFarhan
post Oct 11 2011, 07:55 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 06:37 PM)
I like Vivid  wub.gif even for my portraits  laugh.gif
How will Vivid be with the 85 1.4G? biggrin.gif
Isepunye
post Oct 11 2011, 08:21 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

i kinda agreed with him but i dont like it. i love nikon image. like razu said, color can be editied but detail, not the detail. canon sharp soft that giving nice skintone while nikon sharp detail where all liang roma will be visible. thats makes nikon more realistic to me
jimlim007
post Oct 11 2011, 08:26 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

Nikon in Thailand under attack!

ikki9394
post Oct 11 2011, 08:30 PM

NexT
582 posts

Every sifus, can I ask how much does a 4 years old Nikon 17-55mm F/2.8 worth? I got a seller that willing to sell at AUD875=RM2,730.

Is the price ok price for its age? No more warranty.
TS0168257061
post Oct 11 2011, 08:34 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Oct 11 2011, 08:30 PM)
Every sifus, can I ask how much does a 4 years old Nikon 17-55mm F/2.8 worth? I got a seller that willing to sell at AUD875=RM2,730.

Is the price ok price for its age? No more warranty.
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

i take it without thinking,

providing the swm is smooth, and zoom ring biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:07 AM