Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

FaezFarhan
post Sep 26 2011, 03:14 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 25 2011, 11:14 PM)
Friend's new D7000 having issue with his 70200 somehow ._. The non cross sensor not accurate :S. Or maybe it was getting dark lol.

Yay~ 85mm f/1.4's bokeh glory~ ._. long time didn't use, was kinda impressed myself rofl...
Wide open? Awesome bokeh cry.gif

Btw, which is the best 50mm 1.4? Nikkor or Sigma? 80-200 is just too heavy for me right now. Moving all the time doh.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 26 2011, 05:34 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 26 2011, 03:36 AM)
Sigma sharper (after calibration laugh.gif) but as for bokeh not sure, maybe sigma better i guess tongue.gif

Anyways i often brought my 80200 two touch with me around and somehow already got used to the weight. When i left the lens home nowdays i feel too light ady laugh.gif
I see, how much will the calibration be? Where to do it? And is it worth it to buy the 50mm when we have a 35mm? hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 26 2011, 09:42 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 26 2011, 05:40 PM)
Why not?

Pretty good especially when you need a longer focal length which your 35mm can't provide smile.gif
Coz only 15mm difference. Wanted the 85 1.4 but I can't afford it. How's the Sigma 85 f1.4 btw? Compared to Nikkor?
FaezFarhan
post Sep 27 2011, 12:43 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Should I sell my 80-200 and get 11-16 + Sigma 50 f1.4, or get the 85 f1.4 hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 27 2011, 08:58 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

How far off is the Sigma 85mm f1.4 compared to the Nikkor version? For the price of the 85 f1.4G, I could have the Sigma version + Tokina 11-16 hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 28 2011, 02:40 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 28 2011, 02:30 AM)
sigma is always prone to focus issues, if u manage to find a good one then of cos its very good...but more often than not u wont find.
thats why even ken rockwell calls sigma significant malfunction tongue.gif
I see, looks like it's gonna be the 85 f/1.4G then. It's RM4650 here in Kota Bharu hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 28 2011, 06:58 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Quite hard to sell the 80-200 two touch at my hometown. Probably have to wait till I comeback to Cyberjaya doh.gif Holding up for RM2800 since it's in a perfect condition, 9/10 I guess smile.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 29 2011, 07:14 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 29 2011, 04:35 PM)
How to sell if it's ran over by LRT and hancur? Sell for rm10 also no one wants.

HMC uv filter is good enough? Probably gonna re-use it on the 85 f/1.4 hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 29 2011, 07:57 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 29 2011, 07:25 PM)
Ideally, no filter is best. But due to that, the front elements are the 1st contact point upon impact. So I only use UV filters on my more expensive lenses. Hoya Multi-Coated (HMC) is good enough if you're not too fussy. I use a HMC on my 24-70 as well, and as for my 85 1.4, I slap on a Marumi filter. (don't really like it though, because when there's backlight, with the filter, it gives off a hazy purple layer. So when that happens, I take off the filter and continue shooting - provided it's not dusty/moist/wet). Still looking for a 77mm Zeiss filter.
Yeah actually just using it for protection, but don't want it to affect the picture quality smile.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 29 2011, 07:46 PM)
For filters, I only trust Hoya HD and B+W XS-Pro.

Well, for me Hoya HD seems to be the best buy... XS-Pro is pricey.. especially their CPL =/
How much is Hoya HD 77mm btw?

p/s correction; It's actually Kenko MC hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 30 2011, 03:45 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 30 2011, 01:18 AM)
Wow awesome website! Can see the results from the actual lens itself instead of reading reviews rclxms.gif

Wanna get the Tokina 11-16mm soon to replace my Tammy 17-50 biggrin.gif
FaezFarhan
post Sep 30 2011, 08:18 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Anyone using the 20mm f2.8? Is it sharp?
FaezFarhan
post Oct 1 2011, 04:10 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 30 2011, 09:24 PM)
sharp at center, corner soft at wide open.
close range focus works superb when closing up until MFD smile.gif

but a lot of people selling is damn expensive,
I also don't know why.  rolleyes.gif
I see, it gets sharp at what aperture?

Btw, about D700's focusing, is it more accurate than the D7000? hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Oct 2 2011, 12:41 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Street price of D700 in KL? Btw, a shop here is selling used 85mm f/1.4, the previous owner used it for less that 6 months, his reason for selling was too tight for indoor during weddings. It's for only RM3600, should I get it? I'm scared that he dropped it or something before. What should I check if I wanna buy?
FaezFarhan
post Oct 2 2011, 10:45 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 2 2011, 09:27 AM)
85mm f/1.4G or D? My friend whose a wedding photog uses 85mm f/1.4G indoors a lot lol. He's on D3, FX sensor maybe that guy selling was on DX... back when I used 85G on D90 also felt pekcek indoors.
G! At only RM3600, probably the shop owner is giving me a good price since I know him well. His giving out free Hoya HD as well. Wonder should I get it or not. But my dad is against me at buying the 2nd hand lens hmm.gif
FaezFarhan
post Oct 2 2011, 11:31 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 2 2011, 11:10 AM)
Need to check thoroughly... and is the shop keeper reliable? But if you know him well then should be ok.

Ala, beli je!

See can do such bokeh,

=P
He's usually reliable, but I'm worried about the previous owner. Scared he dropped it or something before, that's why he's selling it cheap. Will go and try the lens first.

Omg do you know you are the reason that I'm buying the 85! shakehead.gif Ahahahaha. Poisoned since the Kyra series thumbup.gif
FaezFarhan
post Oct 2 2011, 04:34 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 2 2011, 01:03 PM)
Haha... why not poison-ed by celciuz's skill instead of the gear? Nanti gears semacam, gambar masih berlainan lagi tongue.gif *** no offense ya ***
Of mainly by his potrait skill. He's the otai of potraits here brows.gif

Why I want a 85 1.4? No matter how good my skill is, I can't use a Tamron 17-50 to produce pics like that can I? tongue.gif
FaezFarhan
post Oct 3 2011, 02:12 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 2 2011, 07:06 PM)
Which one?  brows.gif
Sauce?  cool.gif
If you are referring to the subject isolation aka bokeh, no way. tongue.gif. Even the 70200 VR2 only comes close, but the bokeh a little diff. One is due to big aperture, f/1.4, another is the focal length, 200mm.
Omg D700 cry.gif The D90 + 85 looks kinda flat right? Probably because of the range, tele-like perspective.

Yeah that was my point. If you have awesome skill but lousy gear, you won't get awesome pictures, you will only probably get good pictures. To get pictures like that, I have to own a lens that can produce amazing bokeh. My friend who just started photography bought a 5D MKII + 200mm 2.8L. His pictures in spoiler below

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 2 2011, 09:58 PM)
Rm3600 is a steal! Just go and get it, I got mine at RM3800 last time  drool.gif
Yours was like-new condition as well right? How long did the previous owner used it for?
FaezFarhan
post Oct 3 2011, 03:44 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Oct 3 2011, 02:49 AM)
no need bokeh also can do portrait wonders lah
Good point too but every user have their own preferences. For me bokeh is like a mustfor potraits. It makes the pic look classy and the subject stands out smile.gif
FaezFarhan
post Oct 6 2011, 03:13 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 6 2011, 02:41 AM)
Just got back my trip, and saw the rumors on the D800... I'm hoping that ain't the real spec to be honest, but its a 99% rumor.. (still rumor! got 1% chance.. haha!)

At 12.5k price tag, I'll be considering the D3 replacement already if I were to upgrade my D700.
What did you expect from the spec? I expected faster shutter and higher ISO unsure.gif
FaezFarhan
post Oct 6 2011, 04:06 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 6 2011, 03:19 AM)
I'm expecting something similar with D700, new sensor with higher ISO performance (slightly higher MP say about 16-18MP), similar fps (about 8fps), improved AF system (more cross?).

But this one shows like its a 5Dmk2 type of FF body... high MP, a little slower on the fps type. Not sure how is the ISO performance... and that much pixels --> you need real good lens to resolve the details.
I see, 36mp feels like a top of the line camera, something like the D3X. Then what would the D4X be, 50mp? Yeah improvement from the current-awesome AF system would be a huge bonus.

Hurm a lot of people are pondering whether to buy the D700 now or not. Some scared the price will drop, some scared that stock won't be available soon.

0.0718sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:53 PM