126 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V15, Saga FLX - It's EVEN Better

skod
post Sep 28 2011, 04:33 PM

1,038 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 28 2011, 04:29 PM)
erm, drive safe and make sure ON SAT when climbing but OFF it during roll downhill.
whats that SAT for? been googling around but still dont understand..dont have any driving experience before..lol

i did asked the SA in SA(shah alam) but the answer he gave me.."simulation..rasa mcm 6 speed gear.." cant understand ma..

Added on September 28, 2011, 4:37 pmand..anyone want to recommend me any good SA which can really help first timer like me buying car?

This post has been edited by skod: Sep 28 2011, 04:37 PM
xshiro
post Sep 28 2011, 04:38 PM

133 posts

rasa macam conventional auto gearbox...ada rasa jerk bila change gear...then rpm ada drop sikit...

test drive la dulu... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by xshiro: Sep 28 2011, 04:39 PM
LittleMin
post Sep 28 2011, 04:39 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 28 2011, 04:29 PM)
erm, drive safe and make sure ON SAT when climbing but OFF it during roll downhill.
yaya sure drive safe, cz tis time trip besides my new FLX, there's another new Vios oso biggrin.gif
so i think we will be in convoy speed, LOLZ laugh.gif
duno FLX wil lack of pickup like old BLM auto onot,
tried to drove my ex-gf's BLM to genting b4 wif 4 ppl,
woahh quite lack of power to climb sweat.gif
(sorry offend to BLM auto owner)

yalo hor, how ah during downhill?
does our FLX come wif lower gear?? so that i can lock it on lower gear like 1st or 2nd??

V12Kompressor
post Sep 28 2011, 04:49 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(skod @ Sep 28 2011, 04:33 PM)

Added on September 28, 2011, 4:37 pmand..anyone want to recommend me any good SA which can really help first timer like me buying car?
where you stay?

QUOTE(xshiro @ Sep 28 2011, 04:38 PM)
rasa macam conventional auto gearbox...ada rasa jerk bila change gear...then rpm ada drop sikit...

test drive la dulu... icon_rolleyes.gif
tak jerk when shift gear, coz the whole process is so fake, lol. rpm raise 1 inci then shift, rpm drop 1 inci, then raise another 1 inci then shift then drop another 1 inci, then when simulating drop gear also very fake, rpm drop down slow slow one. macam siput.

QUOTE(LittleMin @ Sep 28 2011, 04:39 PM)
yalo hor, how ah during downhill?
does our FLX come wif lower gear?? so that i can lock it on lower gear like 1st or 2nd??
when going downhill, just stay on D, coz

1) L gear speed is limited to 25km/h. If you intend to reach Karak highway from the peak within 3 days then you can stay at L gear.
2) In D mode, you have the engine braking in case your brakes gets faded or went wonky
3) In SAT mode, you lose the engine braking and the rate it accelerates downhill is... you go try lah. tongue.gif
xshiro
post Sep 28 2011, 04:53 PM

133 posts

yeke..hehe.. because i saw in video only, never really experience it myself
Sh@rty 5
post Sep 28 2011, 04:57 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 28 2011, 04:07 PM)
Hi Bro ericmaxman!
Rber yr recommending a no. of standalone Digital Voltmeters to me? From Mudah?

Tks a meg, Bro!!  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
Yup, I chose one of those yu posted...ordered it yesterday & arrived 2day.
Here it is, now installed oledi...another DIYtongue.gif

thumbup.gif diy kaki, so , any other DIY plan in mind? thumbup.gif
coolkwc
post Sep 28 2011, 05:01 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

i think 'simulated conventional 6 speed' is a function that 'hold' the drive ratio over certain rpm, then only release and go for next drive ratio, thats why rpm drop is slow, the gear just have to slowly move to next ratio (CVT characterictic).

I don think this function is entirely just for simulation fun, but got certain advantage. My understanding is SAT mode will be more powerful especially uphill because they lock at certain 'gear ratio', like conven auto or manual, of course higher RPM = higher power. Thats why some claim SAT naik bukit is more powerful.

Anyway, just explain based on my little understanding, i never drive CVT tranny car before. tongue.gif

Added on September 28, 2011, 5:07 pm
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 28 2011, 04:17 PM)
hmm.gif makes sense too on the throttle part

but I did some digging too and find out that jerking during congestion is also among the CVT's (not just the PUNCH unit) bad traits. CVT adjusts the effective drive ratio for the driven speed. However, most CVTs in the market nowadays couldn't select the effective gear ratio fast enough during tailgating/bumper to bumper crawl since drivers will engage the throttle, then the brake pedal, and then the throttle again, which causes the car to jerk.
Actually i plan to reduce sensitivity by alter ECU parameter, dun know whether can work or not.

My colleague VIOS last time also like this, throttle over sensitive, then he send for adjustment. But VIOS throttle is not DBW la..

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Sep 28 2011, 05:07 PM
xshiro
post Sep 28 2011, 05:11 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 28 2011, 05:01 PM)
i think 'simulated conventional 6 speed' is a function that 'hold' the drive ratio over certain rpm, then only release and go for next drive ratio, thats why rpm drop is slow, the gear just have to slowly move to next ratio (CVT characterictic).

I don think this function is entirely just for simulation fun, but got certain advantage. My understanding is SAT mode will be more powerful especially uphill because they lock at certain 'gear ratio', like conven auto or manual, of course higher RPM = higher power. Thats why some claim SAT naik bukit is more powerful.

Anyway, just explain based on my little understanding, i never drive CVT tranny car before. tongue.gif

Added on September 28, 2011, 5:07 pm

Actually i plan to reduce sensitivity by alter ECU parameter, dun know whether can work or not.

My colleague VIOS last time also like this, throttle over sensitive, then he send for adjustment. But VIOS throttle is not DBW la..
im not sure proton diagnostic tool can use to adjust the sensitivity, although i sent my car for pdt before, 'to improve the response', but there is an add-on device that you can control the throttle, there few modes can you can choose, like eco, normal, sport..i think eco will be slower

This post has been edited by xshiro: Sep 28 2011, 05:12 PM
zeone
post Sep 28 2011, 05:16 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Sep 28 2011, 04:57 PM)
thumbup.gif diy kaki, so , any other DIY plan in mind? thumbup.gif
Think got 2 more (at least!) in mind...icon_idea.gif
sweat.gif So feel need 2take break liao... tongue.gif

Will share when in mood 2jump into "getting my hands dirty" again... smile.gif

Tks 2yu 4help & inspiration in LED projects & Bro ericmaxman for Voltmeter! thumbup.gif
latte_flack
post Sep 28 2011, 05:23 PM

133 posts

Hi Bro ericmaxman!

Here it is, now installed oledi...another DIYtongue.gif

Recognise it?
TQ again... thumbup.gif
bro mind to share the link and price again? for the one u got?

also how do we DIY it? i mean fix to where?

and.. err... whats the use of it? sorry for noob ques..
btw, what is the thing above the voltmeter... curiosity kills! hehe
SUSjflcorp
post Sep 28 2011, 06:27 PM

DrFeelGood
1,219 posts

SAT button does nothing, it just "simulates" gear change. It was invented because many drivers can't accept a gearless feel that is all. Does not do anything about climbing hills or engine braking.

Anyway I would stick to Auto or Manual for now. CVT too new a technology for Proton.
MR_alien
post Sep 28 2011, 06:58 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(jflcorp @ Sep 28 2011, 06:27 PM)
SAT button does nothing, it just "simulates" gear change. It was invented because many drivers can't accept a gearless feel that is all. Does not do anything about climbing hills or engine braking.

Anyway I would stick to Auto or Manual for now. CVT too new a technology for Proton.
new for proton but not new in automotive industry
and not new for punch(the company that produce it)
since proton got no relation in this whatsoever..they dn't even produce it..u can just buy it
if theres something wrong, they would check and proly change a new one for u, they claim it with punch

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Sep 28 2011, 06:58 PM
lowyatsuperman
post Sep 28 2011, 07:54 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Sep 27 2011, 08:20 AM)
Less than RM400 can get. Planning to DIY the head unit, rather than send to shop. I might just do a step-by-step tutorial for you guys
That's quite affordable but I noticed it is NOT a CD Player?

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 27 2011, 10:56 AM)
Wa, you are maths expert la, can figure out how many %...
Ya, I was wondering where those figures come about? Agak-agak?

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 27 2011, 03:45 PM)
Hi Bros...

Juz 2share...2day's DIY project!

Got my goody package from Bro Sh@rty 5 (Tks, Bro, 4efficient, fast despatch & everything else!)!

And so me decided to go ahead with my original plan of replacing my FL's Boot Lamp with an LED Stripe Type Boot lights....

Let's allow the pics tell their story, ok?

Well, hope above can& will inspire fellow Saga owners to try DIY projects on their rides...cheap, simple & pure SATISFACTION!!

Added on September 27, 2011, 3:56 pmps. Next DIY project? Me got a few more LED Stripes...so maybe a Foot-well light?
And mayb a F1 Blinking LED Brake Lights...the current craze/fad? Haha!
Will update when done lo...
The LEDs look good.

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 27 2011, 05:19 PM)
An Update re question abt OEM ABL asked earlier in thread re :

"Does the Alarm Reset Button still work to reset the alarm when it's triggered & sounds?"

Answer :

Yup, it does! 

Juz tested it earlier while doing my DIY LED boot lights. UNintentionally tho. Accidentally pressed the Panic Button on my remote.
Alarm sounded.  sweat.gif
Put key into ignition. On ignition. Pressed Reset Button.
Alarm deactivated!  rclxms.gif
Thanks, zeone. That's what I was hoping for before I make a visit to shorty's place.

Hi Bro ericmaxman!

Here it is, now installed oledi...another DIY

Recognise it?
TQ again... thumbup.gif
BTW I read somewhere that blue LED lights are harmful. Google for more info.

zeone
post Sep 28 2011, 08:59 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Sep 28 2011, 05:23 PM)
bro mind to share the link and price again? for the one u got?

also how do we DIY it? i mean fix to where?

and.. err... whats the use of it? sorry for noob ques..
btw, what is the thing above the voltmeter... curiosity kills! hehe
Link? Here yu are : http://www.mudah.my/Koso+Digital+Volt+Mete...im-10457528.htm
Price? RM85 (incl Poslaju charges)

DIY? Comes c/w items 2help in install'n. Mainly 2 wires - connect Red to ignition-powered terminal; Blk to good Ground. Instructions in Eng & Ch incl'd.

Item yu see abv voltmeter is display for front sensors I installed 2help in parking...jus like Reverse Sensors...but for Front!. tongue.gif

@ lowyatsuperman : Tks 4nice comments re LEDs.
OEM ABL gives xtra functions but not interfere with ori ones. Alwaz an advantage of OEMs Vs others.

Re blue LEDs being harmful, hope not THAT bad lo being so small? Only 56.4x27x11mm. LED display even smaller!
Anyway, will Google see. Tks, Bro!

This post has been edited by zeone: Sep 28 2011, 09:04 PM
LittleMin
post Sep 28 2011, 09:43 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 28 2011, 04:49 PM)
where you stay?
tak jerk when shift gear, coz the whole process is so fake, lol. rpm raise 1 inci then shift, rpm drop 1 inci, then raise another 1 inci then shift then drop another 1 inci, then when simulating drop gear also very fake, rpm drop down slow slow one. macam siput.
when going downhill, just stay on D, coz

1) L gear speed is limited to 25km/h. If you intend to reach Karak highway from the peak within 3 days then you can stay at L gear.
2) In D mode, you have the engine braking in case your brakes gets faded or went wonky
3) In SAT mode, you lose the engine braking and the rate it accelerates downhill is... you go try lah. tongue.gif
LOLZ!! this is funny!! laugh.gif

so I shud jz use D mode when downhill la?
so weird la the engine brake onli applied when my brakes get wonky blink.gif
gogoman86
post Sep 28 2011, 09:47 PM

408 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 28 2011, 03:27 PM)
IMO, not really caused by those 2 factor.

CVT should give smooth ride regardless accelerate or decelerate.

I think the throttle is too sensitive which cause the jerky.

My manual in low speed also very jerky, let say in 1st or 2nd gear, have to adjust the clutch lifting in low speed, else @ 10-30km/h, either you completely no throttle or sudden accelerate. the throttle is just too sensitive until you can't accelerate smoothy.

To prove this, engage in N and slightly press your throttle, you hardly can get rpm between 1000-1500, it will suddenly jump from idle to >1500rpm, this cause the jerky.
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 28 2011, 04:17 PM)
hmm.gif makes sense too on the throttle part

but I did some digging too and find out that jerking during congestion is also among the CVT's (not just the PUNCH unit) bad traits. CVT adjusts the effective drive ratio for the driven speed. However, most CVTs in the market nowadays couldn't select the effective gear ratio fast enough during tailgating/bumper to bumper crawl since drivers will engage the throttle, then the brake pedal, and then the throttle again, which causes the car to jerk.
yeah, i suspect the throttle too since the 1st time i feel the jerk... compare to persona, the accelerate pedal is so soft and we able to accelerate smoothly.. but FLX accelerate pedal is so stiff, i think problem occur from the pedal spring (too stiff) and we need to push harder to accelerate and this lead to the sudden acceleration and cause the jerk... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by gogoman86: Sep 28 2011, 09:55 PM
gogoman86
post Sep 28 2011, 09:55 PM

408 posts

i got my car 'shine shine' now... laugh.gif just got back from car wash...
today i spent 2 hours at car wash for superb package inclusive of :
1) Car Wash + Vacuum
2) Car Polish
3) Car Waxing
4) Exterior Window Cleaning Treatment
5) Claybar and Detailer
6) Dashboard Cleaning
7) Tyre Shine
8) Solvent Treatment
9) Interior Essence Treatment

all cleaning & treatment using Meguiar's products (worth RM508) for only RM49...
i bought a 90% off voucher from SuperDeals.My brows.gif
V12Kompressor
post Sep 28 2011, 10:13 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 28 2011, 05:01 PM)

your understanding serves you right. most of it is spot on. thumbup.gif
The reason why SAT makes the car perform better is due to the torque curve. Our car produce the most torque in between 3,800-4,000 rpm, and when engage SAT mode, the rpm will just stay around this sweet spot region.

where you stay? Maybe one day can make LYN Saga club TT then you can come and molest my car lo. biggrin.gif

Added on September 28, 2011, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(LittleMin @ Sep 28 2011, 09:43 PM)
LOLZ!! this is funny!!  laugh.gif

so I shud jz use D mode when downhill la?
so weird la the engine brake onli applied when my brakes get wonky  blink.gif
nolah, the engine braking is always there. Just in case your brakes failed you, then at least you still have the engine braking to bring the car gradually to a stop near some sandhills lo. Engine braking + brakes is better than brakes alone, since the brakes are less stressed.

Yes, stay at D mode when going downhill.

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Sep 28 2011, 10:16 PM
coolkwc
post Sep 28 2011, 10:21 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Sep 28 2011, 09:47 PM)
yeah, i suspect the throttle too since the 1st time i feel the jerk... compare to persona, the accelerate pedal is so soft and we able to accelerate smoothly.. but FLX accelerate pedal is so stiff, i think problem occur from the pedal spring (too stiff) and we need to push harder to accelerate and this lead to the sudden acceleration and cause the jerk...  hmm.gif
Hmm, i think not related to spring la...just they set it too sensitive...our pedal is electronic pedal, means like a variable resistor.

If let say @ position 1 the engine should inject 1 part of fuel, but they set it to inject 2 part of fuel. And this thing is set inside ECU, hmm, just same as steering game controller concept if you have it. wink.gif
V12Kompressor
post Sep 28 2011, 10:28 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(jflcorp @ Sep 28 2011, 06:27 PM)

no offense, but have you ever properly test drive the FLX and let alone own one?

Prior to owning the FLX, I used to drive a Honda CRV and therefore I know the difference between a conventional auto transmission and CVT.

engine braking and better car response can instantly be felt and cant simply be replaced by placebo effect. All these are crucial feedback which helps a lot in driving and better understand the car.

126 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:45 PM