Service Hotline: 03-5568 7799

Fax: 03-5568 7700

Email: csd@teledynamics.com.my

Mon - Fri: 8:45am - 5:15pm
Sat: 8:45am - 1:00pm

Toshiba Lappy Club Owners List :

- Cyberkid - Satellite M40 ( Thread Starter )
- Yew Khuay - Satellite M100-P341 / Satellite M200-A411
- Yeeck06 - Satellite M200-E413
- Crazymelon - Satellite A200-E530
- Cougar Richard - Satellite A100-2212E
- JayYeong39 - Satellite A100-2212E
- Darkmage12 - Satellite M100-2012E
- Anthonyhoh - Satellite M40 / Qosmio G40
- Andyjyneo - Satellite M200-???
- Kelvinwkw - Satellite M100-???
- Little One - Satellite A100-2112E
- Lord - Satellite A100 - ???
- Ceciliacmf - Satellite A200 - P532
- Aikiblack - Satellite U300-113 aka Portege M600
- Kakerzzz05 - Portege M600-E360
- Lutspy - Portege M600 - ???
- Mcgrady76 - Satellite A100-2212E
- Downcast - Satellite A100-2112E
- Mns - Satellite M100 - 2011E
- Kev - Satellite M100 - P343
- Casablanca2 - Satellite M200 - ???
- Illiad - Satellite A200 - P532
- 1piece - Satellite L200 - ???
- Raven22 - Satellite M200 - ???
- DreamChaser - Satellite L200 - ???
- D2z - Satellite A200 - ???
- Grldjohn - Satellite M200 - E413
- Miffy - Portege M600 - ???
- Rushdarn - Satellite M200 - E413
- Mikeloo77 - Satellite M50 - ???
- Project-o - Satellite - A80 - C431
- Reva - Satellite Pro A100 - ???
- Minka - Satellite M300 - P4317
- Kent Goh - Satellite M300 - E430
- Ah Fel - Satellite L310 - ???
- Fique - Satellite M200 - P434
- JunH - Satellite M300 - P4322R
- Limyc77 - Satellite M200- ???
- Killerapp - Satellite M300 - E340
- Ahtom82 - Satellite L300 - ???
- Hazardcradle - Qosmio F50 - ???
- Szaku89 - Satellite M200 - P343
- Tenchi0205 - Satellite L200 - ???
- Firezz - Satellite L310 - A418
- Hokano - Satellite M100 - P347
- Trustgtr - Satellite M100 - ???
- Mizi28 - Satellite A300 - ???
- Gilbert5107 - Satellite M200 - E415
- Vichio - Satellite A200 - HD534
- YellowSn0w - Tecra ??? - ???
- Benlaw - Satellite M300 - A432
- Tskhang - Portege M800 - E360
- Rafale - Satellite M200 - A411
- Nicholaslbc - Satellite M300 - E345
- SFX - Qosmio X300 - 11S (UK Spec)

... the list goes on, join us rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by cyberkid: Sep 19 2009, 01:30 PM
BuFung
post Sep 3 2005, 12:49 PM

8,407 posts

as you know.. I don't know.. I doubt Toshiba is the most popular lappie in M'sia... tongue.gif
TScyberkid
post Sep 3 2005, 12:59 PM

1,274 posts

Ok, maybe I should rephrase to : One of the Most Popular....Satisfy? laugh.gif

BuFung
post Sep 3 2005, 01:01 PM

8,407 posts

sorry kacau.. notworthy.gif I am not qualify here... hehehe..
TScyberkid
post Sep 3 2005, 01:20 PM

1,274 posts

I have several complaints about Toshi laptops, in particular the M40 model:

1. Odd position of keyboard keys, for eg. the "~", "Del" and a missing "Ctrl" cry.gif
2. Bad quality of speakers, although branded as Harman/Kardon.. mad.gif
3. Noisy harddisk (i don't know wht brand of HDD is tht) used, can hear the small "tick tick" sound when the harddisk LED blinks vmad.gif
4. Loose LCD Display Latch, wtf, seems like a cheap toy compartment shakehead.gif
5. Poor Digital Media Card door...It cannot be closed tightly!!! Again, what a cheap toy shakehead.gif

mellow.gif sad.gif wacko.gif doh.gif shakehead.gif cry.gif grumble.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

R u all experiencing the same case? sad.gif

This post has been edited by cyberkid: Sep 3 2005, 01:22 PM
BuFung
post Sep 3 2005, 01:28 PM

8,407 posts

let Acer lappie say something.

1. Acer lappie Keyboard almost identical to normal KB.. no big problem..
2.Acer speaker worst than ur..
3.My Seagate no sound at all oh...
4.my 5502 latch with some metal.. solid...
5. u mean card reader? my card reader slot no door!!! tongue.gif

hehehe.. sorry for kacau.. just sharing.. tongue.gif..

nck_ck
post Sep 3 2005, 07:12 PM

2,583 posts

Cyberkid, why didn't u take more time to test out the M40 b4 buying it? No use crying over spilled milk now...Furthermore, Satellite series don't use materials as good as other series such as Protege and Tecra, that's why they'ree cheaper...can't complaint la
TScyberkid
post Sep 3 2005, 08:02 PM

1,274 posts

nck_ck, r u using m40? facing the same problem wif me or not?
nck_ck
post Sep 4 2005, 04:24 AM

2,583 posts

Nope, not using M40...in fact, not using any Toshiba laptops at the moment...but planning to get the Tecra M3 soon, unless there are better models coming out b4 the end of year...

It's not about what laptop u use, it's about giving ur laptop a really good test b4 u actually purchase it...so that u won't have problems when u take it home...also must make sure the seal was still on b4 the salesman open it to reveal the laptop.
exkay
post Sep 4 2005, 04:27 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

Can Tosh PDA User join the club?
TScyberkid
post Sep 4 2005, 04:42 AM

1,274 posts

Sure, y not
exkay
post Sep 4 2005, 05:06 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

hehe Toshiba E800 User here... i think i'm the only one that uses a Toshiba PDA here...
firewire
post Sep 4 2005, 07:51 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Sep 4 2005, 05:06 AM)
hehe Toshiba E800 User here...  i think i'm the only one that uses a Toshiba PDA here...
*ahem* I beg your pardon, i'm using e740 since year 2003 yawn.gif
lim47
post Sep 4 2005, 08:18 PM

1,209 posts

i using A-40 specs is P4 2.8 mobile 512 ram 64 mb intel extreme graphics

till now still strong can challenge centrino chips
good good very satisfied with my nb

exkay
post Sep 4 2005, 10:07 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(firewire @ Sep 4 2005, 07:51 PM)
*ahem* I beg your pardon, i'm using e740 since year 2003 yawn.gif
woops.. you're the tailo here then... hehehehe nice to know some one is using Tosh PDA.. so how's our unit now?

post Sep 4 2005, 11:04 PM

Henshin
2,157 posts

hmm played wif tecra m3, s2 and satellite m50-p345... the tecras wif the nvidias... not really that impressive to me tongue.gif
the m50 does looks attractive

ran far cry on s2 and m50-p345, both @ 512MB, during the first level after opening the door, outdoor/nature scenery wif seas and everything.
tecra=laggy, sea not animated, just pure blue water, while the m50 shows better sea animation and looks nicer and smooth.

the settings i put to auto detect for both to be fair.
mebbe this is a bias game? wahaha and the more vram does make difference?
hmm no acer 5502(ATi x700 64MBvram) for me to test on.
mebbe next time i will test it wif a m40 w go6600128mb vram if i can get my hands on it tongue.gif

neway no screenshots, coz did that @ workplace rolleyes.gif

one thing, satellite A80 shares same housing/case wif tecra S2 laugh.gif

duno why loh, i look @ and feel of the toshibas, even the satellite r10 which is supposedly wif mag case, hdd motion sensor, durability design blablabla.. i dun even dare to lift it up and try to throw it. i did that wif IBMS tongue.gif
toshibas seems so fragile IMO compared to IBMs

cheers. just my spamcents. ^^

p/s again these are just my opinions, based on/after playing wif few numbers and brands of notebooks. don't take it too seriously yah Toshiba fans.

This post has been edited by 8431: Sep 5 2005, 02:34 AM
nck_ck
post Sep 5 2005, 03:56 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(8431 @ Sep 4 2005, 11:04 PM)
i dun even dare to lift it up and try to throw it. i did that wif IBMS  tongue.gif
toshibas seems so fragile IMO compared to IBMs
shocking.gif U THREW an IBM laptop???????? I wouldn't even dare to put my laptop on the table with force also!!! shakehead.gif ...

The Tecra M3 u tried was with GeForce 6200 64MB right? I was thinking of getting the one with GeForce 6600 128MB...
post Sep 5 2005, 04:17 PM

Henshin
2,157 posts

welp, IBM got APS wahahah, sumore they said R series stregthened by magnesium and T series is titanium, so just try ler tongue.gif

my colleague lagi best, spill water on the keyboard, then later let the water flow out again from the unit. wOOt! tongue.gif

yep the m3s are wif go 6200, m3 wif 6600 128mb? expensive IMO, but no chance yet to get muh hands on it. ^^
but if u have the money 2 spend y not rite? smile.gif

cheers. just my spamcents.
neowhale
post Sep 5 2005, 04:43 PM

47 posts

Hi guys, I got a Satellite A80 with X300. Until now, I only have slight problem regarding with the dim light (the power on light)in front of the laptop. It has a weird keyboard layout though. biggrin.gif
Dexeaur
post Sep 5 2005, 08:13 PM

126 posts

Hey sorry so long never post. In UK now. Liecteser City to be exact. Stardying to be loktor.

Anyways, my M40 no prob. Speakers if u complain are bad wait till u hear the acer or IBM ones. Almost non existent. I can still semi-blast mine so that my 2 other neoghbours in the room can complain! It's a laptop speaker. Although i have to say, my volume can't go up that high, about 40% and it resonates. Thing is, it's a laptop so dont expect too much.

Only REAL complain is it get QUITE warm... I mean warm now cuz it cold in UK but back at home for 2 weeks, i would sweat so much my mouse get slightly icky. Solved it wit a coolermaster usb coolerpad. Got 2 usb ports some more so solve my issues of lack of usb port.

Mycard reader a bit loose...my sister's one tight like heck. So i think its quality control issue here. HDD noisy meh? Maybe cuz i have a external HDD and a cooler pad running. Even when off i dont think its that loud but its all personel if u ask me.

ALl toshiba notebooks put their windows key on top and has some minor quirks...if u complaining u better come up to uk where they have their \ key at bottom left and they put their @ key near enter...Also they have a different Pound and Doller sign.

My LCD latch is fine. If hardware like loose stuff is an issue im sure u can go back and change it....except in some shops in low yat which i shant mention. I bought mine in ipoh so my dealers dont always get to sell 2 high end toshibas like this so they very nice to me...unlike in low yat

Hope this helps.
BuFung
post Sep 5 2005, 09:30 PM

8,407 posts

wah.. Dex is future loktor.. notworthy.gif ...

Yeah.. If complaint about Toshiba speaker.. listen to Acer speaker..
I call it noise maker instead of speaker.. most of the time I use external speaker or headphone..
Dexeaur
post Sep 5 2005, 10:37 PM

126 posts

hehe, hopefully la. Got super big exam in January. Sadness, cannot come back for Chinese New Year! sad.gif 1st time no Chinese New Year for me.... sad.gif Only back in august

exkay
post Sep 5 2005, 10:51 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

Hmm.. anyone happen to use Protege M100 ?
Maniac
post Sep 6 2005, 11:15 AM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

any one using the cheap toshiba, A80-C431, with celeron-m ?
TScyberkid
post Sep 6 2005, 12:22 PM

1,274 posts

@Loktor Dex, after a week of usage and adaptation to my new Toshiba Satellite M40-P545, i have already get used to some of the functions and the keyboard layout...

Loose card reader door and latch issue is still bugging me ..shakehead.gif Too bad~ This is juz QC problem leh..I wonder we can claim from the Toshiba distributor?

I also notice that the LCD screen looked a bit yellowish in colour if view from sideways huh? doh.gif How about yours?
It looks quite weird although it is better visible shocking.gif than not..

This post has been edited by cyberkid: Sep 6 2005, 12:27 PM
nck_ck
post Sep 7 2005, 04:11 AM

2,583 posts

Hmmm...seems to me that Satellite series nowadays aren't that good anymore...my fren bought a Satellite series a couple of years ago, laptop still very good condition...
Dexeaur
post Sep 7 2005, 07:16 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(nck_ck @ Sep 7 2005, 04:11 AM)
Hmmm...seems to me that Satellite series nowadays aren't that good anymore...my fren bought a Satellite series a couple of years ago, laptop still very good condition...
I agree. Also, went back to try pushing my loose memory card cover and it DID go back in place! Was tight at start, after using in Malaysia for a week it was loose and now after using it in UK for a week and trying again to push it in, it's tight again. Had to press and slide.

Um, the screen looks fine actually for me. Try configuring the color. there are a few software that can correct them. Sorry cant think of any off my head now. Not at my laptop now. Using uni library net.

Man do i hate British keyboards. Stupid '@' and '~' keys are all around the place. ¬ is at the ` key....u guys better not complain yet about toshiba placements...wait till u check out the keyboard i have to use here in uni everyday.....

Oh, wats happening in ,malaysia these days? the haze still around ah?
nck_ck
post Sep 7 2005, 11:39 PM

2,583 posts

No more haze la...it was gone long time ago...unless u mean the usual haze produced by our 'wonderful" buses and lorries laugh.gif

Didn't know British keyboards were slighty different...Dexeaur, where u studying?
Dexeaur
post Sep 8 2005, 05:28 PM

126 posts

Studying at foxes home town - Leicester City.
Ya memory card reader cover able to close cyberkid?
BuFung
post Sep 8 2005, 05:35 PM

8,407 posts

Dex & NCK.. hehehe.. both of u guy ask me about 5502.. eh.. 5502 dont have such problem oh.. hehehe tongue.gif but the memory slot on 5502 no cover one la.. hahaha..

NCK... Dex is Future Loktor oh.. dont play play ah..
TScyberkid
post Sep 8 2005, 05:58 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Dexeaur @ Sep 8 2005, 05:28 PM)
Studying at foxes home town - Leicester City.
Ya memory card reader cover able to close cyberkid?
Close is sure can 1...Juz the matter of loose...Dun feel SOLID laa... flex.gif

Then, Dex, is ur screen looked Yellowish from the sideways before u use software to tweak it? unsure.gif

nck_ck
post Sep 8 2005, 08:54 PM

2,583 posts

@BuFung, hahah, good la, make frens with him now, next time go find him do medical check-up for free...

Really cracking my head whether to get toshiba tecra M3 or Acer Ferrari 4005 now... unsure.gif
BuFung
post Sep 8 2005, 09:47 PM

8,407 posts

nck.. Toshiba sound good mah.. go toshiba lor.. frank.. I dont like Ferarri Design.. but the built quality is there la.. surrounding the keyboard like rubber... cover is Carbon Fiber..
nck_ck
post Sep 8 2005, 11:49 PM

2,583 posts

@BuFung, i know la the quality is there, in fact the reason why i wanna buy it is because of built quality also...let's say i get the 2.0ghz version with X700 128mb, it's rm7999...but the Tecra M3 1.73 with GeForce 6200 64mb already rm7499, if want with 6600 128mb pulak the models all only combo drive, can't burn dvd and almost rm8k, plus if wanna upgrade to dvd burner warranty will void...if compare specs Acer Ferrari win la, but portability goes to Toshiba.
BuFung
post Sep 8 2005, 11:59 PM

8,407 posts

@nck.. portability 5502 win.. hahahaha....
DVD burner.. got ah...
x700 also wat..
tongue.gif hehehe...

No la.. 5502 for poor people like me.. hehehe..
nck_ck
post Sep 9 2005, 12:10 AM

2,583 posts

Hahah, BuFung, now only wanna promote your 5502 ah? Last time got 1 guy here wondering whether wanna buy 5502 or u didn't recommend, hehehe! Told u b4 i don't like wide screen laptop mah...
BuFung
post Sep 9 2005, 12:29 AM

8,407 posts

@nck.. ya hor.. ok ok ok... no 5502... hahhaha.. tongue.gif
nck_ck
post Sep 9 2005, 12:46 AM

2,583 posts

Another thing i'd wanna know about the Acer Ferrari is their laptop speaker also...since u said ur 5502 speakers very cacat, hopefully not the same with Acer Ferrari la sweat.gif
ouchie_85
post Sep 9 2005, 12:51 AM

125 posts

Hey guys wanna ask u something.. M40 rite.. u guys try open a mp3 song... then u open ur msn... then when u nudge..or being nudged .. the speaker suddenly got louder compared to the initial volume as in the mp3 will be LOUDER without adjusting your volume.. do u guys have this prob??
BuFung
post Sep 9 2005, 01:08 AM

8,407 posts

@nck.. I see the speaker Lubang is the same.. so dont expect much from Ferarri.. maybe can ask those Sifu in Ferrari thread..

external la..
nck_ck
post Sep 9 2005, 01:26 AM

2,583 posts

Hahah, BuFung, i think when i'm gonna go buy laptop we should meet up lar, u can help me test it "kao kao", laugh.gif
BuFung
post Sep 9 2005, 08:52 PM

8,407 posts

@nck.. oi meh... tel u a secret.. I order my 5502 without testing it ah.. because I bought direct from distributor... hehhe... but I do try out 5502 in shop lah..
Dexeaur
post Sep 9 2005, 10:03 PM

126 posts

Um, actually so long u tested before its ok. cuz when they send u it cans till be faulty one.. so long u happy with the build and the layout as well as the other physical aspects of it, then no problem. i also didnt get to really try out my M40. just read loads of reviews. But i did see the screen and hear the sound of the older m30's and tot, wa the old version alsoso good the new one should be better.
nck_ck
post Sep 9 2005, 10:12 PM

2,583 posts

@BuFung, u buy direct from distributor can get cheaper ah? Do u know if they got sell Acer Ferrari?

So Dexeaur, is the M40 screen better than M30?
BuFung
post Sep 9 2005, 10:48 PM

8,407 posts

@nck.. u wan me to get for u... tongue.gif tak mau la.. because I donno how to do those 3 years warranty things for u...

and properbly only can earn RM40-RM50 from u.. tak mau la..
tsg
post Sep 9 2005, 10:55 PM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

covered my little sister with transparent plastic 2 avoid itchy hands tongue.gif
game tried so far ....far cry with high & very high setting,nfsu with high setting & doom 3 demo
CooKies37
post Sep 9 2005, 11:09 PM

35 posts

hi, guys, i have a Toshiba A80 P440, which i think is quite good!

who say the harmon/kardon speaker bad? i think Toshiba's speaker quite good wat? have you test the SRS virtual sound? it sounds great!

actually, i buy this notebook under my expectation...i actually expect for high-end specs...like 128MB of GC, 1G of RAM and 80GB of harddisk.....

what specs you all have?

i am thinking of upgrading my notebook...dunno can or not... tongue.gif
don't satisfy with the RAM, only support DDR1!!! not DDR2!!! this is very unworthy since it use i915PM chipset!!!

and about the ATI X300 64MB, do you think is it enough for high-end 3d rendering? it's SLOW!! not really suit with the proc 1.73...i think the proc can cope with more high-end gc...i am going to ask them, can they upgrade that to X700 128mb or not... tongue.gif

hm...about the HD, it's quite nice!! if you use Everest to check out, it's a Toshiba Harddisk with 16MB of buffer!! i call the toll-free to ask for buying the same toshiba harddisk which is 80GB, they told me that they have to order it from Japan!! and it will cost me 1000++!!!!! sad.gif

oh ya, they say this 16MB harddisk is so call Class A harddisk!!!! but, i have only 40GB!! sad.gif

overall, i could say Toshiba Satellite A80 P440 is a good model and a good lappie, which is quite perfect.....^.^

Toshiba RULEZ!!!
nck_ck
post Sep 10 2005, 04:39 AM

2,583 posts

CooKies37, nobody said the Harman/Kardon speakers on ALL Toshiba laptops are bad, it's just certain models which had dissapointing quality.

BuFung, we continue our Acer talk in the Acer Ferrari thread la...
post Sep 10 2005, 09:25 AM

Henshin
2,157 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 9 2005, 08:52 PM)
@nck..  oi meh...    tel u a secret..  I order my 5502 without testing it ah..  because I bought direct from distributor...  hehhe...  but I do try out 5502 in shop lah..
which distributor?
mind telling me?
nck_ck
post Sep 10 2005, 12:45 PM

2,583 posts

@8431, how much u selling the laptops on your siggy?
TScyberkid
post Sep 10 2005, 03:04 PM

1,274 posts

Sadly, my m40s Harman/Kardon seems cannot satisfy me..
The sound simply break if i open max volume...and yet it is not loud enough!!!
nck_ck
post Sep 10 2005, 10:17 PM

2,583 posts

Yea, been hearing about M40 and M50 having speaker probs...

Anyone have any idea how good is the sound quality of Tecra and Protege series???
tsg
post Sep 11 2005, 07:08 AM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

played BF2 on a toshiba m50...customize setting....hummm it seems whenever i pressed WSAD...on vehicle or on foot...it will go automically then when i stops it stops late doh.gif imagine a hummer crossing a bridge where accidently cruise straight to a river laugh.gif doh.gif funny & strange....

updated patch already...
mouse setting default...

what can go wrong?

This post has been edited by tsg: Sep 11 2005, 07:09 AM
nck_ck
post Sep 12 2005, 06:44 AM

2,583 posts

Maybe it's the game's problem, not the machine?? Not too sure though...
tsg
post Sep 12 2005, 06:46 AM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

QUOTE(nck_ck @ Sep 12 2005, 06:44 AM)
Maybe it's the game's problem, not the machine?? Not too sure though...
it seems after repatch BF2 patch problem settled drool.gif
nck_ck
post Sep 12 2005, 06:51 AM

2,583 posts

Ahh...problem solved then, good for u...tsg, i wonder if i'll ever be able to get near your post count la... sweat.gif
Dexeaur
post Sep 12 2005, 07:30 PM

126 posts

Hmm, recently sum one pm me about their speaker sound getting louder and softer after being nudged while running mp3s. wonder if anyone else get that problems. so far when i watched one movie ( a bug's life) it had a problem of getting abit softer after 10 minutes of play...not like lot softer but bit d=softer...would go back up after a while. think its something to do with running it at maximum volume. also i think it could be the toshiba's SRS Xt thing. not so much the speakers...will go back and retry without the SRS to confirm...thing is though, without the SRS movies sound really soft.
travolta_lim
post Sep 13 2005, 04:51 AM

356 posts

Hi guysssss, i have been using my Toshiba Satellite 2410(forgot , maybe is this model) for almost 2 year, since my diploma intake until my U-life now.

This model has been my good companion....i used it for entertainment purposes(movie,AV,mp3...xxxWeb), also for education purposes(assignment)....

She is considered my mistress already hehe, i bought serveral 'jewelry' to her. Like maxtor 3.5' 80Gig harddisk , TDK external CDRW, Bluetooth Doggle, SD card, A4tech mouse, HP printer.

She talk quite soft(ori speaker) so i connect her to my 1600w Mini-compo.....she can sing Linkin park songs now..... smile.gif

My father urge me to change laptop because according to him, the spec is already out dated. For me, She is still beautiful and working perfectyly. She is even more pretty than latest Toshiba Model(Mx) or DELL , Compaq and IBM~

I think i will keep sayang her until end of my life(copying movie script...kakaka)
FACT: I will use until i graduate.

TScyberkid
post Sep 13 2005, 11:41 AM

1,274 posts

r u writing Autograph of A Laptop? biggrin.gif
nck_ck
post Sep 13 2005, 12:44 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(travolta_lim @ Sep 13 2005, 04:51 AM)
This model has been my good companion....i used it for entertainment purposes(movie,AV,mp3...xxxWeb), also for education purposes(assignment)....

My father urge me to change laptop because according to him, the spec is already out dated. For me, She is still beautiful and working perfectyly. She is even more pretty than latest Toshiba Model(Mx) or DELL , Compaq and IBM~ 
Hahaha, xxxWeb eh? So honest... thumbup.gif No wonder u call it a good companion!

Wish i had a father that would urge me to change my laptop...so good... laugh.gif
ikhii
post Sep 14 2005, 12:37 AM

156 posts

hmm... seems like no one talks about my M200 model. So here i go...

Tablet PC M200. one word : "SUPERB". ... why?

Durability : 8 / 10. Turn the screen back forward, up down and still the same as the day I bought it. Solid
Speed : medium to fast depending on what application you are using. Drawing and painting is simple.
Battery life : 3 - 4 hours.
Service : very good experience as anything happens, fix in 1 day (or few hours)
Most impressive : Screen hits 1400x1050 on a 12 inch LCD. (Any 12" laptop can hit that high with a single view (without dragging screen up down left right)?...correct me if I'm wrong la)
Game : already very happy enough that i can play NFSU2 & Half Life 2 on it. Superb graphic shown on such a small card.

Well, of course we have some down side. A bit heavy 1.9KG when hold more then 1/2 hour. Screen brightness is not strong enough due to screen protector but still can see well. Overheat sometime when you run heavy application such as Video render. But easily fix by putting processor to a lower speed.

Anyway, to be honest, after using it for 1 1/2 years... i wouldn't trade it with any other tablet pc. Fujitsu or IBM X41 tablet. One word to summaries... Awesome!

nck_ck
post Sep 14 2005, 01:49 AM

2,583 posts

Wow...cool...cannot comment much since i've never used tablet PC before...
cuptainj
post Sep 14 2005, 07:24 PM

15 posts

Help!! i'm planning to get a NEW toshiba notebook.. guys, who know SABAH, toshiba authorized dealer???
nck_ck
post Sep 14 2005, 10:06 PM

2,583 posts

Go check from teledynamics la...www.teledynamics.com.my
travolta_lim
post Sep 14 2005, 11:21 PM

356 posts

one of the forumer sells tecra rm4500 only leh, check in garage sales--> pda
nck_ck
post Sep 14 2005, 11:55 PM

2,583 posts

Yeah, the Tecra S2 one of the forumers here letting go at a very attractive price...but then again maybe cuptainj looking for other model, or maybe because he's from Sabah??? that's why wanna find dealers from there....? wink.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 15 2005, 04:28 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(travolta_lim @ Sep 14 2005, 11:21 PM)
how boleh jadi? that cheap mer? url ler?
nck_ck
post Sep 15 2005, 04:39 PM

2,583 posts

here u go...Tecra S2

This post has been edited by nck_ck: Sep 15 2005, 04:40 PM
cuptainj
post Sep 18 2005, 06:53 PM

15 posts

thanks for advice... i wonder how's TOSHIBA gaming performance?
I'm would like 3D RTS games like , Warcraft 3.. SIM2..
let's compare Geforce go 6600 64mb with ATI radeon x600 256mb..
HAVE a NICE DAYS..
nck_ck
post Sep 19 2005, 04:37 AM

2,583 posts

Hmmm...a 64MB graphics against a x600 capable of going up to 256mb? a bit unfair don't u think?
post Sep 19 2005, 02:22 PM

Henshin
2,157 posts

well, the x600 256MB on the toshiba M50 is a Turbocache/SE version.. where the vram is discrete 128MB+128MB from main system memory.
so.. not much difference lo... hahahaha

mobility x600 is equivalent to 9600xt desktop ver
where as Go6600 is equivalent to mobility x700

from notebookreviews
One of the number one questions that shows up on the forums on this site is "is a 128MB X600 faster than a 64MB 6600." No, it's not. While system RAM is the easiest way to boost the performance of a computer, video RAM doesn't work quite the same way. With GPUs, you're going to want a more powerful GPU instead of more video RAM in virtually all cases, with almost no exceptions. On the desktop, a Radeon 9600 with 64MB of video RAM will invariably slaughter a Radeon 9200 with 256MB of video RAM, and that's because the 9600 itself is a more powerful chip.

iianm, bigger vram is usually more advantageous when u runiing the game in higher resolution.. but how high can resolution the normal laptop/notebook LCD can handle? limitations smile.gif

cheers. just my spamcents. lol

This post has been edited by 8431: Sep 19 2005, 02:29 PM
nck_ck
post Sep 19 2005, 02:36 PM

2,583 posts

Woah...very informative, thanks 8431!!! notworthy.gif
Dexeaur
post Sep 20 2005, 12:15 AM

126 posts

i can post my 3d mark scores if you want
my geforce 6600 is the 128mb version but i did benchmark my sister's one which is the 64mb version and her one just came out 200 point lower than mine for 1024 x 768 for 3dmark 03
my score is bout but when i push it to 330/660 goes around 6000+ (drivers are the new 80 from laptop2go)

but my sister's one <stock> is around 4900.
also have to make sure drivers are the same to properly compare
nck_ck
post Sep 20 2005, 01:45 AM

2,583 posts

So the difference between a 128mb and a 64mb isn't too much?
Shinigami
post Sep 20 2005, 03:56 AM

,,sɹÇdÉÇɹ lnos,,
2,355 posts

QUOTE(travolta_lim @ Sep 14 2005, 11:21 PM)
That would be me. Product SOLD at RM4200...
More to come but not so soon... be prepared.

cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif
nck_ck
post Sep 20 2005, 04:32 PM

2,583 posts

Wah...good price man...if got anymore remember to post here and inform us ya!
Shinigami
post Sep 20 2005, 10:40 PM

,,sɹÇdÉÇɹ lnos,,
2,355 posts

Sure will... Special for TOSHIBA CLUB... hehehe...
nck_ck
post Sep 20 2005, 11:05 PM

2,583 posts

@keropok, hahaha... thumbup.gif . If can get Tecra M3 for cheap remember to tell me ya!

Oh yeah, when u put [WTF] girlfriend, does it mean "want to f***"? heheheeh just joking! tongue.gif
Shinigami
post Sep 20 2005, 11:20 PM

,,sɹÇdÉÇɹ lnos,,
2,355 posts

QUOTE(nck_ck @ Sep 20 2005, 11:05 PM)
Oh yeah, when u put [WTF] girlfriend, does it mean "want to f***"? heheheeh just joking!  tongue.gif
OOOOOh yeah... that's what i want!!! hehehe... drool.gif
kawasaki_kips
post Sep 20 2005, 11:32 PM

SERIOUS PROBLEM NOW!!!
1,293 posts

Ex-Toshiba 2140/2450 User here... Refer to my sig "successful trader list" sold to another forumer, it is a great P4 machine I ever used... IBM and Toshiba are famous brand in US... It rocks man!!! wub.gif

Hmmm... Looks like this thread got some Acer user here laugh.gif... BTW is great to have different types of Notebook brand in this forum... thumbup.gif

I LOVE TOSHIBA QOSMIO G25... BUT THE PRICE sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kawasaki_kips: Sep 20 2005, 11:33 PM
SUSceo684
post Sep 20 2005, 11:36 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Toshiba A40 (personal) and A50 (office) user here too. tongue.gif
Shinigami
post Sep 20 2005, 11:52 PM

,,sɹÇdÉÇɹ lnos,,
2,355 posts

QUOTE(kawasaki_kips @ Sep 20 2005, 11:32 PM)
I LOVE TOSHIBA QOSMIO G25... BUT THE PRICE  sweat.gif

Qosmio Oh Qosmio... u shall be mine one day... wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
nck_ck
post Sep 21 2005, 03:36 AM

2,583 posts

Qosmio laptops really looks good, that's for sure... drool.gif
Shinigami
post Sep 21 2005, 07:00 AM

,,sɹÇdÉÇɹ lnos,,
2,355 posts

Having actually touch and feel TOSHIBA QOSMIO G25, i think this model can easy get dirty with fingerprints and light scratches...
nando
post Sep 21 2005, 09:48 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

one simple question

I used to own a Satellite (AMD processor) 7 years ago and a Portege (PIII) about 5 years ago.
Switched to MAc 2 years ago though...
In those good old days, both my Toshibas were betul betul MADE in JAPAN.

How about today? I heard only high end models (QISMO maybe) made in Japan? Rest made where?

thanks!
nando
post Sep 21 2005, 09:48 AM

1,650 posts

ooopss...forgot

Toshiba notebooks- very durable and lasting

expensive also leh...heheheh

This post has been edited by nando: Sep 21 2005, 09:51 AM
nck_ck
post Sep 21 2005, 01:49 PM

2,583 posts

I think most of the high end Toshiba laptops such as Tecra, Protege and Qosmio are still made in Japan...not too sure about the Satellite series though...but then again, maybe they've moved and been manufacturing their laptops in countries such as China...just like Samsung laptops, did u guys know ALL Samsung laptops that the whole world is using are manufactured in Tianjin, China now????
nando
post Sep 21 2005, 03:48 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(nck_ck @ Sep 21 2005, 01:49 PM)
I think most of the high end Toshiba laptops such as Tecra, Protege and Qosmio are still made in Japan...not too sure about the Satellite series though...but then again, maybe they've moved and been manufacturing their laptops in countries such as China...just like Samsung laptops, did u guys know ALL Samsung laptops that the whole world is using are manufactured in Tianjin, China now????
not surprising...

do you know Apple's product- the macho macho and sleeky powerbook, imac, blah blah
all made in Taiwan?

that is why i wonder if Toshiba is still making their notebooks in Japan...

nck_ck
post Sep 21 2005, 03:58 PM

2,583 posts

As far as i know, only Fujitsu laptops are still all made in Japan...
Shinigami
post Sep 23 2005, 06:28 AM

,,sɹÇdÉÇɹ lnos,,
2,355 posts

Would anybody here be interested on TOSHIBA ORIGINAL BACKPACK???

Specially made for TOSHIBA by DICOTA (Lifetime Warranty)...
TScyberkid
post Sep 24 2005, 12:44 AM

1,274 posts

price berapa???
nck_ck
post Sep 24 2005, 01:43 AM

2,583 posts

How much u planning to sell the bag?
Shinigami
post Sep 24 2005, 02:58 AM

,,sɹÇdÉÇɹ lnos,,
2,355 posts

Just PM me your desired price...

NOTE: Mine is Toshiba embroidered but also made/warrantied(Lifetime) by Dicota...
super macgyver
post Sep 24 2005, 10:45 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

how is the new toshiba a80-p431 spec u feel good kah?
TScyberkid
post Oct 9 2005, 09:51 AM

1,274 posts

R u all experiencing short battery life for Toshi lappies?
For my case, a light usage on it (from 100%) will just last me for less than 2 hours! Oh MY!
My settings are : CPU - Level 6, Screen - Level 4, Battery - Optimized, Screen & HDD - Never

Is this ridiculous? shocking.gif 2 hours just for light jobs like surfing and bitcomet! No gaming n playing mp3s!!! cry.gif
v1ctorong
post Oct 10 2005, 01:53 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(cyberkid @ Sep 10 2005, 03:04 PM)
Sadly, my m40s Harman/Kardon seems cannot satisfy me..
The sound simply break if i open max volume...and yet it is not loud enough!!!
hmm...maybe ur expectation is a bit higher. u might try to hook up the laptop with desktop speaker with woofer. it will far better than the build in speaker.
v1ctorong
post Oct 10 2005, 01:55 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 20 2005, 11:36 PM)
Toshiba A40 (personal) and A50 (office) user here too. tongue.gif
hows the A40 and A50? satisfy?

anyhow, i like your avantar
super macgyver
post Oct 10 2005, 10:35 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

i saw a demo at KLCC, the Qosmio can watch TV direct online with only WIFI. great FUn at all.
terencetoo
post Oct 10 2005, 10:46 AM

3,246 posts

haha qoismo G25 is awesome...plan to get if is cheap here [aus]
rrp 5999=rm 18k approx

Btw im using satellite pro m10...my toshiba hdd just "fried up" last week!! sob sob... got a new samsung 60gig replacement... n a additional 512mb ram ...

Stil aming on Qoismo hehe its very eye catching:P [can i know how much m'sia selling?]

@cyberkid
ohh yeah u can get a external speakers just like me...logitech Z680 pair with Creative SB Zs pcmcia...tat rocks!! trust me...smile.gif

This post has been edited by terencetoo: Oct 10 2005, 10:47 AM
super macgyver
post Oct 10 2005, 11:02 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Oct 10 2005, 10:46 AM)
haha qoismo G25 is awesome...plan to get if is cheap here [aus]
rrp 5999=rm 18k approx

Btw im using satellite pro m10...my toshiba hdd just "fried up" last week!! sob sob... got a new samsung 60gig replacement... n a additional 512mb ram ...

Stil aming on Qoismo hehe its very eye catching:P [can i know how much m'sia selling?]

@cyberkid
ohh yeah u can get a external speakers just like me...logitech Z680 pair with Creative SB Zs pcmcia...tat rocks!! trust me...smile.gif
qosmio e10 is selling RM7,399
qosmio f10 is selling RM8,999

terencetoo
post Oct 10 2005, 10:21 PM

3,246 posts

G25?? how much???

thanks dude
SUSceo684
post Oct 10 2005, 10:25 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(v1ctorong @ Oct 10 2005, 01:55 AM)
hows the A40 and A50? satisfy?

anyhow, i like your avantar
No major complaints.. except "why can't the A40 and A50 use the same charger/battery" tongue.gif
super macgyver
post Oct 11 2005, 05:13 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Oct 10 2005, 10:21 PM)
G25?? how much???

thanks dude
for model G20 is RM12,799
TScyberkid
post Oct 11 2005, 06:20 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(cyberkid @ Oct 9 2005, 09:51 AM)
R u all experiencing short battery life for Toshi lappies?
For my case, a light usage on it (from 100%) will just last me for less than 2 hours! Oh MY!
My settings are : CPU - Level 6, Screen - Level 4, Battery - Optimized, Screen & HDD - Never

Is this ridiculous? shocking.gif  2 hours just for light jobs like surfing and bitcomet! No gaming n playing mp3s!!! cry.gif
NOBODY ANSWER ME ... SOB ... cry.gif
BuFung
post Oct 11 2005, 06:50 PM

8,407 posts

@cyberkid.. I tot ur Toshiba all also perfect one?? should be no problem la.. battery only wat.. buy one spare battery lor..
TScyberkid
post Oct 11 2005, 07:51 PM

1,274 posts

@ Bufung, nothing is perfect in this world, toshiba is better than the best only, juz better..come on
super macgyver
post Oct 12 2005, 10:36 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(cyberkid @ Oct 11 2005, 07:51 PM)
@ Bufung, nothing is perfect in this world, toshiba is better than the best only, juz better..come on
better listen to bu fung & just buy a spare battery lah,dude, or u lazy to go kl, i can buy 4 u loh. laugh.gif
e740
post Oct 12 2005, 11:13 AM

If anyone thinks (incl.myself previously) Toshiba products = reliability, please check out my post: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=207122. Thanks for your time.
terencetoo
post Oct 12 2005, 11:29 AM

3,246 posts

G20 selling rm 12,999

wow....tat killing price~~
worth it?~~

i mostly used my laptop to watch dvd /anime n surf net...

super macgyver
post Oct 12 2005, 11:41 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Oct 12 2005, 11:29 AM)
G20 selling rm 12,999

wow....tat killing price~~
worth it?~~

i mostly used my laptop to watch dvd /anime n surf net...
Intel® Centrino(tm) Mobile Technology
- Intel® Pentium® M Processor 760
(2.0GHz, 2MB L2 Cache, 533MHz FSB)
- Intel® 915PM Express Chipset
- Intel® PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection 802.11b/g
Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition
500NIT (2 lamps) High Luminance 17" Wide XGA LCD display with Clear SuperView Technology
Built in TV Tuner, Qosmio Player and remote control offer super quick boot TV and AV functions
QosmioEngine for advanced video experience
Multi-system audio & video inputs allow direct connectivity to all AV entertainment devices
512MB DDR2 SDRAM
160GB HDD with RAID-0 support for improve system performance
Super Multi CD/DVD drive with Double Layer DVD recording technology
NVIDIA® GeForce(tm) FX Go6600 with 128MB Video RAM and rotational image support with NVIDIA® NV Rotate
Virtual surround sound with SRS WOW and TruSurround XT(tm) sound technology and state-of-the-art large harman/kardon®
stereo speakers for multi-channel sound
Integrated Bluetooth(tm), 5-in-1 card reader, 4 x USB 2.0, and i.Link(IEEE 1394) ports
1-yr carry-in International Limited Warranty (parts and labor)
rg470
post Oct 15 2005, 06:23 PM

648 posts

^ Wow, nice specs. Should have gotten myself one of that tongue.gif

Anyway, a new M40 P545 user here. Don't have much to complain except for the kinda weird keyboard layout. Choose this over the Acer Ferrari becoz' of the WinXP 64bit which has lotsa compatability problems and not so sure how good does the AMD Turion 64 performs. Btw, this baby's graphics is awesome. I got 2000+ for 3DMark05 and close 5000+ for 3DMark03.

This post has been edited by rg470: Oct 15 2005, 06:24 PM
BuFung
post Oct 15 2005, 10:04 PM

8,407 posts

@rg470... 5000+ 3D Mark owesome meh? my Acer got this score.. tongue.gif I think Ferarri can have this score as well...

just sharing yah tongue.gif
mastervj
post Oct 23 2005, 12:06 PM

Reigning in Blood
866 posts

i want 2 ask u guys here wat u think abt this deal my fren is getting for a 2nd hand laptop. Its the Toshiba Portege A100 and the owner is selling it for aroun RM 3k, the specs is Pentium 1.4 Ghz, 512 RAM, combo drive, hdd im not sure (coz i havent seen it and my fren cant remember but the standard spec i saw was 40 gb), and other i think is the basic stuff (wi-fi, usb ports,etc..) , the owner not willing to reduce the price anymore and said it was retailing for abt RM6 k abt 2/3 years ago (the seller is the owner of the 'House of Notebook' shop in Low yat), so i wan to ask if this deal is worth it ?

mumeichan
post Oct 25 2005, 09:31 AM

4,152 posts

I'm planning to buy the Toshiba satelite R10. Can you please advice me on how to get the best price for this tablet. Does anyone know how much is it to upgrade the battery to a 9 or 12 cell one and how much does an extra one cost? Another thing I would like to know is how much would it be to add on a graphic card. I would like a graphic card that would allow me to play most games smoothly with AA and AF.
terencetoo
post Oct 25 2005, 12:59 PM

3,246 posts

i got a satellite pro m10 for a price tag rm6.3k

so i assume he's getting something liek mine tat days...

post Oct 25 2005, 05:22 PM

Henshin
2,157 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Oct 25 2005, 09:31 AM)
I'm planning to buy the Toshiba satelite R10. Can you please advice me on how to get the best price for this tablet. Does anyone know how much is it to upgrade the battery to a 9 or 12 cell one and how much does an extra one cost? Another thing I would like to know is how much would it be to add on a graphic card. I would like a graphic card that would allow me to play most games smoothly with AA and AF.
sattelite r10 comes wif a 6-C battery iianm, upgrade? not sure tho, but mebbe can buy a bigger capacity battery guar, if it does exist prepare 2 pay about rm400 n above tongue.gif

graphic card? lol... u want a gaming laptop u are better off buying the satellite series la.

r10 is a tablet pc... u got see ppl play 3d games on tablet b4 or not?hahaha
and no, it is not possible 2 add a graphic card.

cheers. just my spamcents
BuFung
post Oct 25 2005, 05:30 PM

8,407 posts

wow 84.. u are back.. I tot u go n get married liao..

Wat? play games with "AA ON" on a tablet? that must be a joke.. tell me it is a joke... tongue.gif

post Oct 26 2005, 12:42 AM

Henshin
2,157 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 25 2005, 05:30 PM)
wow 84..  u are back..  I tot u go n get married liao.. 

Wat?  play games with "AA ON" on a tablet?  that must be a joke..  tell me it is a joke...  tongue.gif
hu? married?
since when tongue.gif
nay, i dun have a GF yet whistling.gif

i was here all along, only posting less, coz got so many users contributes their knowledge ma hahaha
terencetoo
post Oct 26 2005, 09:21 AM

3,246 posts

haha he quite rich tough..Tablet for playing games hehe

recammand satellite serios or qosmio hehe 128mb graphic card ~ yum~~
chding
post Oct 26 2005, 10:52 AM

556 posts

does any m40 users upgrade their ram to ddr2 533mhz?
rg470
post Oct 26 2005, 12:15 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(chding @ Oct 26 2005, 10:52 AM)
does any m40 users upgrade their ram to ddr2 533mhz?
I don't think the M40 supports DDR2, although I upgraded mine to 1GB of DDR 333
BuFung
post Oct 26 2005, 12:32 PM

8,407 posts

socket for DDR is DDR.. DDR2 is DDR2.. not upgrade available..

chding
post Oct 26 2005, 05:54 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 26 2005, 12:32 PM)
socket for DDR is DDR..  DDR2 is DDR2..  not upgrade available..
but m40 is using 915 chipset...and the processor is 533mhz fsb
BuFung
post Oct 26 2005, 06:03 PM

8,407 posts

915 chipset can Run either DDR or DDR2.. see the vendor choose wat for u.. I mean the socket.. if they choose DDR socket.. no way u can fit DDR2 RAM on it.. u may try.. but just my point here..
chding
post Oct 26 2005, 06:05 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 26 2005, 06:03 PM)
915 chipset can Run either DDR or DDR2..  see the vendor choose wat for u..  I mean the socket..    if they choose DDR socket..  no way u can fit DDR2 RAM on it..  u may try..  but just my point here..
i will try it and let u all know
project-o
post Nov 1 2005, 02:04 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Myself using Satellite 2410 Pentium 4 1.8G with GeForce 4 and 512MB RAM with 30G hard disk.

For me find it a good performer and has been giving me no problems for the almost 3 years that I used it. Only I find that it is a bit heavy and would like something lighter with USB.

Anyone using the same model ? Would welcome suggestions for new lighter notebooks Celeron also is fine...as I am on a low budget...

Or if any dealers want this notebook... if the top-up price is reasonable.. I would consider.
tony5503
post Nov 10 2005, 11:16 PM

i have plan to buy a tohsiba notebook. but, after i read the reply.
i have few question in mind.

1. wat model of tohsiba the speaker perform well?
2.wat model of tohsiba is recommended if below rm 6500
3. wat model perform well in graphics if below the above range?

BuFung
post Nov 11 2005, 12:13 AM

8,407 posts

chding not yet try out ah??
Blue_Diamond
post Nov 17 2005, 02:19 PM

98 posts

i'm using m40-p535
if i wanna d/l movie,i'll hav 2 leave the laptop on 4 more than let's say 5 hours
is it ok 2 leave it on for so long?

terencetoo
post Nov 17 2005, 07:52 PM

3,246 posts

any good range for rm 6k toshiba?
i would like a centrino n 15.4 wide angle screen. any opinion?

As myself i got a toshiba satellite pro M10..would like to upgrade to 15.4 screen..u guy think i sould keep this satellite pro m10 or get a new unit?
terencetoo
post Nov 19 2005, 09:48 PM

3,246 posts

Hi anyone using this unit of toshiba Toshiba M40 (P546)?

I would like to know the CSV screen how is iz?

Overall how is the laptop perform?

What about the graphihc card? i search for Cycom. rm 5999 what u guys think about the price?

project-o
post Nov 19 2005, 09:53 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I saw the Celeron model of the M40. To my eyes, I find the CSV screen much brighter and clearer than my old screen. Also contrast looks better when displaying photos.

But only thing I noticed is there is a bit more reflection where there are strong light sources nearby or overhead like flourescent or spot lights.

My favourite part of Toshiba notebook is the screen.
TScyberkid
post Nov 19 2005, 10:59 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 19 2005, 09:48 PM)
Hi anyone using this unit of toshiba Toshiba M40 (P546)?

I would like to know the CSV screen how is iz?

Overall how is the laptop perform?

What about the graphihc card? i search for Cycom. rm 5999 what u guys think about the price?

I m using a M40-P545..
CSV screen? thumbup.gif
Battery? shakehead.gif
Price for this laptop? smile.gif
Performance? thumbup.gif
project-o
post Nov 19 2005, 11:24 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

As an owner and user of a 3 year old Satellite 2410 from Toshiba. I have to agree with your opinion. I also would rate mine the same way.
QUOTE(cyberkid @ Nov 19 2005, 10:59 PM)
I m using a M40-P545..
CSV screen?  thumbup.gif
Battery?  shakehead.gif
Price for this laptop?  smile.gif
Performance?  thumbup.gif
project-o
post Nov 19 2005, 11:24 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

One more thing... Weight of M40 ? Weight of 2410 shakehead.gif
terencetoo
post Nov 21 2005, 12:19 PM

3,246 posts

anyone reckon toshiba M40 (p546)? rm 5999

how the Vram for the graphic card? what is the meaning of "V" do with?

how's the dvd-rw preform? sensitive? loud noise when burning cd's?

i need for information on M40 (P546)

cheers

jdreamer
post Nov 21 2005, 03:14 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Where to check the Toshiba notebook laptop ? Give me some links please.

Btw, between Toshiba and Dell.. which one is better ? Toshiba is from which country ? The original country i meant.
BuFung
post Nov 21 2005, 03:28 PM

8,407 posts

Dari Nihon bukan? Toshi ba... 东芝 。。。
Blue_Diamond
post Nov 21 2005, 04:32 PM

98 posts

Here is one of the links http://pc.toshiba-asia.com/index.jsp
Toshiba,the brand is from Japan but now the toshiba laptops we r getting r made in china
toshiba is more pricey whereas dell is much more affordable
toshiba is more towards the premium market although they hav low end laptops
quality wise,toshiba has a slight edge over dell but dell's customer service is very good plus the 3 years warranty if i'm not mistaken
mine also made in china but so far no problem
4 same the same price,dell's spec is much better
it all depends on ur usage n budget
project-o
post Nov 21 2005, 09:15 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

From what I see from the few models I saw they are made in Philipines now (Toshiba) but where exactly the parts come from, I'm not sure. My almost 3 year old Satellite is made in Japan. From the casing and the hinges you can see the difference in quality.
terencetoo
post Nov 25 2005, 12:05 PM

3,246 posts

i would like to know so many series of toshiba now..Which one should i choose?

I would like to have min 512mb ram n most important 15.4" csv screen.

Basic requirements..

1.6 / 1.73 Ghz
dvd-rw
FIR
5 in 1 card reader
3 usb
min 60gig hdd

Too many toshiba series eg (p456) or something i dono what is tat?

thanks for helping~
Cheers
ndextreme
post Nov 25 2005, 12:11 PM

Retired From Doing Trading !! But Will Shop !!
1,249 posts

Check out the pricelist here interested ctc me.
hfmea
post Nov 26 2005, 12:52 PM

WARNED 2/3(tm) COZ MY Blood is BLUE!!
11,151 posts

Hi all, I would like to ask toshiba notebook got provide an option to upgrade to 3-year warranty for all model?
project-o
post Nov 26 2005, 01:18 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

All the models not sure... but I do know over RM 5000 they either come with 3 years or have an option to upgrade to 3 years. Mainly more expensive and higher-end models
lgs
post Nov 26 2005, 04:32 PM

Certified Noob
2,374 posts

ndextreme

ur price is outdated

A80-P431 drop until RM3699
and a new spec A80-P432 would be RM3999
project-o
post Nov 26 2005, 06:07 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Those numbers like P456 are the package code. P means Pentium M C= Celeron and so on.

There are many different packages for Toshiba notebooks. You can go for Satellite M40 P540 or Satellite A80 P440 at RM 4799 and RM 4599. Not sure whether the prices are updated or not yet.

As an owner of an almost 3 year old Toshiba Satellite, I am quite sure you will find the quality good and it should not disappoint you no matter what series you take.
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 25 2005, 12:05 PM)
i would like to know so many series of toshiba now..Which one should i choose?

I would like to have min 512mb ram n most important 15.4" csv screen.

Basic requirements..

1.6 / 1.73 Ghz
dvd-rw
FIR
5 in 1 card reader
3 usb
min 60gig hdd

Too many toshiba series eg (p456) or something i dono what is tat?

thanks for helping~
Cheers
mumeichan
post Nov 26 2005, 11:13 PM

4,152 posts

I went to Toshibas's showroom in Shah Alam and I have some advice for those who wish to buy Toshiba laptops. First, make an appointment with a salesman its very easy, just phone them up and tell them when you are coming. they will give you the contact number of the salesman. phone the salesman and tell him what model you want to check out and what specifically you want to see. I'm telling you this because when I went there the salesman was completely blank and didn't know how to demonstrate what I wanted to see.

About the CSV screens, I think they suck. The viewing angles are bad, just little out and the picture looks funny. The colours and contrast aren't any better than the normal screens. worst still, the screen is too glossy, it look like a mirror. The reflection makes it very hard to see what's on the screen. I prefer my R1O's matte screen, it's much better

last of all, wait for the pc fair, the prices are much better. I was lucky the manager gave me the PC fair price. RM 600 discount, double ram plus 2 years international warranty. the salesperson also said that I can get PC fair price even if I go to Toshiba Shah Alam during the PC fair
project-o
post Nov 26 2005, 11:44 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

In fact I tested one of the CSV screen models. The picture looks brighter but as for the contrast I would agree it is about the same as the Matt screen ones. I'm not sure why you say viewing angles are bad but compared to previous Satellite models I feel it is better. But compared to Tecra or Portege I would have to say "no contest".

PC Fair price sounds attractive. Which PC Fair ? this coming PC Fair ?
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Nov 26 2005, 11:13 PM)
I went to Toshibas's showroom in Shah Alam and I have some advice for those who wish to buy Toshiba laptops. First, make an appointment with a salesman its very easy, just phone them up and tell them when you are coming. they will give you the contact number of the salesman. phone the salesman and tell him what model you want to check out and what specifically you want to see. I'm telling you this because when I went there the salesman was completely blank and didn't know how to  demonstrate what I wanted to see.

About the CSV screens, I think they suck. The viewing angles are bad, just little out and the picture looks funny. The colours and contrast aren't any better than the normal screens. worst still, the screen is too glossy, it look like a mirror. The reflection makes it very hard to see what's on the screen. I prefer my R1O's matte screen, it's much better

last of all, wait for the pc fair, the prices are much better.  I was lucky the manager gave me the PC fair price. RM 600 discount, double ram plus 2 years international warranty. the salesperson also said that I can get PC fair price even if I go to Toshiba Shah Alam during the PC  fair
terencetoo
post Nov 27 2005, 10:10 AM

3,246 posts

hi there i would like to know when i buy a new toshiba laptop will i able to trade in my 2 yrs Old M10 Centrino Toshiba laptop ?

terencetoo
post Nov 28 2005, 11:51 AM

3,246 posts

hi there, anyone know where can i trade n a laptop and get a new one [toshiba prefer] at the same shop?

mumeichan
post Nov 29 2005, 05:28 PM

4,152 posts

I don't know where you can trade-in your laptop, but I do know that Toshiba's current promotion is great. Cheek it out at www.teledynamics.com
nck_ck
post Dec 10 2005, 03:34 AM

2,583 posts

hey is the Toshiba Satellite M70 out yet? Any word on its performance?
project-o
post Dec 10 2005, 08:29 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I too am trying to sell my notebook off or look for trade in. Normally for trade in they will not offer you a good price. Better to sell it to friend or something. I've forgotten which series the M10 is but if it is newer and smaller than mine I wouldn't mind buying it up from you.....that is after I manage to sell mine.
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 28 2005, 11:51 AM)
hi there, anyone know where can i trade n a laptop and get a new one [toshiba prefer] at the same shop?

mervyn
post Jan 6 2006, 04:26 PM

1,160 posts

haha i'm joining the club..juz bought the satellite A80 P441..price was quite attractive after 400 christmas rebate.. thumbup.gif got 3 years warranty and 512MB ram at 4950..
sukhoi37
post Jan 6 2006, 04:33 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(mervyn @ Jan 6 2006, 04:26 PM)
haha i'm joining the club..juz bought the satellite A80 P441..price was quite attractive after 400 christmas rebate.. thumbup.gif got 3 years warranty and 512MB ram at 4950..
my fren bought one at rm4.4k last week.
without the extra 2 years warranty though
link
project-o
post Jan 7 2006, 01:54 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Anyway... I'm back in the club..... my second Toshiba.... Satellite A80 C431. thumbup.gif
tat_lee
post Jan 12 2006, 05:22 PM

61 posts

I'm joining the club thumbup.gif

Satellite M50-P340

( Model No.: PSM50L-03G01T )
* Intel® Centrino® Mobile Technology
- Intel® Pentium® M Processor 730
(1.60GHz, 2MB L2 Cache, 533MHz FSB)
- Intel® PRO/Wireless Network Connection 802.11b/g
* Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition
* Microsoft® Office OneNote(tm) 2003
* Toshiba ConfigFree(tm) Connectivity Tool
* 1 GB DDR SDRAM (original 512MB after free upgrade)
* 60GB S.M.A.R.T HDD with shock absorber
* DVD SuperMulti Double Layer drive
* 14.0" WXGA Clear SuperView TFT display
* Intel Graphics Media Accelarator 900 up to 128MB shared VRAM
* Internal harmon/kardon® speakers
* 5-in-1 card reader, IEEE 1394 port
* 2.26 kg with peacock blue chassis
* 1-yr carry-in International Limited Warranty ( parts and labor )
* Free optical mouse, notebook lock, external Bluetooth, headphone
* RM 4399 (before update RAM)
* RM 4550 (after update to 1 GB RAM)
* Final price RM 4640 (after 2% pay by CC)

SEP910
post Jan 12 2006, 05:44 PM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

QUOTE(tat_lee @ Jan 12 2006, 05:22 PM)
I'm joining the club thumbup.gif

Satellite M50-P340

( Model No.: PSM50L-03G01T )
* Intel® Centrino® Mobile Technology
- Intel® Pentium® M Processor 730
(1.60GHz, 2MB L2 Cache, 533MHz FSB)
- Intel® PRO/Wireless Network Connection 802.11b/g
* Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition
* Microsoft® Office OneNote™ 2003
* Toshiba ConfigFree™ Connectivity Tool
* 1 GB DDR SDRAM (original 512MB after free upgrade)
* 60GB S.M.A.R.T HDD with shock absorber
* DVD SuperMulti Double Layer drive
* 14.0" WXGA Clear SuperView TFT display
* Intel Graphics Media Accelarator 900 up to 128MB shared VRAM
* Internal harmon/kardon® speakers
* 5-in-1 card reader, IEEE 1394 port
* 2.26 kg with peacock blue chassis
* 1-yr carry-in International Limited Warranty ( parts and labor )
* Free optical mouse, notebook lock, external Bluetooth, headphone
* RM 4399 (before update RAM)
* RM 4550 (after update to 1 GB RAM)
* Final price RM 4640 (after 2% pay by CC)
where u get it, last time I'm asking RM46++
project-o
post Jan 13 2006, 08:02 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Welcome to the club....How do you find the build quality of the Satellite M50 ?
tat_lee
post Jan 16 2006, 09:05 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(SEP910 @ Jan 12 2006, 05:44 PM)
where u get it, last time I'm asking RM46++
Bought it at Low Yatt, Cycom.
tat_lee
post Jan 16 2006, 09:13 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Jan 13 2006, 08:02 PM)
Welcome to the club....How do you find the build quality of the Satellite M50 ?
My 1st notebook....so don't have anything to compare with...

Not satisfied with the speaker sound, but my friend says the sound is good already, cannot compare with desktop.

Batery.... less than 2 hours, cepat kong!

Others...OK la kot...don't know la how to test benchmark ke, etc with this computer...

Any suggestion?

project-o
post Jan 16 2006, 07:18 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Anyway for satellite better to change it to maximum saving when you are running on battery. Anyway my previous one was using a Geforce 4 GO GPU... the battery life is about that only. Once use 3D like playing games... battery lasts less than an hour.

This post has been edited by project-o: Jan 16 2006, 07:20 PM
justin_nys
post Jan 17 2006, 02:41 AM

1,192 posts

I'm Using M40. Alot of people say the speakers are so so but IMHO i think the Harman/Kardon speakers are excellent for a laptop. Never compare it with your PC's speaker ler. But for the clarity and EQ, it's very good compare to most of the laptops. But the downside of the speaker is sometimes it;s too soft. and there's no other way to boost it up. esp when i watch Pirated DVDs...haha

Keyboard is okay for me...except ctrl is missing on the right hand side.
Built quality of the entire laptop should improve. Dont have a solid feel to it. Card reader cover is abit hard to open and close. the SD Card reader should use spring for Card ejection instead of need to slowly pull it out. Monitor is sweet. Nice wide screen. Like watching Videos on it. Good for my photo editing software and multitasking too. Battery life can last me 2 HOURS and 30 mins the max. There's a 12 cell battery which TOSHIBA claim that it can last for 6-8 hours. But the batt cost around 1k+ (enquired at KLCC laptop shop)

So for me, there's only 2 things that i wish i could change in my M40. Add the CTRL key on the right side and extend my battery life...haha..
project-o
post Jan 17 2006, 09:10 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Myself using A80. Have to agree with you about the build quality. Yes..screen is good also. Anyway... for me I think the speaker is OK but have to use the "booster" function in WinDVD to make the sound louder when playing DVD/VCD. My previous one was a Satellite 2410 and the build quality was much better that this I feel.
QUOTE(justin_nys @ Jan 17 2006, 02:41 AM)
I'm Using M40. Alot of people say the speakers are so so but IMHO i think the Harman/Kardon speakers are excellent for a laptop. Never compare it with your PC's speaker ler. But for the clarity and EQ, it's very good compare to most of the laptops. But the downside of the speaker is sometimes it;s too soft. and there's no other way to boost it up. esp when i watch Pirated DVDs...haha

Keyboard is okay for me...except ctrl is missing on the right hand side.
Built quality of the entire laptop should improve. Dont have a solid feel to it. Card reader cover is abit hard to open and close. the SD Card reader should use spring for Card ejection instead of need to slowly pull it out. Monitor is sweet. Nice wide screen. Like watching Videos on it. Good for my photo editing software and multitasking too. Battery life can last me 2 HOURS and 30 mins the max. There's a 12 cell battery which TOSHIBA claim that it can last for 6-8 hours. But the batt cost around 1k+ (enquired at KLCC laptop shop)

So for me, there's only 2 things that i wish i could change in my M40. Add the CTRL key on the right side and extend my battery life...haha..
tienhou18
post Jan 17 2006, 11:39 AM

461 posts

so i got myself a toshiba m50 few days back...
had no experience nor idea about buying laptops and didn't do any research too beforehand as it was rather rush as my dad just took me out without any prior notice to get a laptop
so just walked around lowyat plaza, talked to the salesman and got myself the toshiba m50, and the deciding factor was it has an orange lid lol as i don't really know how to compare and stuff
the specs are 1.73ghz, 1gb ram, 256mb ati radeon ram, dvd superdrive(i think that's what it's called) etc..
the price was 5.68k (originally 5.5k for 512mb ram)
one thing bad i notice is it gets pretty warm, and the ventilation hole is on the left side, if i happen to use my mouse on the left side then it'll be damn bloody hot...haven't exactly tested the battery life yet...
justin_nys
post Jan 17 2006, 04:19 PM

1,192 posts

wow tienhou18. That's quite a deal for ur laptop. I got my M40 around July last year. And it cost 6k. nVdia (32MB or 64MB forgot liao) and 1GB of Memory. 1.6 Ghz....and yeah..it gets quite hot if there's no proper air flow. If not mistaken my toshiba laptop sucks in air from the bottom through a hole and then blows out the hot air on the left side. So i always put a book or something to tilt the laptop abit. so that there's more space and therefore better air flow. Budget laptop cooler..haha

project-o, u satisfied with your A80? other than the built quality. how about performance?
I got a friend which work as an Aerospace engineer...he told me in this world there's only 3 types of laptop that is good. IBM, Toshiba and Apple. Wonder how true is it. But i know apple and IBM is defiintely in the list la...haha

This post has been edited by justin_nys: Jan 17 2006, 04:22 PM
project-o
post Jan 17 2006, 06:34 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Performance of Celeron 1.5 with 512MB RAM for me it is pretty good already. Anyway...so far haven't encountered any thermal problems. Screen is great. Moreover... a less than RM 3000 notebook. I think it is a decent package already and lightweight too. My main usage is to run presentations, word processing and the occasional DVD video.
project-o, u satisfied with your A80? other than the built quality. how about performance?
I got a friend which work as an Aerospace engineer...he told me in this world there's only 3 types of laptop that is good. IBM, Toshiba and Apple. Wonder how true is it. But i know apple and IBM is defiintely in the list la...haha
NieA_83
post Jan 17 2006, 08:10 PM

280 posts

project-o, may I know how much you bought your A80? Coz last month Christmas price is like RM 3999 and now RM 4599. Which is the best price? Thanks!

PS: Have no experience, so now doin survey when is the best time to buy. Or should I wait for Intel Duo Core?
project-o
post Jan 17 2006, 09:47 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Bought for RM 2760. RM 3999 and 4599 is probably the Pentium-m version. Mine is Celeron-m version. A80 should be phased out already now the L-series is taking over... like the L20 and L40.
QUOTE(NieA_83 @ Jan 17 2006, 08:10 PM)
project-o, may I know how much you bought your A80? Coz last month Christmas price is like RM 3999 and now RM 4599. Which is the best price? Thanks!

PS: Have no experience, so now doin survey when is the best time to buy. Or should I wait for Intel Duo Core?
tienhou18
post Jan 17 2006, 11:26 PM

461 posts

so the battery life is only about 2 hours, is that normal for a laptop? or is it something that m50 sucks at? i find it pretty short...
and the space below the keyboard gets quite warm, hot i would say...rather uncomfortable..
shall try putting a book underneath and let it tilt, see if it gets cooler

the speaker is good though, i have heard my sis's fujitsu, it sounds crap compared to this

This post has been edited by tienhou18: Jan 17 2006, 11:47 PM
project-o
post Jan 18 2006, 08:01 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Harman Kardon... should be good sound biggrin.gif Which model of M50 is yours does it have a built in 3D graphic ?
QUOTE(tienhou18 @ Jan 17 2006, 11:26 PM)
so the battery life is only about 2 hours, is that normal for a laptop? or is it something that m50 sucks at? i find it pretty short...
and the space below the keyboard gets quite warm, hot i would say...rather uncomfortable..
shall try putting a book underneath and let it tilt, see if it gets cooler

the speaker is good though, i have heard my sis's fujitsu, it sounds crap compared to this
jiunshan
post Jan 19 2006, 09:37 AM

Validating
33 posts

some1 please post pic of Toshiba Satellite L20-C430??
I want to have a look...Thank You!!
justin_nys
post Jan 19 2006, 04:42 PM

1,192 posts

user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by justin_nys: Jan 19 2006, 04:44 PM
project-o
post Jan 19 2006, 05:37 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Kind of reminds me of the Acer Travelmate 23xx and 24xx series.
mervyn
post Jan 20 2006, 02:05 PM

1,160 posts

Hello Project-O, v meet again in da club..haha..care to c my laptop prob fellow toshiba members?

see here

well, the pic itself got line, so dun bother to c the pic aredi.. in the moment tat i'm typing now, the vertical line was gone.. not sure whether can i take it back toshiba straight away though..

any of u hav delt wit the after sales service there? quite disappointed actually, hav to see them so soon after buying a laptop.. sad.gif
mervyn
post Jan 20 2006, 02:16 PM

1,160 posts

Anyway, just to add some notes, I'm using A80 P441, running on a 1.73Ghz, 512 RAM, 60GB hdd, 64mb ATI x300 etc.. got it for 5k plus the warranty extension..during the christmas break though..

I played FIFA2006 smoothly using tis one..no problem at all, using the highest details setting..maybe the game itself was not 3d demanding after all..but i do notice about the heating stuff..it got reali hot after about few hours..rarely uses it battery though..prefer power supply! :cheers:
mervyn
post Jan 20 2006, 02:32 PM

1,160 posts

sry. double post

This post has been edited by mervyn: Jan 20 2006, 04:55 PM
justin_nys
post Jan 20 2006, 02:35 PM

1,192 posts

Yes, i've sent my M40 back to Tele Dynamics before (the service center in shah alam). Service is very good IMHO. just that it's very very far! Well you can send it back to the shop which you bought the laptop from but it'll take you ages to wait.
They will surely claim that the laptop will be sent within that week but you know lah...you can barely trust those "customer service" dudes...haha...some shops are more efficient ler..they will really send it the next day or within that week but most of the shops wont. My laptop RMA for 2 weeks. Sent it there my self. If you ask the shop to send it for you. expect around 1 month if you don't push them.

anyway here is the map for Toshiba service centers.
Nearest to KL is Shah Alam.

http://www.teledynamics.com.my/aboutus/contactus.asp

all the best, mervyn! smile.gif
mervyn
post Jan 20 2006, 04:58 PM

1,160 posts

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Jan 20 2006, 02:35 PM)
Yes, i've sent my M40 back to Tele Dynamics before (the service center in shah alam). Service is very good IMHO. just that it's very very far! Well you can send it back to the shop which you bought the laptop from but it'll take you ages to wait.
They will surely claim that the laptop will be sent within that week but you know lah...you can barely trust those "customer service" dudes...haha...some shops are more efficient ler..they will really send it the next day or within that week but most of the shops wont. My laptop RMA for 2 weeks. Sent it there my self. If you ask the shop to send it for you. expect around 1 month if you don't push them.

anyway here is the map for Toshiba service centers.
Nearest to KL is Shah Alam.

http://www.teledynamics.com.my/aboutus/contactus.asp

all the best, mervyn!  smile.gif
Ya, I heard about warranty stuff being delayed again n again if sent to shop.. hmm okie, juz tat i'm not very familiar with shah alam..haha.. anyway thanks alot for the information n details justin! notworthy.gif
mervyn
post Jan 20 2006, 05:26 PM

1,160 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 6 2006, 04:33 PM)
my fren bought one at rm4.4k last week.
without the extra 2 years warranty though
link
Yep, the extra 2yrs warranty cost me 600..I managed to reduce the original price to RM4350..I think the upgrade wud suit me more cuz i experienced old laptops problem before..
project-o
post Jan 20 2006, 06:08 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

But with the extra 2 years costing RM 600. Won't it be better to take the Tecra S2 which already has 3 years warranty for RM 4800 ?
QUOTE(mervyn @ Jan 20 2006, 05:26 PM)
Yep, the extra 2yrs warranty cost me 600..I managed to reduce the original price to RM4350..I think the upgrade wud suit me more cuz i experienced old laptops problem before..
mervyn
post Jan 20 2006, 07:39 PM

1,160 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Jan 20 2006, 06:08 PM)
But with the extra 2 years costing RM 600. Won't it be better to take the Tecra S2 which already has 3 years warranty for RM 4800 ?
The main reason is behind the looks..i like the satellite better IMO, and if i'm not mistaken, the specs of mine is better? correct me if i'm wrong?
project-o
post Jan 21 2006, 01:58 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Would agree with the look.Which is one of the reasons I took this Satellite also. Prefer this one to the L Series. Spec is better but normally those with built in 3D generate a lot of heat and are heavier also battery life is shorter. My old Satellite used to have a built in 3D.
QUOTE(mervyn @ Jan 20 2006, 07:39 PM)
The main reason is behind the looks..i like the satellite better IMO, and if i'm not mistaken, the specs of mine is better? correct me if i'm wrong?
TScyberkid
post Feb 15 2006, 08:37 PM

1,274 posts

Anybody using M40 P545 here?
Mind sharing experience?
monochrome
post Feb 15 2006, 08:45 PM

169 posts

i'm quite new here laugh.gif

any Tecra user here?
btw, i'm using Tecra S2

has anyone gone through the Warranty service process? how was it?
have u guys personally brought along your laptop to the service centre in Shah Alam? doh.gif
officeBoy
post Feb 15 2006, 10:23 PM

849 posts

hi, having limited budget with RM4000, what spec do you recommend for my budget ? and worth to get ...thank you smile.gif
williamngwl
post Feb 16 2006, 02:29 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Feb 15 2006, 10:23 PM)
hi, having limited budget with RM4000, what spec do you recommend for my budget ? and worth to get ...thank you smile.gif
my recommendation is japanese brand but is fujitsu,model s2110!!!!!!!

http://www.pc-ap.fujitsu.com/products/lb_s2110.html

at only rm3999!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
officeBoy
post Feb 16 2006, 08:19 AM

849 posts

hi, williamngwl, i get a notebook for programming work for mostly , so i need intel based n bigger TFT screen smile.gif
TScyberkid
post Feb 17 2006, 03:00 PM

1,274 posts

I feel tht my Harman Kardon is very soft, the sound simply break from time to time.. yawn.gif
Do i need service?
williamngwl
post Feb 17 2006, 04:17 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Feb 16 2006, 08:19 AM)
hi, williamngwl, i get a notebook for programming work for mostly , so i need intel based n bigger TFT screen smile.gif
get fujitsu lifebook c1321
Seng_Kiat
post Feb 17 2006, 10:12 PM

5,580 posts

toshiba dual core processor have not launch yet?? any news guys?
kcy3ssm
post Feb 17 2006, 10:31 PM

67 posts

Hello toshiba club,
Ive been using toshiba m30 for sometime now..and its been making this annoying stupid TARRRRRRRRRRRR TARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR fan noise......the thing is i got so much work to do with allt he assignements and all as im a student..i was wonderin if u guys can help me in reparin the fan...do u guys know of any good repair shop which can help me in repairin this thingy as fast as possible..like in few hours time replace the fan....

let me know about this...Preferably pm me please..

Thanks alot club members'....ciao
KeSToN
post Mar 2 2006, 11:20 AM

409 posts

i'm now on the verge of getting the duo core toshiba satellite A100-P540
price is rm4999
dealin w teledynamics penang
sean392
post Mar 2 2006, 12:43 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

yo guys, had 3 toshibas in my family use

one forgotten whats the model [sisters]
a portege A100 [sisters]
a satellite A50

can anyone like post the specs of satellite A100, the one with dual core? and its price
as well as m70-p546
specs n price

maybe changing my satellite a50 cuz its been fried....
SnoWFisH
post Mar 12 2006, 12:15 AM

2,250 posts

im also a toshiba user here, but ppc user..e330...so hard to find parts and customer support for it ><.
Tainted
post Mar 12 2006, 12:50 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

how's toshiba's quality?
after service support?
OniZuKa
post Mar 12 2006, 01:20 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 2 2006, 12:43 PM)
yo guys, had 3 toshibas in my family use

one forgotten whats the model [sisters]
a portege A100 [sisters]
a satellite A50
can anyone like post the specs of satellite A100, the one with dual core? and its price
as well as m70-p546
specs n price

maybe changing my satellite a50 cuz its been fried....
Satellite A100-P545
Intel Centrino Duo Mobile Technology
-Intel Core Duo Processor T2400 (1.83Ghz, 2MB L2 Cache, 667Mhz FSB)
-Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
-Intel 945PM Express Chipset
512MB DDR2 SDRAM/ 100GB SATA with shock absorber
DVD supermulti Double Layer Drive DVDRW
15.4" WXGA Clear SuperView TFT
ATI Mobility Radeon X1400 256mb Hyper Memory, ext 256mb vram
Harman Kardon speakers with SRS TruSurround Sound
intergrated Bluetooth v2.0, Gigabit Ethernet
5 in 1 car reader
ultra slim remote controller
Fingerprint sensor technology
Toshiba Dual Mode Pad with blue illuminate icons
Toshiba spill resistant keyboard
2.27kg weight
colour "sunlight copper chassis"
RM6999

Satellite A100-P540
Intel Centrino Duo mobile Technology
-Intel Core Duo Processor T2300 (1.66GHz, 2MB L2 Cache, 667MHz FSB)
-Intel 945GM Express Chipset
256MB DDR2 SDRAM, 80GB SATA
Intel Graphic Media Accelerator 950 up to 128MB shared VRAM
2.27kg weight
colour "Pearl White Chassis"
RM4999

jamezco
post Mar 12 2006, 01:27 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

hey yo ... got the price for M100-P345 ??? biggrin.gif

thx thx

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 12 2006, 01:28 AM
NieA_83
post Mar 12 2006, 10:26 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Mar 12 2006, 01:27 AM)
hey yo ... got the price for M100-P345 ??? biggrin.gif

thx thx
Yah, me too. Thanks!
Seng_Kiat
post Mar 12 2006, 11:01 AM

5,580 posts

i want toshiba core duo wif at leat 6800 or X1600 GPU .. is it possible currently?? which model and how much???
SnoWFisH
post Mar 12 2006, 03:40 PM

2,250 posts

i find their support quite bad....i called them and asked where i can download my drivers for my ppc and they told me that my model doesnt exist o.O
jamezco
post Mar 13 2006, 04:54 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

hey peps !!! juz got back from MV and found out the price for
M100-P345 ... it's RM5999 ... the dealers there very friendly, slowly explain bout the lappie... If ur looking for the booth ... just see the front entrance of IT World MV...

A100 is RM4999 if i am not mistaken ... (not sure)

i wanna add 1 year extra warrenty (local), add another 512RAM and change the casing from sunlight orange to blue which comes to a total of RM6700 ...

might consider M100-P345...

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 13 2006, 05:07 PM
NieA_83
post Mar 13 2006, 10:39 PM

280 posts

hi jamezco, can we really change the casing? Coz the sunlight orange too bright, blue is nicer. How much it cost?
Seng_Kiat
post Mar 13 2006, 11:39 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Mar 13 2006, 04:54 PM)
M100-P345 ... it's RM5999 ... the dealers there very friendly, slowly explain bout the lappie... If ur looking for the booth ... just see the front entrance of IT World MV...

i wanna add 1 year extra warrenty (local), add another 512RAM and change the casing from sunlight orange to blue which comes to a total of RM6700 ...

please post here da spec of lappy ..
project-o
post Mar 14 2006, 12:56 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

A100 is it the Satellite A100 with Centrino Duo ?

Seen the pics of the A100 looks like an A80 with rounded edges.
QUOTE(jamezco @ Mar 13 2006, 04:54 PM)

jamezco
post Mar 14 2006, 01:58 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(NieA_83 @ Mar 13 2006, 10:39 PM)
hi jamezco, can we really change the casing? Coz the sunlight orange too bright, blue is nicer. How much it cost?
Yes, you can change the casing from sunlight orange to blue wit addtional RM180 ... seriously ... the sunlight orange looks crappy... i myself cannot stand the color....

QUOTE(project-o @ Mar 14 2006, 12:56 AM)
A100 is it the Satellite A100 with Centrino Duo ?

Seen the pics of the A100 looks like an A80 with rounded edges.
yup it's centrino duo core....

I'm too lazy to post the specs ... pls check online at
http://www.pc.toshiba-asia.com
Seng_Kiat
post Mar 14 2006, 08:46 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 12 2006, 11:01 AM)
i want toshiba core duo wif at leat 6800 or X1600 GPU .. is it possible currently?? which model and how much???
nobody reply?? ..
znsennox
post Mar 14 2006, 01:50 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 12 2006, 11:01 AM)
dont have this spec yet lar
with that kind of graphic card
ur battery gonna dry fast

jamezco
post Mar 14 2006, 06:24 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm i think the Asus or Acer wit duo core got the X1600 display card only... actually the 512Ram it's 256Ram dedicated and another 256 is shared wit Ram rite?

Wrong Info on A100 ...

For A100 Low Spec = RM4999

A100 High Spec = RM6999

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 14 2006, 08:02 PM
monochrome
post Mar 16 2006, 10:51 PM

169 posts

hey guys,
this is the latest price of all Centrino Duo...hopefully available in all stores right now. biggrin.gif

SATELLITE
A100-P545 = RM6,999
A100-P540 = RM4,999

M100-P345 = RM5,999
M100-P340 = RM4,999

TECRA
A6-P3401 = RM6,999
M5-P2301 = RM7,999

for more info - http://pc.toshiba-asia.com/

personally, i prefer Tecra A6 than others but it's just kinda pricey. sweat.gif tongue.gif
as for the high range M100 & A100 come with the harmon kardon speakers with SRS TruSurround Sound.
i wonder how great is the enhancement that been built-in to the speakers. laugh.gif

P/S: is there anyone going to get any that listed above? doh.gif
project-o
post Mar 17 2006, 12:33 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

With my old Satellite 2410 the Harman Kardon speakers made a big difference compared the the "Crystal" speakers in my current Satellite A80. The ones in the Tecra 9100 even better.. can blast all the way to the limit and no breaking sound. Hopefully this new generation is just as good.
i wonder how great is the enhancement that been built-in to the speakers.  laugh.gif 

P/S: is there anyone going to get any that listed above?  doh.gif
Tainted
post Mar 17 2006, 12:57 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

wow.. Real good speakers.
jamezco
post Mar 17 2006, 01:16 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

I might get the M100 ... waiting for Uni confrimation then terus buy lappie...

YAY YAY !!!

now still pending Uni application.... sienzzz.....

erm.... actually it's already in stores btw ....

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 17 2006, 01:17 AM
rambolee
post Mar 28 2006, 05:09 PM

1,470 posts

toshiba in malaysia can be customize like dell?
jamezco
post Mar 28 2006, 05:29 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

I think the customize thingy only applies in States ...

Juz my 2 cents biggrin.gif
ksling
post Mar 28 2006, 06:56 PM

102 posts

how about M50 C341? it's with celeron M but with good specs. Any feedback?
rambolee
post Mar 29 2006, 10:19 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(ksling @ Mar 28 2006, 06:56 PM)
how about M50 C341? it's with celeron M but with good specs. Any feedback?
i had celeron once
and i will never buy it again smile.gif

rambolee
post Mar 29 2006, 10:44 AM

1,470 posts

US web just showing the new tecra A7, satelite M105 and A105
wondering the old spec will drop or not? tongue.gif
jamezco
post Mar 29 2006, 11:19 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

HAR ? so fast got M105 and A105 ??? I go see see ... thx for the heads up rambolee!!!
jamezco
post Mar 29 2006, 01:27 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

AIKS~!!!!! The M105 US version is like so lousy la ....

****Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950 with 8MB-128MB dynamically allocated shared graphics memory****

where as M100 is **ATI Radeon® X1300, 128MB Video RAM, 16x PCI Express**

if buy online we're still paying RM5k for it ... somemore plus shipping and stuff .... somemore the same processor wit Msia's M100 ...

weird ....

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 29 2006, 01:28 PM
rambolee
post Mar 29 2006, 01:45 PM

1,470 posts

yup
agree with u
quite lousy and cannot be customize
but A7 spec not bad tongue.gif
ksling
post Mar 29 2006, 06:09 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ Mar 29 2006, 10:19 AM)
i had celeron once
and i will never buy it again smile.gif
Is it from Toshiba? does Celeron give you problem?
rambolee
post Mar 30 2006, 08:36 AM

1,470 posts

not from toshiba
celeron never give me a problem
but the speed is damn slow

for a 2GHz celeron, i feel like it is only 1GHz
Yowzer
post Mar 30 2006, 01:18 PM

315 posts

No one got the M100-P345 yet? Looking for a review. It's a pity it has an all plastic body..
rambolee
post Mar 30 2006, 04:19 PM

1,470 posts

RM 6K
so expansive.....
jamezco
post Mar 30 2006, 04:54 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

YEAH MAN ... i getting mine this coming wednessday.... RM6300 + 512MB ram + 1GB pendrive .... biggrin.gif
Yowzer
post Mar 30 2006, 05:00 PM

315 posts

Make sure you do a review ya? Am sure we're all very keen..... perhaps could dispel the perception that new Toshibas are getting poor in build quality..
jamezco
post Mar 30 2006, 05:35 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm dont scare me la .... it better be good quality for the price i am paying man ...

later when i get the lappie ... typing half way then "pop" ... one of the letters of the keyboard came out ... tat time really dam funny d... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

so far i read other forums and the got a small review on M100 ... the problem is the light leakage from below the screen ....

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 30 2006, 05:37 PM
Yowzer
post Mar 31 2006, 08:43 AM

315 posts

Yup, read about the light leakage thing... Minor issue really but can be darn irritating.... Am still wondering whether the M100 is worth the money to pay for... Any comments on Toshiba's international warranty & after-sales service?

And does anyone know how the Ati x1300 & x1400 differ?
rambolee
post Mar 31 2006, 09:03 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Mar 30 2006, 04:54 PM)
YEAH MAN ... i getting mine this coming wednessday.... RM6300 + 512MB ram + 1GB pendrive .... biggrin.gif
what model are u getting?
and show us the details spec

QUOTE(Yowzer @ Mar 31 2006, 08:43 AM)
Yup, read about the light leakage thing... Minor issue really but can be darn irritating.... Am still wondering whether the M100 is worth the money to pay for... Any comments on Toshiba's international warranty & after-sales service?

And does anyone know how the Ati x1300 & x1400 differ?
X1300 with 128MB hyper memory
X1400 with 256MB
NekoRacing
post Apr 1 2006, 01:14 PM

325 posts

I need some help here, I been getting frequent BSODs lately concerning memory dump. Anyone knows what's happening?

Also, i need to know how do i use the recovery cd, can anyone teach me how to recover my laptop?

Weird thing is on the recovery cd it is written Express media player, is that a recovery cd for the media player or for windows?
alvincks
post Apr 1 2006, 03:14 PM

1,499 posts

hi, neko , i think when u geet the notebook , all cd is include , most important is recovery cd , and expres media player is an application that can watch movie by simply press a button which without need of booting to windows

recovery cd is simply to use, what u need is just make the boot from cdrom and recovery will start automatically

what do u means on "frequent BSODs lately concerning memory dump." ? is it blue screen ? if yes, then u need to change ram , kingston is the only certified ram for toshiba notebook ....hope it help
NekoRacing
post Apr 2 2006, 01:32 PM

325 posts

Yes, I been getting bluescreens so often. Kindly explain why i have to get change rams?

Will the warranty cover this?
project-o
post Apr 2 2006, 04:44 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

If the RAM is defective, yes the warranty does cover it. But if it is not the RAM problem or hardware problem then there is no coverage.
NekoRacing
post Apr 3 2006, 09:24 AM

325 posts

damnit, I am still getting the BSODs after a clean reformat.

How and why are the RAMs causing the BSODs?
Is this a known common problem in Toshiba notebook?
rambolee
post Apr 3 2006, 11:01 AM

1,470 posts

i seldom have BSOD
monochrome
post Apr 3 2006, 02:03 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Apr 3 2006, 09:24 AM)
damnit, I am still getting the BSODs after a clean reformat.

How and why are the RAMs causing the BSODs?
Is this a known common problem in Toshiba notebook?
try to write down the error msg that u see. Eg: stop 0X15E , memory dump files etc.
u can do a search in Google with the exact error code or search in http://support.microsoft.com

it may be unsigned hardware issues such as USB devices etc

This post has been edited by monochrome: Apr 3 2006, 02:19 PM
jamezco
post Apr 3 2006, 05:46 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ Mar 31 2006, 09:03 AM)
what model are u getting?
and show us the details spec
M100-P345

Intel Core Duo Processor T2300 (1.66GHz, 667MHz FSB, 2MB L2 Cache, 802.11a/b/g),
Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition,
512MB,
100GB SATA,
14.1" Clear SuperView TFT display,
DVD SuperMulti Double Layer Drive (DVD±RW/RAM),
ATI Radeon X1300 w/ 128MB dedicated VRAM,
5-in-1 card reader, IEEE 1394, Bluetooth V2.0(+EDR), harman/kardon speakers, Fingerprint reader, ultraslim remote controller, Sunlight Coppoer color, 2.26kg

This post has been edited by jamezco: Apr 3 2006, 05:46 PM
rambolee
post Apr 6 2006, 09:14 AM

1,470 posts

quite expansive with this setup
jamezco
post Apr 7 2006, 03:45 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

Yeah man ... the lappie is finally here .... so far so good ... but i feel the keyboard is a bit plastic ....

no light leakage problems found...

lappie latch is plastic but it's ok ...

Batt dont really last that long but can slow down the performance using the toshiba power saver... (so far only 2 and half hours)

more to come .... biggrin.gif
Guardian
post Apr 8 2006, 11:10 PM

819 posts

Err...Is it worthwhile to get L20-P440?Any comments/user for this notebook?Just asking behalf of my friend.BTW,his budget is around/below 4.5k.Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by Guardian: Apr 8 2006, 11:14 PM
monochrome
post Apr 9 2006, 02:55 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 3 2006, 05:46 PM)
M100-P345
i found another close-range model from SONY which offer relatively different specs.
pretty much my cup of tea sweat.gif

Sony Vaio VGN-FE15GP Core Duo [RM 5,988.00]
Mobile Centrino Core Duo 1.66hz, 2Mb cache, 533Mhz, 512Mb DDR2-RAM, 80Gb Hard Drive, 15.4" Wide display, NVIDIA® GeForce® Go 7400 with NVIDIA® TurboCacheT*3 video memory, DVD-Super Multi Drive, 56K Modem, 10/100 Ethernet, WiFi 802.11b, IEEE1394, Bluetooth, 2xUSB,Memory stick slot,1xPC Card Type I/II,RJ-11,RJ-45, 2.8Kg (approx.), 1 year warranty, Microsoft Windows XP Professional
monochrome
post Apr 9 2006, 03:13 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Apr 8 2006, 11:10 PM)
Err...Is it worthwhile to get L20-P440?Any comments/user for this notebook?Just asking behalf of my friend.BTW,his budget is around/below 4.5k.Thanks in advance.
sorry,i've no idea about the reputation of this series
but ur friend is definely spoilt for choice (for older models of coz) tongue.gif

monochrome
post Apr 9 2006, 03:31 PM

169 posts

Good pratices for laptop newbies

a) buy an extra usb keyboard & cooler pad

b) when u're using the AC adpater , always remove the 100% charged battery from the back (this may increase the life span of the battery)

c) leave a thin cloth on the wrist rest area if u're using the keyboard
(metallic/plastic wrist rest area may get obvious stains/scratches)

anymore suggestions?
hawk123
post Apr 10 2006, 02:11 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ Apr 9 2006, 03:31 PM)
Good pratices for laptop newbies

b) when u're using the AC adpater , always remove the 100% charged battery from the back (this may increase the life span of the battery)

It should be half-charged, not full charged for those laptop using Li-Ion battery.

The following is the quote from Notebook review forum:

Notebook battery conditioning for the long haul

Most people are familiar with battery "memory" which was known to be a possible problem with Ni-Cad. Li-Ion batteries used these days it's not so much of a problem. Some say to cycle the battery every month, cycling meaning to drain it completely and charge it to full with no interruptions. The problem was batteries developed a memory when not fully cycled to not use part of their capacity that wasn't drained. With Li-Ion battery packs, the memory isn't a problem and they do not need to be cycled and gain no benefit from it with some saying it hurts them more than it helps. It has been proven though that fully charged Li-Ion batteries in warm temps will lose their capacity over time faster. This isn't good for notebooks considering, when you're plugged in you're often @ 100% battery and the notebook is warm from usage. All you can really do is try to keep it cool for the best life of the battery. Keeping it cool may be just using it on a flat surface so it can breathe or using a notebook cooler to have it sit on. Reality is though, no matter what you do, Li-Ion batteries life expectancy is largely based on how old they are more than how much they were used. Many people feel they've degraded to the point of replacement within 2-3 years on most systems from my experience.

So, other than keeping it cool, you want to keep the contacts clean. You can clean the contacts using alcohol and a q-tip.

Notebook battery storage
Li-Ion batteries should be stored in a room temp or cool area neither at full charge or fully discharged. Around half charge has shown to be the best.

loserparadise
post Apr 12 2006, 12:12 PM

104 posts

hows the review for toshiba M100 - 345 ????
good ?
is it worth the price ???
NieA_83
post Apr 12 2006, 12:23 PM

280 posts

Yeah, bought my M100-P340 last week. Cant online coz of the streamyx problem. Not bad. Upgraded to 1GB RAM. But haven't fully using it coz exam for final is coming. Thanks to Bobby and Netto.

EDIT: Bobby, Jason there have no stock...haiz. But he's very nice guy. I bought it in House of Notebook and upgrade RAM at Jason place.

This post has been edited by NieA_83: Apr 12 2006, 12:26 PM
rambolee
post Apr 12 2006, 02:42 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(NieA_83 @ Apr 12 2006, 12:23 PM)
Yeah, bought my M100-P340 last week. Cant online coz of the streamyx problem. Not bad. Upgraded to 1GB RAM. But haven't fully using it coz exam for final is coming. Thanks to Bobby and Netto.

EDIT: Bobby, Jason there have no stock...haiz. But he's very nice guy. I bought it in House of Notebook and upgrade RAM at Jason place.
how much u bought?
NieA_83
post Apr 12 2006, 06:54 PM

280 posts

Bought it for RM 4850 without RAM upgrade.
NieA_83
post Apr 12 2006, 06:54 PM

280 posts

Hi guys, may I know where to get Mobile Mark software? Thanks!
NieA_83
post Apr 12 2006, 07:06 PM

280 posts

Hi guys, do you all upgrade your M100 driver and BIOS? It seems so many? Which one should we install? Coz bought it last week, so from the time the shop purchase from Toshiba, maybe need some update. Pls advice, thanks!

EDIT: All the updates start from 24 March 2006
ManDontCry
post Apr 12 2006, 09:44 PM

201 posts

M100 -340 with upgrade ram to 1G how much ???
NieA_83
post Apr 12 2006, 09:52 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ Apr 12 2006, 09:44 PM)
M100 -340 with upgrade ram to 1G how much ???
I trade in 256MB to Jason and purchase 1GB for RM 450. So I have one more slot to go. Maybe buying another 1GB or 512MB. 512MB is around RM250.
ManDontCry
post Apr 13 2006, 12:55 AM

201 posts

Thanks for the valueable info ........
Anyway hows toshiba customer support ???
jamezco
post Apr 13 2006, 02:34 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

are you sure tat 512MB is Rm250 ???

i got mine for RM480 man ....

urs KTT or KVR ?
NieA_83
post Apr 13 2006, 07:56 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ Apr 13 2006, 12:55 AM)
Thanks for the valueable info ........
Anyway hows toshiba customer support ???
Haven't try out. But I checked the support web, it seems they update the driver fast. Last nite they had this BIOS v1.50 out, but I dont know whether to update or not.

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 13 2006, 02:34 AM)
are you sure tat 512MB is Rm250 ???

i got mine for RM480 man ....

urs KTT or KVR ?
Mine is KTT. Yep, 512MB is for RM250, still can bargain a bit. He give me RM230. Coz I bought 1GB from him before. 256MB is for RM180. Go to Aggresive Tech, find Jason...he's very nice guy. Actually the performance the same, but KTT is certified by Toshiba, pls correct me if wrong. Jason changed the RAM that on the top, which require us to dismantle the keyboard. He does that coz its very difficult for us to upgrade the RAM ownself. So he left the easy one for me to upgrade next time, I mean the below one. He also help me to set my lappy even though I didn't bought from him. He said the guy from House of Notebook haven't help me to set anything, make the machine faster & software. Hope this will help. blush.gif
rambolee
post Apr 13 2006, 09:33 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(NieA_83 @ Apr 13 2006, 07:56 AM)
Haven't try out. But I checked the support web, it seems they update the driver fast. Last nite they had this BIOS v1.50 out, but I dont know whether to update or not.
Mine is KTT. Yep, 512MB is for RM250, still can bargain a bit. He give me RM230. Coz I bought 1GB from him before. 256MB is for RM180. Go to Aggresive Tech, find Jason...he's very nice guy. Actually the performance the same, but KTT is certified by Toshiba, pls correct me if wrong. Jason changed the RAM that on the top, which require us to dismantle the keyboard. He does that coz its very difficult for us to upgrade the RAM ownself. So he left the easy one for me to upgrade next time, I mean the below one. He also help me to set my lappy even though I didn't bought from him. He said the guy from House of Notebook haven't help me to set anything, make the machine faster & software. Hope this will help.  blush.gif
i thought u only need to remove the backcover for changing ram
not dismantle the keyboaRD?
NieA_83
post Apr 13 2006, 10:04 AM

280 posts

For my model, got two slot at two side, one is below and one is behind the keyboard. I also suprise when he first took it out. He said he left the one with backcover for me to upgrade later, its more easier than dismantle the keyboard. Make sure when you upgrade your RAM from authorize dealer, ask them to put in the behind keyboard first. If not, very hassle to open yourself. Hope this help.
ManDontCry
post Apr 13 2006, 05:17 PM

201 posts

nice advice ........

rambolee
post Apr 13 2006, 05:58 PM

1,470 posts

wow, good info...thanks
this apply for which model?
Voonz
post Apr 13 2006, 06:00 PM

701 posts

hey guys, i just got a toshiba stellite pro M70 for 3500.
is that worth it?
i couldn't find th eprice for this model on lowayt
rambolee
post Apr 13 2006, 06:05 PM

1,470 posts

should be quite good
what's ur spec?
alvincks
post Apr 14 2006, 12:19 AM

1,499 posts

M70 is selling rm4500 is not mistaken ...i'm using it ...i like it so much smile.gif
rambolee
post Apr 14 2006, 09:45 AM

1,470 posts

wow
he got it for Rm3500
1k cheaper
pasqualle
post Apr 14 2006, 02:46 PM

120 posts

wah....
i got my m70 for rm4250 leh
juz last week...
wah ..urs 3500 really cheap leh..

Voonz
post Apr 14 2006, 07:19 PM

701 posts

hahha mine got no warranty one mah. if u know what i mean lar tongue.gif tongue.gif

my spec is
intel centrino 1.7gh 795mhz
512mb ram
80 gig
the lcd screen is kinda shiny one. diffrent from other lappies
alvincks
post Apr 14 2006, 09:35 PM

1,499 posts

oh .......no warantee ....then not worth la ....in case anything happen , u bear more cost
jamezco
post Apr 14 2006, 11:59 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

wtf ???? why my 512MB is 480 ??? i got ripped off ???? omfg ....

bro ... you trade in ur 256 for a 512 izzit ? dont scare me la ...

This post has been edited by jamezco: Apr 15 2006, 12:01 AM
ManDontCry
post Apr 15 2006, 12:29 AM

201 posts

Got MY M100 - p345 today !!!!
Yeah !!!!!
he he hehe
PC fair price is that GREAT man
just bought it from there
jamezco
post Apr 15 2006, 12:38 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

how much how much
NieA_83
post Apr 15 2006, 12:42 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 14 2006, 11:59 PM)
wtf ???? why my 512MB is 480 ??? i got ripped off ???? omfg ....

bro ... you trade in ur 256 for a 512 izzit ? dont scare me la ...
Ru referring to mine reply? If yes, ya I trade 256MB for 1GB. The original price for 1GB is RM500++, then minus 256MB become RM450. 512MB is only for RM 240. Go and ask for Jason.
jamezco
post Apr 15 2006, 01:15 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm ... are u sure its KTT ? .... impossible so cheap la ... coz i checked everywhere d ....
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 01:40 AM

387 posts

tell u guys, my fren bought m100 p345 with 5660
including free gift 1gb pendrive and upgrade to 512mb ram
is it cheap?
ManDontCry
post Apr 15 2006, 02:12 AM

201 posts

huh ???
upgrade to 512 ram ???
it is already 512 ram man
where he bought
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 02:26 AM

387 posts

ahha,sorry,is upgrade to 1gb
typo error
jamezco
post Apr 15 2006, 03:02 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

wah lan eh .... dam cheap man !!!!! i got it for 6300 ... wtf the price diff so big ... where he got it ?
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 03:16 AM

387 posts

pcfair toshiba selling booth, find it out
ManDontCry
post Apr 15 2006, 03:18 AM

201 posts

i dont think so
i ask every shop also never give such price .....
He con you la

keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 03:19 AM

387 posts

i think he buy not in pcfair
because in pcfair catalog quoted 5999..
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 03:21 AM

387 posts

my friend still play arond the finger print recognition of toshiba
and the left fan is blowing hoti
Raven_lee
post Apr 15 2006, 09:16 AM

310 posts

Hi Jamez, i'll check with Jason again.
jamezco
post Apr 15 2006, 11:40 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

yah the fan on the left is hot ... so for people who are using the mouse on the left hand side have to put the hand further a bit ....

maybe the 5660 is the display unit ???? but its totally impossible to get such a cheap price coz the M100 juz launched leh ...
ManDontCry
post Apr 15 2006, 02:55 PM

201 posts

HE must be lying ......
Just tell a random price .......
NieA_83
post Apr 15 2006, 04:19 PM

280 posts

Why so cheap? If know early, better wait...haiz. Wonder if PC Fair price is so much difference.
ManDontCry
post Apr 15 2006, 05:07 PM

201 posts

Some ppl just like to say my friend bought at bla bla bla price .........
Super ridiculous low price ........
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 09:11 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 15 2006, 11:40 AM)
yah the fan on the left is hot ... so for people who are using the mouse on the left hand side have to put the hand further a bit ....

maybe the 5660 is the display unit ???? but its totally impossible to get such a cheap price coz the M100 juz launched leh ...
no,is new box unit
it's really cheap,i also can't believe,with price tag 5999 we can get 5660
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 09:13 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ Apr 15 2006, 02:55 PM)
HE must be lying ......
Just tell a random price .......
why i tell to u all that the real price to get this unit
i just hope all of u can get good bargain in pcfair
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 09:15 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(NieA_83 @ Apr 15 2006, 04:19 PM)
Why so cheap? If know early, better wait...haiz. Wonder if PC Fair price is so much difference.
if u wait pcfair to buy notebook
normally can get a prish slash about rm300
either for cash discount or free gift
of course this condition doesn't apply to those model which has marginal profit
best value etc.
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 09:17 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ Apr 15 2006, 05:07 PM)
Some ppl just like to say my friend bought at bla bla bla price .........
Super ridiculous low price ........
ManDontCry,what is the price u get for this model...
keni988
post Apr 15 2006, 09:19 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(keni988 @ Apr 15 2006, 03:19 AM)
i think he buy not in pcfair
because in pcfair catalog quoted 5999..
i think i give wrong meaning to ManDontCry
'he' here is jamezco
my fren is buy in pcfair
jamezco
post Apr 16 2006, 12:17 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

then if really can get 5660 then i guess its really worth it liao leh .... sad.gif
ManDontCry
post Apr 16 2006, 01:34 AM

201 posts

Yeah Its really cheap ....
I tried asking around in Pc fair ....
All selling RM5999....
Got mine at that price
rambolee
post Apr 17 2006, 12:45 PM

1,470 posts

PCfair cheapest offer was around 5700
ManDontCry
post Apr 17 2006, 05:37 PM

201 posts

man got it expensive man ......
Anyway ...
the Toshiba customer support in glenmarie was terrific !!!!
jamezco
post Apr 17 2006, 06:24 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

walau ... 5700 .... i rugi 100 bucks man ... crapness !
rambolee
post Apr 18 2006, 09:33 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 17 2006, 06:24 PM)
walau ... 5700 .... i rugi 100 bucks man ... crapness !
yeah
but i ddint buy
coz the free gift are craps tongue.gif

snowman
post Apr 18 2006, 05:43 PM

Im the 1 who get the price at rm 5660.
Im keni988's friend,
haha.....i get the cheapest price.
wakaka
rambolee
post Apr 18 2006, 05:50 PM

1,470 posts

Rm5660..i rather get toshiba smile.gif

jamezco
post Apr 18 2006, 07:16 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

.... Rambolee ... he did get toshiba la .... lolz ... snowman ... wat model is ur toshi ?
loserparadise
post Apr 18 2006, 11:33 PM

104 posts

anyone dissatisfied with their toshiba
cause i have a keyboard problem
the (") this has some problem ....
anyway
anyone could recommend me nice head phones
jamezco
post Apr 19 2006, 12:41 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

""""""" got no problem wit the (") button ... but i juz bought the microsoft keyboard wit optical mouse for RM59 from pc fair ... biggrin.gif quite nice to use though
cstan
post Apr 19 2006, 01:39 AM

17 posts

isnt still can get the price (Rm5666) at lawyat now for the tosibha laptop(M100)?

i plan to get it, but it quite expensixe...still in consideration.
rambolee
post Apr 19 2006, 10:21 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cstan @ Apr 19 2006, 01:39 AM)
isnt still can get the price (Rm5666) at lawyat now for the tosibha laptop(M100)?

i plan to get it, but it quite expensixe...still in consideration.
got free gift?
jamezco
post Apr 19 2006, 03:29 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

omg ... RM5999 become Rm5666 ...... lucky i got it for RM5800 ... if not really bang wall
keni988
post Apr 19 2006, 04:14 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 19 2006, 03:29 PM)
omg ... RM5999 become Rm5666 ...... lucky i got it for RM5800 ... if not really bang wall
no more such price could offer anymore
people's question statement u interpret it become true statement? sweat.gif
keni988
post Apr 19 2006, 04:16 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ Apr 19 2006, 10:21 AM)
got free gift?
people asking us shakehead.gif
normally no free gift like those upgrade ram and pendrive more
but if the dealer in lowyat want do your business
maybe they will offer
rambolee
post Apr 19 2006, 04:47 PM

1,470 posts

those freegift worth Rm1800 smile.gif
although most of it are software (which i dont need)
that's the reason i didnt choose toshiba at the end of pc fair

keni988
post Apr 19 2006, 05:05 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ Apr 19 2006, 04:47 PM)
those freegift worth Rm1800 smile.gif
although most of it are software (which i dont need)
that's the reason i didnt choose toshiba at the end of pc fair
don't count on those software
what u get is 512mb stick ram,1gb pendrive, and extra one year international warranty only
toshiba also rebranded notebook
snowman
post Apr 19 2006, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 18 2006, 07:16 PM)
.... Rambolee ... he did get toshiba la .... lolz ... snowman ... wat model is ur toshi ?
mine 1 is m100 p345.
im really get it at the price of rm5660
rambolee
post Apr 19 2006, 05:40 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(keni988 @ Apr 19 2006, 05:05 PM)
don't count on those software
what u get is 512mb stick ram,1gb pendrive, and extra one year international warranty only
toshiba also rebranded notebook
so those worth like? RM600-800?
keni988
post Apr 19 2006, 07:06 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ Apr 19 2006, 05:40 PM)
so those worth like? RM600-800?
ya,you are right
but free gift although is free
the things only value to us if we need that

give us those antivirus software cost hundreds which is not valuable is useless
and just a marketing technique

that's strategic on selling notebook,free mouse,free bag
actually those goodies are come from manufacturer not the retailer
free earphone and mic(made in china) is useless as most of the notebook has built in mic
jamezco
post Apr 19 2006, 08:22 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

nolah ... M100 got no build in mic .... hehehe ... wah lau ... get for 5660 ... dam tai la ...
cstan
post Apr 21 2006, 12:28 PM

17 posts

what are the price of M100 model now?(Rm5999)

what free gift will get?

free upgrade to 1G ram?

if i pay cash, then isnt will cheap a little bit?
rambolee
post Apr 21 2006, 01:20 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cstan @ Apr 21 2006, 12:28 PM)
what are the price of M100 model now?(Rm5999)

what free gift will get?

free upgrade to 1G ram?

if i pay cash, then isnt will cheap a little bit?
it really depends on the dealer
i think freegift only for pc fair
after pc fair may not be as many as it was

cstan
post Apr 21 2006, 02:31 PM

17 posts

which shop at lowyat that u all buy the toshiba laptop(M100)?
Seng_Kiat
post Apr 21 2006, 05:44 PM

5,580 posts

guys,

do u know the price of Toshiba A100 in lowyat plaza with this spec:

Satellite A100-P545
( Model No.: PSAA9L-00Q00C )

Intel® Centrino® Duo Mobile Technology
- Intel® Core(tm) Duo Processor T2400
(1.83GHz, 2MB L2 Cache, 667MHz FSB)
- Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection 802.11a/b/g
- Intel® 945PM Express Chipset
Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition
512MB DDR2 SDRAM
100GB Serial-ATA HDD with shock absorber
* ATI Mobility(tm) Radeon® X1400 256MB Hypermemory(tm), ext. 256MB VRAM
Integrated Bluetooth(tm) V2.0, Gigabit Ethernet
* Ultra Slim Remote Control
* Fingerprint sensore technology (Single Sign-On support)
2.72kg with Sunlight copper chassis

europology
post Apr 22 2006, 03:07 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

any rich man getting the latest Qosmio here? brows.gif

This post has been edited by europology: Apr 22 2006, 03:08 PM
jamezco
post Apr 22 2006, 05:23 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

walau Qosmio is like super chun man !!!!! 12.999k ... can die ...
allvin
post Apr 22 2006, 06:25 PM

4,506 posts

It superb "cheap" in other words laugh.gif
Seng_Kiat
post Apr 22 2006, 07:13 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Apr 21 2006, 05:44 PM)
guys,

do u know the price of Toshiba A100 in lowyat plaza with this spec:

Satellite A100-P545
( Model No.: PSAA9L-00Q00C )

Intel® Centrino® Duo Mobile Technology
      - Intel® Core(tm) Duo Processor T2400
        (1.83GHz, 2MB L2 Cache, 667MHz FSB)
      - Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection 802.11a/b/g
      - Intel® 945PM Express Chipset
      512MB DDR2 SDRAM
      100GB Serial-ATA HDD with shock absorber
    * ATI Mobility(tm) Radeon® X1400 256MB Hypermemory(tm), ext. 256MB VRAM
      Integrated Bluetooth(tm) V2.0, Gigabit Ethernet
    * Ultra Slim Remote Control
    * Fingerprint sensore technology (Single Sign-On support)
      2.72kg with Sunlight copper chassis
no body answer me .. sad.gif .. i want to know the price of Toshiba satellite A100-P545 .. the default price is RM6999 ..
jamezco
post Apr 22 2006, 07:14 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

lol .... i juz got my PS2/USB converter and able to hook up my new logitech keyboard from pc fair ... but then now realised like the screen too far from me la ... so hard to see ... haih .... now lacking 1 cooler pad ...

yesterday went to my friend's house and saw his cooler pad dam chun man ... CoolMaster .... wuu huuu ... thinking of getting 1 already ... biggrin.gif
junkieG
post Apr 23 2006, 03:18 AM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

i wanna buy M100 tomorrow at lowyat...

so whut the curent best price? i want 1gb ram wiff it...how much? and most important, which shop

pls guide me
Seng_Kiat
post Apr 23 2006, 09:47 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Apr 23 2006, 03:18 AM)

so whut the curent best price? i want 1gb ram wiff it...how much? and most important, which shop

pls guide me
from the pc fair, spec is:

Duo core T2300 (1.66)
512MB RAM (free upgrade from 256mb)
2 Year warranty (free upgrade from 1 year)
ATI X1300 128mb
60GB HDD

PRICE: RM4999

junkieG, can u ask the price for A100 (1.86, finger print, X1400 GPU, 1GB RAM) for me?? Really appreciate it ..
junkieG
post Apr 23 2006, 10:34 AM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

alright! smile.gif

np
Seng_Kiat
post Apr 23 2006, 12:12 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Apr 23 2006, 10:34 AM)
alright! smile.gif

np
wokey ... tq bro .. waiting for your news .. smile.gif ..
cstan
post Apr 23 2006, 12:57 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Apr 23 2006, 03:18 AM)

pls guide me
after u buy, ple tell me the price, which shop u had buy the laptop,
n what ever related to the laptop u had face n get.....

thanks..

going to buy this model soon...
Seng_Kiat
post Apr 23 2006, 02:23 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(cstan @ Apr 23 2006, 12:57 PM)
after u buy, ple tell me the price, which shop u had buy the laptop,
n what ever related to the laptop u had face n get.....

thanks..

going to buy this model soon...
yup .. try to ask the seller la if u can get any benefit by introducing us to them ... u will get commission .. haha .. tongue.gif ..
madstone
post Apr 23 2006, 03:17 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Seng Kiat
have u check this out?
got PDF format brochures too

u can even ask them to send an quotation

Teledynamics

seriously, Satelite M100 models kick a** and damn cool!

This post has been edited by madstone: Apr 23 2006, 03:18 PM
Seng_Kiat
post Apr 23 2006, 11:12 PM

5,580 posts

yup yup .. juz finish fill da form .. biggrin.gif ..
rambolee
post Apr 24 2006, 08:32 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Apr 23 2006, 11:12 PM)
yup yup .. juz finish fill da form .. biggrin.gif ..
hehehe
RM5999 tongue.gif

Yowzer
post Apr 24 2006, 08:41 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 22 2006, 07:14 PM)
lol .... i juz got my PS2/USB converter and able to hook up my new logitech keyboard from pc fair ... but then now realised like the screen too far from me la ... so hard to see ... haih .... now lacking 1 cooler pad ...

yesterday went to my friend's house and saw his cooler pad dam chun man ... CoolMaster .... wuu huuu ... thinking of getting 1 already ... biggrin.gif
Saw one like that as well, a whole piece of aluminium I think... price was RM179... KL probably cheaper. Darn cooler can fit a 17" or larger... ouch.

And yeah... the M100 looks good... Just too too too $$$$$.... cry.gif else it would have been first choice...

This post has been edited by Yowzer: Apr 24 2006, 08:43 AM
jamezco
post Apr 24 2006, 09:37 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

haih .... hey guys ... i saw the Cooler Master quite nice also but dam ex la .... is it ok ? anyone using it ???

Seng_Kiat ... what do u mean by filling in the form ? wat form is tat ? fill already can get discounts ???
madstone
post Apr 24 2006, 10:10 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Toshiba M100 P545 cool man!
damn! but the price wa-lahh
rambolee
post Apr 24 2006, 01:00 PM

1,470 posts

hahah..with the same price
can configure a pretty good dell spec
ex5cheong
post May 1 2006, 10:04 PM

352 posts

hello, me is new laptop user here, *planning to get one soon(Tecra A5)
anyone tested this model b4? me at singapore now, going LYP to get this model laptop, dunno selling how much at LYP, anyone know ? pls kindly let me know T_T. is tecra A5 ok ?

spec is :
Centrino 1.86MHz Core(M) Duo,
512MB DDR2,
60GB HDD,
Combo drive,
in-build Bluetooth,
Wifi b/g,
14' WXGA,
WinXP Pro,
3 years Int Warranty

This post has been edited by ex5cheong: May 1 2006, 10:05 PM
post May 2 2006, 01:10 AM

Henshin
2,157 posts

QUOTE(ex5cheong @ May 1 2006, 10:04 PM)
anyone tested this model b4? me at singapore now, going LYP to get this model laptop, dunno selling how much at LYP, anyone know ? pls kindly let me know T_T. is tecra A5 ok ?

spec is :
512MB DDR2,
60GB HDD,
Combo drive,
in-build Bluetooth,
Wifi b/g,
14' WXGA,
WinXP Pro,
3 years Int Warranty
tecra A5 is not Core Duo specs, Tecra M5 is. wink.gif

ex5cheong
post May 2 2006, 08:28 AM

352 posts

i been told is running Core Duo 750 wor ? T_T
are u confirm is single core only ?
ManDontCry
post May 2 2006, 09:32 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(ex5cheong @ May 1 2006, 10:04 PM)

spec is :
512MB DDR2,
60GB HDD,
Combo drive,
in-build Bluetooth,
Wifi b/g,
14' WXGA,
WinXP Pro,
3 years Int Warranty
nice proc man .... thumbup.gif
WinXP pro with 3 years warranty ....
cool ..... !!!!
but not a gaming Lappie doh.gif
rambolee
post May 2 2006, 10:57 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(ex5cheong @ May 2 2006, 08:28 AM)
750? what's that
project-o
post May 2 2006, 11:21 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Toshiba hardly seems to come up with gaming or really high performance lappies unlike Acer or Dell.
QUOTE(ManDontCry @ May 2 2006, 09:32 AM)
nice proc man .... thumbup.gif
WinXP pro with 3 years warranty ....
cool ..... !!!!
but not a gaming Lappie  doh.gif
This post has been edited by project-o: May 2 2006, 11:23 AM
rambolee
post May 2 2006, 11:22 AM

1,470 posts

they have gaming laptop but not selling in msia lah
project-o
post May 2 2006, 11:24 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Wonder if they are coming up with a Dual Core Qosmio ? That would be interesting thumbup.gif
SUSheadache
post May 2 2006, 11:41 AM

282 posts

There are Qosmios with dual cores already. Qosmio G35s but a more powerful Toshiba Gaming rig is Satellite P105 with Nvidia 7900.
rambolee
post May 2 2006, 11:47 AM

1,470 posts

Qosmio very expansive sad.gif

SUSheadache
post May 2 2006, 12:32 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ May 2 2006, 11:47 AM)
Qosmio very expansive sad.gif
Yes, it seems that the G30 which is destined for Malaysia will be very expensive. It's extremely heavy as well at 4.6kg!
monochrome
post May 2 2006, 01:08 PM

169 posts

A5 with 750 is the older Pentium M

TECRA Core Duo
A6-P3401 = RM6,999
M5-P2301 = RM7,999

info - http://pc.toshiba-asia.com/
rambolee
post May 2 2006, 01:34 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(headache @ May 2 2006, 12:32 PM)
Yes, it seems that the G30 which is destined for Malaysia will be very expensive. It's extremely heavy as well at 4.6kg!
yup
and bulky !
ManDontCry
post May 2 2006, 02:36 PM

201 posts

if find Qosmio quite dumb ......
Lappie is suppose to be mobile
The size and weight shows its not a lappie any more ...
The price is also ridiculous
rambolee
post May 2 2006, 03:40 PM

1,470 posts

wonder who will buy it
SUSheadache
post May 2 2006, 05:11 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ May 2 2006, 02:36 PM)
if find Qosmio quite dumb ......
Lappie is suppose to be mobile
The size and weight shows its not a lappie any more ...
The price is also ridiculous
Try and read this. Mobile Home Entertainment.

Next, they'll put a game console somewhere in it.
rambolee
post May 2 2006, 05:23 PM

1,470 posts

worth the money if u need ALL the function of qosmio
SUSheadache
post May 2 2006, 05:25 PM

282 posts

Toshiba Tecra A7
Core(tm) Duo T2400 1.83GHz
80GB
512MB
15.4" Trubrite(tm) WXGA
DVD-RW
WiFi
BlueTooth
Win XP Pro
2.7kg

RM$6599.00

Toshiba Tecra A6
Core(tm) Duo T2400 1.83GHz
80GB
512MB
14.1" Trubrite(tm) WXGA
DVD-RW
WiFi
BlueTooth
Win XP Pro
2.26kg

RM$6599.00

ManDontCry
post May 2 2006, 05:55 PM

201 posts

wow damn expesive man .........
still prepfer my M100 P345 ....
so happy with it ....
Ha ha ha
no regrets ....
SUSheadache
post May 2 2006, 06:47 PM

282 posts

M8, yours is 1.66. The Tecras are 1.83 GHz.

Furthermore Satellite is geared towards the home user where as the Tecras are for the travelling business users (more robust).

Anyway, yours is a good choice for gaming etc. A well balanced lappie.

This post has been edited by headache: May 2 2006, 06:48 PM
ManDontCry
post May 2 2006, 06:52 PM

201 posts

Thanks man ...
Just a bit not so happy with 1.66 duo core ...
but the 1.83 model A100 i think is a bit too big for me ....
ha ha ha ....

Would like to ask about the batt life
Anyone having the same model as mine ???
Whats your battery life ???

This post has been edited by ManDontCry: May 2 2006, 07:04 PM
SUSheadache
post May 2 2006, 08:05 PM

282 posts

Turion 64 X2 is scheduled to come out May 9th (I think). Expect Duo Core prices to tumble.

Ekekeke.

Official Toshiba documentation, battery life for :-
M100-P345 is 2.0 hrs,
Tecra A6 is 3.2 hrs,
Tecra A7 is 3.5 hrs.
ManDontCry
post May 2 2006, 09:28 PM

201 posts

thanks for the info on the batt life man ..........
jamezco
post May 2 2006, 09:48 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

i manage to squeeze 2.5 hour for mine ... biggrin.gif
project-o
post May 2 2006, 11:07 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

From my experience Toshibas are not really known for their battery life compared to the Lenovo/IBM. They seem to have relatively short battery life.
SUSheadache
post May 2 2006, 11:50 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ May 2 2006, 11:07 PM)
From my experience Toshibas are not really known for their battery life compared to the Lenovo/IBM. They seem to have relatively short battery life.
Huh, have you not heard of Portege R200 and M400 with 5 hour battery life just on 6-cell and Tecra M5 up to 7½ hours with 12 cell battery?

You should compare Thinkpads to equivalent business notebook. That is why Toshiba business notebooks are more expensive than Satellites.
rambolee
post May 3 2006, 09:06 AM

1,470 posts

y m100 only 2 hours?
ManDontCry
post May 3 2006, 09:12 AM

201 posts

ya my m100 has not a very good batt life too
rambolee
post May 3 2006, 10:14 AM

1,470 posts

lol
no wonder toshiba want to develop fuel cell
ManDontCry
post May 3 2006, 10:33 AM

201 posts

Fuel cell life span is remarkable ....
But its explosive .....
lol ....

This post has been edited by ManDontCry: May 3 2006, 10:33 AM
rambolee
post May 3 2006, 10:49 AM

1,470 posts

lol
they will find a way to counter it
ManDontCry
post May 3 2006, 11:11 AM

201 posts

Anyone mind posing their 3Dmark scores here ....

If not mistaken my M100 scores 4k plus for 3dMark03
rambolee
post May 3 2006, 11:35 AM

1,470 posts

mine only 2k for 3dmark05

SUSheadache
post May 3 2006, 12:17 PM

282 posts

Well HP has just released this ultra-capacity battery for the NX9420 and business series. Battery life is 14 hours! Read here and weep.

Ekekeke!

This post has been edited by headache: May 3 2006, 12:35 PM
SUSheadache
post May 3 2006, 12:31 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ May 3 2006, 09:06 AM)
y m100 only 2 hours?
Yours is with ATI card right? Naturally it uses more energy and furthermore business use is not as power consuming as home/entertainment/game use.

You need to take into account LCD size and type (brightness etc.). Business notebooks are geared towards longer usage without a power socket.

Get the 9 cell battery for your M100.
SUSheadache
post May 3 2006, 02:06 PM

282 posts

Oops wrong topic! doh.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by headache: May 3 2006, 02:07 PM
ManDontCry
post May 3 2006, 02:55 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ May 3 2006, 11:35 AM)
mine only 2k for 3dmark05
What model are you using by the way ???
rambolee
post May 3 2006, 03:05 PM

1,470 posts

dell inspiron 6400 with ATi x1400
ManDontCry
post May 3 2006, 03:22 PM

201 posts

cool .... !!!
have you tried 3Dmark 03 ???
project-o
post May 3 2006, 06:41 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Have heard... but have you tested one before ? Friend and I tested the Tecra M5... even with much adjustment the max we got was a bit over 3 hrs.

Thinkpad there is the R series eg. R 51e which is in the same price range as the Satellite.
QUOTE(headache @ May 2 2006, 11:50 PM)
Huh, have you not heard of Portege R200 and M400 with 5 hour battery life just on 6-cell and Tecra M5 up to 7½ hours with 12 cell battery?

You should compare Thinkpads to equivalent business notebook. That is why Toshiba business notebooks are more expensive than Satellites.
SUSheadache
post May 3 2006, 07:58 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ May 3 2006, 06:41 PM)
Have heard... but have you tested one before ? Friend and I tested the Tecra M5... even with much adjustment the max we got was a bit over 3 hrs.

Thinkpad there is the R series eg. R 51e which is in the same price range as the Satellite.
Which M5? The Tecra M5 we sell have Quadro plus 12 cell battery.

IBM/Lenovo is clever by putting 8/9 cell battery in their Thinkpads where as Satellite and Tecra normally sold only with 6 cell (3½-4 hours) to save cost. Use Toshiba 12 cell into M5 and try to compare. NVM, put a 12 cell battery into Satellite and compare with your Thinkpad.

M5s after all use Quadro (eat a lot of power). R50's integrated intel or x300 does not use as much power.

jamezco
post May 4 2006, 12:25 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

M100 wit the 6 cell's weight is bad enough ... change to 9 cell ... like carrying bricks only ... lolz

normally when i go out i also lazy to bring the adapter along ... coz the adapter also quite heavy ....

i would put M100 in the desktop replacement category ... not portable category ...

and the amount of heat generated when u put on ur lap is enormous ... (dont know how to spell)

i tried putting it on my lap when i was waiting for a friend in my car ... put on my lap for like 15 minutes also i can feel my lap burning already ...
SUSheadache
post May 4 2006, 12:44 AM

282 posts

More heat means more power consumption. That is why they are called personal/home notebooks. Tecras are not so hot and lasts longer too but more expensive.

To put on your lap buy a business laptop like the Portege and I'll give you a super duper deal. rclxms.gif

6 cell battery lasts 5 hours and only 1.22kg. thumbup.gif
rambolee
post May 4 2006, 08:57 AM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ May 3 2006, 03:22 PM)
cool .... !!!
have you tried 3Dmark 03 ???
nope
not needed?
NieA_83
post May 5 2006, 12:27 AM

280 posts

Hi Jamezco, may I know what setting you use for Toshiba Virtual Sound? Confused about the settings? Thanks!
ManDontCry
post May 5 2006, 10:43 AM

201 posts

The is a help section to teach you what every setting means ..........

rambolee
post May 5 2006, 11:00 AM

1,470 posts

mayb he is confused even after reading help
jamezco
post May 5 2006, 02:18 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm.... i juz leave the settings to default coz i dont really understand the virtual settings also ... change it also the sound also diffrent... so juz leave it at default .... biggrin.gif
ManDontCry
post May 5 2006, 04:45 PM

201 posts

Can anyone post some pics of their toshy ?
To make this post more interesting .......

NieA_83
post May 5 2006, 09:18 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(rambolee @ May 5 2006, 11:00 AM)
mayb he is confused even after reading help
tongue.gif blush.gif Yeah, ur right. But I tried some settings just dont know which one is better for music? Is it HDWOW or the below ones?
ManDontCry
post May 5 2006, 09:22 PM

201 posts

come and post the pics of your lappies
jamezco
post May 6 2006, 01:14 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

My Toshi .... biggrin.gif
ManDontCry
post May 6 2006, 09:38 AM

201 posts

nice !!!! same model as mine ha ha ha ha ha
so far any complains ????
jamezco
post May 6 2006, 02:52 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

batt life sucks .... tat's all biggrin.gif
ManDontCry
post May 6 2006, 06:10 PM

201 posts

same here ...
the specs really drain the batt a lot .........
project-o
post May 6 2006, 10:39 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Nice notebook man !! thumbup.gif Battery life...as expected from Toshiba... they don't really make battery life the priority. How's the performance ?
QUOTE(jamezco @ May 6 2006, 01:14 AM)

My Toshi .... biggrin.gif
jamezco
post May 7 2006, 04:35 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

performance is good ... screen is good (lose to sony) ... biggrin.gif ...

so far is the heat which is coming out the vents and on the palm rest ... can get quite hot sometimes .... that's why i am using external keyboard ...
ManDontCry
post May 7 2006, 09:11 PM

201 posts

I love my M100 too ....
Quite satisfied with it ....
Just the plastic casing .....
OVERALL Toshiba is GREAT !!!!
Anyone has complain about it ????
NieA_83
post May 9 2006, 11:41 AM

280 posts

Hi guys, I need to confirm something before sent to service. May I know if anyone encounter some strange sound when playing mp3 with WMP 10 n iTunes? It only sound when the next track is played? Something like te,te...... Sorry if not explain well. Is it because of the driver version?

EDIT: Listening with medium sound volume

This post has been edited by NieA_83: May 9 2006, 12:08 PM
rambolee
post May 9 2006, 12:51 PM

1,470 posts

u try different player?
jamezco
post May 9 2006, 01:12 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

maybe the mp3 u downloaded is corrupted ... try to rip some mp3s from originals cd and see if the same problem still occur
ManDontCry
post May 9 2006, 01:24 PM

201 posts

Sounds like a software problem ....

rambolee
post May 9 2006, 03:26 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ May 9 2006, 01:12 PM)
maybe the mp3 u downloaded is corrupted ... try to rip some mp3s from originals cd and see if the same problem still occur
dont think he is so noob till doesnt realize it's mp3 corrupted
jamezco
post May 9 2006, 05:57 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm ... try to put ur Toshiba Virtual Sound back to default and see ....

does it sound like ur speaker "pecah" sound ?
NieA_83
post May 9 2006, 09:26 PM

280 posts

I tried the mp3 in my desktop also but no this sound when next song. Weird. But my bro said that maybe the speaker is small so the drum n bass mix together. Pls no flaming. My TVS is default all the time, not changed the setting while using it. No pecah sound when playing games n mp3. Just when it change track, starting point.

EDIT: Does ur guys dvd rom very loud n noisy when installing games?
ManDontCry
post May 9 2006, 09:37 PM

201 posts

there is an option to silent the noise
but the readin time of the disk would be slower
NieA_83
post May 9 2006, 10:43 PM

280 posts

Tried the Acoustic Silencer, still no luck. Btw, noisy during LOTR Battle of Middle Earth installation.
chris_c28
post May 10 2006, 01:17 AM

882 posts

So the battery life is still bad and the lappy is still hot as ever. I thought Toshiba would have fixed these problems in the M100 as it is a replacement for the M50, which suffers from these problems. I have the M50 and I hate it. I obviously made the wrong choice.
rambolee
post May 10 2006, 08:45 AM

1,470 posts

this problem exist 4 years ago

jamezco
post May 10 2006, 02:07 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

yah man ... like super super loud ... like got supercharger for DVD rom like tat ...
ManDontCry
post May 10 2006, 05:36 PM

201 posts

Hey NieaA_83 you using M100 - p345 like mine right?
you playin BFME 2 in high resolutions ?
how the performance ???
rambolee
post May 10 2006, 05:48 PM

1,470 posts

u can play BF2 ? great ! can show screenshot?

NieA_83
post May 10 2006, 09:32 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ May 10 2006, 05:36 PM)
Hey NieaA_83 you using M100 - p345 like mine right?
you playin BFME 2 in high resolutions ?
how the performance ???
Sorry, mine is lower spec M100-p340. tongue.gif Not yet tried the BFME 2 yet. Will try later coz just installed.
jamezco
post May 11 2006, 12:48 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

wat game is BFME 2 ???? can intro some nice games ? i also wanna play .... very free nowadays ... coz gf dumped me ... sad.gif
NieA_83
post May 11 2006, 09:58 AM

280 posts

Its Lord of the Ring Battle of Middle Earth II. Actually not fan of real-time strategy but just to pass time...haha!
NekoRacing
post May 11 2006, 08:37 PM

325 posts

Technician called me yesterday to pick up my laptop.
I went to tele dynamics today and collected my laptop, to my suprise my laptop was not fixed and there were scratches on its cover.

Technician could not fixed the laptop because the dealer changed the RAMs, so i have to go back to the dealer to get the RAMs changed. Apparently, i was given a value 1GB Corsair, cheap skate motherf***ers.

The furious part is my laptop got scratched during their service handling! I filed a complain and demanded to see their manager.

Manager was nice enough to listen to me, and we came to solution that he will replace the cover with a new one and notify the dealer to change the RAMs.
jamezco
post May 12 2006, 01:31 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

wahhhh so good .... 1GB value ram ... how much u got that for ???
NekoRacing
post May 12 2006, 01:09 PM

325 posts

When i bought my laptop there was an upgrade promotion of 1GB Ram.
Manager explained to me that the original RAMS that are used by Toshiba are Samsung hynix and Kingston. The RAMS in my laptop were replaced with cheap value RAMS by the dealer although it's Corsair RAMS.
rambolee
post May 12 2006, 05:55 PM

1,470 posts

means they are actually earning money by selling the original RAM

that's pretty cheap of them
those guy from teledynamic?
ManDontCry
post May 12 2006, 10:39 PM

201 posts

tested BFME 2 already
manage to play up to ultra high settings ....
but best played smoothly with medium setting ....
not a bad lappie to me M100 .......
jamezco
post May 13 2006, 02:39 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

lolz ... advertising M100 ??? hehehe .... how bout fire and black 2 or something like tat ? my friend said nice wor
NekoRacing
post May 13 2006, 06:07 PM

325 posts

I'm can't boot up Toshiba Recovery DVD, I have tried setting up Toshiba HW setup, F1 setup, F12 and press C method. I just can't get into CD boot up the only thing my machine does is booting in to WinXP.

Any other solution?

Actually i have something to share with everyone I'll write out the story later it concerns Tele Dynamics nad Aggressive Technologies Sdn. Bhd. really f***ing dissapointing.

Any other solution?
jamezco
post May 13 2006, 09:00 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

NekoRacing.... go into ur bios and change ur bios boot to DVD room 1st boot then HDD 2nd boot ...

then can boot d ... biggrin.gif
Seng_Kiat
post May 17 2006, 07:50 AM

5,580 posts

guys, which shop is the best shop to buy toshiba notebook with great price (cheaper than others)??
monochrome
post May 25 2006, 01:46 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ May 17 2006, 07:50 AM)
guys, which shop is the best shop to buy toshiba notebook with great price (cheaper than others)??
not much difference

unless u go to those roadshow/pc fair
where u should get some freebies rclxms.gif
Seng_Kiat
post May 25 2006, 02:44 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ May 25 2006, 01:46 AM)
not much difference

unless u go to those roadshow/pc fair
where u should get some freebies  rclxms.gif
erm ... let say the recommended price is RM6999, what price i can get in lowyat? is it same RM6999 or cheaper?? smile.gif ..
jamezco
post May 25 2006, 06:08 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

can get a bit of discounts one if u buy from LYP
ManDontCry
post May 28 2006, 12:28 AM

201 posts

Just saw the new toshiba shop in Mid vally IT centre .........
Real CooL
Raven_lee
post May 29 2006, 01:43 PM

310 posts

Hi, may I know during hibernation, can we carry or move around our laptops?
Seng_Kiat
post May 29 2006, 05:32 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ May 28 2006, 12:28 AM)
Just saw the new toshiba shop in Mid vally IT centre .........
Real CooL
what model is it?? how much is it?? spec?? mind to tell details??

any1 here using A100?? how much u guys bought it??
jamezco
post May 31 2006, 03:07 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Raven_lee @ May 29 2006, 01:43 PM)
yes we can move or carry our laptops around ... hibernation is for you to save power and yet startup faster when u wan ur lappie on command .....

u can leave watever u open example like documents or browser then put ur com into hibernate mode .... but in order to be safe ... remember to save all ur documents b4 u send ur lappie into hibernation .... xD

StratOS
post Jun 2 2006, 08:31 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

less than rm 5k can get wut toshiba models ar..?
yshin
post Jun 2 2006, 08:32 PM

Hey guys..I'm looking for a laptop now..i've been looking various brand of laptop and few of my frens recommended me purchase Toshiba's laptop. Well, honestly, i've zero knowledge on laptop but since i'm going to oversea study i need a laptop for my uni coursework.

So can anyone introduce Toshiba laptop for me? Which one is the useful and worth to purchase? I'm going to do design studies in uni hence, my laptop should installed AutoCAD, photostop etc.. Besides that, i used to online everyday so i hope could online faster instead of lagging.. And sometimes perhaps i will play some games on it..like need for speed and so on..my budget is below 4k(if possible)..Ohya..i hope to have a nice quality speaker..i often listen music when i surfing net..

At the end..much appreciate to anyone who helps me..Thx..
Plz reply me asap..cos i decide to buy my laptop next week in lowyat..thx again..
Raven_lee
post Jun 3 2006, 02:50 PM

310 posts

Hi jamezco, do you have problems installing dvd games? Coz now sometimes when installing dvd games, nothing happens and it takes long time to read? Is this a problem? Then for the 1st time, blue screen appears, what this means? Thx.
ManDontCry
post Jun 3 2006, 04:53 PM

201 posts

For me i dont have this kind of problems ??? did you put your DVD reading into silent mode ...
Silent mode takes longer time ...
Raven_lee
post Jun 3 2006, 05:31 PM

310 posts

But everytime when restart the Windows, the silent mode will revert back to normal, right?
ManDontCry
post Jun 3 2006, 08:19 PM

201 posts

nope it could be set as what you want it to be ....
i think you have to figure something out with your setting
Raven_lee
post Jun 3 2006, 08:24 PM

310 posts

I see. Will try now. Thx man.
monochrome
post Jun 5 2006, 12:56 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Raven_lee @ May 29 2006, 01:43 PM)
yes
as long as u didnt remove the battery below whistling.gif
monochrome
post Jun 5 2006, 01:07 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ May 25 2006, 02:44 PM)
erm ... let say the recommended price is RM6999, what price i can get in lowyat? is it same RM6999 or cheaper?? smile.gif ..
well, not much difference
as in roadshow u might get more freebies if u request from the salesperson personally.

i think as for Toshiba lappies u can get futher about RM150 reduction for the T3 Security Suite which is included in the price tag. however, some ppl will find the suite useful as it includes an insurance for ur lappie
jamezco
post Jun 5 2006, 04:55 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm my com installing games got no problem wor .... erm Raven ... i think it got nothing do do wit the DVD rom one ... so far i have Quake 4 and warcraft in my com only ....
yshin
post Jun 5 2006, 11:49 PM

where can i get the lowest price and great offer for Toshiba Satellite L100(P442) in lowyat?? plz recommend me as i utterly dunno about lowyat shops..
jamezco
post Jun 6 2006, 12:18 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

ehhhh got L100 ? erm not really sure bout L100 ... xD .... anyone else can help?
rg470
post Jun 8 2006, 05:07 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(yshin @ Jun 5 2006, 11:49 PM)
where can i get the lowest price and great offer for Toshiba Satellite L100(P442) in lowyat?? plz recommend me as i utterly dunno about lowyat shops..
U can try going to C-zone or Cycom. C-zone is selling the L100-P442 at RM 4399 with 1 year International warranty.

Toshiba Satellite L100-P442:
Intel Centrino Mobile Technology with Intel Solo Core™ T1300 (1.66GHz)
256MB DDR2
80GB S-ATA HDD
15.0" XGA Clear SuperView TFT
DVD SuperMulti Double Layer Drive
Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950 upto 128MB shared VRAM
802.11abg WLAN
1-yr ILW (carry-in, part & labor)
Peacock Blue Top
Weight 2.7 kg

Personally I think this lappy is quite a good buy thumbup.gif

Raven_lee
post Jun 8 2006, 07:29 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Jun 5 2006, 04:55 PM)
erm my com installing games got no problem wor .... erm Raven ... i think it got nothing do do wit the DVD rom one ... so far i have Quake 4 and warcraft in my com only ....
DVD n most game can install, only that particular game. Thx jamezco.
jamezco
post Jun 9 2006, 11:12 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

hmmm then i think must be something wrong wit the DVD which u bought le Raven ...
rambolee
post Jun 13 2006, 05:28 PM

1,470 posts

yeah
dont buy pirated stuff
hehe
Seng_Kiat
post Jun 13 2006, 07:45 PM

5,580 posts

guys .. where u guys buy your toshi?? .. smile.gif ..
Max204
post Jun 15 2006, 11:49 AM

405 posts

where can i get the protector ar? i mean to protect the cover from getting dirt... i m using A100 pearl white one...
ManDontCry
post Jun 15 2006, 12:01 PM

201 posts

hows the white colour casing ???
does it get stain easily ???
Seng_Kiat
post Jun 15 2006, 08:03 PM

5,580 posts

look at teledynamics website la .. smile.gif ..

anyway, i can get A100 at RM6880 with 1gB ram .. is it worth?? ..
Raven_lee
post Jun 16 2006, 12:55 AM

310 posts

yeah, i think you guys right. Anyway, now the problem seems to be gone. Guys, is it sometimes blue screens will also come out whenever the software is not good or compatible? Coz after installing PowerISO free trial, blue screens came out twice. Problem gone after uninstalling it.
Seng_Kiat
post Jun 16 2006, 01:14 AM

5,580 posts

guys,

is it good to buy laptop at cycom or compuzone in lowyat plaza??
Seng_Kiat
post Jun 16 2006, 12:45 PM

5,580 posts

guys,

which 1 is better in long term which is I can get a toshiba A100-P545 for RM6850 with mouse, lock, t-shirt for free from some1 that working at teledynamics and RM6880 at cycom lowyat plaza with free 1GB upgrade. Which 1 is worth??

hope to hear something from u guys .. tq
ManDontCry
post Jun 16 2006, 01:21 PM

201 posts

i will get with the 1G upgrade
lol .....
rambolee
post Jun 16 2006, 05:01 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jun 16 2006, 12:45 PM)
guys,

which 1 is better in long term which is I can get a toshiba A100-P545 for RM6850 with mouse, lock, t-shirt for free from some1 that working at teledynamics and RM6880 at cycom lowyat plaza with free 1GB upgrade. Which 1 is worth??

hope to hear something from u guys .. tq
ask the tele guy give u 1g update
Seng_Kiat
post Jun 16 2006, 06:45 PM

5,580 posts

already asked him and dat is the best offer he can give to me .. Anyway, how much 1 DDR2 667 kingston 512mb RAM haa??
rambolee
post Jun 16 2006, 07:06 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jun 16 2006, 06:45 PM)
already asked him and dat is the best offer he can give to me .. Anyway, how much 1 DDR2 667 kingston 512mb RAM haa??
from kingston site is around RM250

Max204
post Jun 17 2006, 03:10 PM

405 posts

tat means i can get dda protector at lowyat ? which shop and how much da thing cost ?
wYeman
post Jun 23 2006, 04:08 PM

111 posts

i just bought a cheap toshiba (2.4k), L20 series, so far so good, onli thing is the combo disc rom seems to run slowly, issit somethin to do with the Toshiba Disc Silencer?
rambolee
post Jun 23 2006, 05:24 PM

1,470 posts

run slow with dvd or cd?
slow means the burning speed or when you watch movie it is lagging?
wYeman
post Jun 23 2006, 08:39 PM

111 posts

installing things , read things and copy things from CD loh...
ManDontCry
post Jun 23 2006, 10:05 PM

201 posts

Yes silencer will make any CD operation run slower (acoustic)
die_villian
post Jun 24 2006, 09:04 PM

Hi guys, need help here.....

I'm interested in M100 - P345, there is something i'm curious about........

is the M100 - P345 graphic card truly has 128mb dedicated memory? if yes than would it has the same performance as a X1400 graphic card with 128mb dedicated memory?

Because when i look into the satelite M100 - P345 brochure, X1300 has 128mb of dedicated memory but normally most X1300 laptop only have 64mb of dedicated memory in it.
prasys
post Jun 24 2006, 10:03 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

X1300 is just a remake of X300

X1400 is just a remake of X600

X300 is a stripped down version of X600. Thus , X1300 is a stripped down version of X1400. Well , it would not have the same performance as a X1400 with 128mb dedicated , but it would beat a X1400 which uses HyperMemory [in certain games , etc].
monochrome
post Jun 25 2006, 07:52 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ Jun 23 2006, 10:05 PM)
Yes silencer will make any CD operation run slower (acoustic)
i'm happy with this feature rclxms.gif
Blue_Diamond
post Jun 26 2006, 04:35 PM

98 posts

Anyone sent their laptop to Teledynamics for servicing before and how was it?
Thought of sending my 1 year old laptop there for servicing.
jamezco
post Jun 26 2006, 08:39 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

X1300 is just a remake of X300

X1400 is just a remake of X600

X300 is a stripped down version of X600. Thus , X1300 is a stripped down version of X1400. Well , it would not have the same performance as a X1400 with 128mb dedicated , but it would beat a X1400 which uses HyperMemory [in certain games , etc].

so that means M100-P345 graphic card is only 64MB dedicated ???? omg ... means i kena con ???

they write there 128MB dedicated and 128 hyper wor ...
prasys
post Jun 26 2006, 10:53 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

It depends , there are many flavors of X1300,X1400

For example , lets take a look at ATI's X200..There are 3 versions of it.....Well , if you take a look at my lappies product specs it just says Up to 128MB - Hypermemory - ATI Radeon Xpress 200M

But then there are 4 flavors, one which uses HyperMemory [fully on HyperMemory] , semi [like yours] , dedicated [No Hypermemory at all]

I mean that 256MB X1300..Common , the graphics card isnt that powerfulll to take it , so for X1300 , it should be at least 64-128MB ....Beyond that its a gimmick
jamezco
post Jun 27 2006, 06:17 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

so means the M100-P345 X1300 is using one is 128 dedicated and 128 is hyper lo ...

actually hyper is using up the RAM space rite ?
imisu29
post Jun 27 2006, 08:43 PM

853 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Jun 27 2006, 06:17 AM)
so means the M100-P345 X1300 is using one is 128 dedicated and 128 is hyper lo ...

actually hyper is using up the RAM space rite ?
yes, you are right.
it will share up to 128mb ram from you main memory.

So i think you need to have at least 512mb ram to make it run smoothly.
Chen Bee Hansern
post Jun 29 2006, 04:36 PM

79 posts

HI all..... i just got toshiba L20 (about 2.5K)....i have used it for a week.....everything seems to be fine.....but only laptop is little warm.....i hope i would last like my previous toshiba laptop.......
jamezco
post Jun 29 2006, 11:42 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm... Chen Bee Hansern ... recommended if u get a laptop cooller biggrin.gif
Chen Bee Hansern
post Jun 30 2006, 07:21 PM

79 posts

Alright, tnx for suggest jamezco..... any suggest which brand of cooler is good? or just grab any brand......

thnx
mofonyx
post Jul 9 2006, 10:28 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

I am planning to get Toshiba since :
1. a lot of bad reviews on Acer being unreliable
2. Fujitsu's reliability comes at a really high price.
3. Toshiba's reliability comes at an affordable price. Looking at Satelite A100-P545

So, I need someone who is a Toshiba owner to vouch for Toshiba's reliability. Is it worth paying for? I hear that Toshiba notebooks have solid reliability and I wouldn't go wrong paying more on Toshiba notebooks.

I need reassurance. I don't want to spend extra money just to be dissapointed. Tell me I'm making the right choice in choosing Toshiba over Acer/Dell, because I could definitely save some money otherwise smile.gif

Thanks~
Chen Bee Hansern
post Jul 10 2006, 06:28 PM

79 posts

i think it's depend for what you need or use for?
Dell's after sales service is good...... their onsite service respondance quite well. Few of my frens own dell for 3 to 4 yrs and no prob at all
I THINK high end acer laptop actualy good (JUST MY OPinion)

I have two toshiba laptop at the moment.......
First one bought it 6 yrs ago in usa.....until now no prob although performance is slightly dropping
2nd one just bought it 3 weeks ago..... i think quite good and hope it will last long......

Above is just my comments and opinions.......
mofonyx
post Jul 10 2006, 06:47 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

requiring it as a notebook to go overseas with (UK) :\

Chen Bee Hansern
post Jul 11 2006, 04:13 PM

79 posts

I think it's better for you to choose the brand that got service center near the place you are visiting in UK ............ I think if you like Toshiba....there is no harm for you to get it although the spec may not as good as DELL or Acer or COmpaq (with same amount of money).....try to check at shop toshiba in midvalley..... i think their price quite okie.
justin_nys
post Jul 14 2006, 10:29 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Jun 26 2006, 04:35 PM)
Anyone sent their laptop to Teledynamics for servicing before and how was it?
Thought of sending my 1 year old laptop there for servicing.
I've sent my laptop twice. Their service is very good. Usually take only 2 working days to fix. But Service centre is abit far i guess. all the way at Shah Alam... sad.gif

1st Service i changed Harddisk. (Moved laptop around while it's running)
2nd Service i changed wireless and nVidia (which means the whole motherboard i think...haha)
killer1
post Jul 20 2006, 05:21 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Jul 14 2006, 10:29 AM)
I've sent my laptop twice. Their service is very good. Usually take only 2 working days to fix. But Service centre is abit far i guess. all the way at Shah Alam... sad.gif

2nd Service i changed wireless and nVidia (which means the whole motherboard i think...haha)
How much is it?
igor_is300
post Jul 20 2006, 06:03 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

Guys, have you all seen the latest Tecra ? The offer is quite attractive.
monochrome
post Jul 20 2006, 08:51 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jul 20 2006, 06:03 PM)
Guys, have you all seen the latest Tecra ? The offer is quite attractive.
they're desperately reducing the price coz
Centrino® Core 2 Duo (Merom 64-bit) is coming soon
SUSj3rry
post Jul 20 2006, 10:54 PM

..one man, one machine
841 posts

my fren who using Toshiba laptop.4got wad series.quite nice..come wif ATI gc de..v hot after 1-2hours..not like mine stil fine for quite a period..even he under air cond oso v hot...
alvincks
post Jul 21 2006, 10:56 PM

1,499 posts

anyone know how to extend warantee ? how much on it ?

i have bought my notebook half-year ago ..
Chen Bee Hansern
post Jul 22 2006, 02:36 PM

79 posts

Last time i asked seller at shop toshiba, mid valley .....he told me that toshiba laptop 1 yr extenstion cost 350Rm and 2 yrs extension cost 750Rm and must extend within 2 weeks that you bought laptop.....

Plz correct me if i wrong.......

This post has been edited by Chen Bee Hansern: Jul 22 2006, 02:38 PM
jiaxuan
post Aug 15 2006, 12:52 AM

27 posts

just got my M100-P346 during PC Fair.

I loved everything about it. but i don't know what the heck is happening, within 3 days, it crashed twice :| i think it's the heat, but i'm going to call toshiba tmr.
Pangkey
post Aug 16 2006, 12:43 PM

292 posts

Why my laptop battery life FARKING LOW?!?!?!?! Im using M40-P545, been using it for almost a year. It can only last 1.5hrs THE MAX!!! sian la....anyone knows a way to prolong my lappy battery life? But overall performance is very good, its just that the battery life thing is pissing me off....i bring my lappy out also cannot, must find the power socket everytime i go out... cry.gif. Its just like the 2nd desktop nia...need AC power to operate. DAMN GAY!!!
weikeat
post Aug 18 2006, 04:30 PM

172 posts

i using toshiba A100-P543 i jz brought it at pc fair..
i jz wonder why the recover disc tat toshiba provide..
it cant set the partition of the hardisk....
does any toshiba user face this problem?
got any solution on it??
Raven_lee
post Aug 18 2006, 10:40 PM

310 posts

Hi guys, after reformat, i cant get in the Toshiba Express Media. Now i cant watch DVD without having to boot up the Windows. Pls let me know how to retore it back. Thx.
rg470
post Aug 20 2006, 03:53 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(Pangkey @ Aug 16 2006, 12:43 PM)
Why my laptop battery life FARKING LOW?!?!?!?! Im using M40-P545, been using it for almost a year. It can only last 1.5hrs THE MAX!!! sian la....anyone knows a way to prolong my lappy battery life? But overall performance is very good, its just that the battery life thing is pissing me off....i bring my lappy out also cannot, must find the power socket everytime i go out... cry.gif. Its just like the 2nd desktop nia...need AC power to operate. DAMN GAY!!!
Well, I'm also a M40 user here, same model as yours. My battery lasts me at least 2 hours. Try not to over charge the battery. If you want a better battery, toshiba does have a 12 cell battery for it, but that doesn't come cheap, at least around RM600~700.
Chen Bee Hansern
post Aug 23 2006, 01:44 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(rg470 @ Aug 20 2006, 02:53 PM)
Well, I'm also a M40 user here, same model as yours. My battery lasts me at least 2 hours. Try not to over charge the battery. If you want a better battery, toshiba does have a 12 cell battery for it, but that doesn't come cheap, at least around RM600~700.
my toshiba L100 also actualy last about 1.30 hours and I just bought it 6 weeks ago but so far quite satisfy with their performance as well.

This post has been edited by Chen Bee Hansern: Aug 23 2006, 01:45 PM
jimlhy
post Aug 23 2006, 11:01 PM

211 posts

toshiba portege S100-S1133 user here
mervyn
post Aug 24 2006, 02:03 AM

1,160 posts

QUOTE(weikeat @ Aug 18 2006, 04:30 PM)
got any solution on it??
Yes, u cant set partition with the recovery disc. u got two options: re-format using the windows xp cd, install all the drivers urself (bloody hassle process) or partition ur hard drive using 3rd party software.

QUOTE(Raven_lee @ Aug 18 2006, 10:40 PM)
Hi guys, after reformat, i cant get in the Toshiba Express Media. Now i cant watch DVD without having to boot up the Windows. Pls let me know how to retore it back. Thx.
Use the recovery cd again to reformat ur laptop. My toshiba express still work fine even i format using the recovery cd.
weikeat
post Sep 1 2006, 04:35 PM

172 posts

then what 3rd party software do u recommand?
can i get this software anywhere?or download?
ashchia
post Sep 3 2006, 06:22 PM

105 posts

Why my laptop battery life FARKING LOW?!?!?!?! Im using M40-P545, been using it for almost a year. It can only last 1.5hrs THE MAX!!! sian la....anyone knows a way to prolong my lappy battery life? But overall performance is very good, its just that the battery life thing is pissing me off....i bring my lappy out also cannot, must find the power socket everytime i go out... . Its just like the 2nd desktop nia...need AC power to operate. DAMN GAY!!!

haha, i have the same problem as you, my laptop only last about 2 hour max with life long setting

This post has been edited by ashchia: Sep 4 2006, 05:16 PM
weikeat
post Sep 4 2006, 02:43 PM

172 posts

my toshiba A100-P543 also facing the same problem as u..
only can operate max 2 hour + - only...and my one is a new one.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by weikeat: Sep 4 2006, 02:44 PM
hui_ping
post Sep 4 2006, 11:10 PM

326 posts

Have been using Toshiba Satellite A80-P440 for more than one year already. My battery still can last for 2.5 to 3 hours, always charge untill full before use and then use untill it almost empty(>10% power left)
SUSheadache
post Sep 14 2006, 02:43 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(jimlhy @ Aug 23 2006, 11:01 PM)
toshiba portege S100-S1133 user here
Me too! rclxms.gif

Not mine, just user. How much did you get yours for?
castaway
post Sep 14 2006, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Jul 14 2006, 10:29 AM)

Two weeks is a LONG time to be without a laptop!
My ThinkPad had its motherboard changed and it took less then 4 days.
cwhmax
post Sep 20 2006, 11:30 AM

QUOTE(castaway @ Sep 14 2006, 11:53 AM)
Two weeks is a LONG time to be without a laptop!
My ThinkPad had its motherboard changed and it took less then 4 days.
he said 2 days, not 2 weeks =.=

I NEED HELP:

i have bought a toshiba A100-P543 recently.
but i notice that the buttons beside the keyboad, below the power button, so called "AV button" in the manual, doesnt seems to work all the time.
and whenever it dont work, everytime i open the toshiba assist features, and click the "Fn accessibility or Toshiba Hardware Settings", it prompt out a " error common module" thingy out. can anyone help me on this.
i really really wanted to use those buttons.

chinail
post Sep 21 2006, 01:07 AM

136 posts

recover ur laptop, juz put a recover dvd then press F1 or F2 --> not sure. my frenz aso enconter thiz problem be4. Before u recover u hav to set ur dvd room in the boot priority section there. Set it to be the 1st 1.
cwhmax
post Sep 21 2006, 08:06 PM

huh? i put the recovery CD in already and then what should i do?
press F1 and help menu pops up. dunno what to do with it.
press F2, an option to change folders name only.

what shud i do? can you further elaborate??
edmondwwk
post Sep 22 2006, 12:03 AM

102 posts

I bought my A100 P542 in June,so far no problem, for battery life,I can get to 3 hours++ MAX (using the long life mode)

How to check whether my laptop battery is affected and need to send back to Toshiba?
niit
post Sep 24 2006, 01:41 PM

34 posts

ex-R10 user here, got some lubang related to Toshiba laptop here, anyone interested please add my msn kelvin_sofia@yahoo.com or sms me 012-4184268
steventan85
post Sep 24 2006, 01:51 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(niit @ Sep 24 2006, 01:41 PM)
ex-R10 user here, got some lubang related to Toshiba laptop here, anyone interested please add my msn kelvin_sofia@yahoo.com or sms me 012-4184268
can buy toshiba wif discount price ? tongue.gif tongue.gif
jonchye
post Sep 24 2006, 02:41 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(weikeat @ Aug 18 2006, 04:30 PM)
got any solution on it??
There is another way to partition but i forgot how its done already.

QUOTE(niit @ Sep 24 2006, 01:41 PM)
Cheaper toshiba?? have qosmio F30 give me a pm on the price and specs rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1170sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:32 PM