Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

AVFAN
post Jul 16 2017, 10:56 AM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 14,815

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 16 2017, 10:43 AM)
Mind sharing whether it is overall worthwhile upgrading to 2.0.4?

Plan to do it next week.
*
posted in previous page.

and i thought u hv been reading this thread? biggrin.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2598907/+2580#bottom

the mains things are... hdr issue fixed, much improved native player display/control/adjustments.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
plumberly
post Jul 16 2017, 02:02 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,240

Joined: Jun 2007
From: My house


QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 16 2017, 10:56 AM)
posted in previous page.

and i thought u hv been reading this thread? biggrin.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2598907/+2580#bottom

the mains things are... hdr issue fixed, much improved native player display/control/adjustments.
*
Sorry, maybe it is my way of asking question.

After your upgrade and using it, did you say to yourself that you were glad that you did it?

The improvements and new features were substantial etc?

I know different people have different needs and likings, but as a sifu here, your experience will cover most people.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Jul 16 2017, 02:41 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 14,815

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 16 2017, 02:02 PM)
Sorry, maybe it is my way of asking question.
After your upgrade and using it, did you say to yourself that you were glad that you did it?
The improvements and new features were substantial etc?
I know different people have different needs and likings, but as a sifu here, your experience will cover most people.
*
diff people buy diff boxes for diff uses.

i do not use q10pro for NAS; not for mirroring or casting; not for paid ahem iptv; light kodi use now.

just cold playback of big files (60%); a couple of china apps for tv dramas (30%); other apps (10%).

firmware 2.0.4 is good for me - the native player playback issues incl HDR, subtitle issues are resolved now.

as a personal habit, i always use the latest firmware unless i know it is problematic.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
plumberly
post Jul 16 2017, 02:48 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,240

Joined: Jun 2007
From: My house


QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 16 2017, 02:41 PM)
diff people buy diff boxes for diff uses.

i do not use q10pro for NAS; not for mirroring or casting; not for paid ahem iptv; light kodi use now.

just cold playback of big files (60%); a couple of china apps for tv dramas (30%); other apps (10%).

firmware 2.0.4 is good for me - the native player playback issues incl HDR, subtitle issues are resolved now.

as a personal habit, i always use the latest firmware unless i know it is problematic.
*
Thanks.

My 2.0.4 upgrade is a go next week! Ha.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ahpingko
post Jul 16 2017, 03:04 PM
pipi: ayam cute!! weee~
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,737

Joined: Sep 2008
From: little pipi cottage


QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 16 2017, 02:41 PM)
diff people buy diff boxes for diff uses.

i do not use q10pro for NAS; not for mirroring or casting; not for paid ahem iptv; light kodi use now.

just cold playback of big files (60%); a couple of china apps for tv dramas (30%); other apps (10%).

firmware 2.0.4 is good for me - the native player playback issues incl HDR, subtitle issues are resolved now.

as a personal habit, i always use the latest firmware unless i know it is problematic.
*
Can help to see if your apps for china drama got those china variety show? Like fei cheng wu rao.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OPT
post Jul 16 2017, 06:05 PM
Wee wang wang
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,551

Joined: Feb 2011
QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 16 2017, 02:48 PM)
Thanks.

My 2.0.4 upgrade is a go next week! Ha.
*
Definitely recommended, big improvement in interface and picture quality
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Jul 16 2017, 06:47 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 14,815

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jul 16 2017, 03:04 PM)
Can help to see if your apps for china drama got those china variety show? Like fei cheng wu rao.
*
i do not watch variety shows...

but think it is in MOLI... u should have it from shafa app in yr lazada purchase.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
plumberly
post Jul 16 2017, 07:02 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,240

Joined: Jun 2007
From: My house


QUOTE(OPT @ Jul 16 2017, 06:05 PM)
Definitely recommended, big improvement in interface and picture quality
*
Thanks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OPT
post Jul 16 2017, 08:01 PM
Wee wang wang
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,551

Joined: Feb 2011
QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 16 2017, 07:02 PM)
Thanks.
*
I'm kinda new to q10pro too...

What I noticed is that android 7 is a big improvement...though can't say much cause didn't really spend too much time with the box.

After upgraded to latest firmware definite no regrets 👍
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Jul 17 2017, 01:23 AM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 14,815

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(OPT @ Jul 16 2017, 08:01 PM)
I'm kinda new to q10pro too...

What I noticed is that android 7 is a big improvement...though can't say much cause didn't really spend too much time with the box.

After upgraded to latest firmware definite no regrets 👍
*
i have used 2.0.4 for a few days now, good, no unexpected hiccups.

the best thing is the expanded menu and options for imprex 2.0 engine.

together with a TV's settings, there are dozens of combinations to get to whatever picture u desire! biggrin.gif

then again, gotta install it right; instructions are clear.

e.g. going 1.x to 2.0.4 or 2.01 to 2.0.4 straight is a big no-no.

depending on what u hv now, gotta do 1.x->2.01->2.03->2.04.

reading futeko forum... some people have problems with internal HDD not detected anymore; can't set to chroma 4:2:2, etc.

i have no such problems. smile.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 17 2017, 01:56 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaxe113
post Jul 18 2017, 09:38 AM
Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 164

Joined: Jun 2016
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 14 2017, 06:43 PM)
u obviously had not been following/reading.

what device do u hv now, how old/new?
*
i still got my q5ii
current model is still q5pro and q10pro
while others has increase RAM-ROM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Jul 18 2017, 10:26 AM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 14,815

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(kaxe113 @ Jul 18 2017, 09:38 AM)
i still got my q5ii
current model is still q5pro and q10pro
while others has increase RAM-ROM
*
4-5 year old q5ii is still good for many things, albeit it being slow compared to new ones.

q5pro/q10pro are about 1 year old, android 7 - can say very current.

"others" ... if u mean those 3/32gb, etc... u need to understand a good box is not all about memory/storage.

has to have a good firmware build with stable advanced features.

himedia has A5 and supposedly a Q30 as new, but I will not say they are better than flagship q10pro.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cyrobytes
post Jul 19 2017, 09:48 AM
Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 129

Joined: Jun 2013
Google have release Youtube for Android TV 2.0. Now the video can play at 2160p.
But it will crash if you give permission for google voice search.

Link

This post has been edited by cyrobytes: Jul 19 2017, 09:49 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
azbro
post Jul 20 2017, 11:38 AM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,010

Joined: Jan 2007
From: Johor Bahru


QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Jul 3 2017, 11:12 PM)
Just purchased my 2nd himedia device. Previously using h8. New one q10 pro. A great device. Dont mind asking, what air mouse /keyboard you guys are using. Remote that capable to switch on the tv & himedia. Trying to ditch the himedia remote if possible.
*
After listening to so many advice and recommendations, and through my own experience

For a simple setup (not for games), just get a cheap remote without a Keyboard (that works with your Q10Pro)

No point buying RM100 remote and later you will find out that you still need 2 remotes, or never use the keyboard, or have programmable compatibility issues with your TV or AVR etc. OR just use the Original Remote with a wireless mouse.


User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Jul 20 2017, 01:48 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 14,815

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 20 2017, 11:38 AM)
OR just use the Original Remote with a wireless mouse.
*
this is the BEST - economical and takes care of 100%.


bought an air mouse, ended up it being used for something else! biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
azbro
post Jul 20 2017, 03:45 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,010

Joined: Jan 2007
From: Johor Bahru


QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 20 2017, 01:48 PM)
this is the BEST - economical and takes care of 100%.
bought an air mouse, ended up it being used for something else! biggrin.gif
*
Yes, no point viewing endless Youtubes and reviews about air remotes when the best combo is actually the Original Remote + a Wireless mouse.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
voncrane
post Jul 20 2017, 05:37 PM
Noir et fier!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,706

Joined: Oct 2011
From: ARPANET



QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 20 2017, 03:45 PM)
Yes, no point viewing endless Youtubes and reviews about air remotes when the best combo is actually the Original Remote + a Wireless mouse.
*
I disagree... If HiMedia came up with a perfectly compatible airmouse + remote + keyboard combo.. There shouldn't be any issues.. Been using the Minix Neo A2 Lite with Minix devices.. No hiccups and best of all, never have to pull out the original IR only remote.. Everything works with it.. Full shutdown, cold boot up, standby and resume.. All works... The Neo A2/A3 are improved versions..

I always mention this, with such devices, hardware - software compatibility is always key and who knows how best to tap into the Q10Pro than the folks at HiMedia themselves..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MCSH
post Jul 21 2017, 02:01 PM
New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 26

Joined: Apr 2012
Why can't I AirPlay with q5ii and iPhone 7? Is it time for me to upgrade to q10pro or q5pro?

This post has been edited by MCSH: Jul 21 2017, 02:04 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Jul 22 2017, 02:25 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 14,815

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Jul 19 2017, 09:48 AM)
Google have release Youtube for Android TV 2.0. Now the video can play at 2160p.
But it will crash if you give permission for google voice search.

Link
*
tried it, v2.00.17:
https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google-inc/yo...d-apk-download/

yes, can get 2160p videos; has a "statistics for nerds" too! biggrin.gif


and yes, google search does not work - read that it is blocked by google for now.

that search, voice or keyboard works fine on androidtv, of course.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0796sec    3.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 12:35 PM