HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

sheridankamal
post Jul 27 2017, 11:38 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 18 2017, 10:26 AM)
4-5 year old q5ii is still good for many things, albeit it being slow compared to new ones.

q5pro/q10pro are about 1 year old,  android 7 - can say very current.

"others" ... if u mean those 3/32gb, etc... u need to understand a good box is not all about memory/storage.

has to have a good firmware build with stable advanced features.

himedia has A5 and supposedly a Q30 as new, but I will not say they are better than flagship q10pro.
Just wondering, with 2gb ram does the box capable to play android games?

sheridankamal
post Jul 27 2017, 11:53 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2017, 11:44 AM)
games... i can't answer this one as i had never gamed on this box.

hope someone else can help you.
It's okay but i do have one further question, in between this 3 model which one should i choose?

1. Q10 Pro
2. Q5 Pro
3. Q30 - This the only device that comes with latest Android 7.0?

sheridankamal
post Jul 27 2017, 01:06 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2017, 12:11 PM)
i do not know q30 much...

all 3 now run on android7 (u need to be sure from seller).
#2, #3 are 2/8gb; #1 is 2/16gb.
#1, #2 use HiSilicon Hi3798C V200; #3 uses V200HiSilicon Hi3798M V200.
#1 has internal HDD slot, not the other.
#1, #2 more popular, more users; q30 is not even officially launched yet.

i would think q30 is a slight washed down version of the q5pro, likely a little cheaper.

if u can afford rm100 more, best to go for q10pro as it is the flagship model.
Thank you very much for the suggestion.
sheridankamal
post Aug 22 2017, 03:24 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(ramarao @ Aug 21 2017, 08:49 AM)
Bro,
Can help me to teach how to upgrade the software?
I brought from same person you brought
Are you planning to upgrade from Android 5.1 to Android 7?
If so, you may follow thru here:- http://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=711.0
sheridankamal
post Aug 24 2017, 09:04 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(EremesGuile @ Aug 23 2017, 04:56 PM)
Just sharing, bought my Q10 Pro last month at PJ Digital Mall for RM600.
Don't know to consider its cheap or not but compared to other online seller saw them selling at RM800 even at Amazon.
sheridankamal
post Aug 24 2017, 09:05 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(ramarao @ Aug 23 2017, 03:36 PM)
Yes bro, my current software is 5.1.1,
Thank you for your reply I will try tonight
Thanks again
You're welcome and good luck with the update.
sheridankamal
post Aug 24 2017, 09:13 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 24 2017, 09:10 AM)
Sorry to say that it is better (at least for me) to get Himedia from Nicety. Price is also around RM600 BUT with "ask all you can" after sales service!

He updates and provides the files (firmware, apps, etc) for his customers.

Without his help, I don't think I would be enjoying TV box as much as I am now even with one of the top mid range Q5 Pro.

TV boxes are a different beast, not like PC.

Enjoy!
I have to agree with you on that especially on the after sale support.

sheridankamal
post Oct 19 2017, 05:03 PM

213 posts

Hi guys,

Need advice/help.
I'm using Q10 Pro with latest firmware.
Device connected to the internet via wifi.
But when i opened YouTube, Kodi & GooglePlay, seems that i can't access any content.
I've tried connect/disconnect thingy, but doesn't work.
Is there anyway in the setting that i should look for?

Thank you.
sheridankamal
post Oct 19 2017, 05:27 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 19 2017, 05:15 PM)
Sounds like it has lost connection.

Go to settings, more, wifi and check if turned on and connected.
Thanks, ill give it a try first.
sheridankamal
post Jan 25 2018, 09:42 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2018, 04:39 PM)
Installed 2.0.7.

I dun notice any change! biggrin.gif

Just minor fixes, i guess.

Well, all is good for me, as before.
Q10pro is coming up 2 years old.

I would think a successor is coming... mid year maybe...?

Seeking for clarification, i'm using Q10pro, so whenever there's firmware update all your setting in Kodi will be lost?
Need to update setting again after the latest firmware installation successful?
Found this backup method on the web (http://koditips.com/how-to-backup-kodi-and-restore-on-another-device/), is this method can be use?

sheridankamal
post Jan 25 2018, 10:42 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 25 2018, 10:27 AM)
there r 2 ways to update firmware.

1. cut off power totally, insert firmware in usb drive, use toothpick to press/hold the reset button at back while powering up.
this method will remove everything, all clean - u reinstall all apps.
it is cleaner, used when u suspect there is too much junk, better redo all.

2. insert firmware in usb drive, update/upgrade in option under settings - local update.
this method will keep all apps/data, nothing removed.
it is easier, less work.

before u upgrade firmware on q10pro, u need to first check which firmware u hv now.
there is a sequence to follow, jumping from one to another may brick the box.
firmware 2.0.7 requires the last one to be 2.0.4 or higher.

backups - u can do backups in diff ways.
for apps, can use a backup/restore app - many of them, find in playstore.
for kodi configuration, i simply copy and then paste back if necessary, a folder named org.xbmc.kodi
Aha, thank you very much, you save my day. icon_rolleyes.gif
sheridankamal
post Jan 25 2018, 11:35 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 25 2018, 11:21 AM)
Alternatively, there's an official Kodi Backup addon. You should install that and keep a stable backup copy. If any issues, just reinstall Kodi and the addon.. Restore the backup and you are back in business.
Will look into it, thanks.

0.0243sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:03 AM