Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

mercury8400
post Jul 4 2011, 06:37 PM

2,703 posts

[quote=Materazzi,Jul 4 2011, 05:03 PM]
As is the risk exposure.

[quote=Materazzi]What yield/ yr do you expect?[/quote]Property is to fight inflation. Capital gain on top of that is a bonus. FD is standard yield. It's to balance risk. Shares is 5-8% dividend yield mostly. Capital gain on top of that is a bonus.

[/quote]

I think the risk will be zero if you invest in a good company.
Wow, I think property in Sg overpriced?
If you have S$1 million, better retire while doing stock trading or still working in S$3k salary?

[/quote]

S$1 million is NOT enough for you to retire in SG. FD rates here sux at 0.2% (average) which yields you SGD20k a year or SGD1,600 p.m. How to survive if you have a family?

Stock trading is deemed risky. Potentially u could lose yr entire S$ 1 million.

Safest bet is to invest in properties. Put as little downpayment as the banks allows and leverage until the bank say cannot. Sit back and enjoy the rental yields (make sure its positive cash flow after you deduct fees and interest payments) or cap appreciation.
Jurlique
post Jul 4 2011, 09:54 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

Hi folks,

Who wanna follow me to support Singapore when Singapore takes on Malaysia is the all important World Cup 2014 qualifier.

Who loses will be saying bye-bye to WC 2014.

Hope to get the tickets soon and cheer for SG this time...
ming777
post Jul 5 2011, 01:18 AM

34 posts

Hey forumers, Im going down to Singapore next month for further studies, well ive got free accomodation as Im living with my relatives there. Whatd you peeps think my average expenditure would be for a month ? Inclusive of phone bills, public transports and etc..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 5 2011, 01:30 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

just got back from indo after 10 days... haih, no intarnuts... so sien

for s2, sign 2 years ctr or buy from msia and get line?... haih... pening

btw, can i use my company's blackberry corplan, throw the phone away (bb) then insert the card into my s2?
kurt99909
post Jul 5 2011, 05:57 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(ming777 @ Jul 5 2011, 01:18 AM)
Hey forumers, Im going down to Singapore next month for further studies, well ive got free accomodation as Im living with my relatives there. Whatd you peeps think my average expenditure would be for a month ? Inclusive of phone bills, public transports and etc..
$250-$300 is more than enough i guess coz the things here are cheaper if u din convert it back to Malaysia RM
deodorant
post Jul 5 2011, 10:18 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Jul 4 2011, 04:13 PM)
I would recommend them to anyone and Nee Soon branch is the one that I deal with.

From their website they've got a bedok branch somewhat kind of within walking distance from my place so I'll pay them a visit this weekend! money money money sad.gif

@kurt ... $300 enough? hmm.gif ... handphone $40 food $200 mrt $40 is already $280, and that's like the bare minimum of necessities without buying other basic living expenses.
seantang
post Jul 5 2011, 10:24 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 5 2011, 10:18 AM)
@kurt ... $300 enough? hmm.gif ... handphone $40 food $200 mrt $40 is already $280, and that's like the bare minimum of necessities without buying other basic living expenses.
When I was a student, handphone and public transport were not basic necessities. I used the phone booth at 7-11 and rode a bicycle.
crazy25kid
post Jul 5 2011, 10:34 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

Why would a student need 40bux for handphone?
Prepaid is more than enough...10 bux reload can extend the validity for 6 months, gives you 13 dollars of call time and quite a number of free local SMS-es (for starhub, not sure for other telco), which is quite a lot.
deodorant
post Jul 5 2011, 10:43 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 5 2011, 10:24 AM)
When I was a student, handphone and public transport were not basic necessities. I used the phone booth at 7-11 and rode a bicycle.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 5 2011, 10:34 AM)
Why would a student need 40bux for handphone?
Prepaid is more than enough...10 bux reload can extend the validity for 6 months, gives you 13 dollars of call time and quite a number of free local SMS-es (for starhub, not sure for other telco), which is quite a lot.

Haha, I've never been a student in SG so I wouldn't know mah. To me coming over to work, $300 a month seems like impossible to survive.
seantang
post Jul 5 2011, 10:49 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 5 2011, 10:43 AM)
Haha, I've never been a student in SG so I wouldn't know mah. To me coming over to work, $300 a month seems like impossible to survive.
That's the issue. Students shouldn't be spending like people who work. People with no income (or worse, only generate expenses... like students) should lead a different lifestyle than people who have income.

francisbacon7
post Jul 5 2011, 10:55 AM

300 posts

Anyone knows about this firm? R Chan & Associates PAC, is it an audit firm?

can I know how much the salary range for the position of semi senior in a SG small audit firm?

This post has been edited by francisbacon7: Jul 5 2011, 10:57 AM
crazy25kid
post Jul 5 2011, 10:58 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 5 2011, 10:43 AM)
I am not one too. laugh.gif laugh.gif
MsiaqweR
post Jul 5 2011, 11:00 AM

642 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 5 2011, 10:55 AM)
Anyone knows about this firm? R Chan & Associates PAC, is it an audit firm?

can I knpw how much the salary range for the position of semi senior in a SG small audit firm?
Sounds like a chinaman audit firm, salary wise ranging from $1800 to $2400 for semi senior.

Just beware that some of these firms, you might need to give 6 mths of termination notice upon resignation.

This happen to 2 of my frens which they 1st came to SG to work few years ago.
crazy25kid
post Jul 5 2011, 11:02 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 5 2011, 11:00 AM)
Sounds like a chinaman audit firm, salary wise ranging from $1800 to $2400 for semi senior.

Just beware that some of these firms, you might need to give 6 mths of termination notice upon resignation.

Oh my...tat is one heck of a notice. sweat.gif sweat.gif
And most Sg companies I heard consider 2 months notice long, 3 months absurd...I have no idea what they would think of a 6 months notice. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
francisbacon7
post Jul 5 2011, 11:20 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 5 2011, 11:00 AM)

It is located in Beach road, anything wrong to the location? because he mentioned "applicant should willing to work in Beach road" blink.gif

ivanswk
post Jul 5 2011, 11:27 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 5 2011, 11:20 AM)
It is located in Beach road, anything wrong to the location? because he mentioned "applicant should willing to work in Beach road"  blink.gif
my experiance with beach road is golden mile, when taking bus going home brows.gif
a lot of apek and thai gal sitting in the small restaurant discussing singapore politic i guess sweat.gif
and some learning some acupuncture thing i guess hehe.. i see some having their hand over each other tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 5 2011, 11:29 AM
MsiaqweR
post Jul 5 2011, 11:53 AM

642 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 4 2011, 09:54 PM)
Hi folks,

Who wanna follow me to support Singapore when Singapore takes on Malaysia is the all important World Cup 2014 qualifier.

Wah, epic match.
SG vs MY in 2014 World Cup Qualifier. I also wanna watch live in SG stadium.
Walaoeh!
post Jul 5 2011, 11:58 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 5 2011, 11:27 AM)
my experiance with beach road is golden mile, when taking bus going home  brows.gif
a lot of apek and thai gal sitting in the small restaurant discussing singapore politic i guess sweat.gif
and some learning some acupuncture thing i guess hehe.. i see some having their hand over each other  tongue.gif
beach road is quite a long road leh....
golden mile is located at one end, the other end is the Raffles City.

if i'm not wrong, R Chan & Associates PAC is located inside Shaw Towers.
It's located in the CBD, next to Raffles University, behind Shaw towers is the Suntec City.
walking distance to Bugis & Esplanade MRT.

btw, inside golden mile complex is really like a little thailand... all thai shops and ppl in there... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Jul 5 2011, 12:06 PM
TSdarkages
post Jul 5 2011, 02:12 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 4 2011, 09:54 PM)
Hi folks,

Singaporeans are only interested with their under 16 players if you are not aware.
paranoid
post Jul 5 2011, 05:44 PM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

anyone looking for job in IT field.
my team is hiring. IBM.

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0295sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:56 AM