URL for:
V1
V2
V3
V3a
V5

FAQs

Employments:
Job opportunities are still good. Those with higher education level/experience stand a better chance and command a higher starting pay. Good command of English in resume writing or interview is a huge benefit. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB

The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, and then extend your visa to long term. During your stay in SG, flip through the recruitment newspaper and apply for your job through the company itself. This way, you're almost guaranteed to be in front of the queue from those who applied through Jobstreet. You can also attend their interviews without any delays while you're here in SG.

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

<Need more information on salary bracket and range in different industries to expand. Contributions greatly appreciated>

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere! Prime and new areas should cost around SGD450-600 per room (with or without utilities). You can still find sub SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD800-1200 per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/ (looks more like a dating site )
http://www.sg-house.com/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

Coach: http://www.journeymalaysia.com/ptasingapore.htm

SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg

Malaysians can drive in cars/bikes to work in SG. For SG PRs, you have to drive singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...oring_guide.htm

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

Forummers in SG:

Please PM me if you wish me to add you to the list above
Feel free to contribute and amend any inaccuracies. THX! Let's roll.

To those who like to join into the mailing list for future functions/gatherings please PM me following details smile.gif

LYN username:
Real name*:
Phone*:
Email*:
MSN*:
YM*:
Skype*:
Facebook*:
Friendster*:
Work at:
Stay in:

*Privacy enabled: yes/no (yes-only me can contact you, no-others allowed to see you details)

This post has been edited by darkages: May 6 2011, 02:30 PM
TSdarkages
post Apr 13 2011, 10:30 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Anyone interested to rent the whole HDB (fully furnished) unit with me?

I'm looking to rent a 2+1 unit and will be taking the master room. Location wise, I'm targeting central i.e AMK, Bishan, Toa Payoh, to Commonwealth, and Aljunied.

PM me, we can discuss further.
TSdarkages
post May 11 2011, 10:17 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Anyone looking for a common room? PM me.

Brief details:
Blk 207 Toa Payoh.
Nearest MRT Braddell, less than 5 min walk from door to door.
No owner.
Approved unit and fully furnished.
It is a 2+1 unit, 2 identical bedrooms and 1 bath room.
$600-700 excluding PUB.

TSdarkages
post May 11 2011, 10:34 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ May 11 2011, 10:22 AM)
Bro, if u know any room for rent boon lay area do let me know. Thanks

BTW guys, may i ask wat is Monthly Variable Component (MVC)?
my company says 10% goes to MVC. wat is that?
Unfortunately I'm not a real estate agent tongue.gif

TSdarkages
post May 11 2011, 01:30 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ May 11 2011, 12:55 PM)
this kind of common room can occupy how many person?
is there any other current tenant?

me and my colleagues is still looking around for room rental,
Can fit 2.

No other tenants, I will occupy the other room.
TSdarkages
post May 16 2011, 11:03 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ May 16 2011, 10:38 AM)
Guys I need you guys to help me on this.

Last week, I went for job interview after they approach me through email. During interview, it looks like I'm the one interviewing them instead of interviewing me, keep asking those question regarding my current job and ignore all my IT skills. After 30min of resting, ( having coffee nearby after interview ), they call me again to office. This time they provide me job offer, but stated that they will have 2 years bonding, and state the salary and increment within those 2 years.

After few days of consideration, I have decided to reject the job due to bonding. ( 2 years is really make me crazy ). I sent an email regarding this. The next day, he called me and requested reasons of rejecting the job offer. After I said its due to job bonding, he said he will try to make up something for this. The following day, he provide a job offer without bonding but reduce salary by a bit.

Should i take this job? Cause they way they approach me, is like treating me like a gold treasure. =___= Totally suspicious on this. And any job with a bonding doesn't seem to be a nice job after all. What do you think?  cry.gif

(P/S: The job is application support specialist , something like software engineer but more on project management. I personally like programming but i heard that IT project management path has more future than programming path.)
Without the bond, aren't you free to leave if you decide to throw the towel?
From 2 year bond to no bond, I do think that they value you quite highly. If you think you still have other chances elsewhere, you can consider declining. At the same time, you could also take on the job and still look for better offers.
TSdarkages
post May 25 2011, 11:01 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(paranoid @ May 25 2011, 01:16 PM)
has anyone been to the lion king musical yet?
can bring camera(slr) in boh even if we dun use it.
I'm not sure if you are allowed to bring in dslr but bags are all check before being allowed to enter.
Staff are quite strict in not allowing photo taking during the show.

Oh yea, don't bother buying the $20 show booklet, its quite worthless.
TSdarkages
post May 31 2011, 09:21 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

I opened my DBS account with just my passport, you just need to convince them why you are opening an account. Try your luck at Malacca St on Saturday.
TSdarkages
post Jun 2 2011, 09:36 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(hyperthom007 @ Jun 2 2011, 12:11 AM)
Hey fellow Malaysians (Mercury not included), I am going to work in NUH soon and I have very little geographical knowledge on Sg. I am from Penang BTW. I just wanna know if there's any accomodation around that area generally? I wanna narrow down my search.
Thanks a bunch
QUOTE(magiclover @ Jun 2 2011, 12:25 AM)
Lol. Me too big head with accomodation.

My 1 year contract is over, and I just gave notice to move out next month due to some unpleasant experience with owners.

Sourcing for location near redhill/queenstown within a budget of $500-550, guess gonna be real tough.
If you could increase to about $900, I could connect you to a friend who just got a place at Buono Vista (500m away from mrt), walking distance to holland village for great food.
2 bedroom flat sharing 1 toilet. Very neat place/fully furnish. Main tenant is a young malaysian couple and they are looking preferably malaysian couple to share the flat with them. So that works out about $450/pax (assuming couple).

Again, I'm not an agent. Just spreading the word.

TSdarkages
post Jul 3 2011, 06:46 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 3 2011, 02:35 AM)
Where is the largest bookstore in Singapore? I'm looking for specific profession related books but most bookstores are small and don't have what I want.
There are many book stores at Bras Basah Complex.
TSdarkages
post Jul 3 2011, 06:17 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(Carlos888 @ Jul 3 2011, 09:34 AM)
Hi, waiting for S pass and going to work in Sin Ming Road (nearby Marrymount). Any walking distance or convenient to reach  accommodation recommended (cheaper so that i do not need to share with ppl XD).

Btw, anybody working in M&E field here? Can be friend o.. XD
Ang Mo Kio you can still find common room at 500-600 but definitely not walking distance to MRT.
Another choice would be Shun Fu estate, nearest to Marymount MRT.
TSdarkages
post Jul 4 2011, 03:21 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 4 2011, 01:29 PM)
Eh, ask you guys, where is best place to buy electronics and electrical appliances (for house)?

Specifically, I need to buy a TV (looking at 40" size), vacuum cleaner, rice cooker, blender, juicer, espresso machine (maybe), iron. Don't have a car here but I can get my gf to drive over for the weekend if it's more convenient. Any suggestions? Courts or Harvey Norman?
Parisilk beats all.
Just tell them you requirements and they will quote you the best price.

TSdarkages
post Jul 4 2011, 04:13 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 4 2011, 03:36 PM)
How does it work? Get a quote, order and then they deliver?

I usually stick to the hypermarts because of the no questions asked return policy if you return it within a week or two. Just bring it back to Carrefour or Xtra and they'll give you a replacement or a refund immediately. Electricals these days are cheap enough to buy & throw. If it works in the first 2 weeks, it'll probably work the next couple of years. After that, if it breaks, just replace it.

For heavier stuff like white goods, warranties are almost useless in Singapore without an on-site warranty. It's simply too big/heavy to transport or too cheap to warrant the transport costs to/from the service center. Courts will come back to pick up the defective item within 2 weeks (or at least that's what they told me for the TV).

Parisilk might be good for small stuff like handphones, laptops and accessories though.
My family+relatives who have been using them for the past 20 odd years. Like you mentioned, get quote and they will deliver. The older generation in my family would just give them a call and ask them to deliver what they (Parisilk) think is best. Most of us call to compare prices of certain and they have so far never failed to beat the price we saw elsewhere.

As far as I could remember, my family have never purchased small items like handphones,laptops (usually change upon renewal of contract) or camera from them. Mostly TVs and other home appliances. The most recent purchase was a Sharp smart tv, about $100 cheaper than the cheapest that I have surveyed, free delivery and I have the option to just pass them a cheque, easy.

I would recommend them to anyone and Nee Soon branch is the one that I deal with.
TSdarkages
post Jul 5 2011, 02:12 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 4 2011, 09:54 PM)
Hi folks,

Who wanna follow me to support Singapore when Singapore takes on Malaysia is the all important World Cup 2014 qualifier.

Who loses will be saying bye-bye to WC 2014.

Hope to get the tickets soon and cheer for SG this time...
Singaporeans are only interested with their under 16 players if you are not aware.
TSdarkages
post Jul 6 2011, 09:14 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Working in Singapore v7

0.0245sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:21 AM