Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

francisbacon7
post Jun 28 2011, 06:11 PM

300 posts

hi...I have applied many Singapore companies by jobstreet, jobdbs, and company web site..

My experience and qualification also okey.

but there is no call for interview at all? what is my problem?

Do we need a referrer who is Singaporean?
francisbacon7
post Jun 28 2011, 08:25 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jun 28 2011, 07:02 PM)
@francisbacon7

i am not sure what's your field of studies or areas of expertise is.

It is regretted to say most of the employers nowadays will give priority to Singaporean or PR residents first before considering Malaysians.

Meanwhile, is your applications all based in city or downtown area?

Maybe you could try to apply to companies based in Tuas, Changi or Woodlands areas as most city jobs will normally be taken-up by Singaporeans or PR itself.
audit line...i though this field need a lot of man power, i saw many of my ex colleagues or friend can get offer easily.

will take on ur suggestion, thanks alot smile.gif

Added on June 28, 2011, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 28 2011, 08:24 PM)
Who says your experience and qualifications are okay? Okay for what and in relation to what?
2 years+ experience in top ten accounting firm in M'sia, degree holder, 2 papers left for professional cert.

This post has been edited by francisbacon7: Jun 28 2011, 08:27 PM
francisbacon7
post Jun 28 2011, 09:15 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 28 2011, 08:56 PM)
Only the top 4 matters. The others will not get you shortlisted unless it's an employer that cannot attract Big4 leavers. I've been in finance my whole career and I can't even name the 5th largest firm (global, Malaysian nor Singaporean) without Googling. If I can't tell, my secretary or HR partner (who will shortlist resumes for me to see) definitely will not.

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
degree holder
More than 70% of this generation of Singaporeans have a tertiary education. 100% of those Singaporeans you're competing with with have a degree or better. 100% of those foreign immigrants that you're competing with have a degree or better. 60% of the 50 accountants in my company's accounting service center in Singapore have a professional qualification. 40% of have a Masters degree. 25% have a Masters and a professional qualification or better.

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
2 papers left for professional cert.
You're not qualified yet. You can't be a little bit pregnant. Either you are, or you aren't.

To be frank, your profile does not stand out.
Probably u dont understand audit line..or probably i am not that outstanding, yes, i applied some smaller firm as well..

I just wonder, even my friends which is much more not that "outstanding", they are manage to get an offer. of course, they get offer frm smaller firm n salary range 1.8-2.3k
francisbacon7
post Jun 28 2011, 10:44 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jun 28 2011, 10:37 PM)
Seriously, why don't you apply big 4 malaysia? 4k ringgit is better than 1.8k sgd. In sg, 1.2k is minimum to live well.
Cant really survive in Big four, their workload is crazy. it is not a long term job. that why I only applied for small medium firm.

honestly, RM4k < SGD2.8k...life of living in KL is high, criminal is high as well.
francisbacon7
post Jul 5 2011, 10:55 AM

300 posts

Anyone knows about this firm? R Chan & Associates PAC, is it an audit firm?

can I know how much the salary range for the position of semi senior in a SG small audit firm?

This post has been edited by francisbacon7: Jul 5 2011, 10:57 AM
francisbacon7
post Jul 5 2011, 11:20 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 5 2011, 11:00 AM)
Sounds like a chinaman audit firm, salary wise ranging from $1800 to $2400 for semi senior.

Just beware that some of these firms, you might need to give 6 mths of termination notice upon resignation.

This happen to 2 of my frens which they 1st came to SG to work few years ago.
It is located in Beach road, anything wrong to the location? because he mentioned "applicant should willing to work in Beach road" blink.gif

0.0460sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:10 AM