Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

Lester1987
post Jul 3 2011, 09:42 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Carlos888 @ Jul 3 2011, 09:34 AM)
Hi, waiting for S pass and going to work in Sin Ming Road (nearby Marrymount). Any walking distance or convenient to reach  accommodation recommended (cheaper so that i do not need to share with ppl XD).

Btw, anybody working in M&E field here? Can be friend o.. XD
My aunty stays in Sin Ming Ave, there are a few HDB block there. but tell u 1 thing la, 1 common room is $600 there. I also dunno why its that expensive. That place got no MRT, need to transfer bus to Bishan MRT station. but thats the price around there.
tayhaithian
post Jul 3 2011, 09:42 AM

460 posts

Hi, waiting for S pass and going to work in Sin Ming Road (nearby Marrymount). Any walking distance or convenient to reach  accommodation recommended (cheaper so that i do not need to share with ppl XD).

8days already I been waiting my pass cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Carlos888
post Jul 3 2011, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 3 2011, 09:42 AM)
My aunty stays in Sin Ming Ave, there are a few HDB block there. but tell u 1 thing la, 1 common room is $600 there. I also dunno why its that expensive. That place got no MRT, need to transfer bus to Bishan MRT station. but thats the price around there.
@@ then i should find at other MRT station d or share with ppl . thx for the info

Anyone stay nearby MRT with rental around $400? tongue.gif

Added on July 3, 2011, 11:06 am
QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 3 2011, 09:42 AM)
8days already I been waiting my pass  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
1 week for online apply and 2 week without online. Dun worry.

btw , you have resigned from current job?

This post has been edited by Carlos888: Jul 3 2011, 11:06 AM
tayhaithian
post Jul 3 2011, 11:44 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Carlos888 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:03 AM)
1 week for online apply and 2 week without online. Dun worry.

btw , you have resigned from current job?
I'm fresh grad cool2.gif

This post has been edited by tayhaithian: Jul 3 2011, 11:45 AM
Carlos888
post Jul 3 2011, 12:01 PM

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 3 2011, 11:44 AM)
I'm fresh grad  cool2.gif
oh same, so have you rent a room? if yes, where and how much o?
tayhaithian
post Jul 3 2011, 12:07 PM

460 posts

Yea, living together with my hometown neighbour who works in Singapore. 1 Room 700SGD@ Commonwealth near MRT(5-10minutes walk)
fon
post Jul 3 2011, 01:17 PM

79 posts

guys, wish ask some question
1)what is the cheapest way go&return between sg and kl during weekend?
2)what is the cheapest airline go&return between sg and kl during weekend?
3)anyone drive bek kl on weekend from sg and return to sg on sun?
my gf is in kl.. i work sg. so.. pening.. pls help!
LYR
post Jul 3 2011, 02:49 PM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(fon @ Jul 3 2011, 01:17 PM)
1. cheapest way is always by bus but it also takes the longest time. From KL, just take express bus. from SG, the ticket will be in SGD and thus when you're comparing both in RM, it's twice more expensive. therefore, you go to kranji, take SBS transit 170 to larkin (JB bus station), then only you buy ticket to go to KL.

Nokia convert
post Jul 3 2011, 02:53 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(fon @ Jul 3 2011, 01:17 PM)
1) take a bus from Johor bahru Larkin terminal. one way trip is only rm30+
2) I find airasia to be the cheapest but you have to book at least 6 months in advance for it to be an economical option.
3) some forumers here drive back to kl once in awhile but not every week. You still need to compensate their petrol cost. It will come up to about the same as bus ticket in the end.

fon
post Jul 3 2011, 03:16 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Jul 3 2011, 02:49 PM)
1. cheapest way is always by bus but it also takes the longest time. From KL, just take express bus. from SG, the ticket will be in SGD and thus when you're comparing both in RM, it's twice more expensive. therefore, you go to kranji, take SBS transit 170 to larkin (JB bus station), then only you buy ticket to go to KL.
Then which bus coach in sg bek to kl u recommend? i wish to bek at friday around 7.30pm.

Added on July 3, 2011, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jul 3 2011, 02:53 PM)
2) I find airasia to be the cheapest but you have to book at least 6 months in advance for it to be an economical option.
3) some forumers here drive back to kl once in awhile but not every week. You still need to compensate their petrol cost. It will come up to about the same as bus ticket in the end.
em, then do u know any forumers who will drive bek? i try pm them..

This post has been edited by fon: Jul 3 2011, 03:17 PM
gunbt
post Jul 3 2011, 04:13 PM

Any body know or experience how West Malaysia SPR withdraw their CPF before retire age with most convenient method?
TSdarkages
post Jul 3 2011, 06:17 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Ang Mo Kio you can still find common room at 500-600 but definitely not walking distance to MRT.
Another choice would be Shun Fu estate, nearest to Marymount MRT.
deodorant
post Jul 3 2011, 10:31 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

guys, if any of you shopping for headphones/earphones/whatever, highly recommend this shop named Jaben, 4th floor Adelphi (city hall mrt there). super friendly owner, and best part is you can sit as long as you like and try all the headphones/earphones as you like until you find a pair that suits you.

also ... any of you using starhub who have problems with 3g data last couple of days? my starhub green on iP4 fuukin useless, 75% of the time no internet at all, the other 25% of the time super slow and frequent timeouts.
yeahs4.1
post Jul 3 2011, 11:44 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 3 2011, 10:31 PM)
guys, if any of you shopping for headphones/earphones/whatever, highly recommend this shop named Jaben, 4th floor Adelphi (city hall mrt there). super friendly owner, and best part is you can sit as long as you like and try all the headphones/earphones as you like until you find a pair that suits you.

You must be speaking of Uncle Wilson.

Lester1987
post Jul 4 2011, 12:12 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jul 3 2011, 02:53 PM)
its actually not, its more expensive than bus even we divide 4 person. JB to KL its RM41.30 1 way toll money, 1 tank petrol RM60. so 2 way will be RM200+, that haven include service car and change tyre money. the benefits is its fast if drive. from 5 hours bus journey, it can cut down to 3 hours.
So even faster than plane i would say.
alvin227
post Jul 4 2011, 12:34 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 3 2011, 10:31 PM)

also ... any of you using starhub who have problems with 3g data last couple of days? my starhub green on iP4 fuukin useless, 75% of the time no internet at all, the other 25% of the time super slow and frequent timeouts.
You can look for stereo.. Stereo have better reputation than Jaben... anyway it's still very subjective due to the experience may differ.
toda6866
post Jul 4 2011, 09:10 AM

303 posts

guys n gals, i have a BIG problem...

it seems that the sg company hired me is exploiting foreigners, knowing we need a job, suddenly during confirmation ask me to sign a new contract... very strange terms that requires a person to work on wkends n if no work on wkends the hrs not clocked will be 'owed' to the company... its not my 1st job so nvr heard of such thing.... no epf paid n no transport claimable even though travel to work for the extra hrs... end up if u resign they can easily make u stay for another 1 mth or so due to the 'hrs' u 'owe' them... it has happened to others.... n i hav been warned by my colleagues

BIG Question is, if i resign now, will i lose my EP n get deported back to Msia? If so, then mayb i should jz put my head down n sign the agreement after that quietly look for another job?

wat would u do? negotiated for hrs edi but the boss insist the terms...

This post has been edited by toda6866: Jul 4 2011, 09:11 AM
MsiaqweR
post Jul 4 2011, 09:14 AM

642 posts

@toda6866,

sad to hear there are such company with such terms in SG.

wat type of company is that, where is the location? Maybe can give us some clues so that other members are aware of it. thanks.
alvin227
post Jul 4 2011, 09:20 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Jul 4 2011, 09:10 AM)
guys n gals, i have a BIG problem...

it seems that the sg company hired me is exploiting foreigners, knowing we need a job, suddenly during confirmation ask me to sign a new contract... very strange terms that requires a person to work on wkends n if no work on wkends the hrs not clocked will be 'owed' to the company... its not my 1st job so nvr heard of such thing.... no epf paid n no transport claimable even though travel to work for the extra hrs... end up if u resign they can easily make u stay for another 1 mth or so due to the 'hrs' u 'owe' them... it has happened to others.... n i hav been warned by my colleagues

BIG Question is, if i resign now, will i lose my EP n get deported back to Msia? If so, then mayb i should jz put my head down n sign the agreement after that quietly look for another job?

wat would u do? negotiated for hrs edi but the boss insist the terms...
Hi toda6866,

I assume you've read the contract, you understand that the T&C is weird yet you decide to sign on the contract, by all mean you agree that you shall adhere to the contract drafted. So what do you expecting now? You know it would be non-stop bashing right?

Ok, if you resign, your EP will be terminated by your employer and you be granted 30days pass to continue your stay at sg, not sure you'll be able to extend this duration, lastly, i wish you good luck and have a good negotiation with your boss.
deodorant
post Jul 4 2011, 09:29 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Jul 4 2011, 12:34 AM)
You can look for stereo.. Stereo have better reputation than Jaben... anyway it's still very subjective due to the experience may differ.

I've been to stereo (plaza sing, right?), imo their service is nowhere near what uncle wilson gave. although i must admit that at stereo got one sweet young thing salesgirl helping me wub.gif but her product recommendations & knowledge & etc were like just doh.gif and barely better than mine. and also the environment not very conducive for sitting down and testing products cool.gif

I have heard that Jaben tends to price their products on the high side, though, so ... need to go in pre-informed lor.

Anyway guys > If I need to go Penang for the weekend, best is to bus to JB then AirAsia to PG right? I check JB > PG price is so much cheaper than SG > PG price.

125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:17 AM