ianho
post Mar 2 2006, 08:21 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Mar 2 2006, 05:10 PM)
TT Aquarius GPU block??
what sort of barb size is it? i believe this is highly restrictive compared to the rest of your system using a 1/2" ID tubing.

(EDIT: checked TT website, says got mountings for 1/2" ID tubing. but could it be that the block might be too restrictive and hamper the flow?)

the Eheim 1260 has about 3.5m Hmax right? which is quite good adi. but it could be that the two double 120mm rad's are a little too restrictive for 3.5m head.

on the other hand, i believe the storm G4 should be 1st in line after the pump, followed by the GPU block, then radiators, and lastly the reservoir.
I'm using the Aquarius too. Looks like theres no restriction actually. It's a U channel design cut into the block. There's no jet impingement, no pins to create any restriction.
MetalZone
post Mar 2 2006, 08:54 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 2 2006, 05:43 PM)
Thanks for all the reply.

I find my CPU temp is less satisfactory. But my GPU temp is absolutely okay (470/1180 core/mem, 49c idle 55c load).

May be I'll try putting the G4 right after the pump.
By the way, I need 5-foot clearflex 60.Put me in your bulk list. Thanks.
yes your CPU temp definately doesnt look like what u paid for.
try putting it in the order i recommended.

ianho, yeah, its just a U, but how tight is the passage?
ALeUNe
post Mar 6 2006, 08:50 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Mar 2 2006, 08:54 PM)
yes your CPU temp definately doesnt look like what u paid for.
try putting it in the order i recommended.
ianho, yeah, its just a U, but how tight is the passage?
I have re-position the loop, pump ---> G4 ---> VGA WB --> Radiators --> Reservoir.

The temp is the same.
I have done some test on the CPU @ default speed.
Operate in non-air con room.

After hours of torturing at default speed, idle 38c load 41c.
At overclocked speed (2.7G) + increase of vcore (1.65v), idle 38c load 49c.

I can only conclude that the increase of vcore and CPU speed generates more heat. I must have a CPU which "hot" in nature. tongue.gif
c9
post Mar 6 2006, 09:27 AM

5,824 posts

Have you tried with one rad?
almostthere
post Mar 6 2006, 09:56 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 6 2006, 08:50 AM)
I have re-position the loop, pump ---> G4 ---> VGA WB --> Radiators --> Reservoir.

The temp is the same.
I have done some test on the CPU @ default speed.
Operate in non-air con room.

After hours of torturing at default speed, idle 38c load 41c.
At overclocked speed (2.7G) + increase of vcore (1.65v), idle 38c load 49c.

I can only conclude that the increase of vcore and CPU speed generates more heat. I must have a CPU which "hot" in nature.  tongue.gif
I'd doubt that. It's definitely your WC setup. Too restictive and some calculations gone wrong actually. Cos my Clawhammer clocking at 9*270 seems to be doing better temps then yours IMHO
c9
post Mar 6 2006, 10:18 AM

5,824 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Mar 6 2006, 09:56 AM)
I'd doubt that. It's definitely your WC setup. Too restictive and some calculations gone wrong actually. Cos my Clawhammer clocking at 9*270 seems to be doing better temps then yours IMHO
Yup, I was thinking about this too. Perhaps try with one rad or sumting.
MetalZone
post Mar 6 2006, 09:46 PM

2,515 posts

aleune... try running this setup by itself and see what temps you get:

Eheim 1260 > Storm G4 > BIX2 > Reservoir

Like everyone else says, i believe your system is too restrictive.

on the other hand, could it be that you made a bad mount on ur G4?

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Mar 6 2006, 09:47 PM
ALeUNe
post Mar 7 2006, 09:16 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Mar 6 2006, 09:46 PM)
aleune... try running this setup by itself and see what temps you get:

Eheim 1260 > Storm G4 > BIX2 > Reservoir

Like everyone else says, i believe your system is too restrictive.

on the other hand, could it be that you made a bad mount on ur G4?
I was thinking it could be bad temp reading by the MSI mobo. I put the processor on ASUS mobo, it showed the same result.

Bad mounting? I doubt so. I inspect the mounting closely each time I re-setup my water rig. I can tell the mounting is okay from the thermal paste mark on the waterblock. Besides, I have re-setup my waterblock many times and on 2 different mobos thus I reckon possibility of bad mounting is pretty slim.

Yeap, I tried single radiator last night. I tried both BIX and BIPro.
It didn't help.

My loop is Eheim1260 --> Storm --> TT Aquarius II ---> Rad -->Resvr

The GPU waterblock is right after the CPU waterblock.
I'm using Geforce 6800Ultra (core/mem 475MHz/575MHz), idle 49c load 55c).
My GPU temp is absolutely okay. I have compared my GPU temp result with Ianho's. My GPU is clocked higher than Ianho's and temp is slightly lower than his too. So, I think the loop is indeed efficient.

So, I think there could be 2 reasons,
(1) A processor which "hot" in nature
(2) Storm waterblock

I do not use any coolant. I just use RO water (I have got a RO water-filtering machine at home). Could it be something clogging inside the Storm waterblock?
Do you think I should open the waterblock and check?

I will remove the GPU waterblock from the loop tonight. Will let you know the result.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Mar 7 2006, 09:18 AM
MetalZone
post Mar 7 2006, 06:26 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 7 2006, 09:16 AM)
I was thinking it could be bad temp reading by the MSI mobo. I put the processor on ASUS mobo, it showed the same result.

Bad mounting? I doubt so. I inspect the mounting closely each time I re-setup my water rig. I can tell the mounting is okay from the thermal paste mark on the waterblock. Besides, I have re-setup my waterblock many times and on 2 different mobos thus I reckon possibility of bad mounting is pretty slim.

Yeap, I tried single radiator last night. I tried both BIX and BIPro.
It didn't help.

My loop is Eheim1260 --> Storm --> TT Aquarius II ---> Rad -->Resvr

The GPU waterblock is right after the CPU waterblock.
I'm using Geforce 6800Ultra (core/mem 475MHz/575MHz), idle 49c load 55c).
My GPU temp is absolutely okay. I have compared my GPU temp result with Ianho's. My GPU is clocked higher than Ianho's and temp is slightly lower than his too. So, I think the loop is indeed efficient. 

So, I think there could be 2 reasons,
(1) A processor which "hot" in nature
(2) Storm waterblock

I do not use any coolant. I just use RO water (I have got a RO water-filtering machine at home). Could it be something clogging inside the Storm waterblock?
Do you think I should open the waterblock and check?

I will remove the GPU waterblock from the loop tonight. Will let you know the result.
thats one thing i wanted you to try... without the GPU block. since u already tried both with single rad, now's left the waterblock.

you could check ur storm block while u are at it.

using RO water is fine. coolant is not necessary unless u are mixing metals. otherwise, corrosion might occur.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Mar 7 2006, 06:26 PM
satanhead2003
post Mar 7 2006, 06:34 PM

551 posts

sifoo n guru's.... wanna ask something..... food colouring can be use in wc? mine is zalman's waterblock with aquarius II oso ( i think both is copper ). Need to add coolant or plain battery water can do?
MetalZone
post Mar 7 2006, 06:40 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(satanhead2003 @ Mar 7 2006, 06:34 PM)
sifoo n guru's.... wanna ask something..... food colouring can be use in wc? mine is zalman's waterblock with aquarius II oso ( i think both is copper ). Need to add coolant or plain battery water can do?
err... are u actually thinking of substituting coolant with food colouring?
i dont recommend u do that, coz the particles can cause unecessary wear to the pump's impeller bearings. besides u may have the walls of your tubing or waterblocks getting sediments of it.

coolant issint really necessary if you dont want to unless u have a mixture a different metals in ur system. the purpose of coolants is to prevent algae growth and corrosion.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Mar 7 2006, 06:43 PM
ALeUNe
post Mar 9 2006, 09:11 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Mar 7 2006, 06:26 PM)
thats one thing i wanted you to try... without the GPU block. since u already tried both with single rad, now's left the waterblock.

you could check ur storm block while u are at it.

using RO water is fine. coolant is not necessary unless u are mixing metals. otherwise, corrosion might occur.
I tested without the GPU block. I inspected the mounting closely.
I made sure the waterblock is seated properly on the processor. I applied very thin layer of thermal paste.

Pump --> Storm --> Reservoir --> BIX Radiator --> Pump

I used the suction power of the pump to pull in water from reservoir to radiator.
There is absolutely no obstacles/restriction from pump-storm-reservoir.

This pump has very strong push of water. The bleeding process can be done within 30 seconds. So, I think the water flow is efficient enough. After priming for 1.5 hours, the water was still quite cool to touch.

Same result. Idle 38c Load 49-51c.

I must conclude that this processor is hot in nature.
Anyway, it's rock-stable despite its weird temperature. tongue.gif

It's been spending many nights on the testing. My wife is gonna divorce if I keep doing this. tongue.gif Okay, I'm gonna stop here.

Thanks for all the advice.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Mar 9 2006, 09:52 AM
ianho
post Mar 13 2006, 05:17 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Just thought I'd share this with u guys. Of late the weather has been really , really hot. Excruciatingly hot in fact. N my CPU load temps haf even gone up due to the higher air temps. My load temps were on 37C b4 the current hot spell. Now it goes up to 39C. Prime95 n hours of gaming shows the same temps of 39C max.

So I went n got myself a 2nd 120X38 NMB fan for the rad. I bought it from an electronics shop. I didn't know the specs n all but it looked really good plus it was a known brand so I just went ahead n bought it. It came with 3 wires but no plug, just bare wires. Red, black n white so I presumed it had speed sensing too. Checked with Allngap n sure enuf he too sed it was speed sensing. With Allngaps advice I hooked it up to a spare molex plug I had.

After plugging into my spare PSU for testing, 1st reaction was OMG! What kinda monster did I buy???? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif It was a monster. Flow was fantastic but the sound was almost at Delta levels. I did sum searching on the NMB site n found the spec sheet. 118CFM at 12V. No wonder. I only need the fan to match the Panaflo 120X38 @ 70CFM that's oredi on the rad. So I did more research on how to devolt the fan. Finally I devolted the fan to 7V n the sound level is about the same as the Panaflo. I guess that at about half the voltage it shud be about 70-80 CFM thereby matching the Panaflo roughly. The NMB is still louder than the Panaflo. What I did was to mount the NMB inside the case n the Panaflo on the outside where it mounts to the top of the case. This reduced the sound a fair bit too. So now the system sounds a lil bit louder than b4 but for the 4C drop I reckon it's well worth it.

Here's a pic of my dual fan set up now inside the top of my case.

The max temp now is at only 35C. Fantastic results for a rm16 fan n a few hours job to redo the rad to a push pull config n also the rewiring n such. I wud say the experiment has paid off big time. I never knew a push pull config can make such a huge difference of 4C off the peak temp. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
amok
post Mar 14 2006, 10:51 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 13 2006, 05:17 PM)
errr... nice paint job ianho...

Tubings could be improve. Too much G-force for the pump to handle... loosing unnecessary heads.

MY 2 sen oni. whistling.gif
zahri
post Mar 14 2006, 04:10 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

i just installed in my WaterCooling Setup Sunday.

1. Thermaltake Waterblock
2. Thermaltake RAdiator with 120mm UV SILENT FAN ( PULLING AIR ) and 2 x 80mm FAN PUSHING AIR .
3. Custom Reservoir + WaterPump.
4. ThermalTake UV tubings.

Are there any improvements ? i can do on this setup ?

thanks.

uzairi
post Mar 15 2006, 01:13 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Sadly there's minor improvement that u can make to this setup that is shorten the loop but i doubt that would do any effect to your temp. Secondly u can change the pump to a higher lph and hmax pump. I noticed that u submerged your pump inside the reservoir rite ? Is it Nirox p2800 ?
Shah81
post Mar 15 2006, 11:43 AM

480 posts

submerging pump into the reservoir can increase the loop temp by a few degrees depending on the total heat dump by the pump. so i suggest you change it into inline setup if it is nirox p2800. smile.gif
lichyetan
post Mar 15 2006, 09:47 PM

2,295 posts

anyone using the syscooling wc kit from ngbh, recently weather turns hot, my amd64 temp max load during hot day time 47c sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif 45c during hot night time sweat.gif sweat.gif any suggestion to lower the temp??? i changed the coolant to thermaltake coolant but still no diffrence.... my fren's artic cooling freezer64 also 53c at max load... damn hot weather in malaysia now... anyone's wc sys also suffer from raise of temp???
zahri
post Mar 16 2006, 06:07 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 15 2006, 03:13 AM)
Sadly there's minor improvement that u can make to this setup that is shorten the loop but i doubt that would do any effect to your temp. Secondly u can change the pump to a higher lph and hmax pump. I noticed that u submerged your pump inside the reservoir rite ? Is it Nirox p2800 ?
erm.

i am thinking of shoertening and readjust the position of reservoir and loops.

YES, the pump is submerged and is not a NIROX p2800 , i couldn't find the pump here in JB. so i decided to get 1 pump from an aquarium shop and submerged it.
since i cud not find a solution to my pump problem.

and yes i am facing water getting warmer if i turn it on for a long time.

even though the pc is turned off.

Maybe i wud go back and rethink it.

aNy commnets are welcomed biggrin.gif
zahri
post Mar 16 2006, 06:10 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Shah81 @ Mar 15 2006, 01:43 PM)
submerging pump into the reservoir can increase the loop temp by a few degrees depending on the total heat dump by the pump. so i suggest you change it into inline setup if it is nirox p2800. smile.gif
are there any other pump's i can use besides the NIROX p2800

i couldnt find the pump around JB.

i did have problem looking around for the fittings.

anyways,

can i use the same pump and put it in line ?

it is 5800 pump.

141 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:22 AM