124 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

Onemorething
post Apr 18 2011, 09:55 AM

192 posts

Moody's Investors Service downgraded its outlook on the mainland property sector to "negative" from "stable" on what it says are gloomy fundamentals for developers over the next 12 to 18 months.

Under a tough operating environment driven by tightening regulatory measures, rising interest rates, reduced bank lending and increasing supply, mainland developers will inevitably encounter slowing sales, shrinking profit margins and liquidity pressure, according to the rating agency.

It also anticipates that the proceeds from contracted sales of residential homes will decline by an average 25 to 30 percent in first and second-tier cities this year.

According to a Moody's liquidity stress test on 38 mainland developers, 10 of them - all of which are listed in Hong Kong including Shimao Property Holdings Ltd and Central China Real Estate Ltd - will become "vulnerable" in terms of balance sheet liquidity if their contracted sales decline 25 percent this year compared with 2010.

Du Jinsong, head of China property research at Credit Suisse, told China Daily he agrees the finding of Moody's, adding that Credit Suisse has been underweight mainland property since October 2010.

The investment bank expects mainland home prices to slide 5 to 10 percent this year with trading volume to drop 10 to 15 percent.

Personally, the cracks are now opened in a big way. In my experience when Moody's says 5-10% it's hedging on recent developments only, expect so much worse as the Mainland tries to deal with over 17.5 Trillion Yuan in governement spending 2009-2010, which is about 70% of GDP, which has never been seen before and was the ONLY reason property prices increased. Expect a US style demise with initial losses of more like 15-20% and a long drawn out downward cycle which could last years!

I would expect HK, SING and our bubbles to follow very close behind. I also see a US recession before year end, AUS props which are now dropping gain speed on China news and Canada to finally POP!

This post has been edited by Onemorething: Apr 18 2011, 10:05 AM
soongkm
post Apr 18 2011, 10:00 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Apr 18 2011, 09:55 AM)
Moody's Investors Service downgraded its outlook on the mainland property sector to "negative" from "stable" on what it says are gloomy fundamentals for developers over the next 12 to 18 months.

Under a tough operating environment driven by tightening regulatory measures, rising interest rates, reduced bank lending and increasing supply, mainland developers will inevitably encounter slowing sales, shrinking profit margins and liquidity pressure, according to the rating agency.

It also anticipates that the proceeds from contracted sales of residential homes will decline by an average 25 to 30 percent in first and second-tier cities this year.
    According to a Moody's liquidity stress test on 38 mainland developers, 10 of them - all of which are listed in Hong Kong including Shimao Property Holdings Ltd and Central China Real Estate Ltd - will become "vulnerable" in terms of balance sheet liquidity if their contracted sales decline 25 percent this year compared with 2010.

Du Jinsong, head of China property research at Credit Suisse, told China Daily he agrees the finding of Moody's, adding that Credit Suisse has been underweight mainland property since October 2010.

The investment bank expects mainland home prices to slide 5 to 10 percent this year with trading volume to drop 10 to 15 percent.

I expect a bloodbath, not a 5% pullback. Once sentiment changes it will likely be gone for a long while just as happened in the US.
Welcome back Onemorething! Have been waiting for your latest comment for a while...

So if the china property market downturn is going to take place in the next 12 to 18 months, as stated in the Moody's report. When do you think the property market downturn in Malaysia is going to happen?
godutch
post Apr 18 2011, 10:02 AM

171 posts

For those who kept saying that property prices in Malaysia will only go up up up up up and up.

I would appreciate it if you could share with us those who struggling to get a place for own stay:

1) how many properties have you bought over the past 6 months?? And where/ which location. Pls provide details on prices etc, since already done, nothing to lose for disclosing these info right?

2) how many you wanna buy in the next few months (You better be fast right? since prices will only be more and more expensive later on) and where or which location. How much willing to pay?

3) how many % of your resources have been invested in the property market. (better to put in alll your resources since the prices will only be Up Up Up and Up right???) How you managed to get the financing??? % of your monthly cash flows going into paying installment?

4) any other personal experience that you think is relevant and willing to share.

the above information will really help us to make better decisions. thanks in advance!!! Dont' talk only la, walk the talk and pls continue to buy buy buy and buy since you are so confident ~~ walking the talk is more convincing la .

This post has been edited by godutch: Apr 18 2011, 10:05 AM
CKHong
post Apr 18 2011, 10:10 AM

1,380 posts

i think they stop buying that crazily liao..
they're letting go now i think..
2 more auction unit on the condo nearby my stayin place(400k ++ one).. ><
last time auction is bumi lot.. this time one i not sure.. check liao tell u all yeah..
godutch
post Apr 18 2011, 10:19 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Apr 18 2011, 10:10 AM)
2 more auction unit on the condo nearby my stayin place(400k ++ one)..   ><
last time auction is bumi lot.. this time one i not sure.. check liao tell u all yeah..
Hi, congrats!!! but i think we need to pray harder.

I also noticed a condo that i considered overpriced being auctioned off this month (subsale - old condo). looking at the reserve price, i know this guy definitely bought it last year only and didn't hv holding power, the price of this condo shot up 30% in just one year from 2009 to 2010 . but we need to have more cases to have a trend, so just pray harder for the market to adj to more reasonable pricing. biggrin.gif

Added on April 18, 2011, 10:21 am
QUOTE(CKHong @ Apr 18 2011, 10:10 AM)
2 more auction unit on the condo nearby my stayin place(400k ++ one)..   ><
haiya, i just challenged those people to walk the talk la tongue.gif
since they so strongly believe that prices will only go up, then they shud continue to buy buy buy la. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by godutch: Apr 18 2011, 10:23 AM
ronn77
post Apr 18 2011, 10:30 AM

2,508 posts

The price may continue to goes up but before it reach another new high level the price must be undergo some correction to regain momentum. It doesn't make sense that the price will continue to keep going up considering the earnings of most of Malaysians which are not on par with the developed market such as HKG and SIN. My bet is on landed property as these type of projects are getting scarce and the value for landed will only continue to get higher due to reduced supply while prices for condos and service apsrtments will eventually burst in the next 2-3 years when all the current launching projects completed since most of buyers are flippers and hoping to make some bucks. Imagine when the interest rate is anticipated to goes up after the GE which makes the new buyer to think twice to commit the loans.
CKHong
post Apr 18 2011, 10:32 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(godutch @ Apr 18 2011, 10:19 AM)
haiya, i just challenged those people to walk the talk la  tongue.gif
since they so strongly believe that prices will only go up, then they shud continue to buy buy buy la. tongue.gif
opps.. haha.. sorry.. they're convincing us to buy from them ler ~
dun think they will tell us which unit they invest lur.. tongue.gif

wwwcomment
post Apr 18 2011, 11:00 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(godutch @ Apr 18 2011, 10:02 AM)
For those who kept saying that property prices in Malaysia will only go up up up up up and up.

I would appreciate it if you could share with us those who struggling to get a place for own stay:

1) how many properties have you bought over the past 6 months?? And where/ which location. Pls provide details on prices etc, since already done, nothing to lose for disclosing these info right?

2) how many you wanna buy in the next few months (You better be fast right? since prices will only be more and more expensive later on) and where or which location. How much willing to pay?

3) how many % of your resources have been invested in the property market. (better to put in alll your resources since the prices will only be Up Up Up and Up right???) How you managed to get the financing??? % of your monthly cash flows going into paying installment?

4) any other personal experience that you think is relevant and willing to share.

the above information will really help us to make better decisions. thanks in advance!!! Dont' talk only la, walk the talk and pls continue to buy buy buy and buy since you are so confident ~~ walking the talk is more convincing la .
agree.
but these ppl will say dont want to disclose now as still aiming to buy and worry u grab the units before them. hehehe

and the fact is
i believe they also think the price is high
but they cannot say will drop maa
else their property price how to sustain?

dont get me wrong
i am also a owner of properties
of course i hope my investments are good ones
but just in my opinion the unscrupulous lending now is worrying

SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 18 2011, 12:44 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(godutch @ Apr 18 2011, 10:02 AM)

the topic has been discuss for years, I dun understand why you still asking the same questions, go back to read the 1st post fr day 1 again.
For new house buyers, they are so lucky that the forum which has started since 2003, provided so many valuable tips and informations, and again and again, the more informations you get, the greedier you are, you want to know the answer, do your own research and study, dun expect people to spoon feed you sweat.gif
SUSwankongyew
post Apr 18 2011, 01:11 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 18 2011, 09:43 AM)
At 1st those people predicted US crisis will badly hit the property mkt b'coz US is tai kor, those people quiet now. it doesn't happen, now China pula...
As I recall, the US example was cited mainly as an example that property prices can fall, i.e. to argue against the myth that property prices can only ever go up. But most people understand that the US economy is decoupled enough from the Malaysian economy that even a recession in the US shouldn't affect Malaysia too much.

The situation now is different in the following ways:

1) When the subprime bubble burst, economic growth in China more than made up for the slack from the US. The crisis merely accelerated the switch of focus of the Malaysian economy from the US to China. When the China bubble finally bursts, it will come at a time when the US economy is still weak. This means there will be no one to make up the slack this time, no global provider of demand. The Malaysian economy is puny in comparison to the US and China. Since the Malaysian economy is strongly export-oriented, if both of these giants catch a cold at the same time, the Malaysian economy must surely get pneumonia.

2) Everyone knows that the property market in Malaysia is driven by the Chinese in the country. And one way or another the Chinese in turn are more economically dependent on China than the other races. There's also the psychological factor as I've mentioned. Most of the Chinese in Malaysia could care less about property price indices in the US. But when it comes to China, many Malaysian Chinese have lots of stories to tell about how much house prices in Shanghai have gone up in a year and so on. Heck, my wife's parents watch Chinese news channels and they have regular segments on property indices in all the main Chinese cities as part of the news reports. This gives the Chinese in Malaysia added confidence about how property is always a good buy.

3) By and large, Malaysia banks don't care what happens to US banks, so they were not contaminated by the falllout. But when the property bubble in China bursts, it will also affect Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore. Do Malaysian banks have lots of dealings with Hong Kong, Singapore and China? I believe so. This could get very messy.

This post has been edited by wankongyew: Apr 18 2011, 01:59 PM
wwwcomment
post Apr 18 2011, 01:40 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 18 2011, 01:11 PM)
As I recall, the US example was cited mainly as an example that property prices can fall, i.e. to argue against the myth that property prices can only ever go up. But most people understand that the US economy is decoupled enough from the Malaysian economy that even a recession in the US shouldn't affect Malaysia too much.

1) When the subprime bubble burst, economic growth in China more than made up for the slack from the US. The crisis merely accelerated the switch of focus of the Malaysian economy from the US to China. When the China bubble finally bursts, it will come at a time when the US economy is still weak. This means there will be no one to make up the slack this time, no global provider of demand. The Malaysian economy is puny in comparison to the US and China. Since the Malaysian economy is strongly export-oriented, if both of these giants catch a cold at the same time, the Malaysian economy must surely get pneumonia.

2) Everyone knows that the property market in Malaysia is driven by the Chinese in the country. And one way or another the Chinese in turn are more economically dependent on China than the other races. There's also the psychological factor as I've mentioned. Most of the Chinese in Malaysia could care less about property price indices in the US. But when it comes to China, many Malaysian Chinese have lots of stories to tell about how much house prices in Shanghai have gone up in a year and so on. Heck, my wife's parents watch Chinese news channels and they have regular segments on property indices in all the main Chinese cities as part of the news reports. This gives the Chinese in Malaysia added confidence about how property is always a good buy.

3) By and large, Malaysia banks don't care what happens to US banks, so they were not contaminated by the falllout. But when the property bubble in China bursts, it will also affect Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore. Do Malaysian banks Do Malaysian banks have lots of dealings with Hong Kong, Singapore and China? I believe so. This could get very messy.
+1
very good comment.

lucerne
post Apr 18 2011, 02:10 PM

1,946 posts

i dun think china prop will ever crash coz the demand is still very strong. chinese do not have other mode of investments like Msia and rest of world, so prop is only mode of investment to hedge inflation.
p/s china share is not liquid as msia, mostly control by govt. so the share market is much manupulated (much severe than msia 's epf, khazanah etc), so chinese usually not interested to invest in share market or UT. major cities eg shanghai, beijing, shenzhen, guangzhou, tianjin etc still flocked with rural folks who look for job and want to change thier life. the situation become worst when china govt scrapped the entry pass system. now people can freely move from rural to cities. many young people prefer to live and married in major cities. the same will happen in KL, more youngster will migrate into KL. in the past were chinese and now malays.. (only MIC advised theirmember to move back to kampong, but who willing??) more and more malay corporate/contractors set up company /do biz in KL (with UMNO help?) and definitely they will attract more young malay to work in KL. Now my office building see more malays face compare to 5 yrs ago. same to buildings eg petronas, carigali, perkeso, uda, sime darby, felda, naza, gamuda, uem, wawasan merdeka etc. with so many infrastrutures til 2020, expect more rural malays will come to KL.
CKHong
post Apr 18 2011, 02:30 PM

1,380 posts

can young malay come to kl work afford the prop price? smile.gif
with the salary that they can get ?
SUSwankongyew
post Apr 18 2011, 02:33 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Apr 18 2011, 02:10 PM)
i dun think china prop will ever crash coz the demand is still very strong. chinese do not have other mode of investments like Msia and rest of world, so prop is only mode of investment to hedge inflation.
As much as I hope that China's property market doesn't crash, I find that very difficult to believe.

1) Here is a look at one of the many completely deserted townships that China has built. China has an estimated 64 million empty homes! Enough to give every man, woman and child in Malaysia three houses each!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-13...y-deserted.html

2) Here is a Wikipedia entry on the largest shopping mall in the world by gross leasable area, completed in 2005 and still 99% vacant by today.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_South_China_Mall

3) Here is a news report about how property is so expensive in China that speculators are now moving on to graveyard plots.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinat...peculators.html

Many of the Chinese who speculate in the property market can't even afford to live in the houses themselves. They will pool savings from several friends and family members and get loans to buy the property in the hopes of reselling it and distributing the profit to everyone. So no single person can afford to personally live in the property even when it isn't sold. In the meantime, they can still live eight persons to a room to save money to invest. How long can this kind of demand last?

TheDoer
post Apr 18 2011, 02:54 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 18 2011, 02:33 PM)
As much as I hope that China's property market doesn't crash, I find that very difficult to believe.

1) Here is a look at one of the many completely deserted townships that China has built. China has an estimated 64 million empty homes! Enough to give every man, woman and child in Malaysia three houses each!

2) Here is a Wikipedia entry on the largest shopping mall in the world by gross leasable area, completed in 2005 and still 99% vacant by today.

3) Here is a news report about how property is so expensive in China that speculators are now moving on to graveyard plots.

Many of the Chinese who speculate in the property market can't even afford to live in the houses themselves. They will pool savings from several friends and family members and get loans to buy the property in the hopes of reselling it and distributing the profit to everyone. So no single person can afford to personally live in the property even when it isn't sold. In the meantime, they can still live eight persons to a room to save money to invest. How long can this kind of demand last?
Ah... typical chinese.... "kiasu" comes to mind.

Everything they see is money. Whether it is right or wrong, whether it is sustainable never cross their minds.

Sad to say this but it's true.

Added on April 18, 2011, 3:01 pmEarlier on, I was talking about the commercial props in Melaka. The abandon shop lots, in Melaka Raya.

Recently I found out that they're going to build more double storey shoplots on the recently reclaimed land. 400K+ per unit (not cheap for malaccans).

So what do you think will happen here?

Does this help the malacca's economy? I see 2 possible outcomes - one its a flop, more abandon buildings.

2. The government redirects traffic again, concentrating to those areas. Current places will become even more deserted.

Yay.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Apr 18 2011, 03:01 PM
prody
post Apr 18 2011, 03:06 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 18 2011, 02:33 PM)

It's very hard not to crash with supply >>>>>>>>>> demand.
SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 18 2011, 03:09 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Apr 18 2011, 02:30 PM)
can young malay come to kl work afford the prop price? smile.gif
with the salary that they can get ?
Rent
cherroy
post Apr 18 2011, 03:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 18 2011, 01:11 PM)

3) By and large, Malaysia banks don't care what happens to US banks, so they were not contaminated by the falllout. But when the property bubble in China bursts, it will also affect Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore. Do Malaysian banks have lots of dealings with Hong Kong, Singapore and China? I believe so. This could get very messy.
Just to highlight certain issue.

Malaysia financial market still highly regulated. Malaysia banks exposure to foreign asset/loan is through their subsidiary that venture into overseas, not directly from Malaysia based banks.
They cannot loan out from Malaysia banks. It is still regulated and certain capital control still in place.
Those subsidiaries that venture into overseas are still small portion in term of asset/business wise.

Malaysia banks cannot have direct dealing with overseas loan business.
Same with foreign banks cannot have direct dealing with business loan here. That's why you see foreign banks operated here is incorporated here.

A recession of US did affect Malaysia, just degree less and more. It is never decoupling.
godutch
post Apr 18 2011, 03:29 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 18 2011, 12:44 PM)
the topic has been discuss for years, I dun understand why you still asking the same questions, go back to read the 1st post fr day 1 again.
For new house buyers, they are so lucky that the forum which has started since 2003, provided so many valuable tips and informations, and again and again, the more informations you get, the greedier you are, you want to know the answer, do your own research and study, dun expect people to spoon feed you sweat.gif
siapa makan cili dia terasa pedas hmm.gif
CKHong
post Apr 18 2011, 03:38 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 18 2011, 03:09 PM)
Rent
with such high value.. the rental won't be able to cover the month installment to banks smile.gif
so every month is -ve cashflow for investor.. hope they can tahan..

124 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:21 PM