QUOTE(epie @ Feb 22 2011, 09:27 AM)
Give it a break, k?Don't be like the kid who keeps asking "are we there yet?".
Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues
Feb 22 2011, 09:48 AM
1,853 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Feb 22 2011, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(epie @ Feb 22 2011, 10:00 AM) i think u must give it a break...i'm giving conclusion for v1 Well, there's no need for you to conclude it, because we all know it hasn't happen. And if true to history, nay sayers will pop in and announce it again.nobody knows for sure wats gonna happen in v2 Like the kid who keeps asking "are we there yet?" If my suspicions are correct, then the nay sayers are basically the speculators with alot at stake. |
Feb 22 2011, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(keithcky @ Feb 22 2011, 10:17 AM) True, but you must understand, we do not wait for the fun of it. We wait, because we can't afford.Further more, this is simply a price watch, not meant to influence anybody to buy or not to buy. Personally I say if I wanna buy a home any price is ok as long as I like it, and I can afford it. If wanna invest, I will think twice. Added on February 22, 2011, 10:25 am QUOTE(CKHong @ Feb 22 2011, 10:19 AM) sometime i felt that they're trying to ask more people to join their game.. cus they got alot of chips on hand and they want to get rid of some / most of their chips.. by telling ppl that the properties will keep on going up.. buy now buy now.. aha.. just my guess.. This post has been edited by TheDoer: Feb 22 2011, 10:25 AM |
Feb 22 2011, 11:38 AM
Feb 22 2011, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(jusco1 @ Feb 22 2011, 11:38 AM) Exactly.If you think they can't get later when they are senior. Then the fresh grads then even harder to get. If people cannot afford to buy, then how the price going to go up? Doesn't make sense right? Only 2 possibility, 1. is rich people want to own 1 or 2 holiday home. How many people are like this? 2. Speculators who hope to sell the property and make more money. But to who are they going to sell to make this money? Other speculators? The grads can't buy it liao. Conclusion, the price of homes can only go up to a certain level. Depending on the average income. |
Feb 23 2011, 09:22 AM
Good point there. And if rental is less of a purchasing factor, then it will be less attractive for people to invest. Thus the slow down of the property hike. If it does not slow down, then there will be a pop, because obviously it was sustained by speculation only.
Just to get this straight for everyone.... Property bubble is a fact not a myth. The only question is When, Where, and by How much. Despite our research, it may go either way. So don't be too proud no matter which side of the fence you sit. But on the non speculators camp, we can't help but jeer, because basically, the speculators have made it a living hell for us to afford a home. I am tempted to get a 2 or 3 upper-low cost homes to invest and rent out, seriously I know of a very nice place. The prop is near to a new industrial area, and the houses are not in disrepair. But I am not doing it because of ethical reasons, and because I know that it is a gamble for nothing but greed. |
Feb 23 2011, 09:31 AM
The funny thing about supply and demand is....
Even if there is ample amount of supply. But the suppliers all agree to raise the prices by leaps and bounds. If it is a necessity the people that requires it will continue to pay the asking price, as far as they can afford. This is not indictive of the actual market price. It's like a robber who kills an old man for 20 sens. Nobody is the winner. This post has been edited by TheDoer: Feb 23 2011, 09:33 AM |
Feb 23 2011, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(chubbyken @ Feb 23 2011, 10:33 AM) really? Then you should join now. We are hoping it will drop. seems like i should hold now? i am so confused one hand scared by comment of property up non stop one hand got ppl say burst. i hv the history of jumping in to an investment (for example stock) immediately price plunge, drop drop drop. sorry not history is Histories. i guess i never learn... Nah... just kidding. I think generally we all agree, if it's for own home, you can go ahead and buy it if you can afford. No matter what the price, it's still your home you don't lose anything. On the otherhand, if you're thinking of investing, maybe now is not the time. especially on props, that you can see is highly inflated. |
Feb 24 2011, 10:00 AM
Feb 24 2011, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(CKHong @ Feb 24 2011, 10:20 AM) dun believe in raw material too much.. yeah, I agree with you, it's like sugar went up 10 sens, and mamak increases their teh tarik by 10 sens. same house.. same material.. u can compare between house in melaka and pj.. it differ alot ! i know that the tanah is more expensive.. but then wont be that expensive until.. house in melaka 200~300k and hosue in pj 500k~600k or maybe the tanah in pj is reli that expensive.. then.. my statement kenot use edi.. but they all kept saying raw material increase.. does it reli increase that much ?? Anyway, it wasn't the material that people were interested in, it was the deed all the while. Even if it is an abandon property where the house has deteriorated the price is still high. Speculators should just speculate on deeds of land that may or may not exist. it works the same way, without wasting materials. By the way, I'm actually complaining about the malaccan market here. The prices are rising too. In Melaka, only if you work in an established international company can a the common exec get >3K. The rest are struggling with >2K. (3K if you've reached assistant manager, or supervisory level) And if you're fresh, do expect less than 2K. Houses constructed are now aimed at medium high, costing >RM2.5, and after release and sold out going to 300K~400K. For someone who needs to think longer to purchase a house that you'll be paying back a lifetime, I'm sorry but you'll have to buy them off indiscriminate speculators. You're right, it all has to do with the land and not the material costs. |
Feb 24 2011, 12:01 PM
Feb 25 2011, 10:20 AM
As for the property prices comparing with other nations. Just because our property prices are cheaper, doesn't mean that we are lacking behind other countries. In the end it's about the standard of living of the citizens that matter most.
Imagine if property prices were worth millions, and we are living in high rise buildings like singapore, hongkong or taiwan, and the locals are simply renting from the foreigners, because we can't afford to buy these houses ourselves. People are working 2 or 3 jobs, and the suicide rate has increased. What good is it really? Property price drop, does not mean that our economy drop. I don't think so. Most things will continue as it is, except that speculators will have less networth on paper. This post has been edited by TheDoer: Feb 25 2011, 10:23 AM |
Feb 28 2011, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 28 2011, 10:24 AM) How to believe in local newspaper's article, they are the BN arm to spread misleading news, all bullshit. Better believe in you yourself, till to-date, the gomen has no idea how to increase household income. I agree with you on that. Private sector salaries don't just increase because the gov says so. If they have no business, and they expect the staff to have higher salaries, this could send the companies bankrupt.Edit: just read the article, the Gov is not asking the private sector to give out higher salary, rather it is meant as a matter of fact. Eitherway it could simply be a rouse to get everyone optimistic. This post has been edited by TheDoer: Mar 1 2011, 09:53 AM |
Feb 28 2011, 03:48 PM
Just give me a respectable house I can make a home and I will be very happy already.
Mar 1 2011, 02:42 PM
Mar 2 2011, 01:47 PM
yes, I also feel very irked by that statement. As I've said before, they've rushed to the life boats first, and now teasing us, aboard them.
There is nothing proud or smart, about being kiasu. These are the same people who do not know how to line up at the casher. Their reason: You slow, nasib lah. This post has been edited by TheDoer: Mar 2 2011, 01:48 PM |
Mar 2 2011, 02:58 PM
A non sequital comment:
I hope that BBB means build build build! muahaha.... |
Mar 2 2011, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Mar 2 2011, 03:33 PM) "they've rushed to the life boats first, and now teasing us, aboard them" You think I had the luxury to buy it then? Not everybody is as rich as you.the thread started on 13/7/2008, pls refer the yahoofinance graph for timeline explanation Post #1188 http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/741185/+1180 beginning year 2008 market shows sign of cracking, wat were u guys doing? enjoy york aircond in tempurung! I alredi run to the life boats (ie. cut loss) if I tell u to run to life boat at tat time, wil u follow then or u tease? ending yr2008 early yr2009, market totally cracked, tis is call OPPORTUNITY, since alredi sold earlier at tat time, most of u wetting pants & no idea wat happening most would be asking, to spent savings or to add more savings, but wat if the worst happens now yr2011 only u guys come to the life boats, wat u wan me to say? alredi say to buy so many times, u all say no & say the worst is yet to come those who do their proper planning irregardless of wealth will survive. someone said even flats price went up [attachmentid=2070233] It still is the same. Buy only what you need, don't buy more than you need. What you're saying here is just like the guy, who couldn't wait for the guy infront of him to count his change, you cut queue, and is saying, "hey I told you to faster you don't want." " tis is call OPPORTUNITY". In otherwards, you're the guy, who row away with the empty life boats, while the rest of us were considering what to save from the ship. In return for space on the lifeboat, you want whatever we've salvaged. If we can't meet your demand, then you row off in it waving good bye. |
Mar 3 2011, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Mar 3 2011, 10:36 AM) Sign of bubble.... True, I found it disturbing when I heard aunty-aunty ask their children to invest, because they heard from other aunty that good time to invest. then suddenly, heard from aunty-aunty should not invest... Remember 1994 when untie in wet mkt ask you to invest share mkt... And now, I even heard secondary school students talk bout property investment, be careful be careful And my old college mate just suddenly change her job fr branding manager & become property guru...bubble is in the creation They don't know anything, just blindly follow. |
Mar 3 2011, 01:35 PM
I can't see why we human beings can't wisen up and be more civilized. Too much kiasu culture.
If everybody was alittle more considerate, this world will be a better place. |
| Change to: | 0.0624sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:47 AM |