Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

cherroy
post Feb 23 2011, 01:11 AM

25,802 posts

Even though properties price is escalating a lot, the rental rate is not at the same pace with properties price, move like turtle speed only, some even hardly increase much.

It just means rental yield is not attractive anymore (for some properties), so for investment purposes, it is not favourable factor.

Previously, invest in properties, you have 2 front to "win" either good rental yield or capital appreciation, or both.
Now become solely rely on capital appreciation, without good rental yield.
Lose one winning chance. (although it doesn't mean you cannot win in capital appreciation).

cherroy
post Feb 23 2011, 03:52 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Feb 23 2011, 09:31 AM)
The funny thing about supply and demand is....

Even if there is ample amount of supply. But the suppliers all agree to raise the prices by leaps and bounds. If it is a necessity the people that requires it will continue to pay the asking price, as far as they can afford.

This is not indictive of the actual market price.

It is about people expectation.

When 95% of people expect A item price will be going up, you buy, I buy. You jack up price, I also jack up price, everyone do it, price keep on escalating.

Just like people said, price keep on escalating, not buy now, tomorrow higher.
Tomorrow not buy, after tomorrow higher
So die die also buy.

Mass people expectation is a powerful force.

Only until one day, people get burnt and lose in speculation on the expectation, only then this fever can be slow down.

Developers have nothing to lose, by keep on launching new project, as all risk are with properties buyers side. (when the project is sold out)
Housing or real estate is a strange product.
Whenever we bought a thing, we only paid money when the product is ready to use. Just like buying car, you only paid money when you bought the ready to use car aka completed car.
But house, you need to pay even though the house is 10% completed. Do we see car manufacturers demand 10% or progressive payment when car is 50% completed?

Also, nowadays, developers are more clever in launching project, by adopting 1st phase, 2nd phase, 3rd phase, at the same area, and one common thing I noticed, 1st is always the cheapest, and being sold out quickly, which give good reason to hike on price on 2nd phase.
When similar house on 2nd phase is launched at higher price, it pushed up the 1st phase house. And when 1st phase buyer make good money, it tends to people "greedy", and people will said/see, hey must buy, see how 1st phase buyers make decent profit, which prompt people to buy or rush to the 2nd phase, and so on on 3rd phase.
cherroy
post Feb 23 2011, 09:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 23 2011, 05:51 PM)
Marketing strategy and sales tactics apply to all kinds of products, although I dun like developer to goreng, but this is their rights to do so, dun blame developer, they are not pointing a gun at you to buy their products, willing buyers willing sellers, free mkt.., dun forget, those big guns are all public listed firms, profit oriented is the ultimate goal.

It is nothing wrong with the developer pricing higher and higher for each phase, so long the property worth it, then grasp it, and vice versa just leave it!! Buyer must do some research b4 decide to buy...if not, renting isn't a bad option still while waiting for the price to drop

The purpose of phase 2 is higher than phase 1, is to provide a step ladder for pricing increment.

If you know how valuation of properties being determined, then clearly, phase 1 valuation must match the phase 2 pricing.

For same location, same houses type.

Phase 1 RM 200K
Phase 2 Rm 220K

All people even professional valuer will say, now house here worth Rm220k. icon_idea.gif

Come in launching phase 3 Rm 250K, now phase 1 & 2 worth Rm250k.
Does anyone want to sell phase 1 at below Rm250K when adjacent phase is now sold at Rm250k?
Answer is obvious.

Phase 4, launch at Rm300K, now phase 1,2,3 worht Rm300k, now the market turns hot already, buy a house can earn 50%, in a few years time.

Phase 5, Rm400k, market even hotter now.
When market is hot, developers won't short of buyers coming, and for the same area of land, they can sell higher house price now.

So it is important they split out more phase and smaller quantity to be sold, so that each phase is sold out each time. As long as each phase is sold out, it provides another step ladder to higher pricing.

Above just my view, doesn't necessary must be true.

cherroy
post Feb 24 2011, 04:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(jusco1 @ Feb 24 2011, 11:19 AM)
it is always cheaper to rent than buy.
but for how long u wish to rent?
5 yrs, 10 yrs.. or till retire...
u still need a home of ur own....

right?
u can get a hse of RM150k.. cheaper condo...
paying only RM800... double ur rent.. but is ur hse in 20 or 30 yrs.
and u can get capital appreciation.
This I partly disagree.

Home doesn't mean you must own it.
Some may rent for 10 years or 20 years, which is their home as well.

I live in a same house since born until mid 20's, and this is a rented house since start, which I call it home.
cherroy
post Feb 25 2011, 09:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Feb 25 2011, 05:57 PM)
Don't be too happy even as owners where property inflated 60-70% Don't be too happy too if property bubble burst as per your hope and dream.

Things are boiling hot in the Middle East while everyone focusing on Euro and US. Just hope and pray hard that the small flames wouldn't spread to Saudi oil field. If so, be prepared that oil may hit usd200-300 as in the 70' oil crisis.

If that were to happen, touch wood not, everyone be it landlords or tenants all also kena. You be glad if you can keep you job and have roof overhead.
Yup, this is always I keep on mentioning.

You don't hope bubble continue non-stop, as well as properties price plunge like no tomorrow.
Both got negative effect.
cherroy
post Feb 25 2011, 09:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Feb 25 2011, 05:11 PM)
after the lock in period.. we can refinance rite?
even b4 lock in period.. we do refinance.. also won't cost tat much rite.. how much will it cost ah ?? anyone ??
I dun think blr + xx will keep on continue for more than 2~3 years.. unless the end of the world coming la..
I never do research on the history on how long the crisis will last.. maybe someone who know can share..

buy now 450k  buy later 350k > 100k diff
how i count.. also still untung .. if buy later..

You never can predict anything.
Each crisis come with different "package" and condition.

Crisis?
What crisis?
2008 financial freeze no longer is there already after Fed QE of 1.x trillion being pumped to market.

Now we are facing inflation problem instead of crisis.

No, it is a wrong mindset to say you "untung" 100K with 350K, wrong concept. smile.gif
You never "untung" anything.
You just paid less.
cherroy
post Feb 28 2011, 05:07 PM

25,802 posts

Another way to make money through properties is become "introducer" between sellers and buyers.

Commission is not bad. A few K up to 10K easily if successfully pulling the string, depended on properties price.
My family members did it twice.

But normally pre-requisite is having good vast social network.
cherroy
post Mar 1 2011, 12:42 AM

25,802 posts

For those hoping salaries increase 10~30% across, you are hoping the wrong thing.

If salaries increase across without productivity gain, the final result, inflation across, your salaries increment back to square one, or could be even worst.

Higher income, but higher goods price, do you want it?
cherroy
post Mar 1 2011, 11:31 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Mar 1 2011, 09:14 AM)
Wat kind of measurement is this? Doesn't helplah....it will kill the property sector, end up kill the whole economy. Dun forget many gomens are reluctant to interrupt the property mkt b'coz it forms the back bone of the economy, 203 businesses are direct & indirectly related to property sector,  if property price drop sharply in a particular country, unemployment rate will shoot up and gomen will be forced to step down
Somemore, properties and finance is tightly related.

Properties plunged --> NPL rise, if severe could threaten the banking sector as a whole, just like subprime and financial crisis 2008.

That's why gov is always reluctantly to control it in a big way.
But I see RPGT is a good way to fence out excessive speculation and without affect the health of RE as a whole.

cherroy
post Mar 4 2011, 11:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(staticxtreme @ Mar 4 2011, 01:37 PM)
well. new and young grads are hoping for it to drop so they can afford their first house

experienced speculators/investors are hoping for it to increase so they can $$$

huge struggle. well i'm part of the young grads so i'm hoping for it to drop so i can put a roof above my head in the near future.
My view.
I would say the bolded part is wrong and unrealistic

Even it drops, it won't drop to dirt cheap until let you to buy cheap.
A 400k properties can drop to 350Kor 300K, it is still way beyond affordability mostly. (if one cannot afford 400K, likelyhood is not afford 350K as well)

It won't drop to 200k or 150K for you to buy.
If it does drop to 200k, then situation has changed which one might fear about getting employed or not.

cherroy
post Mar 8 2011, 09:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Mar 8 2011, 07:53 PM)
Only for price between Rm100K to RM220k

QUOTE(property101 @ Mar 8 2011, 08:36 PM)
anyone would like to share what effect would it bring to our property market?
Little on overall, except properties below Rm220k may be snapped up by speculators. tongue.gif

For prime area, or any prime adjacent, I can't see any property with RM250K below.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 8 2011, 09:56 PM
cherroy
post Mar 9 2011, 03:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(thk38 @ Mar 9 2011, 12:58 AM)
freddie mac and fannie mae in the making...
Ya, have the same feeling... sweat.gif
cherroy
post Mar 9 2011, 03:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Mar 8 2011, 10:01 PM)
the news is for those stay outside of KV, penang & JB.  tongue.gif
Out of prime area, properties price is not escalating as in prime area.

My family members try to sell a corner terrace house in mainland Butterworth area, roughly 300K also little people interested and hard to find buyers.
They bought 200k+ decade ago, now only 300k, where got make money? if view it from investment pov.

But just over the sea, at Penang island, a 20 x 60 terrace house can fetch 700-800k.
cherroy
post Mar 10 2011, 05:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Mar 10 2011, 04:06 PM)
LOL... 200% household debt..
maybe by that time.. there will be another thread
title is " what is the best way to suicide "
20% of malaysian population straight decrease..
Next generation loan? whistling.gif

Instead pay home loan 30 years, extended to 70 years.... whistling.gif doh.gif

May be 100 years loan also created. rclxms.gif
Surely lot of people take up 100 years home loan. rclxm9.gif
cherroy
post Mar 11 2011, 01:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(godutch @ Mar 11 2011, 12:05 PM)
Those who proposed for the banks to provide 2nd generation loans will never take the loans. Most probably they are all rich people that buy properties with cash  tongue.gif

This proposal is going to widened the gap between the poors and the rich.

just think about this: who will need a 2nd generation loan? the poors.

I can't help but to think that for a 2nd generation loan with tenure of say 70 years (forget about the house' condition 70 years later) just after 40 years is the house/condo that still need 30 years to pay off livable??? The poor kid willl probably be inherited with a non livable house and debt of 30 years. 

This is a non deniable fact, we will need refurbish the house when it gets old. By then what happen? take another 2nd generation loan to refurbish the house and pass on the debt to the CUCU?.

I hope the government can be more considerate about the poors when come to formulating policies (don't think from their own perspective only), the poors may not be so well educated to understand the consequences of this so called 2nd generation loan. The government should be the one who protect the poors' right and so NO to any banks that wanna profit from this business.
This is more a new generation mindset. No offence, and not mean it is same across, just this kind of mindset is quite norm nowadays.
As long as installment payment is low, I can afford. Never care the interest charge nor long term perspective.
Only concern now, want to own now.
Just like car loan, more and more people choose 7 years loan instead less than 5 years.
All because of what? lower monthly payment.

If gov really care about house owner, please introduce RPGT.
RPGT is more effective to reduce speculation on properties, eventually properties price won't escalating like no tomorrow.

Introduce longer loan tenure or 100% loan is not going to help the low affordability group of people.
Preventing or reduce excessive speculation on properties is.
Preventing inflation is going to help the poor.

First step to help the poor, introduce RPGT.

Above just my view only.

cherroy
post Mar 14 2011, 12:28 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(totila @ Mar 13 2011, 07:30 PM)
do u mind to share with us where can we get a new development project with 220k< ??
and i dun have transport, so dun wish to stay in ulu-ulu place... thanks in advanced
If there is huge demand on properties below 220k, while those 500k properties lack of buyers, developers can always adjust their strategy.

Instead building 500K 1000sf. apartment, come out with 400sf 220k apartment...
or 500sf 220k but no car park given, need to pay 20K for it, and apartment has no tiles installed, need to add up 30k for it.
Selling price still 220k, but need to add on... for those facilities, give you the most basic.

Business is always flexible to demand.

cherroy
post Mar 14 2011, 03:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(totila @ Mar 14 2011, 11:44 AM)
hhmm.. from all ur great analysis and theory.. u still haven't answer my question yet..
i repeat it again --> do u mind to share with us where can we get a 220k new developement project? i don't have transport, so not wishing to stay in ululu place. icon_question.gif

This is cruel world.
No money, no convenience.
No money, stay in ululu place loh.

What I said is about hypothesis, if, one day, people don't mind to have 300sf 220k apartment, there is always possibility in the future developers may build it as well.
Provided those 500K apartment, little buyers around.
Until now, need to find at outskirt of town area, or just like what you said ululu one.
cherroy
post Mar 16 2011, 10:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(totila @ Mar 15 2011, 07:50 PM)
according to the scheme, they provided 100% loan for property 220k to the ppl earning under 3k rite?
if i'm the 1 with the salary under 3k, and i need to BUY a car 1st before i BUY a house, isn't it sound even ridiculous?
i have to pay another extra few hundreds to stay far far away and need to pay extra gas, parking and maybe toll somore?? (dun forget if my salary is under 3K)
and
if i can have higher budget, then what for i need this scheme ?

hahahaha! so we can only go for old old flat in the city?
HALO! IT IS SO DAMN OBVIOUS THE SCHEME DOESN"T MAKE SENSE AT ALL WEY!
Don't buy a car. Take public transport, take train from Rawang,

I don't want to be harsh, 3K income, don't deserve a new car + a >220k house.

The solution is always build up your income.

No money, or income not high enough, no convenience.
Take harder route.

cherroy
post Mar 16 2011, 03:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Mar 16 2011, 02:04 PM)
ha ha... car (>RM100k) is status of a person...once u bring it out to pickup ur gal. ur confident level is diffrent compare to ppl with car <RM100k... that is why ppl still go for the car 1st. the property taste change and as well as the gal taste change as well, bro not like 10 yrs back lah...

Cost of living is expensive nowaday...
I have more confidence with 100k cash in bank, and use the 100k for investment and grow even more money, even a pathetic 3% FD rate, I get extra Rm250 every month, compared with you have to paid RM250 loan interest alone (not yet count the capital), every month, the difference is RM500, rich become richer, poor become poorer.
One year, difference already Rm6k.
If investment successful bring in more return like 10%, the gap even widen further.

More money, more confidence. tongue.gif

I can have even more gal with more money.
Your 100k car will getting old after 3-5 years, lot of money need to be spent again.

You have confidence in split second when getting the new car only. Once petrol bill, maintenance invoice, bank loan statement come in, all confidence can go down to the drain. tongue.gif

cherroy
post Mar 16 2011, 05:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Mar 16 2011, 03:40 PM)
I see it differntly, one thing property better than cash is not so liquid, hand got cash will spend easily, imagine if gomen dun enforce EPF savings, how many do you think every workforce hv when come to retirement?
Secondly, if you really want to keep cash unless you hold Sing dollar, RM in long run mana boleh tambah nilai one? Young man must work, work harder, work harder harder, save money, study and gain investment knowledge then do investment, success then only entertainment..when I see those fb, to my surprise that many young people travel a lot, sharing theirs photos in fb, then they login to lowyat forum to blame no $$ and price too high.
I 1st travel overseas (company trip) at 30 yrs, 2nd overseas at 40 yrs, I know m not eligible to spend travelling, vacation cost too much to me cry.gif
Having cash doesn't mean stay in cash, it gives you chance for investment, that yield return.

QUOTE(wwwcomment @ Mar 16 2011, 04:01 PM)
maybe u r still lucky can go vacation oversea at older age.
looking at the situation now economic is getting unpredictable and life is getting tougher,
how can gurantee the youngsters now that if dont enjoy now, garantee can go enjoy when they get older?
if dont enjoy now, then older still not afford to enjoy, then wasted the whole life.  shocking.gif
Typically new generation mindset, enjoy now.

Guarantee what?
Parent born a child, and give guarantee to the child to enjoy life? blink.gif
Life is a journey one explore through, life is for enjoyment only?
Want to enjoy, work for it.

Economy is unpredictable, life is getting tougher?
Please compared with those after WWII, 70-80's, whereby people beg for job.

Life is getting tougher when you cannot have a job to feed.
Life is not getting tougher when one taking up car loan to buy 100K car, taking house loan to buy 250k house, buying IPhone with installment, clubbing every weekend.

No offence. smile.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:44 PM