Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 23 2011, 05:51 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Feb 23 2011, 04:27 PM)
i saw one properties.. it got 2 block..
stated both block will be completed in same date and time..
but then the developer make it phase 1 and 2
=.=
phase 2 will be more expensive than phase 1 for 20~30k
both also build the same time.. finish the same time..
developer purposely make it 2 phase.. reli muntah darah..
Marketing strategy and sales tactics apply to all kinds of products, although I dun like developer to goreng, but this is their rights to do so, dun blame developer, they are not pointing a gun at you to buy their products, willing buyers willing sellers, free mkt.., dun forget, those big guns are all public listed firms, profit oriented is the ultimate goal.

It is nothing wrong with the developer pricing higher and higher for each phase, so long the property worth it, then grasp it, and vice versa just leave it!! Buyer must do some research b4 decide to buy...if not, renting isn't a bad option still while waiting for the price to drop

I hv 2 wishes :-
1. "Hoping" the price drop
2. Increase my earning

I think the later one is within my control, I hv 2 jobs (looking for 3rd part time) (it is quite normal in HK, Taiwan and China now)
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 23 2011, 06:20 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(mcwong @ Feb 23 2011, 06:00 PM)
well, if developer not sell at higher price, internal staff,lawyer,banker,etc will take advantage to buy them n flip at higher price for investor or us.Sad to say, it's always happen 90% soldout not even pre-launch yet.
Yr $$ is in yr pocket, why do you want to buy at a higher price.
Name me which projects are fully sold prior the the official launching..I know one Magna Prima One Jalil
Got chance to buylah, not a good excuse
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 24 2011, 05:53 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Feb 24 2011, 12:02 PM)
hehe.. the power of consumer ~  biggrin.gif
its like
bank eat speculator..
speculator eat consumer..
see who can tahan longer..
if speculator won..
then bank eat consumer  tongue.gif
wa wa got a good news.. the 2nd favorite of mine..
always see also 380k and above...
now i saw got one at iproperty 330k.. with same square feet ! [maybe condition rosak here and there.. who knows? ]
but there's still around 8 properties is 380k !  good news heh !
I doubt you can get 350K, many iproperty listings are not up-to-date, I did found some 1-2 yr old advertisement are still there, dun look at the posting date, it might not accurate as iproperty operator will renew those old listing every 2-3 mths, so better cal up the agent to verify..
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 26 2011, 07:03 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 25 2011, 09:55 PM)
You never can predict anything.
Each crisis come with different "package" and condition.

Crisis?
What crisis?
2008 financial freeze no longer is there already after Fed QE of 1.x trillion being pumped to market.

Now we are facing inflation problem instead of crisis.

No, it is a wrong mindset to say you "untung" 100K with 350K, wrong concept.  smile.gif
You never "untung" anything.
You just paid less.
If price drop further to 250K after bought 350K, then rugi 100K lah, he..he thumbup.gif
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 27 2011, 11:13 AM

6,747 posts

Any idea what is co-relation between oil price and property price? Looks like oil price up, inflation rate for general goods sure up, how bout real estate? Anyone can answer pls
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 27 2011, 02:30 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Feb 27 2011, 02:04 PM)
i would be more interested to find out why Buffett believes "America's best days are ahead" and " housing recovery will likely begin within the next year"...
(apparently i couldnt find in the article)

anyone wanna make a guess?

Added on February 27, 2011, 2:12 pm
it's sad. is the future going to continue like this?
we are living in a selfish & greedy world
sometimes I dun really understand, I know many people are complaining the rise in goods and property price, but at the same time, dun want to change their habit and life style, as what the article mentioned, many spend vacation travelling "every year", seems like a basic needs
At least by savings a little bit more by not travelling and spending unnecessary items so often, I think Malaysia is still a good country to stay, above average
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 28 2011, 10:24 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(baharinsav62 @ Feb 28 2011, 08:56 AM)
Today's STAR newspaper headlines - salaries for professionals from the ICT sector, accounting, banking, logistics and sales set to rise as much as 30% compared to last year. Government also proposing increase public sector wages with new pay scheme.Looks like we're already heading for high income workers who can afford more expensive houses.

This, together with inflation, rising oil prices and cost of building materials will surely push up property prices.
How to believe in local newspaper's article, they are the BN arm to spread misleading news, all bullshit. Better believe in you yourself, till to-date, the gomen has no idea how to increase household income.
the property price will be decided by open free mkt, demand and supply and the amt of speculators in the mkt, compare to other developed countries, M'sia's speculators are peanut. However also due to that, our property price are more fragile and unstable

SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 1 2011, 09:14 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Mar 1 2011, 08:47 AM)
http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/194930?tid=2

巴林調低房貸30%
Wat kind of measurement is this? Doesn't helplah....it will kill the property sector, end up kill the whole economy. Dun forget many gomens are reluctant to interrupt the property mkt b'coz it forms the back bone of the economy, 203 businesses are direct & indirectly related to property sector, if property price drop sharply in a particular country, unemployment rate will shoot up and gomen will be forced to step down
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 1 2011, 09:40 AM

6,747 posts

[quote=sampool,Mar 1 2011, 09:21 AM]
the cut down will proceed if majority cannot afffort. i think banking sector will be hurt the most, majority ppl will be happy, me too. tongue.gif

Yeah, let's go to Bahrain to buy properties rclxms.gif
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 1 2011, 10:21 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Mar 1 2011, 09:44 AM)
i think u need to be citizen there.

i m sure they/gomen are not stupid, their tink tank may advise so as the property in bahrin is follow the world market as well,... so wat to do with us next.... property value may stagnant... because developer not willing to see the 30% cut back later on..... business is full of uncertainty  hmm.gif
In this country, except no natural disaster, anything else is certain? If we learn to take the risk, study it properly then we can manage it well
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 1 2011, 11:57 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 1 2011, 11:31 AM)
Somemore, properties and finance is tightly related.

Properties plunged --> NPL rise, if severe could threaten the banking sector as a whole, just like subprime and financial crisis 2008.

That's why gov is always reluctantly to control it in a big way.
But I see RPGT is a good way to fence out excessive speculation and without affect the health of RE as a whole.
Politician hold the most speculative real estate in hand, you might be surprise a very small post politician could have own / speculate > 50 pieces properties amounting to 10 mil - 100 mil, wat about those top position?
RPGT would affect them the most, do you think they will implement it? Not likely
I personally feels that it is the best way to tap price hike so far..
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 2 2011, 02:03 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Mar 2 2011, 01:39 PM)
what do u mean by "late to the party" ?
we're not trying to join the speculators group  tongue.gif
but still.. not my intention to wipe out speculators..
we need them.. cus they help us to push the economy..
so when bubble come.. half of them will like  cry.gif  [half yeah.. not all.. better state out if not later some will say " CASH RICH ONE WILL SURVIVE "]
then all of us [poor ppl] will like  rclxms.gif
This bubble talk tread will go on and go on for the next 50 years, believe me...
Developers "have" to build new hse / condo / shops / retails lot / malls / factories, otherwise they kenot survive, so the number of houses in urban area will keep increasing and the density is rising too, the supply of residential properties is to cope with the migrants fr rural area to urban city, we dun hv a real statistic (like in China) to show how great is the migration, thus it is quite hard to judge whether it is over supply or vice versa

but I am pretty sure Malaysia's urbanization is very serious, is based on 4 reasons :-
1. Our gomen has no ability to develop rural or sub-urban areas (it has been proved since independent)
2. Majority young Chinese are going to 3 cities 1. Penang Island 2. KV 3. Singapore
3. No Bullet train (forever no I think), a complete transportation system like bullet train is a way to divert the heavy population (Japan people stay 200KM++ away fr work place, but they need 1 hr++ bullet train time)
4. Job opportunities mostly in urban area

p/s : our housing statistic announcement every year tak boleh pakai punya rclxub.gif

SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 3 2011, 09:39 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(newx @ Mar 3 2011, 07:27 AM)
the reason property prices keep escalating is because today we have more gurus who promote real estate investment to the mass public. as a result, people are going into real estate investment in a major way like we have not seen before.

example is this guy
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Get-Started-...EN/198036411714
It is good to attend some property talks but dun over react to it, Malaysia is called the Kingdom of Direct Selling, in this boleh land really produces world top class goring kaki...
Sometimes those gurus are giving misleading teaching, instead of educate investors to invest, it might end up put them in hell. Property investment involve huge amt, must be conducted in a proper manner, a miss judgement would end with lifetime suffering
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 3 2011, 10:36 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Mar 3 2011, 09:58 AM)
as well as stock market investment ... biggrin.gif
Sign of bubble....
Remember 1994 when untie in wet mkt ask you to invest share mkt...
And now, I even heard secondary school students talk bout property investment, be careful be careful
And my old college mate just suddenly change her job fr branding manager & become property guru...bubble is in the creation
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 3 2011, 03:40 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Mar 3 2011, 03:13 PM)
Not exactly true. Things might change in future when people from urban moving back to rural.
Urbanization no way back.
Only those who were born 1930-1975 may think of going back to kampung when getting very old, like me a kampung boy will go back one day
those youngsters born in the city, no way, they will claim no Paparich & Mid Valley in Kampung, how to survive

SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 6 2011, 07:16 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(22222222 @ Mar 6 2011, 06:16 PM)
For those who want to buy property, please pull handbrake first. C wat will going to happen on 11/03 & 20/03 of Arab Saudi. If Saudi government cannot handle the case properly....it will possible to cause economic crisis happen again......

http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/195584?tid=2
He..he sounds very familiar, when US crisis, some people gave same advise brows.gif
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 10 2011, 09:23 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 9 2011, 03:47 PM)
Out of prime area, properties price is not escalating as in prime area.

My family members try to sell a corner terrace house in mainland Butterworth area, roughly 300K also little people interested and hard to find buyers.
They bought 200k+ decade ago, now only 300k, where got make money? if view it from investment pov.

But just over the sea, at Penang island, a 20 x 60 terrace house can fetch 700-800k.
"scarcity in land"
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 10 2011, 05:21 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Mar 10 2011, 02:07 PM)
It is rather boring to discuss when is property bubble while the price keeps increasing, let's start a new tread "how much more property price to go up before the bubble happen?" Property guru Gavin said mkt correction (bubble) in 2015, which means 4 years to go, assuming 5%(inflation rate) each yr, Gavin predicted at least 20% rooms to grow, let's see
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 15 2011, 04:34 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(22222222 @ Mar 15 2011, 12:26 PM)
Nikkei down 13% today.....do you think property will follow...haha?
Looks like the Tsunami impact is worse than 911 attack, jialat already... doh.gif
SUSUFO-ET
post Mar 16 2011, 03:06 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(totila @ Mar 15 2011, 07:50 PM)
according to the scheme, they provided 100% loan for property 220k to the ppl earning under 3k rite?
if i'm the 1 with the salary under 3k, and i need to BUY a car 1st before i BUY a house, isn't it sound even ridiculous?
i have to pay another extra few hundreds to stay far far away and need to pay extra gas, parking and maybe toll somore?? (dun forget if my salary is under 3K)
and
if i can have higher budget, then what for i need this scheme ?

hahahaha! so we can only go for old old flat in the city?
HALO! IT IS SO DAMN OBVIOUS THE SCHEME DOESN"T MAKE SENSE AT ALL WEY!
You are not alone here, try to book cheap AA cheap ticket to S'pore, China, HK or Taiwan, do a simple survey, I think you will feel relief, my friend MBA work and married in Taiwan (Taipei), wife degree working too, say 40 yrs ++ only dare to dream of a small apt, never in his mind of owning a landed property, unless Malaysia going backward like Myanmar, otherwise we are getting closer to these countries lifestyle & thinking
p/s : When in Taipei, I saw a few very pretty girls selling used goods at the road side (late nite), they are working 7 days (1-2 extra part time job) to earn money, and we, Malaysian youngsters spend weekend in TGV & KaraOK perhaps.... whistling.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0628sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:26 AM