136 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

> Tiles, Cost and Installation

ssshk
post Oct 6 2011, 03:20 PM

75 posts

hi all, i m being charge RM190 for removing 6 tiles, + replacing them. Labour job only, tiles i buy myself.. Is it expensive? But i am very satisfy with his job for replacing the broken tiles for me^^
kelvyn
post Oct 6 2011, 05:41 PM

3,172 posts

QUOTE(ssshk @ Oct 6 2011, 04:20 PM)
hi all, i m being charge RM190 for removing 6 tiles, + replacing them. Labour job only, tiles i buy myself.. Is it expensive? But i am very satisfy with his job for replacing the broken tiles for me^^
Consider as very cheap already. On top of that you are very satisfied with the job. So, should be happy rclxms.gif
silverwave
post Oct 6 2011, 11:18 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 5 2011, 11:56 PM)
You can try Super Ceramic, i use most of my tiles from SC. Only kitchen floor tiles is Niro.

Oh, the branch i go is @ PJ 222.

Another Tile shop I find lots of variety is at far end of "Jalan Penchala" one tiles shop, beside old ipmuda buildermart old showroom, (near Campbell soup)
How are the prices like?

My contractor took me to a shop in Kajang but i can't get the ones that i have in my mind.

I went to Ga Hing as well but i'm not sure whether their prices are worth.
weikee
post Oct 6 2011, 11:39 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 6 2011, 11:18 PM)
How are the prices like?

My contractor took me to a shop in Kajang but i can't get the ones that i have in my mind.

I went to Ga Hing as well but i'm not sure whether their prices are worth.
Not the cheapest, but quality wise so far ok. The lady is helpful.
ssshk
post Oct 7 2011, 08:14 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 6 2011, 05:41 PM)
Consider as very cheap already. On top of that you are very satisfied with the job. So, should be happy rclxms.gif
hehehe, you are right, yesterday when i reach home, although need to spend time washing the dirt cause by replacing the tiles, but i m still very happy, at least now everything is being restore.. laugh.gif

benjaminteg
post Oct 7 2011, 01:59 PM

14 posts

Guys,

I wanna check what is the process of laying the tiles after removed the old tiles and simen.

My contractor told me he will put simen and tiles to lay in a short. He said this way better hor.

I thought normally will put simen first to make the floor even and wait 1-2 days before laying the tiles? Please advise.

This post has been edited by benjaminteg: Oct 7 2011, 02:01 PM
weikee
post Oct 7 2011, 02:27 PM

12,019 posts

Simen? you mean cement right?

If the level are very low, you need to raised the floor to desire level with cement. After Cement dry than lay tiles + cement.

My house, the wet and dry kitchen was very low (drop 6"), contractor put cement + sand and wait few days, only put tiles + cement.

The extended living hall, broken marble was installed without putting cement + sand earlier. Because is only 1.5" low, contractor do everything in one goal.

If your current floor is very low cement + sand to raised it, and wait few days only lay tiles + cement.

kelvyn
post Oct 7 2011, 02:30 PM

3,172 posts

QUOTE(benjaminteg @ Oct 7 2011, 02:59 PM)
Guys,

I wanna check what is the process of laying the tiles after removed the old tiles and simen.

My contractor told me he will put simen and tiles to lay in a short. He said this way better hor.

I thought normally will put simen first to make the floor even and wait 1-2 days before laying the tiles? Please advise.
There are 2 different methods to installing the floor tiles.
- Dry Method. Cement screed the floor to the required level. Then install the floor tiles.
Pro: Better level control
Con: Slower and it involves additional process

- Wet Method. Cement screed the floor and at the same time install the floor tiles.
Pro: Better bonding of floor tiles & faster.
Con: Need better skill to ensure the good finishing.

benjaminteg
post Oct 7 2011, 03:17 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 7 2011, 02:27 PM)
Simen? you mean cement right?

If the level are very low, you need to raised the floor to desire level with cement. After Cement dry than lay tiles + cement.

My house, the wet and dry kitchen was very low (drop 6"), contractor put cement + sand and wait few days, only put tiles + cement.

The extended living hall, broken marble was installed without putting cement + sand earlier. Because is only 1.5" low, contractor do everything in one goal.

If your current floor is very low cement + sand to raised it, and wait few days only lay tiles + cement.
My living room only lower by around 2". So I guess no problem lay together in one goal. tongue.gif

Added on October 7, 2011, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 7 2011, 02:30 PM)
There are 2 different methods to installing the floor tiles.
- Dry Method. Cement screed the floor to the required level. Then install the floor tiles.
Pro: Better level control
Con: Slower and it involves additional process

- Wet Method. Cement screed the floor and at the same time install the floor tiles.
Pro: Better bonding of floor tiles & faster.
Con: Need better skill to ensure the good finishing.
At first they wanna do dry method, now change mind say do wet method. So i scare they cincai do.

After your explantion, i guess now is the problem whether the "Guru" have the skill to do wet method and levelling the floor properly.

This post has been edited by benjaminteg: Oct 7 2011, 03:22 PM
Jo_da48
post Oct 7 2011, 04:57 PM

1,529 posts

It all depend on what your base level you have lol. If too high, you may end up need to redo the door or level between Kitching and Living room with be higher.

Added on October 7, 2011, 9:04 pmI recalled that a member who purchased tiles from Super Ceramic, end up getting 2nd grade and problem tiles, hence please careful

This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Oct 7 2011, 09:04 PM
michaellfc
post Oct 8 2011, 12:42 AM

33 posts

hi...i plan to install tiles on my condo (1120sqf on 1st floor).. so any bro can recommend contractor to hack , instal tiles and dump rubbish? i plan to do it on next week..
kucingfight
post Oct 8 2011, 09:19 PM

5,736 posts

bought 2x2 guocera MARS YR110E and YR110C for rm16.50. pretty good value since it's homogeneous, or rather not much choices u hav forthat price
phoenix69
post Oct 9 2011, 12:42 AM

1,836 posts

My 2 cents tongue.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1918768/+280

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Oct 9 2011, 08:58 AM
kucingfight
post Oct 9 2011, 10:11 AM

5,736 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Oct 9 2011, 12:42 AM)
good share phoenix69, yes having been to buimaco, i'm impressed my their branches (USJ)..systematic n proper.
fast_coder
post Oct 10 2011, 04:55 PM

80 posts

anybody knows which brand has 600mmx1200mm white porcelain tiles other than feruni?

i have checked out a few, not many carry this size.

tq.

kucingfight
post Oct 10 2011, 05:16 PM

5,736 posts

QUOTE(fast_coder @ Oct 10 2011, 04:55 PM)
anybody knows which brand has 600mmx1200mm white porcelain tiles other than feruni?

i have checked out a few, not many carry this size.

tq.
mayb u can try Jubin BMS. theyhave some china (HONGYU) brands
scouser7
post Oct 10 2011, 05:50 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 8 2011, 09:19 PM)
bought 2x2 guocera MARS YR110E and YR110C for rm16.50. pretty good value since it's homogeneous, or rather not much choices u hav forthat price
Hi! Mind sharing where you bought this tiles from? Tq
kucingfight
post Oct 10 2011, 07:19 PM

5,736 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 10 2011, 05:50 PM)
Hi! Mind sharing where you bought this tiles from? Tq
sure , bought from buimaco. u can surf their website for outlets. very systematic showroom, where u can feel n touch almost every tiles before deciding
scouser7
post Oct 10 2011, 07:48 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 10 2011, 07:19 PM)
sure , bought from buimaco. u can surf their website for outlets. very systematic showroom, where u can feel n touch almost every tiles before deciding
Thank you..didint know they ahs website smile.gif
phoenix69
post Oct 11 2011, 01:46 AM

1,836 posts

Looking for brown / chocolate colored 2X2 full bodied homogeneous tiles for kitchen table top.
Any recommendations??? blink.gif

So far only can find black galaxy color tiles for Kitchen tabletop. shakehead.gif

136 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:44 PM