Tiles, Cost and Installation

scouser7
post Sep 26 2011, 03:23 PM

233 posts

Noob here...wanna know if there is any difference between Grade A china made porcelain tiles (polished) worth abt RM10 and other tiles that are double the price? Sales ppl say all are same Grade A n i cant tell the diffference. Plan to buy over 250 pieces of 2x2 tiles n therefore budget is crucial. Hope some sifu can help. Im from Cheras anyway. Tq
scouser7
post Sep 26 2011, 09:47 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 26 2011, 03:56 PM)
Grade A mean more symmetrical cutting, less variance in color between same batch of tiles, less "pregnant" issue.

Do remember, Grade A does not mean all quality are the same all grade A tiles., Grade A Tiles "X" that cost RM 15, may be difference between Grade A tiles that cost RM 10.

The seller can advice you. Some tiles cost cheaper even is Grade A because it use have difference color, or polish level are difference.
Thank you for ya reply. Im still confused on what should be the "right" tile to use for my home floor. Im afraid if the tile is chipped then the color inside may be a different color. Does any1 know how durable are these China made tiles? Any1 bought these cheaper China made tiles? Mind sharing ya experience?

scouser7
post Sep 27 2011, 02:12 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 26 2011, 10:22 PM)
Actually, quite a number of those branded (well known) tile in Malaysia are actually manufactured in China. It does not mean that all tiles from China are no good. It depend on their quality control.
So the real question here should be QUALITY rite? But thats the problem im facing with these unbranded made in China tiles...it does not come with any quality guarantee. Price wise it is so tempting but whereas the branded ones cost more. Sigh!
Thank you ppl for ya kind reply!! rclxms.gif
scouser7
post Oct 10 2011, 05:50 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 8 2011, 09:19 PM)
bought 2x2 guocera MARS YR110E and YR110C for rm16.50. pretty good value since it's homogeneous, or rather not much choices u hav forthat price
Hi! Mind sharing where you bought this tiles from? Tq
scouser7
post Oct 10 2011, 07:48 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 10 2011, 07:19 PM)
sure , bought from buimaco. u can surf their website for outlets. very systematic showroom, where u can feel n touch almost every tiles before deciding
Thank you..didint know they ahs website smile.gif
scouser7
post Oct 26 2011, 10:25 PM

233 posts

Could sifu's here let me know what they think of the quote for tiling i got pls. Note that tilers are Chinamen.

1. Floor & Porch Tiling using 2ft X 2ft tiles 2728sq ft X RM7.5 psf RM 21,800.00,
or labour + materials n excluding tiles RM4.50 for 2ftx2ft
2. Toilet Tiling 12” X 12” tiles X 2 toilet (size 8ftx6ftx8ft height) RM 2,400.00
3. Kitchen top & Wall Tiling 12” X 12” tiles . RM2000

Also, can i know what is the rate to lay tiles excluding tiles for 1ftx2ft tiles and 1ftx1ft tiles?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by scouser7: Oct 26 2011, 11:06 PM
scouser7
post Oct 27 2011, 11:04 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 26 2011, 11:11 PM)
my contractor, charging. indonesian tiler. workmanship..acceptable

2x2= rm4.50/sq ft
1x2= rm4.50/sq ft
1x1 = rm3 /sq ft
Tq for ya reply.
Looks like the price i got quoted is fine. Since im a noob and maybe make my life easier, do you think the RM7.5 lump sum is fair? hmm.gif
scouser7
post Oct 27 2011, 06:30 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 27 2011, 11:15 AM)
for porch, u hav2 check, does it include hacking/laying BRC net/ cement price too?

others= include hacking & disposing rubbish?
Car porch does not include BRC it seems. Price includes hacking but not dispose rubbish. What you reckon? Im a noob so Im afraid there may be things that I could miss. Appreciate yours or anyone's opinion. Txs much.
scouser7
post Oct 28 2011, 09:34 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 27 2011, 09:09 PM)
Better to have BRC if you are making a new car porch floor. No point trying to save on this.
Not dispose rubbish. Does it mean that you will provide the tong sampah for the contractor?
Sorry guys, but i was no clear in my reply abt the BRC. I'm putting BRC for porch area but the price given my tiler doesnt include BRC. Also, the rubbish container ir borne by me coz my main contractor i chase away for it doin work.
Anyway, what u guys think, should take up the tiler at RM7.50 all in or RM4.50 excluding tiles.
scouser7
post Oct 29 2011, 06:22 PM

233 posts

[quote=kelvyn,Oct 28 2011, 09:58 PM]
The rates of RM7.5 includes what tile size? 1'x1' or 2'x2'? The diff between is only RM3.5 for the tiles. If you are using 1'x1' tiles, should be quite reasonable. However, if using 2'x2', then will be quite difficult to get those reputable 2'x2' tiles.
So, it is up to you what tiles you plan to use. Normally for car porch people will go for either 1'x1' or 1'x2' tiles.
Bear in mind that no contractor will do a money losing deal. So, what you pay is what you get smile.gif

[/quote
Thanks for ya replies guys. I asked the tiler and he said RM7.50 is for 2x2 tiles and for 1x1 or 1x2 it should be any tile NOT more RM2.50 per sq ft. If i choose RM4.50 it does not cover cement and sand but only labour and susu.
For 2x2 tiles i dont mind those china made cheap ones and like kucingfight said for porch its ok for Grade B tiles. I tried to get the tiler to include cement for the RM4.50 rate but he wouldnt budge.
Man, this house renovation thing is a BIG headache lah. rclxub.gif
scouser7
post Oct 30 2011, 02:14 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(RailKill @ Oct 30 2011, 01:04 PM)
There are no superior grade tiles locally because all are exported. Different shade because different batch. Tiles are graded lower on factors such presence of pin holes, symmetry, size variance and warping.
Price of RM7.50 for 2x2 tiles all-in is good.  thumbup.gif  Ask tiler to provide sample of the actual tile to use as standard before comfirming. Just remember to keep the tile so you can compare.
Thanks for ya reply Railkill. Tiler said i can go with him to choose the tile i want. Will defo keep one sample to compare.
Good advise and opinion from all you sifu's here. Really thankful for givin ya time and effort. God bless all of you!!! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by scouser7: Oct 30 2011, 02:15 PM
scouser7
post Oct 31 2011, 02:54 PM

233 posts

I hope there are homogeneous tiles or lappato/rough/stoned surface that is within the RM2.50 price range. Txs again guys. Havent asked where the contractor gonna get the tiles but from what i read, contractors do get some discount when buying tiles directly.

scouser7
post Oct 31 2011, 11:34 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 31 2011, 04:50 PM)
If you find one that is out of the agreed price range, then just top up... Don't save on tile quality. Not worth it.
Roger that kelvyn. Tq. thumbup.gif

0.0645sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:41 PM