Tiles, Cost and Installation

kelvyn
post Sep 27 2011, 03:29 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Sep 27 2011, 03:12 PM)
So the real question here should be QUALITY rite? But thats the problem im facing with these unbranded made in China tiles...it does not come with any quality guarantee. Price wise it is so tempting but whereas the branded ones cost more. Sigh!
Thank you ppl for ya kind reply!! rclxms.gif
FYI, White Horse tiles are all made in Malaysia. Been to their factory in Pasir Gudang few years back.
While some of the 2'x2' and larger MML and also Niro Ceramics (an even higher end brand) tiles are made in China.
Catmama
post Sep 27 2011, 04:24 PM

45 posts

Want to ask that Venus Tiles good ar?
kelvyn
post Sep 27 2011, 04:31 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Catmama @ Sep 27 2011, 05:24 PM)
Want to ask that Venus Tiles good ar?
Used that for my wet kitchen and wash area floor. Quite satisfied. biggrin.gif
Skydrop
post Sep 27 2011, 07:51 PM

361 posts

Sorry for misunderstanding you bro weikee. I understand now.

Not all Malaysian made is good or bad and not all China made is good or bad either. The challenge we newbies face is to select the right quality tile given the budget we have. Can't tell which one is good quality and what questions to ask. If ask sales person, they tunjuk the mahal type sad.gif Malas to entertain low budget customer.

Bro kelvyn, so the kuda putih and mml can trust ke?

This post has been edited by Skydrop: Sep 27 2011, 07:56 PM
kamion
post Sep 27 2011, 08:07 PM

327 posts

I think different range from same brand also can have differences.

My tiler commented the Niro Horizon Stone 600x600mm tiles I used for my kitchen floor are the best he's seen in terms of uniformity from tile to tile. Then he commented the Niro Solfen 400x400mm I used for my bathrooms are soooooo bad and he had to make so many adjustments to line them up. Niro only make porcelain tiles.

This post has been edited by kamion: Sep 27 2011, 08:07 PM
Skydrop
post Sep 27 2011, 08:22 PM

361 posts

I see... I fell in love with the Niro inside out range... was thinking to get it for my kitchen concrete top blush.gif
kamion
post Sep 27 2011, 08:25 PM

327 posts

Just go for it. It'll be alright. I can't really see the difference myself. Just comments from the tiler. I guess when they're down on their hands and knees fitting each tile they will see the difference.
Skydrop
post Sep 27 2011, 08:37 PM

361 posts

Yeah, that's what i thought because it is a very small area, Need only few pieces. Bathroom & kitchen wall & floor, still clueless rclxub.gif
kelvyn
post Sep 27 2011, 09:12 PM

3,173 posts

Tiling work are very much reliance on the workmanship. No doubt the quality of the tiles itself also play an important part. As with all workmanship, there will be tend to have ups & downs. Even the workmanship of an very experience tiler will vary slightly from job to job. He is human anyway. smile.gif
So, if you are not too particular/ fussy, then you will enjoy the outcome of your renovation even more. tongue.gif
benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 12:34 AM

14 posts

I need advise here. Due to my existing floor tiles "pop" out, now i need to redo my living room tiles, around 500ft. Contractor quote me RM8,000. This cover dismantle all existing 2.5x 2.5 tiles, labour, all material, rubbish clearance and lay new 2x2 white horse tiles. Is all this consider reasonable?
Or anyone of you have a nice workmanship Chinese sifu with reasonable price to recommend. Very appreciate it coz it quite urgent due to existing tiles "pop" out. Thanks.
weikee
post Sep 28 2011, 07:40 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(benjaminteg @ Sep 28 2011, 12:34 AM)

I need advise here. Due to my existing floor tiles "pop" out, now i need to redo my living room tiles, around 500ft. Contractor quote me RM8,000. This  cover dismantle all existing 2.5x 2.5 tiles, labour, all material, rubbish clearance and lay new 2x2 white horse tiles. Is all this consider reasonable?
Or anyone of you have a nice workmanship Chinese sifu with reasonable price to recommend. Very appreciate it coz it quite urgent due to existing tiles "pop" out. Thanks.
8k inclusive of tiles? What is your selection range? Hacking tiles is not an easy job, got to knock it out, also remove the cement layer, Minimal will need to go all the way down to 1.5" to 2". If you know your selection range, brand and type you be able to estimate if its expensive or reasonable. Hacking and clearing should be in the range of 1.5k to 2k

My tiler is a Chinese sifu arrange by my main-contractor. Labor for 2x2 tiling + Sand + cement is RM5 for floor. A good floor tiles will range between RM 18 - 40 per pieces of 2x2.
benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 08:56 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 28 2011, 07:40 AM)
8k inclusive of tiles? What is your selection range? Hacking tiles is not an easy job, got to knock it out, also remove the cement layer, Minimal will need to go all the way down to 1.5" to 2".  If you know your selection range, brand and type you be able to estimate if its expensive or reasonable. Hacking and clearing should be in the range of 1.5k to 2k

My tiler is a Chinese sifu arrange by my main-contractor. Labor for 2x2 tiling + Sand + cement is RM5 for floor. A good floor tiles will range between RM 18 - 40 per pieces of 2x2.
Yes, 8k inclusive white horse tile. Selection can be up to RM16/pc. Is this consider reasonable consider i stay at Condo.
weikee
post Sep 28 2011, 09:01 AM

12,019 posts

RM 16 tiles, maybe your selection will be limited. I seen few whitehorse range so so only.

Price wise, i don't think is on the high side, maybe in the mid level. Hacking take a fair bit of work, and considering is Condo maybe more hassle to dispose waste.

Added on September 28, 2011, 9:01 amAnd carrying up the tiles too.

This post has been edited by weikee: Sep 28 2011, 09:01 AM
kucingfight
post Sep 28 2011, 09:29 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(benjaminteg @ Sep 28 2011, 12:34 AM)

I need advise here. Due to my existing floor tiles "pop" out, now i need to redo my living room tiles, around 500ft. Contractor quote me RM8,000. ThisĀ  cover dismantle all existing 2.5x 2.5 tiles, labour, all material, rubbish clearance and lay new 2x2 white horse tiles. Is all this consider reasonable?
if i'm not mistaken, here's the 'market' price

break/clear old tiles =rm2/sq ft , 500x2 = rm1000
lay 2x2 tiles = rm6-7/ sq ft = 500 x 7= rm3500
2x2 tile = rm20 , rm20 x 125pcs = rm2500

Total ~ 7k. jus a rough calculation, +/-, n off course depending on skill level.

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Sep 28 2011, 09:29 AM
weikee
post Sep 28 2011, 09:47 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Sep 28 2011, 09:29 AM)
if i'm not mistaken, here's the 'market' price

break/clear old tiles =rm2/sq ft , 500x2 = rm1000
lay 2x2 tiles = rm6-7/ sq ft = 500 x 7= rm3500
2x2 tile = rm20 , rm20 x 125pcs = rm2500

Total ~ 7k. jus  a rough calculation, +/-, n off course depending on skill level.
You need to add variance for high rise building. Sometime it can only work at certain hours of the day, carrying and disposing is also another factor to add in.
kucingfight
post Sep 28 2011, 09:58 AM

5,784 posts

yes off course..just giving him a gauge price
benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 10:48 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Sep 28 2011, 09:58 AM)
yes off course..just giving him a gauge price
Then i consider the price charge is fair coz RM8000 including skirting as well.

1 more question is that would it be cheaper if I buy my own tiles.

Thanks Guys. U all are great. rclxms.gif
kelvyn
post Sep 28 2011, 11:02 AM

3,173 posts

There are pro & con to buying your own tiles as compared to getting the contractor to do so.
Pro - Can have more selection of tiles to your liking. Most cases, this method would be cheaper.

Con - Any problem with the tiles, you have to deal with the supplier yourself. In some cases, the tiler will blame the tiles for poor finishing quality

weikee
post Sep 28 2011, 11:04 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(benjaminteg @ Sep 28 2011, 10:48 AM)
Then i consider the price charge is fair coz RM8000 including skirting as well.

1 more question is that would it be cheaper if I buy my own tiles.

Thanks Guys. U all are great.  rclxms.gif
Yup, cause all additional work like skirting, edge, step, tiles on concrete are charge by lump some. And Mosaic too
benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 11:13 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 28 2011, 11:02 AM)
There are pro & con to buying your own tiles as compared to getting the contractor to do so.
Pro - Can have more selection of tiles to your liking. Most cases, this method would be cheaper.

Con - Any problem with the tiles, you have to deal with the supplier yourself. In some cases, the tiler will blame the tiles for poor finishing quality
I see. Thanks for your sharing.

136 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:28 PM