Tiles, Cost and Installation

benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 12:34 AM

14 posts

I need advise here. Due to my existing floor tiles "pop" out, now i need to redo my living room tiles, around 500ft. Contractor quote me RM8,000. This cover dismantle all existing 2.5x 2.5 tiles, labour, all material, rubbish clearance and lay new 2x2 white horse tiles. Is all this consider reasonable?
Or anyone of you have a nice workmanship Chinese sifu with reasonable price to recommend. Very appreciate it coz it quite urgent due to existing tiles "pop" out. Thanks.
benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 08:56 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 28 2011, 07:40 AM)
8k inclusive of tiles? What is your selection range? Hacking tiles is not an easy job, got to knock it out, also remove the cement layer, Minimal will need to go all the way down to 1.5" to 2".  If you know your selection range, brand and type you be able to estimate if its expensive or reasonable. Hacking and clearing should be in the range of 1.5k to 2k

My tiler is a Chinese sifu arrange by my main-contractor. Labor for 2x2 tiling + Sand + cement is RM5 for floor. A good floor tiles will range between RM 18 - 40 per pieces of 2x2.
Yes, 8k inclusive white horse tile. Selection can be up to RM16/pc. Is this consider reasonable consider i stay at Condo.
benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 10:48 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Sep 28 2011, 09:58 AM)
yes off course..just giving him a gauge price
Then i consider the price charge is fair coz RM8000 including skirting as well.

1 more question is that would it be cheaper if I buy my own tiles.

Thanks Guys. U all are great. rclxms.gif
benjaminteg
post Sep 28 2011, 11:13 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 28 2011, 11:02 AM)
There are pro & con to buying your own tiles as compared to getting the contractor to do so.
Pro - Can have more selection of tiles to your liking. Most cases, this method would be cheaper.

Con - Any problem with the tiles, you have to deal with the supplier yourself. In some cases, the tiler will blame the tiles for poor finishing quality
I see. Thanks for your sharing.
benjaminteg
post Oct 4 2011, 05:32 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(metalbod @ Sep 30 2011, 08:03 AM)
my tiles are almost 20 yr old. need to remove and re-lay new ones. unfortunately didn't get a breakdown pricelist as i'm also removing tiles from 2 bathrooms altogether. the quote i got for removing 2 bathrooms and 1 living hall of 480sqft comes up to 2.8k.

as for re-laying new tiles in living hall alone, the quote comes up to 6.7k.  with 800x800mm tiles. i suppose your quote of 8k for 500sqft is reasonable.

btw, did you get an estimation of how long it will take to do ur 500sqft?

The estimated time is around 6-7 working days due to condo restriction.

benjaminteg
post Oct 7 2011, 01:59 PM

14 posts

Guys,

I wanna check what is the process of laying the tiles after removed the old tiles and simen.

My contractor told me he will put simen and tiles to lay in a short. He said this way better hor.

I thought normally will put simen first to make the floor even and wait 1-2 days before laying the tiles? Please advise.

This post has been edited by benjaminteg: Oct 7 2011, 02:01 PM
benjaminteg
post Oct 7 2011, 03:17 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 7 2011, 02:27 PM)
Simen? you mean cement right?

If the level are very low, you need to raised the floor to desire level with cement. After Cement dry than lay tiles + cement.

My house, the wet and dry kitchen was very low (drop 6"), contractor put cement + sand and wait few days, only put tiles + cement.

The extended living hall, broken marble was installed without putting cement + sand earlier. Because is only 1.5" low, contractor do everything in one goal.

If your current floor is very low cement + sand to raised it, and wait few days only lay tiles + cement.
My living room only lower by around 2". So I guess no problem lay together in one goal. tongue.gif

Added on October 7, 2011, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 7 2011, 02:30 PM)
There are 2 different methods to installing the floor tiles.
- Dry Method. Cement screed the floor to the required level. Then install the floor tiles.
Pro: Better level control
Con: Slower and it involves additional process

- Wet Method. Cement screed the floor and at the same time install the floor tiles.
Pro: Better bonding of floor tiles & faster.
Con: Need better skill to ensure the good finishing.
At first they wanna do dry method, now change mind say do wet method. So i scare they cincai do.

After your explantion, i guess now is the problem whether the "Guru" have the skill to do wet method and levelling the floor properly.

This post has been edited by benjaminteg: Oct 7 2011, 03:22 PM
benjaminteg
post Oct 13 2011, 07:17 AM

14 posts

Guys,

Need some advise here. My contractor give me 2nd grade tiles instead of 1st grade. Am very upset now. Charging me so expensive yet give me 2nd grade tiles and cheap labours. All the promise like finish tiling in 1 week, chinese sifu and 1st grade tiles all never done. What should I do. Tiling with 2nd grade already half way done. I really don;t like the 2nd grade tiles. Can share some of your thoughts about 1st grade Vs 2nd grade. Thanks.
benjaminteg
post Oct 13 2011, 12:36 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 13 2011, 07:48 AM)
And how do you find out is 2nd Grade?
It printed on the box.

Added on October 13, 2011, 12:37 pmSo any advise since stupid contractor already put in the 2nd grade tiles.
What i worry is it may pop up when time passed.

This post has been edited by benjaminteg: Oct 13 2011, 12:37 PM

0.0191sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:51 AM