Tiles, Cost and Installation

phoenix69
post Aug 18 2011, 11:48 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kamion @ Aug 18 2011, 10:30 PM)
Feruni at Perfect Living selling some 600x600 (2'x2') at RM11.99 per piece limited to first 250 pieces.

YE04NN - Garnet Series RM11.99
PU01NN - Pure Series RM14.99

Any good, Feruni? Did a search but no one made any conclusive statements. laugh.gif

They have a couple others around that price also, but I didn't take down the model numbers.
I've been to their showroom in PJ. Nice tiles but pricey. If the offer for all porcelain tiles (not just a fixed type) then its cheap (for Feruni).
I think you are like me, sold on their showroom rclxms.gif
phoenix69
post Aug 22 2011, 08:30 PM

1,836 posts

Been to one stop in kepong. Saw Niro Tiles 2'X2' selling at RM9.80 thought I hit the mother lode drool.gif
But when I ask more details, its Grade 2 cry.gif
Grade 1 cost RM 20+++ blush.gif

phoenix69
post Aug 28 2011, 04:13 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 25 2011, 09:57 AM)
the only grouse i have with niro is it's not homogenoues.
if chipped or broken, can see the white base. will be very obvious.
it's usually thicker than other tiles.

now i'm seriously considering mml tiles since its homogenous.

bernard, good price. where you buy?
Are you sure. I've always have the impression that Niro Granite is the leader in Homogeneous Tiles blink.gif

They even claim as below..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iy_o41rnzb4
phoenix69
post Aug 29 2011, 05:04 PM

1,836 posts

Is it a good idea to buy from the main showroom since they are supposedly the HQ (main source). Will the price diffrence be significant?

Been to a few Major Tiles showroom

Feruni in Jalan 213, Petaling Jaya

Guocera in Wisma Kemajuan, Petaling Jaya

MML in Jalan 215, Petaling Jaya

White Horse in Ceramic World, Selayang

Niro Granite - Jalan Penchala, Petaling Jaya.

phoenix69
post Aug 30 2011, 01:43 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kamion @ Aug 29 2011, 09:29 PM)
For kitchen walls and bathroom walls, you can use ceramic tiles, as you won't expect to be putting anything heavy on the walls. wink.gif

For floors, you would want to use porcelain tiles because they have lower absorption rate than ceramic tiles so hopefully they won't stain as easily. You will want "matt" surfaced tiles as you would expect the kitchen and bathroom to get wet. Homogeneous or not, up to you la. I opted for homogeneous for my kitchen floor because I thought there'll be a chance something might drop on the floor and chip it.
Good advice. Direct and to the points. Thanks.

Some facts I've Googled - my own summary tongue.gif
Ceramic Tiles - Standard Clay Tiles with a coloured surface
2 types -
Glazed (Shiny)
Unglazed (Matte)

Porcelein Tiles - Porcelein Clay Tile (fired at much higher temperatures than ceramic tiles)
-more dense,
-less porous,
-much harder
-less prone to moisture and stain absorption
2 types-
Glazed (Shiny) - may or may not have the same coloration from top to bottom because of the top glazed layer
Unglazed (Matte) = Homogeneous Tiles - through-body coloration

Source :- http://www.floorfacts.com/ceramic-porcelain-tile.asp

So kamion advice makes perfect sense rclxms.gif
phoenix69
post Sep 8 2011, 10:30 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 30 2011, 01:43 AM)
Good advice. Direct and to the points. Thanks.

Some facts I've Googled - my own summary  tongue.gif
Ceramic Tiles - Standard Clay Tiles with a coloured surface
2 types -
Glazed (Shiny)
Unglazed (Matte)

Porcelein Tiles - Porcelein Clay Tile (fired at much higher temperatures than ceramic tiles)
                    -more dense,
                    -less porous,
                    -much harder
                    -less prone to moisture and stain absorption
2 types-
Glazed (Shiny) - may or may not have the same coloration from top to bottom because of the top glazed layer
Unglazed (Matte) = Homogeneous Tiles - through-body coloration

Source :- http://www.floorfacts.com/ceramic-porcelain-tile.asp

So kamion advice makes perfect sense  rclxms.gif

New info from talking with Kevin from Niro Granite Jalan Penchala, Petaling Jaya.

Homogeneous = Porcelein, The material are the same from surface to the base.

Full Bodied = The Top colour are saturated Fully in to the tile.
Half Bodied = The Top colour are saturated partially (half) in to the tile.
phoenix69
post Sep 8 2011, 10:48 PM

1,836 posts

I read somewhere in this forum that if you bring a contractor to Niro Granite showroon,
they can get 28% discount. drool.gif
Today when I went (I am not contractor),
the salesman Kevin in Jalan Penchala told me that this deal was discontinued 2 months ago, cry.gif
phoenix69
post Oct 2 2011, 11:44 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Oct 1 2011, 12:47 PM)
looks like Niro Puchong outlet is having promotion.
Give details bro, we need details.
Last visit to Niro Granite Jalan Penchala, last month the sales man say
Since 2 months ago the 28% discount afforded to contractor - no more.
Now maximum approx 22-23%. doh.gif

phoenix69
post Oct 5 2011, 10:49 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(metalbod @ Oct 5 2011, 10:00 AM)
went to see some niro tiles ystd. saw the marmo series, white polished 60x60. niceeeee...

got the best quote from the showroom, only 15% discount. sigh... probably hav to settle for other brands to get lower price.

any1 hav good disc for niro?  basically i want a good quality white polished 60x60 tiles.  any1 use white flooring?

Added on October 5, 2011, 10:01 am

guess i hav to go visit niro in jalan penchala liao... phoenix, u got any good contacts there who'll give amazing discount?  brows.gif
Just go there and look fierce tongue.gif
phoenix69
post Oct 5 2011, 05:09 PM

1,836 posts

I am searching for tiles now.
How is the choices in Ipmuda Buildermart.

Based on the perception of the members who has been there,
How is their Prices and Variety range ?!? hmm.gif
phoenix69
post Oct 9 2011, 12:42 AM

1,836 posts

My 2 cents tongue.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1918768/+280

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Oct 9 2011, 08:58 AM
phoenix69
post Oct 11 2011, 01:46 AM

1,836 posts

Looking for brown / chocolate colored 2X2 full bodied homogeneous tiles for kitchen table top.
Any recommendations??? blink.gif

So far only can find black galaxy color tiles for Kitchen tabletop. shakehead.gif
phoenix69
post Oct 27 2011, 12:47 PM

1,836 posts

Err... My floors was hacked. Now going for tiles.
The prices shared here does it include cement floor leveling?? blink.gif

Any ideas what is the cost for this.
Floor:-
1.Cement levelling
2.Tiling workmanship
3.Material + susu

Wall
1.Skimming
2.Tiling workmanship
3.Material + susu

Tiles are excluded here

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Oct 27 2011, 01:01 PM
phoenix69
post Oct 31 2011, 02:59 PM

1,836 posts

I heard that Guocera got some rough surface car porch tiles at good discounted prices. Anyone else heard of this?
phoenix69
post Nov 29 2011, 02:17 PM

1,836 posts

Try Feruni. They have big tiles.
phoenix69
post Dec 19 2011, 09:45 PM

1,836 posts

Try this

http://www.nirogranite.com.my/layout.html
phoenix69
post Jan 4 2012, 11:53 PM

1,836 posts

I am looking for 2nd grade tiles. Specifically Guocera Signature or Niro Traces.
Where to find??
phoenix69
post Feb 19 2012, 05:23 PM

1,836 posts

Cost should be the same. The main difference is the skill.
Different si-fu can charge same or different price since there is no standard price but different people has different skill level, work ethics and experience. Result will really depend on your luck.
phoenix69
post Mar 8 2012, 10:22 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Mar 7 2012, 01:46 PM)
Normally what tiles you all choose for those under concrete table? Those which is "hidden"...
Another option is to lay that part last if you are doing major renovation, using balance tiles. My tiler did that for me and it looks surprisingly good.
phoenix69
post Jun 19 2012, 07:24 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Jun 16 2012, 10:55 PM)
I just realized even grade a tiles that I got fro, MML , Whitehorse , guocera...they are still not that perfect...my tiler told me the really perfect ones are being exported...any inputs for the sake of discussion?
Most of our "local" branded tiles are imported from China.. so its already "export" grade... How does that fit in this statement???

0.0588sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:21 AM