128 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

chemistry
post Jan 30 2011, 01:44 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Jan 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
Apology for the late reply.  I hardly this card so thought of cancel it.  Now I only carry 3 cards.
i) CT Master Plat (auto debit, retail purchases)
ii) UOB OneCard Visa Plat (BHP petrol, GSC, Sushi King)
iii) UOB Preferred Master Plat  (in cold storage, hardly use)
The must-get cards as of 30-1-2011 are Maybankard 2 Amex and OCBC Titanium Mastercard.
You may want to make a change laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 30 2011, 01:45 AM
Shinichi
post Jan 30 2011, 02:07 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 29 2011, 12:08 PM)
21-1: Application through phone without submitting any documents
27-1: Called MBB CS but was information my application was not in the system
28-1: Called MBB CS and was informed my application has been approved, but they were Gold cards instead. I asked them to change both cards to Platinum
Today 29-1: Called MBB CS again. This time I was told my application was in process. No cards have been approved yet. doh.gif

I guess they have removed the Gold cards in their system and they are now reprocessing my application.
Just curious, is it possible for me to apply for M2 Plat cards by phone even I do not meet their income requirements? I'm only eligible for M2 gold now...
hye
post Jan 30 2011, 06:05 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 30 2011, 02:07 AM)
Just curious, is it possible for me to apply for M2 Plat cards by phone even I do not meet their income requirements? I'm only eligible for M2 gold now...
You may try but let's be realistic about the expectations due to the income requirements.
Outright, the answer is definitely NO.
erry-
post Jan 30 2011, 06:56 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 29 2011, 12:50 AM)
Definitely can. Our ASTRO is registered under my mom's name but the bill is billed to my credit card every month.
i also have no prob make autodebit for astro, tnb, tm streamyx and maxis broadband which are not under my name thumbup.gif

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 29 2011, 09:42 AM)
After getting MBB2 Amex and OCBC Ti, I don't think will use current MBB Petronas Visa any more....so, possible can waive the GST 50 right?
no, not possible. just cancel ur mbb petronas before next annivessary.

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 29 2011, 09:42 AM)
If excluded extra 3% promo, better use OCBC Ti for 5% every time....don't need worry for the tier....
am I right?
u said u using petrol >rm500/month so of coz no need to worry la for the tier?
besides, ur ocbc can use extra rm500 for other 5% category.

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 29 2011, 10:52 AM)
mbb still ok since they told me to swipe RM3k for 6 months then they will waive it

Added on January 29, 2011, 10:53 ami mean within 6 months
mbb told u or OFFERING only u? sweat.gif
i also got 10k tp to offset gst from mbb. wondering how they waive it for u? credited back rm50?

Added on January 30, 2011, 7:44 am
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Jan 29 2011, 07:17 AM)
Guys, is it common practice for sales staff to check your signature when you sign off something? I just wonder if they don't believe young person can get CC early.
some cashier even ask ur IC to confirm if u are the card holder (usually this happen for big amount swipe).

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 30 2011, 07:44 AM
MGM
post Jan 30 2011, 07:59 AM

18,429 posts

The extra rebate for internet banking transactions done btw 1-oct-10 to 31-dec-10 for me is RM120.38 which is exactly 5%.
The period used is based on calendar month not statement month.
winner
post Jan 30 2011, 08:26 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 30 2011, 02:07 AM)
If you don't meet either one of the requirements for Platinum card, i.e, income or CL, you GENERALLY won't be able to be granted a Platinum card.
Gen-X
post Jan 30 2011, 08:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Jan 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
Apology for the late reply.  I hardly this card so thought of cancel it.  Now I only carry 3 cards.
i) CT Master Plat (auto debit, retail purchases)
ii) UOB OneCard Visa Plat (BHP petrol, GSC, Sushi King)
iii) UOB Preferred Master Plat  (in cold storage, hardly use)
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 30 2011, 01:44 AM)
The must-get cards as of 30-1-2011 are Maybankard 2 Amex and OCBC Titanium Mastercard.
You may want to make a change laugh.gif
For his case. maybe Maybankard 2 Cards (AMEX) may not be so attractive. OCBC Titanium maybe. With OCBC Titanium, for example he will get 5% cash rebate with OCBC TMC at BHP vs UOB 2% Smart Cash at BHP. But at Sushi King with UOB he gets 10% vs OCBC 5% & also UOB One CArd gets 5% at GSC.

Click here to see cash back for Smart $ with UOB One Card

patricktoh, if you interested to know more about OCBC Titanium Cash Back, i did a write up on it with a comparison table (that time many members here, e.g. ronnie and winner, pointed out the typos and have edited it thumbup.gif )

Click here to read about OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash Back

Maybankard 2 Cards - AMEX 5 Treats Points gives about 2.5% cash back in vouchers terms plus 5% cash back on Saturdays and Sundays only. Anyway here is the link to my blog for Maybankard 2 Cards. Click here to read about Maybankard 2 Cards.

patricktoh, for your UOB cards annual fees waiver, what are the conditions, or to be precise, the MasterCard.
Previosly I had the Visa Plat and MC Plat where need to swipe 6 times each to get auto annual fees waive but since I cancel the MC, now I have to swipe 12 times plus spend RM3K (supp not counted that is why want to change ASTRO account to OCBC) a year with my UOB Preferred Plat Visa. Thinking of cancelling the card.

Shinichi
post Jan 30 2011, 12:48 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 30 2011, 06:05 AM)
You may try but let's be realistic about the expectations due to the income requirements.
QUOTE(winner @ Jan 30 2011, 08:26 AM)
If you don't meet either one of the requirements for Platinum card, i.e, income or CL, you GENERALLY won't be able to be granted a Platinum card.
Thanks for reply smile.gif
It's a pity I could not afford to own the better design M2Plat card now.

Anyway do bank allow us to use foreign country payslip to apply for Malaysia CC?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jan 30 2011, 12:50 PM
kei18kun
post Jan 30 2011, 01:00 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 30 2011, 06:56 AM)
mbb told u or OFFERING only u? sweat.gif
i also got 10k tp to offset gst from mbb. wondering how they waive it for u? credited back rm50?
the cs told me lah, how they will do it i didn't ask. probably will just gv me 10tp to offset the gst

Added on January 30, 2011, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 29 2011, 06:53 PM)
Is it swipe RM3K "within 6 months" or "for 6 months"? Very big difference yo..
pls read my post, i've corrected it to within 6 months spend 3k

This post has been edited by kei18kun: Jan 30 2011, 01:09 PM
chemistry
post Jan 30 2011, 01:51 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 30 2011, 08:50 AM)
For his case. maybe Maybankard 2 Cards (AMEX) may not be so attractive. OCBC Titanium maybe. With OCBC Titanium, for example he will get 5% cash rebate with OCBC TMC at BHP vs UOB 2% Smart Cash at BHP. But at Sushi King with UOB he gets 10% vs OCBC 5% & also UOB One CArd gets 5% at GSC.
At Sushi King, if he used to dine on weekends, the Amex's 7.5% (total return%) doesn't lose much to UOB.
At GSC as well, if he watch movie on weekends, 7.5% is even better than UOB's 5%.
For petrol, on weekends, 7.5% better than OCBC's 5%.

All in all, it depends on how much Kei18kun spends on these merchants then only can work out a solution.
jensen_tidus
post Jan 30 2011, 02:27 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 30 2011, 01:51 PM)

At GSC as well, if he watch movie on weekends, 7.5% is even better than UOB's 5%.

GSC accept amex card?? blink.gif
kei18kun
post Jan 30 2011, 02:38 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ Jan 30 2011, 02:27 PM)
GSC accept amex card??  blink.gif
nope
soitsuagain
post Jan 30 2011, 02:39 PM

Let's do it together!
3,809 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 30 2011, 06:05 AM)
Yup, damn true. Use CL to apply.
chemistry
post Jan 30 2011, 02:46 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 30 2011, 02:38 PM)
nope
Sorry for mistake.
I don't watch movies, so not sure about payment method.
If u really are so into movies, better apply CIMB Visa Platinum, free 1 ticket everyday at GSC. I'm sure the savings from this promotion can cover the GST for the additional card.
kei18kun
post Jan 30 2011, 03:08 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

ambank also buy 1 free 1 for cathay cineplex
UltraConductor_41
post Jan 30 2011, 03:19 PM

428 posts

My May2 card approved!! My first credit card in my life~ rclxms.gif Signed up last sunday at 1u with a free umbrella~~ thumbup.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 30 2011, 03:30 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ Jan 30 2011, 02:27 PM)
GSC accept amex card??  blink.gif
QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 30 2011, 02:38 PM)
nope
You can switch to Cathay. They accept AMEX. whistling.gif
kei18kun
post Jan 30 2011, 03:30 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

welcome to the club, do keep record of ur spending and pay in full every month ya smile.gif
chemistry
post Jan 30 2011, 03:32 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 30 2011, 03:08 PM)
ambank also buy 1 free 1 for cathay cineplex
Whatever card it is...as long as you're happy with UOB, you may stick to it.
We (I) just try to suggest alternative only wink.gif

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 30 2011, 03:40 PM
UltraConductor_41
post Jan 30 2011, 03:39 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 30 2011, 03:30 PM)
welcome to the club, do keep record of ur spending and pay in full every month ya smile.gif
yeah~! just wish to get a credit card to save some penny... 2.5% rebate...spend rm 4000 in 1 year i can save rm 100 which is enough for my car roadtax~ biggrin.gif

128 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:10 AM