Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

hye
post Jan 16 2011, 01:41 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 16 2011, 12:34 PM)
Can we consider Citibank Clear Card as one of the best classic card because of its “BUY 1 FREE 1 at GSC on Fridays”?
From the point of movies ... maybe. But different people have different definition of "best" to them.
Generally I wouldn't want to call Citibank Clear Card as the best classic card.
hye
post Jan 16 2011, 02:32 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Let's not get carried away with this best card question. Many will come in here will ask this best card again.
We already have a good guide over in #1.
hye
post Jan 17 2011, 03:08 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Kenshin1314 @ Jan 17 2011, 01:16 AM)
I would like to ask about how can i obtain or register a credit card as a student that has no income but will be working starting from next month.
I'm planning on getting a digi iphone plan based on installment and require a credit card to obtain this plan.
Will be using the i phone for working purposes and would be a vital matter to me if i was able to obtain it...
Thanks =)
Credit card application require proof of income. I think that answers your question.
hye
post Jan 18 2011, 11:51 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@chemistry
Let's dispense with the profanities please. Other threads may be doing this but not here please. You profanities is now cc'ed over to bro@PPZ already.

I know there is a lot of excitement about MBB's new product but for those who can wait, just wait.
I'm sure other banks will be upping their own product line soon to counter MBB's new cc product.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 18 2011, 11:53 AM
hye
post Jan 18 2011, 04:58 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 18 2011, 04:47 PM)
i'm wondering how are they going to explain to BNM 2 cards for 1 GST hmm.gif
maybe MBB is subsidising 1 GST?
No need to care about that. They are willing to offer that to consumer so just enjoy it.
hye
post Jan 19 2011, 01:42 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@cyang81
Let the guy decide. When it comes to money matters, it is an individual decision. So please don't be immature and suggest when it involves money.
Better still edit your post.

Next time please avoid telling him what to do because it is his credit card/money, his rights - not yours. What can happen if the guy is not happy with the decision he can BLAME you for suggesting it to him in the first place.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 19 2011, 02:05 PM
hye
post Jan 21 2011, 03:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@thtan

Don't generalize just so happen you don't have a use for high limit. If you don't need it then just downgrade your CL and have you done so?
If you have done so then I'll take my hat off and if you had retained your limit then ... you are no different from what you have described yourself people with high CL.
There are people who genuinely need the high limit and I couldn't understand your negative attitude.

@UltraConductor_41
You need to be responsible for your card either way ... both retail and online purchase. Always be aware of where your physical card is to avoid retail fraud and buy online from respectable websites. Safeguard information about your card and don't let it "float" around.
No such thing as pushing the responsibility to the bank entirely. It will not be an issue if you are careful and smart enough. Problems can still happen but these are rare incidences.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 21 2011, 04:48 AM
hye
post Jan 21 2011, 11:39 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(thtan @ Jan 21 2011, 10:10 AM)
I do need the high credit limit, but some merchants/institutions just don't accept credit card for large transactions.
I merely came to highlight the lack of card acceptance for bigger transactions. How is that negative?
Ask anyone who read your post. I was not the only one who had the same impression.
hye
post Jan 22 2011, 10:09 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 22 2011, 09:16 AM)
The recent three cc of mine were applied through email. I always cross the IC & cc copy with 'XXX application only'.

instead, applying cc through card agents is even riskier, as you might not even have the chance to cross those docs especially when the kiosk is crowded.
Yes ... this is the good practice to have.
One way to make sure agents cross the docs is, do not signature / leave the booth until they cross the docs in front of you. They will get the message.

Added on January 22, 2011, 10:11 am
QUOTE(winner @ Jan 22 2011, 10:04 AM)
Nowadays I seldom use the facilities as the food sucks. Food in MAS Golden Lounge isn't good either. I only go there and read newspaper if I go to the airport early.
Food is the MAS Golden Lounge will be better than the one in Plaza Premium Lounge. The food in Plaza Premium Lounge sometimes borders between edible and not.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 22 2011, 10:11 AM
hye
post Jan 22 2011, 04:58 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(gila99 @ Jan 22 2011, 04:38 PM)
Credit card verification?

today i call to 1300886688 to check my credit card balance,  the agent was asking me:
1.my maiden name
2. my ic number
3.full credit card number
4.expiry date

Do they need to ask these four info for the verification?
Yes ... it is normal. What should be considered as red flag if they asked you for the CVV no. (which they are not supposed to)
Plus ... you are the one who called into the call center, so there's very little to be worried about.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 22 2011, 04:58 PM
hye
post Jan 23 2011, 12:58 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 23 2011, 12:49 PM)
If you don't trust both forummers and CS officers, then it is no point to ask questions here as you won't be satisfied with whatever answer you receive. As per what you mentioned, it would be better to wait until the statement comes then you get the definite anwer.
Agreed. Many came in here wanting to look for answers which satisfy them only and not the actual fact.
hye
post Jan 24 2011, 01:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(kenleyC @ Jan 24 2011, 01:18 PM)
Which bank have the fastest credit card application process?
CIMB WMC application - 1 hour processing only. Normal cc type - Citibank 2 hour but you need to apply at the Ampang branch.
Next time don't be lazy ... read to find out. This is not a spoon feeding thread, no excuses.
hye
post Jan 24 2011, 04:05 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 24 2011, 03:50 PM)
can i convert to installment plan if i use my cc to pay for road tax and insurance through myeg ?
Depends on which credit card/what bank are you using. Most banks will impose a minimum amount to qualify before the conversation to installment plan.

Added on January 24, 2011, 4:06 pm
QUOTE(johnnyc @ Jan 24 2011, 03:54 PM)
one question, let say i gonna to apply Maybankard Duo at their annual TreatFair which is usually held on July. Will they can issue on the spot approval?
My guess is yes but you are asking a question which no one here have experience in. The product is only launched this month and have never appeared in any Maybank TreatFair before. How can anyone here be sure ?

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 24 2011, 04:17 PM
hye
post Jan 24 2011, 10:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Guys ... let's be careful when discussing about the signature issue.
The last thing we want to happen is someone tries to be smart and beat the system. It's a Malaysian "boleh" mentality that worries me.

Banks are not that stupid and generally banks have a special team which investigates cc frauds. Likely if someone tries to be smart against the bank, it has been done before and the poor soul caught.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 24 2011, 10:28 PM
hye
post Jan 25 2011, 09:08 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ Jan 25 2011, 08:45 AM)
But will the ccris shows all the history of our record if the credit card is automatically upgraded from classic to gold? My suspicious arise when i notice my application for a new card was rejected and out of surprise my gold card number is different from the classic...
Rejection for a new card can be for a various of reasons. Correct me if I'm wrong but you did not view your own CCRIS right but you are only speculating that it is due to the card upgrade. Please don't bring the guys here on a wild goose chase because you did not provide any other information such as ...
- Did you check your own CCRIS yet ?
- Did you ever become guarantor for other people ?
- How many secured and unsecured debts do you have ?
- How many cc do you have ?
- Did you ever miss any payments for anything ?
- What's your total exposure ?
- etc ....

Like I said ... they are many reasons your cc application being rejected. Without a complete information of your own financial background, we'll be giving you wrong advise as well. I know may have been helpful (e.g. erry and the rest) but please be realistic ... there're things which require more background information.
hye
post Jan 25 2011, 10:50 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(prempenang @ Jan 25 2011, 10:32 AM)
OCBC titanium card users :

If you do th 0% BT to this card and also use it for retail transcation

got any interest charged since the BT amount also is in the same statement?
Likely yes ... due to payment hierarchy. I suggest if you want to do BT then forget about using the OCBC TI anymore until you clear your BT.
hye
post Jan 25 2011, 01:55 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(BeChong @ Jan 25 2011, 12:46 PM)
thanks a lot your info smile.gif i will try apply and use it wisely if approve  brows.gif

Added on January 25, 2011, 12:51 pmHere i want to ask :
1) my friend try to apply few bank credit card and personal loan,but all failed. But maybank approved the personal loan for him,so funny?
2) the personal loan not must have credit card payment record at least 6months or 1year only can apply?
3) and then,with this personal loan, my friend can apply personal loan again or not?
4) and then,with this personal loan, my friend can apply personal loan/credit card with this personal loan payment record? maybe after 6months or 1year?

Sorry if i ask much... I really wish to know more about banking services tongue.gif

Thanks if you guys can answer me  icon_question.gif
Better ask your friend to join the thread .... don't be postman. Questions and answers need to be clear .... passing info can lead to misunderstanding.
1. Maybank probably have a reason to approve your friend that's all.
2. Personal loan approval is independent of cc application unless you have a previous personal loan and screwing up the payments regularly then you'll be "blacklisted" in CCRIS and effectively that means no bank will entertain you.
3. At least not from the same bank and then again banks will check your total exposure to debt. If it is too much then no. Banks are not stupid to give you money and risk the money not getting paid back.
4. Partially answered in 3. Then again, your friend wants to take another personal loan in 6-12 months ? That's a signal your friend is living beyond his means. Generally bank uses 1 year record as reference. 6 months record ... maybe for certain banks. I personally would not have a good impression of banks with too generous credit facility.

@BeChong if you consider your friend to be your friend then don't give him all these answers.
The way he's taking credit is rather reckless and if this continues he's on his way to build a deep and solid debt position for a very long time. Not the kind of idea a guy should be living his lifestyle.
hye
post Jan 25 2011, 02:01 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 25 2011, 01:56 PM)
I beg to differ.
My friend transferred balance frm Citibank to OCBC. She continues to use the card as usual. When the statement comes, she just paid 5% minimum, there's absolutely zero finance charge. I saw the statement with my own eyes.
I may be wrong but until December 2010, OCBC will not impose any finance charges on outstanding balance. That explains the zero finance charge.
hye
post Jan 25 2011, 04:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 03:57 PM)
Call Maybank telemarketing at 58914777 and this was what the guy said:
GST for the 2 supplementary cards is only Rm25.
Guys ... I know we have been debating as to whether supp card for Maybankcard Dua will be charged RM50 or RM25.
IMHO ... don't argue lah .... either way the max you will need to pay is RM50 and the best case is RM25 ... so what's the big deal?

The potential rebates will pay off by itself so I'll say anyone applying this card ... please don't be too kiasu. Just accept the max GST is RM50 and life will be easier.
hye
post Jan 25 2011, 09:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 08:47 PM)
FYI, I have the normal UOB Platinum. I am not stressing or shouting about owning this card, just want to be specific becos there is another UOB Privilege Platinum. I thought by being specific, someone nice here would give more accurate advice. And UOB Pref Plat keep on appearing becos I copy & paste, lazy to type.

So I need to have CL < rm10K (or <rm20K) to have a better chance of getting the card (or u err should be '>')? I thought the higher the CL the better the chance. My CL is rm30K (pls I am not bragging just stated the fact, in case u bombard me again) so I dont qualify?
@MGM
People in here help willingly and I can't believe the tone that you are using.
If you think your CL is sufficient then go ahead and try. While the folks here can give you an indication of what the answer is the final say is the banks. If you are not happy with the answer then next time don't bother asking the folks in here for help. Check the answer yourself via the banks websites and waste your time calling the bank's CS. This is better than wasting precious time of the good folks in here.

If you think owning UOB Privilege Platinum is a big deal then ..... you really need to take a reality check.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 25 2011, 09:38 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:36 AM